John Gilligan Shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

awec wrote: »
    The Indo said he spent the day at Jessbrook. I thought the CAB stripped that from him?

His wife apparently has a house beside it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

How is he this morning after his breakfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

snowbabe wrote: »
    How is he this morning after his breakfast?
    he's great,having scrambled eggs when he should of had scrambled brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

the_monkey wrote: »
    Some guy on PK on newstalk is saying "The good news is he'll make a full recovery" - Good news ????

Paul Williams.

Guys like Gilligan keep him in a job unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

the_monkey wrote: »
    Some guy on PK on newstalk is saying "The good news is he'll make a full recovery" - Good news ????
    Perhaps so they can shoot him again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Hitchens wrote: »
    Vincent Vega

Didn't Jamie join also die in or around the jax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Hitchens wrote: »
    Several family members visited the hospital yesterday but had no comment to make when approached by journalists, except: "I don't know how you sleep at night."

Is this true? If it is, then here's the reason that these so called "innocent" family members deserve absolutely no sympathy. These people have no concept of right and wrong. In their eyes the likes of Gilligan and his ilk have done nothing wrong, and it's law abiding taxpayers - Gardai, journalists - who are scum. The rest of us are just chumps.

There's a big difference between standing by a family member and accepting/turning a blind eye to what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

The same clowns argue for the legalisation of cannabis in other threads... and talk about how great it is. Yet Gilligan is literally worse than Hitler for importing and selling it

Idiotic post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭degsie

There's that Mr H mentioned again. Thread will close soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

so two lads tried to kill him while he was sitting on a toilet seat and ****ed it up.......... regular assassins they are :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Taffy Kat

Are there still goons on here arguing what a good man he is and how he deserves society's love? Personally, I would have preferred it if, when he was in jail, he'd been bummed mercilessly every minute of every hour of every day he was inside and had died of unmedicated AIDS. That didn't happen, so if they shoot him now then I'm happy, I'd be happier still if they get some ex-Provo who knows what he's doing to do it next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Is this true? If it is, then here's the reason that these so called "innocent" family members deserve absolutely no sympathy. These people have no concept of right and wrong. In their eyes the likes of Gilligan and his ilk have done nothing wrong, and it's law abiding taxpayers - Gardai, journalists - who are scum. The rest of us are just chumps.

There's a big difference between standing by a family member and accepting/turning a blind eye to what they do.

It's quoted in this Independent article anyway, apparently it was his daughter Tracey who said to journalists ""Just turn around and go. I don't know how you sleep at night."

Now I wouldn't appreciate having journalists approach me for comment if my Dad had just been shot and I was sitting in hospital waiting for news, however my Dad isn't a criminal so I don't have much sympathy for them to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

SeaFields wrote: »
    Paul Williams.

Guys like Gilligan keep him in a job unfortunately.

Williams often spoke (with seeming authority) on the millions that Gilligan had stashed away. Paul, if you're reading this could you possibly elucidate? Otherwise people might get the impression that you have a touch of Walter Mitty in your opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

He is pretty much dead man walking now.

It will be a while before a attempted murder on him will happen again.

imo the next time he wont be so lucky.

I wonder though will he try get payback. I would be surprised if Gardai did not know who tried murder him.

EVENFLOW

In my opinion this will put an end to it. He came out of prison thinking he was still the big I am. He was shown otherwise on Saturday night. I think he'll slink off into retirement now. In another country. With a different name. All funded for by the Irish taxpayer. Saturday night, for him, was a dream come true. Wouldn't be surprised if he put the "hit" out on himself, knowing what he stood to gain. He'll gain out of this what the evil f*****s who murdered Jamie Bolger got out of the British state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Taffy Kat wrote: »
    In my opinion this will put an end to it. He came out of prison thinking he was still the big I am. He was shown otherwise on Saturday night. I think he'll slink off into retirement now. In another country. With a different name. All funded for by the Irish taxpayer. Saturday night, for him, was a dream come true. Wouldn't be surprised if he put the "hit" out on himself, knowing what he stood to gain. He'll gain out of this what the evil f*****s who murdered Jamie Bolger got out of the British state.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

The article calls him a murderer, its never up to anyone to prove they are not a murderer. If he brought it to court he would merely have to point to his own criminal record which, as far as I'm aware, does not contain any convictions of murder.

thestar wrote: »
    He is a convicted drug dealer. Drug dealer and murderer are two very different things. Anyway for all we know this may not have even been claimed in the Indo, no offence to anybody here but boards is not a very reliable source of information at times
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/jimmy-guerin-john-gilligans-evil-grin-haunts-our-family-30054252.html
    The article, as published on the front page of yesterdays Independent.

