Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

I agree with you.
    But Mick Wallace is no angel. Didn't he fiddle tax by giving himself and the other shareholder, his son, in his defunct building firm a massive wage in order to hide money or prevent the taxman from getting it.
    All a gang of crooks.
    Mick just has a bigger neck than most.
    Crooks can be your best ally if they are on your side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Crooks can be your best ally if they are on your side.

None of them are on your side FFS.
    They are on their own side and always have been.
    All they want is to stay in the Dail and continue to feed at the trough.

None of them are on your side FFS.
    They are on their own side and always have been.
    All they want is to stay in the Dail and continue to feed at the trough.

Im on about real crooks, not the Dail crooks.
    Everything they say will fit into place because they will be lying and will have manufactured their lies to correspond with everything else while the person telling the truth will have gaps in their evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Im on about real crooks, not the Dail crooks.
    Everything they say will fit into place because they will be lying and will have manufactured their lies to correspond with everything else while the person telling the truth will have gaps in their evidence.

They are all the same. Real and unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,594 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

David Davin-Power is great for the soundbites and comments. On the 5PM RTE News he say's "Alan is sure to have an enthusiastic welcome at the F/G Ard Fheis". Sorry, my mistake, David said "an enthusiastic welcome" not "resounding". If the roof ain't raised, blame David, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Its sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭whatsthetime

A gathering of like minded crooks people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭strongback

Looks like this story has been well and truly buried. Did the public ever really grasp it anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

strongback wrote: »
    Looks like this story has been well and truly buried. Did the public ever really grasp it anyway?

Look, when you have such a well-funded PR department such like An Garda Síochána, then don't expect much else. From here on, expect nothing but PR-publicity stunts to try and resurrect their profile and good-will.

Won't get much goodwill from me personally after this and I think they know that too, but plenty of others will follow on and sing their praises believing their well-funded PR machine.

kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

maybe you didn't grasp it but everyone i know did. the story isn't 'buried', in fact it's being investigated by a high court judge who has the power to call witnesses, question them, read all relevant documents, verimus are co-operating as are GSOC, AGS, MoJ etc. The investigation will be published around easter for public consumption and I'm betting we will have a full independent legal inquiry into the bugging of GSOC Offices, The Kieran Boylan scandal, penalty points scandal, the murder of that woman in Limerick by a guy out on bail when he never should have, etc etc etc. Hold on that's a lot of dirty work to investigate, maybe AGS won't co-operate after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It hasn't. Judicial review is already underway and obviously nobody's going to comment on it while that's ongoing lest they damage the credibility of whatever report will emerge (a bit like prejudicing a jury before trial I guess). Statement a week or two from Verrimus about not commenting until the review is over illustrates that - you can bet Verrimus will be dying to tell their story though, having had their reputation assassinated in the Dail by Shatter. Read their various statements - they're pretty furious about it.

This isn't over by a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It hasn't. Judicial review is already underway and obviously nobody's going to comment on it while that's ongoing lest they damage the credibility of whatever report will emerge (a bit like prejudicing a jury before trial I guess). Statement a week or two from Verrimus about not commenting until the review is over illustrates that - you can bet Verrimus will be dying to tell their story though, having had their reputation assassinated in the Dail by Shatter. Read their various statements - they're pretty furious about it.

This isn't over by a long shot.

hopefully but I remain unconvinced this report will be released before the end of the summer,it should be interesting how far the judge will go into his conculsions in the report....or will it be like the penalty point affair- where they wont question the main complaintents

who_ru wrote: »
    maybe you didn't grasp it but everyone i know did. the story isn't 'buried', in fact it's being investigated by a high court judge who has the power to call witnesses, question them, read all relevant documents, verimus are co-operating as are GSOC, AGS, MoJ etc. The investigation will be published around easter for public consumption and I'm betting we will have a full independent legal inquiry into the bugging of GSOC Offices, The Kieran Boylan scandal, penalty points scandal, the murder of that woman in Limerick by a guy out on bail when he never should have, etc etc etc. Hold on that's a lot of dirty work to investigate, maybe AGS won't co-operate after all.

