Will you eat meat tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Looking forward to some delicious steak...

I know, right? It's just another Cafeteria Catholic thing.

No it's not. A la carte Catholics are ones who pick and choose the rules they'll follow.
    Fully practising Catholics are those who obey all the rules.
    Lapsed Catholics are those who no longer feel governed by the rules.

And eejits are just eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Not only are you one of life's great rebels, but also a great wit with an original turn of phrase. :rolleyes:

It's not really being rebellious, unless you are a practicing catholic.....

I've eaten meat today because I don't have a reason not to. :confused: How is this being rebellious? :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

You're so welcome. :rolleyes::D
    :rolleyes::D:rolleyes::D

Ehh...not funny anymore...

Really though, the whole premise of Ash Wednesday is a bit of a farce when you consider most people partaking in it eat fish for a start (technically, fish is a type of meat, no matter how you want to argue it) and probably only see the inside of a church when it's a ceremony that benefits them (wedding/funeral/baptism) or on Christmas Day.
    SmurfX wrote: »
    It's a shame so many atheists & agnostics are driven to it by a hatred of the church and establishment rather than an appreciation of their own beliefs. I'm one myself but find most of them on the internet to be a truly insufferable bunch, entire communities united only by hate, cynicism, negativity and a dislike for popular society.
    I acknowledge a place for religion, and respect fellow religious people, one being a Jehovah's Witness who visits our house regularly, shows a commitment to her beliefs and can only respect her for that. The establishment of the Catholic Church is utterly reprehensible though, such an awful history of crises, and don't have an awful lot of time for it. Consider that I have more of a distaste for that sect of religion itself than anything else.

maguic24 wrote: »
    It's not really being rebellious, unless you are a practicing catholic.....

I've eaten meat today because I don't have a reason not to. :confused: How is this being rebellious? :-/

It's not. It's the people making a point of telling the whole world that 'Gosh, I'm eating meat on ASH WEDNESDAY' who seem to think they're being rebellious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

cold blooded beasties (snake/ frog/ aligator) are also allowed.
    its the stupidest idiotic rule ever. If you look up canon law they cant even explain it except that it is the way it is

Eating a feed of salmon or monkfish or lobster or whatever is the craziest way of showing devotion to god or the church.

BTW, 5% meat content is allowed too aparantly, so you can add bacon bits to a soup to make it taste mighty meaty and its grand.

The idea, I think, is that meat - cow, pig, sheep, etc - was an expensive, rich, delicious treat back in the day.

People get caught up with the notion of "meat" on Ash Wednesday but the instruction is to fast and abstain in general. So no point eating no meat but 12 lobsters and an entire chocolate cake.

Fish was considered a relatively poor mans food - so that was ok. Plus, when Lent involved fasting/abstaining nearly every day, as it did in Medieval times, some leeway had to be given to keep monks upright in their stalls - and not collapsed with hunger.

:rolleyes::D:rolleyes::D

Ehh...not funny anymore...

Really though, the whole premise of Ash Wednesday is a bit of a farce when you consider most people partaking in it eat fish for a start (technically, fish is a type of meat, no matter how you want to argue it) and probably only see the inside of a church when it's a ceremony that benefits them (wedding/funeral/baptism) or on Christmas Day.

Ehh It wasn't funny to begin with. That was kind of the point :rolleyes:

I doubt too many people who never go to Mass follow the fasting rule on Ash Wednesday. How is it a farce for practising Catholics to want to practise their religion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Conroy_Band

I think the Catholic Church stated that by meat they meant animals that live on the land but not that live in the Sea. Not sure of the theological reason behind that, but that's what a practising Catholic is obliged to adhere to on Ash Wednesday.

Yeah but my point is that by actual definition they are being a hypocrite.

Ehh It wasn't funny to begin with. That was kind of the point :rolleyes:

I doubt too many people who never go to Mass follow the fasting rule on Ash Wednesday. How is it a farce for practising Catholics to want to practise their religion?
    Actually, many people who never go to Mass get the mark on their forehead, wear it like a medal, and pretend to themselves that they're practicing Catholics and take a moral high ground against those who don't when really, they're hypocrites. That's my beef (no pun intended)

The whole thing of meat-eating is a bit null when the meaning is completely lost. Most major religious holidays (Easter, St. Patrick's, Christmas) have also totally lost their meaning for 9/10 people.

Not really. It's not because they think eating meat is wrong. It's because they're calling on Catholics to make a sacrifice on Ash Wednesday. As another poster said, meat used to be considered more luxurious than fish which was plentiful and cheap, so maybe that's what's behind it.

I mean, it's not hypocritical for someone to give up chocolate for lent but still eat cake. They're just making a sacrifice for a while.

Actually, many people who never go to Mass get the mark on their forehead, wear it like a medal, and pretend to themselves that they're practicing Catholics and take a moral high ground against those who don't when really, they're hypocrites. That's my beef (no pun intended)

Apart from Bertie Ahern I don't know anyone who does this.
    Many people? Really?

Just one more thing the church gets labelled as hypocritical for so :cool:

Why is it then that, at a wedding, we talk about "the meat or fish" option. There is a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

It's not. It's the people making a point of telling the whole world that 'Gosh, I'm eating meat on ASH WEDNESDAY' who seem to think they're being rebellious.

Okay, fair enough. I hear ya. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Rebellious - showing a desire to resist authority, control, or convention.

It's not really rebellious to eat meat on Ash Wednesday in all fairness...

Martin Luther posting his 95 theses on the door of the Castle Church of Wittenberg, now that was rebellious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Do you seriously expect that when the general question is asked, particularly on AH, that only people who are following the Catholic practice will answer?

I don't think this is very common...

