Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Well done man, and good to meet you today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done. It was never in doubt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

great stuff - well done and well deserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

belcarra wrote: »
    Well done man, and good to meet you today!

Thanks a lot. You actually look very familiar. Must have seen you at other races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Great news well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

RedRunner wrote: »
    Thanks a lot. You actually look very familiar. Must have seen you at other races?

No doubt we've probably ran a few races together. That or you're a very forgetful stalker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

WOOHOO go RR!!! Delighted for ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fair play R - well done. Look forward to the report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done RR - well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Well done Red Runner, fully deserved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good man ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I wonder did somebody party too hard today to do their homework(report)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

GOLD!:D:D:D

Race report to follow later when I land back on Earth.

Nice dry wretch at the end too :D;)

Ososlo wrote: »
    I wonder did somebody party too hard today to do their homework(report)?

Ha ha...not quite. It's coming shortly:)

Sunday 2nd March -Bohermeen Half Marathon

I'd been looking forward to this. Marathon training for London has been going well but this would be a real test of whether the effort in training could produce some results. Recent sessions seemed to suggest I could go for 1:40 or better today but I wasn't as confident of that as some on here but said I'd go for it and if it didnt work out, well it just didnt work out. It was very important though that I went sub 1:45 to give me the confidence that 3:45 was on the cards for April.

Pre-Race Build Up

Had my second pasta meal in two nights last night and drank 3 litres of water yesterday.Finished off the day by hitting the sack at 10:30pm. My OH was in shock as I'm usually last one to bed. "God you're taking this running awful serious..." or words to that effect. Well I suppose I am a bit but just wanted to give myself the best chance of putting in a decent performance today.

Up at 8 bells after a good night's rest and had a nice big bowl of porridge followed by two slices of toast and cup of tea. I'm not a coffee man. Followed this shortly with a Beetroot shot. Well if it works for AMK..why not. I was willing to try anything just short of witch doctors tomake things go my way today. Overall was feeling good, some pre-race nerves but in a good way. Set off about 9.30ish as I wanted to get down early as I hadnt a clue of layout of Bohermeen and wanted to get my bearings. Stopped off at shop to grab some bananas as we were all out at home.

On the way I chewed on some sports jellybeans and had a few sips of lucozade sport. On the way I reaslised that this was actually the first race I've taken part in outside of Dublin. I was injured for Athlone Half last year so couldnt make that so Bohermeen would be my "country" debut! The closer I got to Bohermeen though the worse the weather seemed to get and when I arrived and parked up in "The Field" it was lashing rain. Feck it, I thought, please don't let the weather be dictator of how things would pan out today. Delayed getting doing my warm up till the latest possible time and walked down to race HQ to grab my t-shirt and figure out where the start was. Met Davemcmahon when I was down there and jogged back to car park with him while discussing our different targets for the day. Dropped my jacket off and jogged back down to start with Dave , where he began pointing out some of the Boardsies that I hadn't met before including the main man Krusty who was the sole pacer of the day with the 1:30 balloon.

I bid Dave farewell and wished him luck as I head off for another quick stretch of the legs and to get the head into the race place. Starter was calling for people at this stage so made my way back and nestled into the crowd about 10 rows back from the start. Spotted a few clubmates as I did this and was feeling good. Rain was falling again afer a brief respite but that didnt bother me too much, was more worried about the wind . The starter held on a little bit for some stragglers and eventually let us off .Time to get down to business.

The first few hundred metres were quite slow and a bit of friendly jostling ensued as the road was a bit tight but was happy to be patient and bide my time before settling into a nice rhythm. That didnt take long and felt comfortable for the first few miles trying to keep an even pace. No pacer so was just feeling my way through some of the groups that had formed until I found one that seemed to be going around the right pace.

Miles 1-3 : 7:29,7:40,7:35

Was feeling comfortable and settling into a nice groove and really just hoped I could keep it up for as long as possible. The further we got along the course the more realistic I felt 1:40 was. It was a nice course with some nice gradual downhils and one testing incline. Next few miles went quickly by and I ws beginning to enjoy this.

Miles 4-8: 7:35,7:35,7:35,7:39,7:30

Took a gel at 9 miles. Was begining to get a bit tougher and had left the group at this stage. A few lads had broken away and I was a bit in no mans land and tried to catch them, which I did, but was to lose them after another mile or so as I tired a little. They were going for sub 1:40 too so was worried I might be off the pace. Dug deeper here and tried to focus on keeping around the 7:35 mark if I could and relax through the discomfort. Was picking people off at this stage and catching various groups so that gve me some confidence that I was still strong and had it in me.

