John Gilligan Shot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Grove street muthafvcka !!

bang bang bang bang screeeech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

The same clowns argue for the legalisation of cannabis in other threads... and talk about how great it is. Yet Gilligan is literally worse than Hitler for importing and selling it

Because Gilligan never did anything except sell pot? I was going to respond to this bilge in more detail, but my thoughts on your post can be summed up with a video I've been looking for an excuse to use.

you can be for the ending of prohibition and still think al capone is a murderous ****
    QFT!

As to the original topic, couldn't have happened to a nicer guy. I just hope the shooters didn't steal and then burn out a getaway car.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Taffy Kat wrote: »
    If you're the sort of clown who hangs around with the likes of Gilligan you deserve what you see/get. And anyone who would allow their children around him should have their children taken away by social services. Sorry, but somehow I doubt the people at that home were pillars of society.

Good lord, are you for real? Keyboard warrior!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Taffy Kat

@ My name is URL

If he was a member of my family I would have disowned him long ago and if it was my child's christening he would have been told he had no place at it and would not be welcome. Would you, hand on heart, want that kind of man around your family? I saw a documentary a while back about surviving members of Hitler's family. They seemed very nice people, and they bear no responsibility for what Adolf did. However, every one of them said how embarrassed they were to be related to him.

Nowhere have I incited violence. I simply said I believe he got what he deserves. He, allegedly, murdered or had murdered an innocent young mother, wife, sister, daughter etc. Veronica Guerin didn't deserve to die. He, allegedly, decided that she would. He also, allegedly, wrecked countless other lives with his drugs.

Do I find violence abhorrent? Yes. Do I find those who carry it out even more abhorrent? Yes.

All this nonsense about him having paid his debt to society is tiresome. If he has then let him teach your children, or police the streets. Sure hasn't he paid off his debt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Send a n***a down watch him say he wont steal again
    A n***a locked up sayin he wont deal again
    he back out ...runnin mouth... sayin blood goin flow again
    po po callin 187 John Gilligin

rolls by on sulky

I rather think you're the one of your high horse. Some people agree with me, some don't. That I won't change my opinion to suit you obviously offends you. Not everyone has to agree with you. That's life, learn to deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

I'm not arsed reporting the 75% of posts in this thread which are advocating and inciting violence.

I wonder how many of the 75% use drugs themselves. These same people made Gilligan and his ilk into what they are.

COYW wrote: »
    I wonder how many of the 75% use drugs themselves. These same people made Gilligan and his ilk into what they are.
    In the same way that people who drank alcohol in the U.S. in the '20s were the only ones responsible for the Al Capone gang?

Join NAFO today:

I will finish discussing this subject with a question.

Gilligan was put in prison nearly twenty years ago. Subsequently his crime career finished twenty years ago. Presumably in twenty years, the criminal make-up of a city as big as Dublin will have changed somewhat. For example, the Krays weren't still in charge in London twenty years later. Therefore, the same people Gilligan annoyed twenty years ago, won't be bossing Dublin's underworld now. So why does somebody want him out of the way so badly? Just a question for the dogooders who want him as next Taoiseach as he's already paid off his debt to society.

SeanW wrote: »
    In the same way that people who drank alcohol in the U.S. in the '20s were the only ones responsible for the Al Capone gang?

Brown clouds gathering overhead.

Puts on lab suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

I will finish discussing this subject with a question.

Gilligan was put in prison nearly twenty years ago. Subsequently his crime career finished twenty years ago. Presumably in twenty years, the criminal make-up of a city as big as Dublin will have changed somewhat. For example, the Krays weren't still in charge in London twenty years later. Therefore, the same people Gilligan annoyed twenty years ago, won't be bossing Dublin's underworld now. So why does somebody want him out of the way so badly? Just a question for the dogooders who want him as next Taoiseach as he's already paid off his debt to society.

Is it not blindingly obvious to you??

He's clearly trying to re-establish himself, and that's the issue. You reckoned a career criminal like him would be looking for a middle management role in Tesco?

Anyway, he's on borrowed time, I'd be very surprised if he saw Christmas.

People might want him dead for one of many reasons. For example:

- Perhaps he still has the connections and ability to be a major player in the drug trade here. Let's not kid ourselves, there is an abundance of customers in this country, despite all the hypocritical, holier than thou rubbish we hear.

- It is also possible that he has information on certain people that could cause the same people an awful lot of bother and thus they want him out of the way.

- It could be the result of a grudge with a gangster from the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Uh oh, here comes the legalisation argument. Been there, done that, worn the helmet and bashed my head off that brick wall far too many times.

The only thing i'll bring up for analysis is this -

Is it such a ridiculous idea to suggest that the ludicrous financial incentives for trafficking certain substances result from the laws that restrict them? An unrestricted substance is never going to be worth as much as something that's been forced onto the black-market by Government legislation.

Hence, these laws made Gilligan and his ilk into what they are.

I'm not getting involved in another drug debate.. I'll leave that to others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Now is the perfect opportunity for all those people to escape from his island.

SamAK wrote: »
    An unrestricted substance is never going to be worth as much as something that's been forced onto the black-market by Government legislation.

Ah, of course. It's the government's fault, just like everything else. I forgot that Irish people don't do personal responsibility, silly me. I'll leave it at that.

Thanks daRobot. Its so blindingly obvious to me that's why I asked the question. The point is, even if he has paid off his past debts to society, the rumours suggest he's busy building up a catalogue of new ones.

And to the poster who says it could be to do with his past. How strange then, that a man who has paid off his debt to society and wants to go straight, no sniggering at the back, would choose to return to the city he ran his empire of crime from.

Thanks daRobot. Its so blindingly obvious to me that's why I asked the question. The point is, even if he has paid off his past debts to society, the rumours suggest he's busy building up a catalogue of new ones.

And to the poster who says it could be to do with his past. How strange then, that a man who has paid off his debt to society and wants to go straight, no sniggering at the back, would choose to return to the city he ran his empire of crime from.

I thought you were finished discussing this subject?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

I will finish discussing this subject with a question one last dig.

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Plates wrote: »
    Amazing what we've all learned thanks to Love/Hate.

Have never watched a single episode of that

RollieFingers and rwp, why are ye so offended by what my opinion? An option ye fail to appreciate is simply to ignore. Could I also ask why you're so keen to defend Gilligan? Is it because ye view him as 'cool' and wish ye were more like him? Just wondering.

Why are you still posting in here when you said you were finished discussing the subject a few posts back?

Ah biting again... You are so easy to wind up its unreal.

I'm not wound up bud, just wondering why you would say you're doing one thing and then do the complete opposite? Strange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭degsie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

It looks like the hit failed because Gilligan locked himself in the toilet so the shooter couldn't see where to aim as the door was in the way.

They should have sent Oscar Pistorius for that type of hit.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

They slam 6 bullets into his hide and can't kill him?

Where are the real professionals when you need them.

Ah, of course. It's the government's fault, just like everything else. I forgot that Irish people don't do personal responsibility, silly me. I'll leave it at that.
    Just like American drinkers people didn't "do personal responsibility" back in the '20s? It was only the disobediance of people that cause all that Prohibition era crime?

Please, feel free to clarify on this point.

Join NAFO today:

@RollieFingers...

Saying I'm doing one thing and then doing another... A bit like Gilligan himself. He told his friends he was going for a pooh and ended up getting shot... Strange world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Jake1 wrote: »
    have you reported posts to the Mods?

They usually act if you report posts you deem offensive.
    No, they usually act if they think the person being posted about will sue boards.