Ireland's drinking culture

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

risteard7 wrote: »
    With paddys day just around the corner the talk on tv and radio shows has started on Ireland's drinking culture. I think it is a myth that we drink a lot, we drink no more than the majority of Eu countries.

Five pubs have closed in my local town in the last 3 years and the others only open at 6pm or just Fri,sat,sun.On weekdays there is nobody in the pubs. Outside of Dublin the pub trade is dead.

So where's all this drinking going on? ? And I think the figure for people drinking at home is exaggerated.

Those bits in bold are pretty hard to counter and Im 100% convinced

I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

orangesoda wrote: »
    Fanta, there's too many bits in club, my favourite is a drop of spars orange energy soda

What's the form with drinking orange on St. Patrick's Day up in Derry? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    You mean on top of you, I presume?

Well i have no problem with drunk paddy women on top of me as long as they dont have cavan accents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Muise... wrote: »
    What's the form with drinking orange on St. Patrick's Day up in Derry? :D

Patrick was an adopted Ulsterman through and through, he even was buried here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Well i have no problem with drunk paddy women on top of me as long as they dont have cavan accents
    If you were drunk yourself you wouldn't care about her accent. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

What if they kept their mouths shut?

Some fine bit of fanny down there, don't rule it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Is that you Des Bishop? Back from China yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I always find it strange seeing a sober guy chatting up and trying to take home a drunk girl. It's pretty damn creepy, and it's why even if I chat up a girl in work (in a bar) I'd never go home with them that night, despite offers.

So I'll take being a drunk over being sober any day. Makes pickups far less rapey. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Dear God, here we go again, another guilt trip.
    I for one am getting pretty sick of the constant onslaught of this kind of crap. If we really want to solve Ireland's drinking problems then we need to get to the root of our social issues - people here like getting locked because they're more relaxed and less inhibited, people in other countries don't as much because they're not as inhibited to begin with.

Foreign girls come to Ireland and are amazed at how shy Irish lads are unless they're plastered. I've heard this from numerous women from numerous different countries over the years - why is this? Where does it come from?

Price controls and media blitzes condemning drinking aren't going to solve the problem - we need to find out why people need to be drunk in order to not feel self conscious, why this is worse in Ireland than in other countries, and what we can do to fix it. Otherwise it will continue, and if drink is restricted, raised in price or banned, people will look to other inhibition-killing drugs instead. It's not going to work.

Raise a generation of un-inhibited Irish people and you'll raise a generation who don't need such massive amounts of alcohol as a social crutch.

Dear God, here we go again, another guilt trip.
    I for one am getting pretty sick of the constant onslaught of this kind of crap. If we really want to solve Ireland's drinking problems then we need to get to the root of our social issues - people here like getting locked because they're more relaxed and less inhibited, people in other countries don't as much because they're not as inhibited to begin with.

Foreign girls come to Ireland and are amazed at how shy Irish lads are unless they're plastered. I've heard this from numerous women from numerous different countries over the years - why is this? Where does it come from?

Price controls and media blitzes condemning drinking aren't going to solve the problem - we need to find out why people need to be drunk in order to not feel self conscious, why this is worse in Ireland than in other countries, and what we can do to fix it. Otherwise it will continue, and if drink is restricted, raised in price or banned, people will look to other inhibition-killing drugs instead. It's not going to work.

Raise a generation of un-inhibited Irish people and you'll raise a generation who don't need such massive amounts of alcohol as a social crutch.

Em yeah, there's also the fact that drinking makes you feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they do love us though

This is the absolute truth. Last friday, my girlfriend and I decided to have a little date night. We said we'd go bowling and went on out way to the Leisureplex in Stillorgan. When we arrived about 9pm, there was a security man on the door. He was like "are ya ok there folks?". To which I replied we were just heading for a game for two. He said you need beer to come in. I was gobsmacked, thought he was just being ironic as in opposite to what a doorman would say. But he wouldnt let us in. Apparently it was Bring Your Own Beer night and you had to bring in alcohol to get in! We tried the one in Tallaght after that and it was the same craic.

No having sober fun you wholesome kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Omackeral wrote: »
    This is the absolute truth. Last friday, my girlfriend and I decided to have a little date night. We said we'd go bowling and went on out way to the Leisureplex in Stillorgan. When we arrived about 9pm, there was a security man on the door. He was like "are ya ok there folks?". To which I replied we were just heading for a game for two. He said you need beer to come in. I was gobsmacked, thought he was just being ironic as in opposite to what a doorman would say. But he wouldnt let us in. Apparently it was Bring Your Own Beer night and you had to bring in alcohol to get in! We tried the one in Tallaght after that and it was the same craic.