Miles 9-11: 7:36,7:25,7:28

Once I hit mile 11 I knew it was there for the taking. I just had to keep focussed and concentrate on keeping the legs turning over. Nearly there,just keep that effort up and you will break the 1:40 mark, I kept telling myself. As we drew closer the sight of crowds in the distance gave me a little boost . Other runners around me were increasing the effort to get home so tried staying with them and that really helped me maintaing the pace I need . The sight of the school and the finish was a welcome one and as we turned onto the track and finishing straight I knew I had it in the bag. Fantastic feeling as I crossed the line and a quick glance at the garmin showed me at 1:39:49. Followed quickly by a dry wretch and the welcome sight of Menoscemo congratulating me on my efforts. Quickly after that , met Dave again and was delighted to hear that he hit his target too. Got introduced to Ultraman and Belcarra which was great too. Nice to put some more faces to names from here.

Final stretch: 7:43, 7:39, (6:33)

13.2 miles @7:33 Official Chip time : 1:39:50

Interestingly my garmin time now shows 1:39:43 after uploading it even though I'd swear it was 1:39:49 after I crossed the line. Official chip time gives me 1:39:50 which is almost 17 minutes better than my last official HM (Dublin 2012: 1:56:38). I'm absolutely elated and if next few weeks go well I should be travelling to London in a confident mood.

Lovely soup afterwards in clubhouse and then made my way back to car. Had contemplated going back to see if I could see more people I knew for a chat but the car park conditions were getting worse so I thought I'd head off while the going was good. Actually the going was good to extremely sloppy! Managed to get out after a couple of pushes. I'd say the tractor was busy later.

Still in shock though after reading about Mr Stew!

15.24 miles for day including warmup. Didn't bother with warm down but did lots of stretching when I got home.

WTD|41.65
    MTD|18.44
    YTD|373.62

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Sunday 2nd March -Bohermeen Half Marathon

I'd been looking forward to this. Marathon training for London has been going well but this would be a real test of whether the effort in training could produce some results. Recent sessions seemed to suggest I could go for 1:40 or better today but I wasn't as confident of that as some on here but said I'd go for it and if it didnt work out, well it just didnt work out. It was very important though that I went sub 1:45 to give me the confidence that 3:45 was on the cards for April.

Pre-Race Build Up

Had my second pasta meal in two nights last night and drank 3 litres of water yesterday.Finished off the day by hitting the sack at 10:30pm. My OH was in shock as I'm usually last one to bed. "God you're taking this running awful serious..." or words to that effect. Well I suppose I am a bit but just wanted to give myself the best chance of putting in a decent performance today.

Up at 8 bells after a good night's rest and had a nice big bowl of porridge followed by two slices of toast and cup of tea. I'm not a coffee man. Followed this shortly with a Beetroot shot. Well if it works for AMK..why not. I was willing to try anything just short of witch doctors tomake things go my way today. Overall was feeling good, some pre-race nerves but in a good way. Set off about 9.30ish as I wanted to get down early as I hadnt a clue of layout of Bohermeen and wanted to get my bearings. Stopped off at shop to grab some bananas as we were all out at home.

On the way I chewed on some sports jellybeans and had a few sips of lucozade sport. On the way I reaslised that this was actually the first race I've taken part in outside of Dublin. I was injured for Athlone Half last year so couldnt make that so Bohermeen would be my "country" debut! The closer I got to Bohermeen though the worse the weather seemed to get and when I arrived and parked up in "The Field" it was lashing rain. Feck it, I thought, please don't let the weather be dictator of how things would pan out today. Delayed getting doing my warm up till the latest possible time and walked down to race HQ to grab my t-shirt and figure out where the start was. Met Davemcmahon when I was down there and jogged back to car park with him while discussing our different targets for the day. Dropped my jacket off and jogged back down to start with Dave , where he began pointing out some of the Boardsies that I hadn't met before including the main man Krusty who was the sole pacer of the day with the 1:30 balloon.

I bid Dave farewell and wished him luck as I head off for another quick stretch of the legs and to get the head into the race place. Starter was calling for people at this stage so made my way back and nestled into the crowd about 10 rows back from the start. Spotted a few clubmates as I did this and was feeling good. Rain was falling again afer a brief respite but that didnt bother me too much, was more worried about the wind . The starter held on a little bit for some stragglers and eventually let us off .Time to get down to business.

The first few hundred metres were quite slow and a bit of friendly jostling ensued as the road was a bit tight but was happy to be patient and bide my time before settling into a nice rhythm. That didnt take long and felt comfortable for the first few miles trying to keep an even pace. No pacer so was just feeling my way through some of the groups that had formed until I found one that seemed to be going around the right pace.

Miles 1-3 : 7:29,7:40,7:35

Was feeling comfortable and settling into a nice groove and really just hoped I could keep it up for as long as possible. The further we got along the course the more realistic I felt 1:40 was. It was a nice course with some nice gradual downhils and one testing incline. Next few miles went quickly by and I ws beginning to enjoy this.

