Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Buying a paper today for the DART and your one behind the counter just starts casually reading the front page and then discusses the story with the other cashier before scanning it through! Get a move on there like!

Consider it a free, pre-purchase review. Did you buy? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I sent an e-mail out for a social night out in work a while ago, and someone (a grown man) came back to me and asked did 21:00 mean 7pm :eek:!
    Double facepalm wasn't enough to cover it.

I don't know if I should laugh or not, because you have to sit with the dopey bollix on your night out......................but I fear he may have a problem finding the venue:D

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I don't know if I should laugh or not, because you have to sit with the dopey bollix on your night out......................but I fear he may have a problem finding the venue:D

Somewhat ironically, he had qualifications coming out his ass and was a very pleasant and confident chap; but every now and then, he dropped a few howlers like that one and let himself down. Another one was saying the shortest day of the year was in February :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Neighbours. The gobs*ite on the left of us woke me this morning cleaning his wheelie bins. Who the Hell scours wheelie bins with a yard brush at 9am on a Saturday morning?

Then there's the cnut at the right of us, we're never sure if the little pri*k is going to wake us up bringing his pals home in the early hours of the morning for a post club party at weekends, so I wear earplugs at weekends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

aldi cucumbers are farking disgusting

has just about ruined breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,117 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

FYP :D

Seven Worlds will Collide

Sounds like Dunnes vine tomatoes, I had to stop buying them as they weren't ripe, but when sliced the middles were mouldy:mad:

People who drive with side parking lights on!
    Even if they have a new car with those daylight running lights, putting on the parking lights dims them, completely defeating the purpose of having them!

People who drive with side parking lights on!
    Even if they have a new car with those daylight running lights, putting on the parking lights dims them, completely defeating the purpose of having them!

I don't fully understand that. surely some light is better than none? on a dull day, rainy day etc I would always turn on side/parking lights (and I curse those who don't), where am I going wrong?

The problem is that they are so dim that they're useless, if you're going to use lights to be seen use bright ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I bought a pair of shoes last week. They seemed comfortable when I tried them on, but after walking around the town in them today my feet are in bits. I've given up trying to find a comfortable pair of shoes. I'm sticking to runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I bought a pair of shoes last week. They seemed comfortable when I tried them on, but after walking around the town in them today my feet are in bits. I've given up trying to find a comfortable pair of shoes. I'm sticking to runners.

You need to break them in a bit. I buy specialist orthapaedic shoes and even with them it takes a few days to get used to the "new shoes" feel. They also last me a lot longer than normal shoes too because I don't go down on them as fast.

Could never wear runners, just didn't like them, haven't worn them nor tracksuit pants since I was about 12 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Czarcasm wrote: »
    You need to break them in a bit. I buy specialist orthapaedic shoes and even with them it takes a few days to get used to the "new shoes" feel. They also last me a lot longer than normal shoes too because I don't go down on them as fast.

Could never wear runners, just didn't like them, haven't worn them nor tracksuit pants since I was about 12 :o

Try doc martens....they take about 6 months to break in. You get all of the pain and all of the blisters but they're totally worth it.....soooo pretty.

The problem is that they are so dim that they're useless, if you're going to use lights to be seen use bright ones!

Any light is better than no light...

I drive a grey/silver car, and with a doubt, in low light, side lights greatly improve the chance of me being seen by other drivers. Likewise, especially with lighter coloured cars, I can see same froma much greater distance if side lights are on. There is no way lights (any) can make the situation worse.

Any light is better than no light...

I drive a grey/silver car, and with a doubt, in low light, side lights greatly improve the chance of me being seen by other drivers. Likewise, especially with lighter coloured cars, I can see same froma much greater distance if side lights are on. There is no way lights (any) can make the situation worse.
    But why use dim lights when you have bright ones, it makes no sense at all and even less if you're dimming the DRLs.

:confused:Because sometimes sidelights will suffice, if and when visibility decreases, common sense should dictate to then switch full lights on. I imagine this is why car manufacturers put the two sets of lights in the car.

Volvo, supposed to be the makers of the safest cars in the world ( or at least were at one point) used to make the cars with side lights coming on as soon as the engine started, even in clear daylight.

:confused:Because sometimes sidelights will suffice, if and when visibility decreases, common sense should dictate to then switch full lights on. I imagine this is why car manufacturers put the two sets of lights in the car.
    If visibility is poor use the head lghts that can be seen, 99% of the time sidelights are next to useless in poor visibility.
    Sidelights are a hangover from history when it was once considered OK to drive with only sidelights on at night in lit up areas (to "save" the headlights).

