John Gilligan Shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I love all these people saying they find it sick that there are so many people saying he wished he'd died, that man grub creature who has done untold damage in his time, let us hope the next gun man is more clinical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Taffy Kat wrote: »
    Drug dealers prey on the weak and naive.
    awwwwwwww, my heart bleeds, its very simple, no excuse not to know these days that drugs are dangerous, i would have bought your statement in the 1980s when irelands drug issue was starting out but now, no
    Its well known that they entice people into a vicious web from which it is very difficult to escape.
    the people who take them choose to do so.
    They aren't selling Mars Bars... they're selling highly addictive substances and they know what a mess people will end up in.
    so are publicans, offlicences and so on.
    They're vultures who thrive off misery.
    no, their providing a service people are stupid enough to avail of
    plenty of other countries around the world treat drug dealers far more harshly than in Europe, and rightly so in my opinion.
    rightly so? what does it achieve? oh yeah i know, **** all
    It is becoming increasingly socially unacceptable to be anything but a liberal.
    no it isn't, any right thinking person will not care a less about fake social unacceptability, it only exists because people are afraid to go against it, thankfully though many like me and you aren't
    Then the law is making a huge mistake.
    no its not, no evidence linking him to it, just a bunch of co-incidents but thats it.
    By your argument, for a period of time, the Guildford Four and the Birmingham Six committed those atrocities.
    no, they were set up
    Just as there are miscarriages of justice one way, there are miscarriages the other.
    yes, but not in his case, the evidence is clear
    Just because someone has been found not guilty doesn't mean s/he hasn't done those things.
    again, he hasn't done any of that stuff until its proven that he has.
    It might in the eyes of the law, but people do get away with things.
    again, he got away with nothing, what the evidence proved he did, he was jailed for.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Why do you keep spouting this rubbish?

I wonder was Veronica Guerin's son traumatised.
    whats that got to do with what he said? i suppose your fine with an 8 year old little girl being traumatised over seeing her grandfather being shot, just because you wonder if the son of somebody who was murdered not by him but can't accept it was traumatised? very very low

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Taffy Kat

whats that got to do with what he said? i suppose your fine with an 8 year old little girl being traumatised over seeing her grandfather being shot, just because you wonder if the son of somebody who was murdered not by him but can't accept it was traumatised? very very low

No, I'm not OK with it. The mother of that eight year old girl is an absolute c**t, and completely unfit to be a mother. If you're prepared to put your child in that kind of situation, in that kind of danger, then you are not doing your job as a parent and the child should be taken from you.
    awwwwwwww, my heart bleeds, its very simple, no excuse not to know these days that drugs are dangerous, i would have bought your statement in the 1980s when irelands drug issue was starting out but now, no

the people who take them choose to do so.

so are publicans, offlicences and so on.

no, their providing a service people are stupid enough to avail of

rightly so? what does it achieve? oh yeah i know, **** all

no it isn't, any right thinking person will not care a less about fake social unacceptability, it only exists because people are afraid to go against it, thankfully though many like me and you aren't

no its not, no evidence linking him to it, just a bunch of co-incidents but thats it.

no, they were set up

yes, but not in his case, the evidence is clear

again, he got away with nothing, what the evidence proved he did, he was jailed for.

Drugs are illegal, so you can't equate them with alcohol. Sorry, that argument doesn't hold up. I would like to ask you, however, what you think of child pornography peddlers? Are they also providing a service to buyers who are fully aware of what they are purchasing? Arguably they also know the risks, that they're likely to have Gardaí wanting to have a chat with them. Just wondering where your concept of the laws of the market start and finish.

Valetta wrote: »
    Can't let this go unchallenged.

He either was involved with Veronica's murder, or he wasn't.

What the court says can't change facts.
    and the fact is that he wasn't found guilty of her murder, thats it

You stated:
    until it is proved before a court of law that he did any of that stuff, then he didn't, thats how it is

That's patently not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

No, I'm not OK with it. The mother of that eight year old girl is an absolute c**t, and completely unfit to be a mother. If you're prepared to put your child in that kind of situation, in that kind of danger, then you are not doing your job as a parent and the child should be taken from you.