Miles 4-8: 7:35,7:35,7:35,7:39,7:30

Took a gel at 9 miles. Was begining to get a bit tougher and had left the group at this stage. A few lads had broken away and I was a bit in no mans land and tried to catch them, which I did, but was to lose them after another mile or so as I tired a little. They were going for sub 1:40 too so was worried I might be off the pace. Dug deeper here and tried to focus on keeping around the 7:35 mark if I could and relax through the discomfort. Was picking people off at this stage and catching various groups so that gve me some confidence that I was still strong and had it in me.

Miles 9-11: 7:36,7:25,7:28

Once I hit mile 11 I knew it was there for the taking. I just had to keep focussed and concentrate on keeping the legs turning over. Nearly there,just keep that effort up and you will break the 1:40 mark, I kept telling myself. As we drew closer the sight of crowds in the distance gave me a little boost . Other runners around me were increasing the effort to get home so tried staying with them and that really helped me maintaing the pace I need . The sight of the school and the finish was a welcome one and as we turned onto the track and finishing straight I knew I had it in the bag. Fantastic feeling as I crossed the line and a quick glance at the garmin showed me at 1:39:49. Followed quickly by a dry wretch and the welcome sight of Menoscemo congratulating me on my efforts. Quickly after that , met Dave again and was delighted to hear that he hit his target too. Got introduced to Ultraman and Belcarra which was great too. Nice to put some more faces to names from here.

Final stretch: 7:43, 7:39, (6:33)

13.2 miles @7:33 Official Chip time : 1:39:50

Interestingly my garmin time now shows 1:39:43 after uploading it even though I'd swear it was 1:39:49 after I crossed the line. Official chip time gives me 1:39:50 which is almost 17 minutes better than my last official HM (Dublin 2012: 1:56:38). I'm absolutely elated and if next few weeks go well I should be travelling to London in a confident mood.

Lovely soup afterwards in clubhouse and then made my way back to car. Had contemplated going back to see if I could see more people I knew for a chat but the car park conditions were getting worse so I thought I'd head off while the going was good. Actually the going was good to extremely sloppy! Managed to get out after a couple of pushes. I'd say the tractor was busy later.

Still in shock though after reading about Mr Stew!

15.24 miles for day including warmup. Didn't bother with warm down but did lots of stretching when I got home.

WTD|41.65
    MTD|18.44
    YTD|373.62

Looks like your pacing was absolutely perfect. Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Great breakfast read. Delighted for you mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Fantastic race report RR, excellent time you worked hard for it well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Never in doubt! ;) Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Super stuff RR - looks like it was never really in doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Absolutely delighted for ya RR, well deserved, London will be so sweet for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Well done Red Runner. Great to see your consistent training paying off.

Monday 3rd March

Recovery run today. A bit jaded after yesterdays efforts. Some tightness in left glute and hamstring so did plenty of stretching.

Other than that and a small blister on one of my toes, no other ill effects from yesterday's race.

3.47mi@10:41avg

WTD|3.47
    MTD|21.91
    YTD|377.09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Really enjoyed your report this morning. Well worth the wait!
    You're flying it!

Tuesday 4th March

Ran home from work. Left hammer a little tight and at one stage my right one nearly cramped up so had to check my stride but got through it unscathed . Think the body was protesting a little.

7.13mi@9:31avg

Wednesday 5th March

Well now this was an interesting day! Up at 3.45am to drop our Italian students to airport after the weeks stay with us. Back home by just after 5am so decided to do my run then. I must be bonkers! Was a bit of an effort, probably because it hadn't been long since the run the night before and the fact that I had about 4 hrs sleep. Now I know how you feel on a regular basis Ososlo!!

Took it very handy and was delighted I decided to get it done and dusted so early on in the end. I'll take it very easy now over the next couple of days to allow the body recover properly before the LSR at the weekend. Didn't quite hit the 12 miles in the plan but wasn't too bothered with that and didn't do any strides because the hammer is still a bit tight. Massage booked for Friday will be very timely.

11.39miles@9:41

WTD|21.99
    MTD|40.43
    YTD|395.61

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Congratulations on Sunday.

Thanks. How did you get on yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

1:39:06

I'm sure we would have over-taken each other at times but I never saw number 12!

1:39:06

I'm sure we would have over-taken each other at times but I never saw number 12!

Well done!

Yeah probably were close enough to each other alright. I was in the Raheny colours.

Thursday 6th March

Easy run at lunchtime. Legs felt really good actually. Found myself bouncing along merrily at one stage and then realised I was going too fast but it felt easy. Niggles felt less niggly than yesterday.

It's crisis time now though re the shoes. Not many miles left and no Brooks Adrenalines available. Have orders in with both AK and runways. Apparently there was problem with the 14s heel cup and they were recalled. As a result all the 13s sold like hotcakes. Starting to panic a bit now:eek: Would hope to have them for next few LSRs but not likely this week.

3.47mi@9:07

WTD|25.46
    MTD|43.9
    YTD|399.08