It is not over but who_ru is correct in that the public outcry, what little there was, is over.

We are a great country of "I'm all right Jacks" It did not affect me so I dont care brigade.
    If the government were concerned about what has happened and is happening they would be doing a thorough investigation and going back through the years.

They are only dwelling on what has been found out.
    Ask the Sergeant who was hounded out of the job because he to get answers for senior officers negligence in ignoring his requests that may have led to the murder of Imelda Riney, her four year old son and Father Joe Walshe.

He was harassed and discredited.
    Maurice McCabe was also harassed and discredited, only some of that was done in public.

What about the Garda who stopped John O'Donoghue in his speeding car. He was harassed and discredited. He was threatened by John O'Donoghue and the Dail was also threatened by him when he referred to many others in the Dail who may be in the same boat.

What about the Nora Wall case. She was wrongly accused butvthe Gardai and the CSSO persisted. She is now seeking her prosecution documents and Shatter is not too forthcoming.
    What about Dean Lyons and his nine months incarceration for the Grangegorman murders.

He admitted to the murders in Garda Custody and a Garda at that interview pointed out to senior officers that he could not have done them. He was ignored and the real killer went on to murder again
    Four months after the crimes Dean Lyons was charged with murder of one of the Grangegorman women and placed on remand. Two weeks later a man called Mark Nash was found wandering around Roscommon after murdering his girlfriend's sister and her husband. He also attempted to murder his girlfriend, leaving her for dead. When the Gardai apprehended the killer he immediately admitted to the earlier Grangegorman killings and provided compelling information that was not in the public domain.
    This event should have rung alarm bells to the senior Gardai managing the case in Dublin.. However, they discounted Nash and his irrefutable evidence and continued with a lame duck case against Dean Lyons, even extending the range of the prosecution to cover the murder of the second woman.. Eventually the case was dropped when sense prevailed, but at that stage Dean had spent nine months in jail.
    This scandal involves the Gardai and how their actions brought discredit to the force. They messed up the investigation, failed to see that Dean was totally unreliable and known to be so. When their mistake was discovered they pursued the case against an innocent man and in doing so ensured that the real culprit will most likely never be charged with the crimes. Their actions injured the Lyons family, the families of the victims, the legal system, the Gardai and most of all the vulnerable addict and human being that was Dean Lyons.

There are many more.
    This action by the government is but a distraction to keep the media quiet.
    If they were serious they would widen their investigations.

Oh and what about the gun belived to be planted in James Sheehans car in Tralee.
    He was director of elections for Martin Ferris.
    The gun was suddenly destroyed, the DPP dropped the case and the Gardai were unaffected.
    After thecevent Pat Rabbitte supported Ferris in the Dail when he called for an enquiry.
    Why does Rabbitte not now ask to have the case reopened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Look, when you have such a well-funded PR department such like An Garda Síochána, then don't expect much else. From here on, expect nothing but PR-publicity stunts to try and resurrect their profile and good-will.

Won't get much goodwill from me personally after this and I think they know that too, but plenty of others will follow on and sing their praises believing their well-funded PR machine.

kerry4sam

oh that'll teach the corrupt alright, when people see something they know is wrong and they don't like it they'll just put the head down and get on with it, this is precisely the type of dangerous enabling i'm extreemly worried about here in Ireland, politicians see no chance of a mass movement forcing real change and true accountabaility so why would they be upfront and honest...
    It is not over but who_ru is correct in that the public outcry, what little there was, is over.

We are a great country of "I'm all right Jacks" It did not affect me so I dont care brigade.
    If the government were concerned about what has happened and is happening they would be doing a thorough investigation and going back through the years.

