Will you eat meat tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I was raised as a catholic - atheist now - but I had no idea that meat was supposed to be a no-no on Ash Wednesday. I thought it was just Good Friday and in an much older era, on Fridays generally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Akrasia wrote: »
    The Thur in Thursday refers to the Norse God Thor.
    Thor was just as fictional as this st patrick guy.

The idea of patron saints and norse gods etc are all just relics from our past just like Harvest Festivals (halloween/Samhain). It's a public holiday in ireland, I'm an Irish citizen. It's not a religious festival by any stretch of the imagination.

'This St Patrick guy' was an actual person born around the 5th century and who left a body of written work behind him. He is not a fictional figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Conroy_Band

Can people not see the contradiction in saying they aren't eating meat and than saying they will be having fish instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

'This St Patrick guy' was an actual person born around the 5th century and who left a body of written work behind him. He is not a fictional figure.

So how did he actually get rid of the snakes??

Quasi-factual character at best maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

Simply Red wrote: »
    Ill be eating one of every animal

That's known as a "Half Noah" in the trade.

So how did he actually get rid of the snakes??

That's the part people can dispute if the wish. But saying he didn't exist is like saying Henry the eighth or Strongbow didn't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Natural born carnivore me...meat every day regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Bread and water for me, I'm trying to fit into my cilice!

That's the part people can dispute if the wish. But saying he didn't exist is like saying Henry the eighth or Strongbow didn't exist.

Dispute haha

Can people not see the contradiction in saying they aren't eating meat and than saying they will be having fish instead.

No. It's part of some people's religion to not eat meat at certain times. So they don't. They're not claiming to be vegetarians or anything. Just making a small sacrifice as requested on Ash Wednesday.

Dispute haha

Yes, dispute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Akrasia wrote: »
    The Thur in Thursday refers to the Norse God Thor.
    Thor was just as fictional as this st patrick guy.

The idea of patron saints and norse gods etc are all just relics from our past just like Harvest Festivals (halloween/Samhain). It's a public holiday in ireland, I'm an Irish citizen. It's not a religious festival by any stretch of the imagination.
    But the Norse God was based on true story of Thor, the Second in line to the throne of Asgard, have you not seen the films?

He himself stated he is not a God but he is pretty super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I was going to but have just dipped into the A&A forum and have decided not to,for the sole reason of being different to these loons.
    Also am now waiting with baited breath for the next census form so I can put "catholic" down just to annoy them.

My Jaysus but they spend some amount of time talking crap about something they supposedly don't believe in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Conroy_Band

No. It's part of some people's religion to not eat meat at certain times. So they don't. They're not claiming to be vegetarians or anything. Just making a small sacrifice as requested on Ash Wednesday.

Meat by definition includes fish though. Meat is the flesh or muscle of an animal and what is a fish if not an animal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

Like supporting St.Patricks Athletic in the LOI??

Or Southampton "The Saints" in the EPL??

Just like supporting Arsenal is a shot of support for military culture or supporting the Chicago bears is an insensitive action for victims of forest maulings? We can play the strawman game like 12 year olds all day if you like but I suspect you understand that sports team names are related to origins and aren't actually kicking a ball around in active celebration or dedication to that name.

St.Patricks day meanwhile is a direct celebration of the man who brought Christianity to Ireland.
    jane82 wrote: »
    Ah so are the christians now saying that in order to have a day of drunken debauchery one must not eat meat on ash wednesday. Isnt paddys day during lent?

I wouldn't know, I'm not one. Though if I wanted to have a day of drunken debauchery I'd do it on a holiday celebrating something I want to celebrate. Why not have your day on something with a similarly empty purpose like Arthur's Day?

Yes, dispute.

So outside of fairytale-land some grown-ups ACTUALLY believe that a man called Patrick drove the snakes out of Ireland.

And are willing to argue the point with people who think that this is unbelievable??

Please say more!!!

Meat by definition includes fish though. Meat is the flesh or muscle of an animal and what is a fish if not an animal?

I think the Catholic Church stated that by meat they meant animals that live on the land but not that live in the Sea. Not sure of the theological reason behind that, but that's what a practising Catholic is obliged to adhere to on Ash Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

......But saying he didn't exist is like saying Henry the eighth or Strongbow didn't exist.

This.

Patrick was a real man, who lived a real life, wrote about it and was written about. To suggest he is some fictional character is just plain wrong.

So outside of fairytale-land some grown-ups ACTUALLY believe that a man called Patrick drove the snakes out of Ireland.

And are willing to argue the point with people who think that this is unbelievable??

Please say more!!!

I'm sure there are some that do who would dispute it with you.
    What's that got to do with the fact that a man called Patrick existed, who came to Ireland as a slave, came back as a priest and converted many people to Catholicism and was, therefore, a real person who was later chosen as the patron Saint of Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

eh?

A celebration of the man who brought christianity to Ireland mostly, endorsed by the pope.

Obviously he didn't, but the celebration marks the arrival of Christianity in Ireland.

Monastic myth and history cross paths too much in Patrick's case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Looking forward to some delicious steak...
    I know, right? It's just another Cafeteria Catholic thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

cold blooded beasties (snake/ frog/ aligator) are also allowed.
    its the stupidest idiotic rule ever. If you look up canon law they cant even explain it except that it is the way it is

Eating a feed of salmon or monkfish or lobster or whatever is the craziest way of showing devotion to god or the church.

BTW, 5% meat content is allowed too aparantly, so you can add bacon bits to a soup to make it taste mighty meaty and its grand.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Looking forward to some delicious steak...

Not only are you one of life's great rebels, but also a great wit with an original turn of phrase. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Also am now waiting with baited breath for the next census form so I can put "catholic" down just to annoy them.

oh no please don't I'll be soooo annoyed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Some eejits in this thread :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Not only are you one of life's great rebels, but also a great wit with an original turn of phrase. :rolleyes:
    Why thank you! I'm here all week. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Obviously he didn't, but the celebration marks the arrival of Christianity in Ireland.

Monastic myth and history cross paths too much in Patrick's case.

There were pre-Patrician christians and saints in Ireland. St Ciaran was one that springs to mind. Patrick had a good story behind him so was adopted as "the apostle of the Irish".

So the popular belief is that he was the first to bring Christianity to Ireland but the truth is a little different.

Still though - St Patrick all the way. He was one of the first people in recorded history to suggest that slavery was just plain wrong!

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Why thank you! I'm here all week. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You're so welcome. :rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

I was going to but have just dipped into the A&A forum and have decided not to,for the sole reason of being different to these loons.

My Jaysus but they spend some amount of time talking crap about something they supposedly don't believe in.

It's a shame so many atheists & agnostics are driven to it by a hatred of the church and establishment rather than an appreciation of their own beliefs. I'm one myself but find most of them on the internet to be a truly insufferable bunch, entire communities united only by hate, cynicism, negativity and a dislike for popular society.