Also, you're judging these people that you believe to be judging others - who they may or may not be. Quit with all the judging! Just take people at face-value.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

zenno wrote: »
    After having a meat breakfast this morning, and, will have a meat dinner later, I will still have respect for others beliefs. If they want to have a non-meat day regarding religious purposes, then I respect that. They are entitled to do what they so wish.

Beliefs vary, but respect of one's beliefs is paramount. imo :)

Some people believe black people are inferior. Some believe women shouldnt have the vote.

MonstaMash wrote: »
    Rebellious - showing a desire to resist authority, control, or convention.

It's not really rebellious to eat meat on Ash Wednesday in all fairness...

Martin Luther posting his 95 theses on the door of the Castle Church of Wittenberg, now that was rebellious.

It's not the least bit rebellious. It might have been fifty years ago but now there are probably more people in Ireland eating meat today than not eating it.
    But some people still seem to think they're about twelve years of age and that there's something cool about eating meat on Ash Wednesday. I mean, why else would you come on a forum to tell everyone you're having steak tonight and really looking forward to it? :confused:

I don't think this is very common...

Also, you're judging these people that you believe to be judging others - who they may or may not be. Quit with all the judging! Just take people at face-value.
    You're right, I'm actually being unfair to said people. My problem is more with the church, so thanks for calling me on that one.
    It's not the least bit rebellious. It might have been fifty years ago but now there are probably more people in Ireland eating meat today than not eating it.
    But some people still seem to think they're about twelve years of age and that there's something cool about eating meat on Ash Wednesday. I mean, why else would you come on a forum to tell everyone you're having steak tonight and really looking forward to it?
    "Will you eat meat tomorrow"

Do you seriously expect that when the general question is asked, particularly on AH, that only people who are following the Catholic practice will answer?

Where did I say that?

Not really. It's not because they think eating meat is wrong. It's because they're calling on Catholics to make a sacrifice on Ash Wednesday. As another poster said, meat used to be considered more luxurious than fish which was plentiful and cheap, so maybe that's what's behind it.

I mean, it's not hypocritical for someone to give up chocolate for lent but still eat cake. They're just making a sacrifice for a while.

I am not taking about the ethical reasoning for eating meat or not, my issue is with people making a point of saying they aren't eating meat when in fact they are.

Not to be a food snob but cake and chocolate do not fall under the same food group one is cake the other a sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

Specialun wrote: »
    Well will you

Think i will..not going to have bunch of paedo priests telling me when and what to eat

And what if your priest happens not to be a paedophile, will you choose not to eat meat then.

Every single priest is not a paedophile.

Some dreadful insecurity in beliefs in this topic.

Presumably those here with such a burning distaste for christian beliefs will be foregoing the St.Patrick's day celebrations as well?

Not me. I also avoid Thursdays as i dont believe in Thor

I am not taking about the ethical reasoning for eating meat or not, my issue is with people making a point of saying they aren't eating meat when in fact they are.

Not to be a food snob but cake and chocolate do not fall under the same food group one is cake the other a sweet.

They aren't eating meat as defined by the Catholic Church on a particular day that's designated a fast day by that Church. If someone said they don't agree with people eating meat and then ate fish themselves I can see your point. But that's not what Catholics mean by abstaining from meat. They're following a rule of the religion they've chosen to adhere to. They're not stopping anyone else from eating meat or fish or anything else.

Just one more thing the church gets labelled as hypocritical for so :cool:

Why is it then that, at a wedding, we talk about "the meat or fish" option. There is a difference.

Do you want me to define what meat is again or did you gloss over that fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

They aren't eating meat as defined by the Catholic Church on a particular day that's designated a fast day by that Church. If someone said they don't agree with people eating meat and then ate fish themselves I can see your point. But that's not what Catholics mean by abstaining from meat. They're following a rule of the religion they've chosen to adhere to. They're not stopping anyone else from eating meat or fish or anything else.

Makes a change

I was going to but have just dipped into the A&A forum and have decided not to,for the sole reason of being different to these loons.
    Also am now waiting with baited breath for the next census form so I can put "catholic" down just to annoy them.

My Jaysus but they spend some amount of time talking crap about something they supposedly don't believe in.

That would apply to atheists as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Where did I say that?

The thread question has a simple yes/no answer. The implication from almost all of your comments on this thread is that anyone who answers in the affirmative is only doing it to be "rebellious" or "edgy", which is far from the case.

It's a shame so many atheists & agnostics are driven to it by a hatred of the church and establishment rather than an appreciation of their own beliefs. I'm one myself but find most of them on the internet to be a truly insufferable bunch, entire communities united only by hate, cynicism, negativity and a dislike for popular society.

Athiests have beliefs now?
    I thought it was a lack of belief. i want my subscription fee back.:mad:

The thread question has a simple yes/no answer. The implication from almost all of your comments on this thread is that anyone who answers in the affirmative is only doing it to be "rebellious" or "edgy", which is far from the case.

No problem with people saying Yes, I'm eating meat. I don't really adhere to that rule/don't practise my religion anymore or whatever.

It's the people making silly 'oh yes, I'm going to be chomping into a big juicy plate of meat tomorrow and no priest is going to stop me'.. type posts that are childish and laced with a 'look how bold and disobedient I am' undertone. I presume people are allowed comment on that if they find it silly or sneery towards people with a religious belief?

Do you want me to define what meat is again or did you gloss over that fact.

You and I both know that the flesh of a fish is similar to the flesh of a land based animal. That really doesn't matter, the long-standing tradition is that, for the purposes of fasting/abstaining in the Roman Catholic Church, fish is not strictly considered a meat. Them's the rules. I also heard, it may be an urban legend though, that platypus was also ok.