Drugs are illegal, so you can't equate them with alcohol. Sorry, that argument doesn't hold up. I would like to ask you, however, what you think of child pornography peddlers? Are they also providing a service to buyers who are fully aware of what they are purchasing? Arguably they also know the risks, that they're likely to have Gardaí wanting to have a chat with them. Just wondering where your concept of the laws of the market start and finish.

Taffy you talk some amount of tripe.

A drug dealer and a kiddy fiddler are not the same. People buy drugs and they are doing harm to themselves. People buy child porn knowing a child has been physically and mentally abused and absolutely degraded. They aren't even in the same league. Cop the fock on.

Taffy you talk some amount of tripe.

A drug dealer and a kiddy fiddler are not the same. People buy drugs and they are doing harm to themselves. People buy child porn knowing a child has been physically and mentally abused and absolutely degraded. They aren't even in the same league. Cop the fock on.

Both are criminals. The only difference is a child pornography peddler sells his wares knowing that it was created from harm, a drug dealer sells his wares knowing its use will be harmful. You cannot convince me that it is anything but morally repugnant to sell drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Both are criminals. The only difference is a child pornography peddler sells his wares knowing that it was created from harm, a drug dealer sells his wares knowing its use will be harmful. You cannot convince me that it is anything but morally repugnant to sell drugs.

You're absolutely raving if you think selling cannabis or even yokes is in the same league as using child pornography

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Why was veronica guerin shot?

You've got to be seriously taking the Michael here?

batistuta9 wrote: »

She was exposing all the bad things Gilligan was doing, so he arranged to have her killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I've heard it all now! Comparing a drug dealer to a child porn peddler, are you serious?

She was exposing all the bad things Gilligan was doing, so he arranged to have her killed.

Is the film a fairly accurate account of it, do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Funny how the courts don't agree, eh?

Holsten wrote: »

Why do you think she got killed?

Was she just the first journalist that took a serious look into criminality

Is the film a fairly accurate account of it, do you know?

I would think so.

Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

He didn't agree with her style of writing. He is more of a fan of Narrative while she wrote Descriptive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I've heard it all now! Comparing a drug dealer to a child porn peddler, are you serious?

Both do irrefutable damage to families across the world

You're absolutely raving if you think selling cannabis or even yokes is in the same league as using child pornography
    You've got to be seriously taking the Michael here?

I find both equally as abhorrent, and that both offenders, a drug dealer, and a child pornography peddler, get away with light prison sentences disgusts me. I have notice the remarks such as "he was only importing/selling a bit of smoke". Those that made those remarks are showing themselves in a poor light. Drugs kill. Drug dealers do not go after mature, responsible individuals capable of making reasoned judgements. They go after people who are either (a)naive, or (b)in desperate circumstances and need an escape.

I have one question that I'd like all of those attacking me to answer. Suppose someone got drugs from Gilligan, built up a bit of debt with him, and then couldn't pay. Now, I have a hunch Gilligan wouldn't want to chase those people through the courts, or report them to the Gardaí. As moronically unintelligent as he appears to be, I don't suppose even he's dopey enough to ring 999 and say "eh, Guard, dis bleedin' gom, I sold him a load of dope, and now he won't pay me back, what yis gonna do about it?" So how do you think your wonderful John would have gotten said money?

Answers on a postcard to: "we live in a fantasy world where drug dealers are kind, warm, loving individuals".

If anyone lives in a fantasy world here, its those who believe that, at heart, Gilligan is a good guy.

Drug dealers prey on the weak, child pornographers prey on the weak, in my book both deserve hanging.

For goodness sake, next you'll be waxing on about how Larry Murphy has repaid his debt to society. How he grew up in terrible circumstances, and how he is basically misunderstood.

Drug dealers prey on the weak, child pornographers prey on the weak, in my book both deserve hanging.

For goodness sake, next you'll be waxing on about how Larry Murphy has repaid his debt to society. How he grew up in terrible circumstances, and how he is basically misunderstood.

On a different thread that was actually mentioned to day

Gatling wrote: »
    On a different thread that was actually mentioned to day

You're not serious? Someone actually thinks Murphy has done his time and is a victim of circumstance?

I'd ask the person who made comments like that whether they'd want him alone around female members of their family.

I find both equally as abhorrent,.

So selling a few 50 bags of a plant is the exact same in your mind as producing child pornography?