They are only dwelling on what has been found out.
    Ask the Sergeant who was hounded out of the job because he to get answers for senior officers negligence in ignoring his requests that may have led to the murder of Imelda Riney, her four year old son and Father Joe Walshe.

He was harassed and discredited.
    Maurice McCabe was also harassed and discredited, only some of that was done in public.

What about the Garda who stopped John O'Donoghue in his speeding car. He was harassed and discredited. He was threatened by John O'Donoghue and the Dail was also threatened by him when he referred to many others in the Dail who may be in the same boat.

What about the Nora Wall case. She was wrongly accused butvthe Gardai and the CSSO persisted. She is now seeking her prosecution documents and Shatter is not too forthcoming.
    What about Dean Lyons and his nine months incarceration for the Grangegorman murders.

He admitted to the murders in Garda Custody and a Garda at that interview pointed out to senior officers that he could not have done them. He was ignored and the real killer went on to murder again

There are many more.
    This action by the government is but a distraction to keep the media quiet.
    If they were serious they would widen their investigations.

Oh and what about the gun belived to be planted in James Sheehans car in Tralee.
    He was director of elections for Martin Ferris.
    The gun was suddenly destroyed, the DPP dropped the case and the Gardai were unaffected.
    After thecevent Pat Rabbitte supported Ferris in the Dail when he called for an enquiry.
    Why does Rabbitte not now ask to have the case reopened?

what public outcry?? there wasn't one single protest on this topic which is why this will go the way every other corrupt government manage these types of fiascos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

The DPP has a lot of questions to answer too - seems to drop a lot of cases without explanation. But of course the DPP is independent in the way GSOC is - can you imagine that dirtbag shatter calling ihn the DPP to explain why cases against drug pushers are dropped in court without explanation or justification.

i'd rather do more than imagine and instead get out on the streets demanding it and more, have protested in the past and as soon as next protests get called i'll be straight out in support

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

i'd rather do more than imagine and instead get out on the streets demanding it and more, have protested in the past and as soon as next protests get called i'll be straight out in support

Your last thread on demanding things in the street didn't go too well did it. In reality you probably know people aren't going to get out on the streets over this

Maybe Tony Roachford will though? Ye could tie yourselves to Shatters desk

Your last thread on demanding things in the street didn't go too well did it. In reality you probably know people aren't going to get out on the streets over this

Maybe Tony Roachford will though? Ye could tie yourselves to Shatters desk

unfortunately i do know people aren't going to hit the streets over this but everybody has their breaking points where they'll accept no more bull$hit and i will never give up trying to start conversations about protest/revolution/mass demonstrations etc.

Thankfully I'm my own man and although it is a tough time to be awake and willing to protest in this country it doesn't mean i have to completely give up and go back to sleep

unfortunately i do know people aren't going to hit the streets over this but everybody has their breaking points where they'll accept no more bull$hit and i will never give up trying to start conversations about protest/revolution/mass demonstrations etc.

Thankfully I'm my own man and although it is a tough time to be awake and willing to protest in this country it doesn't mean i have to completely give up and go back to sleep

No wonder no one will join you spouting nonsense and referring to anyone who doesn't agree with your extremely vague revolutionary views as "asleep"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

No wonder no one will join you spouting nonsense and referring to anyone who doesn't agree with your extremely vague revolutionary views as "asleep"

Ok, so you don't approve of protesting about it. Fair enough. What then do YOU suggest we do about this? Bend over and let them do whatever they like until 2016, when we get to vote for another shower who will demand we do the same for them, :confused:

Please explain your proposal, I'm all ears. How do YOU think we should deal with this?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Ok, so you don't approve of protesting about it. Fair enough. What then do YOU suggest we do about this? Bend over and let them do whatever they like until 2016, when we get to vote for another shower who will demand we do the same for them, :confused:

Please explain your proposal, I'm all ears. How do YOU think we should deal with this?