Only ever made sense during the blitz & blackouts of WWII
    Volvo, supposed to be the makers of the safest cars in the world ( or at least were at one point) used to make the cars with side lights coming on as soon as the engine started, even in clear daylight.
    Their sidelights are at least 10x brighter than the average parking lights that many other cars use. Just like the modern DLRs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Yeah I might try the orthopaedic route. It's strange, I used to suffer from terrible athletes foot and my GP told me I should wear shoes instead of runners so my feet wouldn't sweat as much. But I find my feet sweat much more in shoes. Even with runners, I have to wear really light New Balance runners which are ultra light and airy.

If visibility is poor use the head lghts that can be seen, 99% of the time sidelights are next to useless in poor visibility.
    Sidelights are a hangover from history when it was once considered OK to drive with only sidelights on at night in lit up areas (to "save" the headlights).

Only ever made sense during the blitz & blackouts of WWII

Their sidelights are at least 10x brighter than the average parking lights that many other cars use. Just like the modern DLRs

Volvo were doing this in the 70's, I am sure most other makers have caught up. I don't know what people did in WW2.

99% of time sidelights are useless??.......C'mon.

Surely a cyclist is better off using the crappest of lights in low light, than not using any light?? and before you go there, I am aware that there are some great bike lights available, but I am talking about the cheapo jobs....still better than nothing.

Slow day on TTTAY:D

Volvo were doing this in the 70's, I am sure most other makers have caught up. I don't know what people did in WW2.

99% of time sidelights are useless??.......C'mon.

Surely a cyclist is better off using the crappest of lights in low light, than not using any light?? and before you go there, I am aware that there are some great bike lights available, but I am talking about the cheapo jobs....still better than nothing.

Slow day on TTTAY:D
    and as I said, Volvo's sidelights were the brightest on any car.

Yeah I might try the orthopaedic route. It's strange, I used to suffer from terrible athletes foot and my GP told me I should wear shoes instead of runners so my feet wouldn't sweat as much. But I find my feet sweat much more in shoes. Even with runners, I have to wear really light New Balance runners which are ultra light and airy.

When GP said shoes, he most likely meant something with a leather sole, i.e breathable....used with woollen sock, and alternate footwear so that you don't wear same shoes every day. Doc Martens are good (new ones not a patch on the old stuff that was made in UK) and are breathable to a point. Avoid plastic soles like the plague (cheaper footwear), and if wearing runners, try to get leather uppers. As a rule older style heavy shoes, brogue type, will initially be uncomfortable, but once you get used to them, they are great......and bearing in mind, with a little TLC, they could last ten years, so not that expensive.

and as I said, Volvo's sidelights were the brightest on any car.

ok

ok
    Glad you understand me :D

Hee hee, you must really like those shoes.

Ok, Ok, I'm leaving now:(

Glad you understand me :D

Well, I have many years of safe driving experience, city and country, in a private and on a professional basis, in a variety of vehicles. I have driven in Europe, Africa and USA, and encountered some very inclement weather, I have yet to encounter a driving condition that could not be improved by even the worst of lights.

I think we will just have to agree to differ in opinion. Have a nice weekend.

Like I said, a slow day on Trivial things that annoy me/you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

What I done was buying a pair that is one or two sizes bigger than what my feet actually are (10 or 11 in my case).
    Then bought a pair of those big thick cushioned insoles for inside them.

Like walking on air :)

Well, I have many years of safe driving experience, city and country, in a private and on a professional basis, in a variety of vehicles. I have driven in Europe, Africa and USA, and encountered some very inclement weather, I have yet to encounter a driving condition that could not be improved by even the worst of lights.

I think we will just have to agree to differ in opinion. Have a nice weekend.

Like I said, a slow day on Trivial things that annoy me/you:)
    Fair enough, 35 + years driving here as well, just the fact that why would you want to use dim light rather than bright lights, someone is less likely to pull out in front of you if you have brighter lights. But anyway hopefully sidelights will be soon banned and then you'll have lights. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

People who don't look around them when walking across streets or in carparks etc! TWICE today someone has walked out either in front of me or behind me as i was pulling out oblivious to the fact they are approaching a moving vehicle! Usually with their face stuck in their phone!

Most annoying part is if you actually hit one of them it would still be YOU who is at fault! FÚCKING LOOK WHERE YOU'RE GOING!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Paninis, wraps, ciabatta , they all taste like cardboard , just give me a normal well made sandwich and hump off with that tasteless ****e .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

People who say "guards" when referring to the Gardai. A guard is someone who stands at the door of your local Centra following people wearing hoodies.

No, I'm not a member of AGS.