I'd be hoping Gilligan doesn't pull through but not for his drug dealing. He imported cannabis which is less harmful than the pints you can legally buy in every street corner in Ireland. It's the threatening behavior and alleged murders he ordered that in my mind stick out as the main reason that I'm delighted the ****er got what was coming to him

Unfortunate that it had to happen in front of that young girl though

Your Peado/drugdealer comparison is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

You're not serious? Someone actually thinks Murphy has done his time and is a victim of circumstance?

I'd ask the person who made comments like that whether they'd want him alone around female members of their family.
    Here is the thing, he HAS served his debt to society whether you like it or not. He has paid his debt in the eyes of the law. 10 years in prison. You would want him to pay even more, but thankfully you don't deal out the sentences. He has not re offended since his release.

Why are you talking about Larry Murphy in a thread about John Gilligan getting shot?

I find both equally as abhorrent, and that both offenders, a drug dealer, and a child pornography peddler, get away with light prison sentences disgusts me. I have notice the remarks such as "he was only importing/selling a bit of smoke". Those that made those remarks are showing themselves in a poor light. Drugs kill. Drug dealers do not go after mature, responsible individuals capable of making reasoned judgements. They go after people who are either (a)naive, or (b)in desperate circumstances and need an escape.

I have one question that I'd like all of those attacking me to answer. Suppose someone got drugs from Gilligan, built up a bit of debt with him, and then couldn't pay. Now, I have a hunch Gilligan wouldn't want to chase those people through the courts, or report them to the Gardaí. As moronically unintelligent as he appears to be, I don't suppose even he's dopey enough to ring 999 and say "eh, Guard, dis bleedin' gom, I sold him a load of dope, and now he won't pay me back, what yis gonna do about it?" So how do you think your wonderful John would have gotten said money?

Answers on a postcard to: "we live in a fantasy world where drug dealers are kind, warm, loving individuals".

If anyone lives in a fantasy world here, its those who believe that, at heart, Gilligan is a good guy.

A person has a choice if they take drugs.

A child does not have a choice if they get rapped.

How hard is that to understand? Any person that uses drugs has had a choice at some stage, a child has not.

I've never defended JG once by the way I've said I didn't care what happened him. All I've said is facts, can you prove any more? Do you know someone was convicted of killing her?

Then you go and bring Larry M into it! Who's next Rose and Fred West?!

Jayus posters on here never cease to amaze me at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Here is the thing, he HAS served his debt to society whether you like it or not. He has paid his debt in the eyes of the law. 10 years in prison. You would want him to pay even more, but thankfully you don't deal out the sentences. He has not re offended since his release.

Why are you talking about Larry Murphy in a thread about John Gilligan getting shot?

I think he served 17 years. Which is more than a lot of convicted killers serve.

So selling a few 50 bags of a plant is the exact same in your mind as producing child pornography?

I'd be hoping Gilligan doesn't pull through but not for his drug dealing. He imported cannabis which is less harmful than the pints you can legally buy in every street corner in Ireland. It's the threatening behavior and alleged murders he ordered that in my mind stick out

Your Peado/drugdealer comparison is ridiculous

Ask yourself would you want either anywhere near your family?

There is petty crime, that some people fall into out of a mixture of bad luck and bad decisions. A petty sneak thief, for example. A drug dealer, particularly one to the magnitude of Gilligan, wreaks havoc and harm on their victims, but also the families of those victims.

Enough of this horsesh*t that he was only selling cannabis. Cannabis is known to, in and of itself do harm, and in turn to lead to bigger and worse drugs. Please God it will never happen to you, but whether you have them now or in the future, would you be happy if your children or grandchildren got involved in drugs? I suspect the answer is no.

Ask yourself would you want either anywhere near your family?

There is petty crime, that some people fall into out of a mixture of bad luck and bad decisions. A petty sneak thief, for example. A drug dealer, particularly one to the magnitude of Gilligan, wreaks havoc and harm on their victims, but also the families of those victims.

Enough of this horsesh*t that he was only selling cannabis. Cannabis is known to, in and of itself do harm, and in turn to lead to bigger and worse drugs. Please God it will never happen to you, but whether you have them now or in the future, would you be happy if your children or grandchildren got involved in drugs? I suspect the answer is no.

god almighty you haven't a bulls notion. I'm out