Not in those shoes bud...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

My wife, who was 31 at the time was asked to leave a pub in Swords by a little short arsed twat on a power trip one time because he reckoned she was under age.
    She was delighted to be asked to leave.

It was The Slaughtered Lamb pub, a sh1tehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

elfy4eva wrote: »
    I haven't heard one of these shameful refusal lines in ages.

Do bouncers still say things like this?

And what's the best/worst/most hilarious reason a bouncer has given to refuse you entry?
    Him.
    'You are so cute.....not tonight.'

Me
    'huh?'

Him

'Not tonight'
    Me
    'Do you need id , are you full?'

Him
    ' You are really cute'.

He just kept shaking his head after that.

It was the only time I ever got refused. Bouncers are generally nice to me and I am very polite to them. I wouldn't dare be otherwise. I generally find them fine. But I am not big into night clubs though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

I remember the Celtic Tiger nights out in Temple Bar:

- "Not tonight lads, regulars only, you need to be coming here on a Tuesday or Wednesday before you can think about trying to get in on a Saturday night".

The kip is boarded up for the last five years. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

I have two refused entry instances. Once was New Year's Eve a few years back and a big group of us went to the only club in the town. I was in the middle of the group and the bouncer told me to wait a minute, then did the same to another chap in our group. We were both told we weren't getting in tonight. The one thing we both had in common? Long hair. I asked why exactly we weren't been let in and the bouncer just said "Lads, you know why" and turned around. My friend had never been in the club before and I had been in a few times with no hassle. I told him I didn't know why and what we would need to do. He looked back and said again "I'm not going to tell you why, you're just not getting in." Few moments later he stopped another long haired chap from entering.

Another time it was a pub rather than a club that I frequented on a weekly basis. Bar staff were always great, except for one twat that had notions about himself and the people he associated with. Group of us landed as per usual and he was by himself at the bar. We went to order drinks and he told me I would have to leave. I asked him why and he said "we have a no runners policy" and pointed at my converse. I quickly pointed out the other people in the pub wearing the exact same shoes and he said "I'll get to them in a minute, but you have to leave now." I was annoyed, but thankfully didn't live far from the the pub, so I went, changed into shoes and came back. Same barman again told me there is a no runners policy, I pointed at my shoes I told him I changed. He went really red in the face and wouldn't serve me that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Another time it was a pub rather than a club that I frequented on a weekly basis. Bar staff were always great, except for one twat that had notions about himself and the people he associated with. Group of us landed as per usual and he was by himself at the bar. We went to order drinks and he told me I would have to leave. I asked him why and he said "we have a no runners policy" and pointed at my converse. I quickly pointed out the other people in the pub wearing the exact same shoes and he said "I'll get to them in a minute, but you have to leave now." I was annoyed, but thankfully didn't live far from the the pub, so I went, changed into shoes and came back. Same barman again told me there is a no runners policy, I pointed at my shoes I told him I changed. He went really red in the face and wouldn't serve me that night.

I have to ask, why would ye not just go to another bar and say it to the manager later. You'd probably be known to see by the manager, so saying you were refused for wearing "runners" which weren't runners would shut the bar man up right quick. Especially if he wouldn't serve you for the night.

And in case people think you shouldn't get an employee in trouble.... when a bartender is willfully a cnut they are costing the company money.

A friend and myself had arranged to meet up after work to watch the Champions League Final between Bayern and Dortmund in Dublin City Centre. Went up to a spot on O Connell Street. Doorman informed us it was regulars only. I said "its just myself and himself looking to watch the game and have a pint". "Regulars only I said", he barked. I said "so are all those Germans in there with their scarves and jerseys on getting the boat over each week?". What a clown. Hadn't a drink on board either, was only 7pm. Don't get that mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Sometimes the "you're after too much" line is simply an excuse because they don't like the look of you; it's not as if the bouncer is a dope who can't actually assess drunkenness. Basically alcohol consumption (or perception of) is the only cast-iron reason a doorman can give; he can hardly say:

"Sorry bud, I think you're from too low a socio-economic bracket for tonight" or "I'm afraid my manager thinks there's too many Eastern Europeans in the venue these days."

The fact is that it's the owners or managers who determine what type of people come in to a given place and he/she relays that to the doorstaff. Doormen don't set themselves up as amateur sociologists. If you have a problem with the entry criteria then relay that to the owners. Unfortunately some people can't grasp that fact so feel the need to start making snide remarks or begin shouting and roaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I posted this on a different thread.
    I've never once been refused from a pub since I was 20 years old, bar being turned away from one venue in London because I wasn't 21, even then he left me in the end. I've been out in London, Istanbul, Dublin, Cork, Galway, Belfast, Barcelona, Amsterdam etc; never have I been stopped from entering a gaff.

I also work the doors here in Cork City, both in-house for one late bar and also for a company catering for the biggest and most popular late bars in the city centre; I've done clubs in the past also. Some places in Cork, especially those owned by one particular publican, want a very specific clientele. These particular venues are selling a certain "scene" and the owner doesn't want anyone in the venue that will dilute that scene; to that effect he will instruct his door staff to admit his targeted demographic. The publican in turn is only reacting to the wishes of his clientele who may be turned off by large numbers of very young men or those with shaved-heads, gaudy jewellery, tattoos etc. In other words, the pub trade is a reflection of wider societal division and snobbery.

This is the process at work here, it's not a case of a doorman setting himself up as an amateur sociologist casting aspersion on people for the craic. We're the lowest link in the chain like, if you want to b*tch about dress codes or no large groups being admitted etc then ring the owner and tell him. Don't start roaring at us out on the street at 12:30am while you're full off drink, it's not our fault and as Makikomi said, we've heard it all before. To be honest there is a ridiculous culture of entitlement in this country where people think it's their God-given right to drink 10 pints and then enter a premises p*ssed off their face and then lecture you about how they're a solicitor and you're a nobody when they're politely refused entry. Or how people think they've a right to camp in the pub an hour after last call and then start screaming their heads off because you asked them to finish up and leave. Of course the next the day when they wake up hung-over they'll never acknowledge the fact that there was a conflict because they were ignorant drunk c*nts, nope, blame it on the "power tripper" bouncer.

Do bouncers make mistakes? Of course they do, and there are some clowns doing the job, no doubt about that. Similarly you'll find cowboy electricians, dodgy solicitors, assh*le cops, crap teachers, ignorant shopkeepers but somehow it's not ok to generalise these professions but perfectly acceptable to categorise all door-staff "power tripping gorillas."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Anyone seen an upsurge in the "regulars only" nonsense? a sign the recession is coming to an end maybe?

Cant they just be honest and put a "hipsters only" sign outside the door?