I don't think he'll be opening proceedings, he'll most likely leave the country. Very stupid of the editor to allow it go to print though. You don't leave yourself open to potential million euro libel claims, particularly ones you will definitely lose if it were to go to court.

lol

Wouldn't expect anything less from someone who idolises scum like Gilligan. They apparently stood two feet from him, shot him four times, and still didn't kill him. Ahahahahahahaha!!! Are you pulling my leg? Oh, but there was a door between them? A wrought iron one? No. A reinforced steel one? No. A heavy metal one of any description? Noooooooo. A flimsy toilet one? Yes. That they didn't think to kick through to get a better aim? Of course not. Oh those boyos were up there with the IRA, ETA and Al Qaeda so they were lol.

Grow up will you. Realise what Gilligan is, and see him for what he really is. And stop idolising him before you find yourself in too deep.

Where he was hit is pathetic. There was no possibility whatsoever he could've been killed given where the bullets struck him. And he's a manipulative evil c**t who would think nothing of setting something up to rip off the Irish taxpayer in exchange for a home in the sun. He is about as pure a case for the return of capital punishment that you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

i know its an awful thing for a pacifist like myself to say but i wish he'd been killed. It would put an end or some kind of closure to this sordid tale, and for Veronica Guerin's family too. As long as him and his ilk are alive and breathing, he's only a menace to society.

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    i know its an awful thing for a pacifist like myself to say but i wish he'd been killed. It would put an end or some kind of closure to this sordid tale, and for Veronica Guerin's family too. As long as him and his ilk are alive and breathing, he's only a menace to society.

Thank-you. A pacifist with common sense. Personally, I have my own suspicions about those who say they think its terrible that he was shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

Soooooooooooo glad he wasn't shot dead. He can spend every minute of the rest of his hopefully long life looking over his shoulder wondering where the next gunman is waiting for him, hope he has a lot of fresh underwear handy.

PS I wouldent waste anymoney buying gilligan any long playing records

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Wouldn't expect anything less from someone who idolises scum like Gilligan. They apparently stood two feet from him, shot him four times, and still didn't kill him. Ahahahahahahaha!!! Are you pulling my leg? Oh, but there was a door between them? A wrought iron one? No. A reinforced steel one? No. A heavy metal one of any description? Noooooooo. A flimsy toilet one? Yes. That they didn't think to kick through to get a better aim? Of course not. Oh those boyos were up there with the IRA, ETA and Al Qaeda so they were lol.

Grow up will you. Realise what Gilligan is, and see him for what he really is. And stop idolising him before you find yourself in too deep.

Where he was hit is pathetic. There was no possibility whatsoever he could've been killed given where the bullets struck him. And he's a manipulative evil c**t who would think nothing of setting something up to rip off the Irish taxpayer in exchange for a home in the sun. He is about as pure a case for the return of capital punishment that you can get.

Are you proposing that he had himself gunned down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

This must rank as one of the most stupid posts ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Shotguns don't fire bullets. The rest of your Walter Mitty-like synopsis of the crime scene doesn't carry much weight given you'd make that mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

This must rank as one of the most stupid posts ever.

Didn't notice that one.

Quite a stretch alright.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

This planet you are from, is it far from the sun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Are you by any chance the editor of the Daily Mail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Are there still goons on here arguing what a good man he is and how he deserves society's love? Personally, I would have preferred it if, when he was in jail, he'd been bummed mercilessly every minute of every hour of every day he was inside and had died of unmedicated AIDS. That didn't happen, so if they shoot him now then I'm happy, I'd be happier still if they get some ex-Provo who knows what he's doing to do it next time.

Psychotic post

Shotguns don't fire bullets. The rest of your Walter Mitty-like synopsis of the crime scene doesn't carry much weight given you'd make that mistake.

Sorry, I'm not a criminal with expert knowledge of firearms and ammunition. Perhaps you'd care to enlighten us further. Obviously you have a lot of knowledge.

Those of you who think the post I wrote was stupid must live on the moon. Believing in the innate goodness of people. Hahahaha, what ye been smoking? And did Gilligan sell it ye?

As I said, I have my suspicions about those who defend Gilligan in any way shape or form. I firmly believe that man is capable of anything. There is only one reason anyone would defend Gilligan and its not got anything good connected with it. Work away calling me a Walter Mitty, but I'd rather have that in your minds when you think of me, than what I have in my mind when I think of ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There is only one reason anyone would defend Gilligan and its not got anything good connected with it. Work away calling me a Walter Mitty, but I'd rather have that in your minds when you think of me, than what I have in my mind when I think of ye.

It seems that, to you, anyone not wishing to see him shot dead or raped in the ass, is 'defending' him.