No having sober fun you wholesome kids!

Should have went to late night mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

No matter what way you switch the data the French are barely behind us. In terms of perceived consumption (what most people think) id say the French would be miles behind us. Sneaky feckers, nobody thinks they are big drinkers but they are! Wine with lunch, aperitif before dinner, wine with dinner, desert wine or digestif after dinner. They're mad for it. Walk around a city or town at lunch time and you'll see people in suits drinking beer or wine with their food on their lunch break. Imagine if you did that in Ireland and your boss found out.

They just don't have the pub culture that we have here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Your body gets used to stout and you don't get black runny sh1ts as much once you do get used to it. You gotta power through.

11.68 litres a year of pure alcohol would be roughly 9 pints a week each.... I'm averaging a bit over double that, as are most of the people I work with and my outside of work friends. I'm doing my bit, ARE YOU?

Jesus sure on a quiet weekend I'll get close to 9 pints without even going out. 4-5 cans after work on a Friday relaxing in front of the TV. Same again Saturday if I don't go out.

On a busy weekend of a Friday and Saturday night and watching football on Saturday and Sunday in the local would put you way over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

18 pints a week is far too much. Seriously you're gonna have health problems when you get older. I'm a 23 year old college student and no stranger to the odd bender and even I think that's a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Our drink culture is a real shame. I use to think and make my own excuses for my drinking by saying it's due to the weather. Once the sun comes out, we go right to the pub or off license. There is no excuse, we're just a nation with alcohol problems

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

MadYaker wrote: »
    18 pints a week is far too much. Seriously you're gonna have health problems when you get older. I'm a 23 year old college student and no stranger to the odd bender and even I think that's a lot!

Did at least 42 a week for ten years. Not a bother on me. Mostly sober now.
    You young folk have no idea what the human body is capable of. Dont be passing on government figures stay away from the spirits you be grand. Enjoy your youth.

jane82 wrote: »
    Did at least 42 a week for ten years. Not a bother on me. Mostly sober now.
    You young folk have no idea what the human body is capable of. Dont be passing on government figures stay away from the spirits you be grand. Enjoy your youth.

That's 6 pints a day! Were you ever sober in that 10 years?

Wompa1 wrote: »

That's 6 pints a day! Were you ever sober in that 10 years?

Yes from about 12 in the day till 8 at night.

You don't ever wish you had that time back? were you able to work and maintain a career while drinking at that hour? Or are you saying you were sober from 12-8?

I've got an aunt who's a drunk. She works from 4am-1pm. Get's home at 1:30pm and drinks until 7:00pm every single day. Has been doing that for over 30 years. Her health is awful though. It's a miracle she's still alive. She doesn't get hangovers at all, says she hasn't since she was younger...she's up and ready to roll every day.

Yes hangovers are generally a sign you dont have a drinking addiction. The body repairs itself. Especially in your 20s. Go have fun but dont overdo it.
    Best advice is dont feel you are entitled to ruin everyones night just because you are drunk. Spirits are for mugs.
    I got a diploma then went off and got a trade in this time probably a silly drunken idea when I look back now but sure you live and learn.

Spirits are for mugs.

Nothing wrong with spirits!
    MadYaker wrote: »

Its not really that much at all, one good night out and you are over half way there (just in pints, never mind spirits) and then if you have just a few here and there during the week and you are past 18 without even trying very hard or up around 18 and then spirits on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Spirits are for mugs.

No, thats tea.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

Binge drinking is the issue.

It's pretty much the same with any drug here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I've said this before, but I get a bit alarmed at the question "do you drink?" - as if it's a yes/no question. A "yes" means that you binge, a "no" means you don't drink at all - and there seems to be no room for someone like me, who has the occasional drink, but never gets drunk.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Ah now, I'm not one for "Ireland is so terrible because..." pronouncements, but if you think the heavy drinking culture is a "myth" here, you're delusional.

We don't generally have beers with our breakfast and lunch etc, but we have massive binges a hell of a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

'Ireland has a drinking problem.'
    I am not sure how appropriate it is for me to comment on this topic... :eek:

czechlin wrote: »
    'Ireland has a drinking problem.'
    I am not sure how appropriate it is for me to comment on this topic... :eek:

Are you Czech, or drunk, or both? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Muise... wrote: »
    Are you Czech, or drunk, or both? :D

Shhh... :P