Well protesting certainly won't do anything. Not the Irish way at least.

What I worry about are all the cases that went ahead and resulted in miscarriages of justice
    DPP V Nora Wall, Nicky Kelly (sallins mail train), Hannon, Pringle, Meleady and Grogan, Frank Short, Martin Conmey to name just a few
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/victim-of-wrongful-conviction-in-sex-case-to-seek-1m-damages-26531990.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/features/profiles/40-years-waiting-to-clear-his-name-199954.html

http://www.politico.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3825:a-most-serious-tragic-and-alarming-case&catid=222:society

It is better that three not be prosecuted than one be wrongly convicted

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/botched-rape-case-nun-is-innocent-says-dpp-26132894.html

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Well protesting certainly won't do anything. Not the Irish way at least.
    One thing you can be guaranteed of is if you do not protest, nothing will be done

I would protest if the Beards kept well clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Hootanany wrote: »
    I would protest if the Beards kept well clear.

beard phobia?

No Unions Polictcalparties would rather joe soaps with no agenda other than getting rid of this corrupt Government simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Hootanany wrote: »
    No Unions Polictcalparties would rather joe soaps with no agenda other than getting rid of this corrupt Government simples

I don't buy that for a second. Most of the important marches in history contained diverse groups of people. Many of who didn't share central beliefs or core values and that's the beautiful thing about protests. People of various backgrounds, beliefs and values can put aside their differences to stand for a common good. If you're not willing to stand with someone else against a serious issue because you don't lie them well then you don't care enough about the issue at hand simples. Hence me not buying that for a second.

The same sort of people stayed at home during the civil rights, anti war, anti corruption and equal rights marches around the world because they didn't like some "lefties" or whoever at the protest.

Don't have a proposal. I wanted Shatter to walk but at least this is going to lead to a revamp of Garda whistle-blowing procedures. I certainly hope Shatter gets shafted come the reshuffle though

lol at "bend over and let them do what they want", the usual hysterical rhetoric spouted by the loonie left. In the real world where we've 3% growth in the economy and unemployment falling massively .

There's going to be no "revolution" chief

btw, if you genuinely do have aspirations on getting people to protest with you maybe drop the arrogant attitude? Not everyone that isn't willing to do it is "bending over" or "asleep"

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I don't buy that for a second. Most of the important marches in history contained diverse groups of people. Many of who didn't share central beliefs or core values and that's the beautiful thing about protests. People of various backgrounds, beliefs and values can put aside their differences to stand for a common good. If you're not willing to stand with someone else against a serious issue because you don't lie them well then you don't care enough about the issue at hand simples. Hence me not buying that for a second.

The same sort of people stayed at home during the civil rights, anti war, anti corruption and equal rights marches around the world because they didn't like some "lefties" or whoever at the protest.

Buy what, I don't want it hijacked by people trying to further their career simples, just people that are sick of this corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Don't have a proposal. I wanted Shatter to walk but at least this is going to lead to a revamp of Garda whistle-blowing procedures. I certainly hope Shatter gets shafted come the reshuffle though

I dunno. I reckon Shatter might get unequivocal support from Enda. I have a feeling Shatter has knowledge of a fair amount of skeletons in the cupboards. I think between himself and Callinan, they could dismantle that Govt, Minister by Minister, TD by TD.

It's the only viable reason he's still there afaics.
    lol at "bend over and let them do what they want", the usual hysterical rhetoric spouted by the loonie left. In the real world where we've 3% growth in the economy and unemployment falling massively .

Massaged figures my learned friend. Ask the thousands in Canada /Australia /uk and Asia.

Then we have the greatest scam ever, Jobbridge.
    There's going to be no "revolution" chief

btw, if you genuinely do have aspirations on getting people to protest with you maybe drop the arrogant attitude? Not everyone that isn't willing to do it is "bending over" or "asleep"

I dont see the poster you quoted suggesting you were.