John Gilligan Shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Word on the street it was Nidge who put the hit out on him :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭relaxed

Jezzabelle wrote: »

Must be awful too for the family of Veronica Guerin to see that little weasel plastered all over the media again.

By the sounds of it bits of him were plastered all over the jacks too, I hope that gives them some comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Molly14

relaxed wrote: »
    By the sounds of it bits of him were plastered all over the jacks too, I hope that gives them some comfort.

He was shot once in the chest – but the bullet missed his heart and lungs.

A source said he was shot once in the face, which "took a chunk out of the forehead".

Gilligan was shot in the hip, and it's believed the bullet may have travelled into the stomach. He was also shot in the leg. A source said: "His eyes were full of blood."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jesus some event to live through. A lucky man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Ah lads if any of you read the tranfer gossip in any of these newspaper you will know whats going on here.
    He was shot in a house. The rest is just all speculation Id say just like Ronaldo is on his way back to united every year.
    The reasons people are killed are nearly always made up too. If a fella is killed a few weeks after another fella is killed they link the stories. If a fella is killed a few weeks after somebody was nearly killed it was because they botched the hit. If a traveller is killed its because of a family rivalry dating back 200 years.
    Its nearly all just made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

theballz wrote: »
    your friend should not be allowed practice again if this is the case.

Why not? she didn't do anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

muletide wrote: »
    Independant reporting John Gilligan shot in Clondalkin this evening - in a critical condition

https://twitter.com/rae_stephen/status/439845867601022976

Our thought are with his family at this difficult time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Our thought are with his family at this difficult time

Really, not mine... fingers crossed he lives and is in serious pain every single day of his miserable life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭BandyMandy

Is he dead yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

BandyMandy wrote: »
    Is he dead yet?

No you can visit him today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

farmerjj wrote: »
    Really, not mine... fingers crossed he lives and is in serious pain every single day of his miserable life!

A fairly extreme reaction. What exactly did he do to evoke that reaction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

A fairly extreme reaction. What exactly did he do to evoke that reaction?

Google him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭andrew1977

BandyMandy wrote: »
    Is he dead yet?

Nope not yet, but heres hoping there is an accurate hitman coming along soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

I knew the girl who was the anaesthetist when Pinochet was being operated on in London. She said the temptation was almost overwhelming.

I don't think she would be to happy with you putting that up on an internet site.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

The lilly hearted all gods children brigade are on the rise in this thread.

Personally I'm happy he survived
    . . . . so now someone can shot him again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

Why not? she didn't do anything.

Medicine or a caring position in a professional capacity is no place for a person with thoughts like that.
    What about the Republican criminal gangs who operate in the south? RIRA in recent times.

A percentage of the Irish public, as can be seen from the political polls, look upon these people as heroes and the definition of decency, whilst Gilligan and his ilk are the lowest of the low who deserve all the suffering in the world. I for one cannot figure this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭weetiepie

Soups123 wrote: »
    And if not dead

GILLINILLYGONE

Best headline by far! Feckin hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

What about the Republican criminal gangs who operate in the south? RIRA in recent times.

Martin Cahill 'The General' who Gilligan worked under was killed by the IRA, Some say it was for his connections to a young Billy Wright in the UVF and their criminal work together, Cahill didn't give a fcuk about any romantic 32 county sh1te, he was a ruthless thug who wanted to make money.

Others say that Gilligan and John Traynor sold him out to the PIRA so they could take over Dublin's drug trade.

live by the gun, die by the gun.

if only everyone stayed away from drugs, terrorism, guns, criminality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Martin Cahill 'The General' who Gilligan worked under was killed by the IRA, Some say it was for his connections to a young Billy Wright in the UVF and their criminal work together, Cahill didn't give a fcuk about any romantic 32 county sh1te, he was a ruthless thug who wanted to make money.

Others say that Gilligan and John Traynor sold him out to the PIRA so they could take over Dublin's drug trade.

Cahill had a pure unadulterated hatred for the state in all its different guises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

jamaamaj wrote: »
    You really don't know what your talking about do you?

Most shootings in Dublin don't result in a death, even so-called experts don't kill their intended targets most of the time.

Wrong. If this hit was carried out by a professional hitmen he would be dead by now. If the guys were hired by Christy Kinahan to do the job they would make sure he would be 6 feet under in a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

I don't think she would be to happy with you putting that up on an internet site.
    Why not? She didnt actually kill Pinochet, and anyway its an anonymous post, its unlikely anyone on boards would know who the anaethetist is, and even if they did know who she was, so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I have a question. It says he "may have been followed from his Jessbrook estate". What?? He's still ****ing living there?? Wasn't that seized by CAB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

token101 wrote: »
    I have a question. It says he "may have been followed from his Jessbrook estate". What?? He's still ****ing living there?? Wasn't that seized by CAB?

The equestrian center was but he is still allowed to live in the "family home" that is part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Jaysus looks like we're all suddenly experts in hitmen, assassinations and firearms now.

Also - innocent until proven guilty, as far as my understanding goes. Which means he didn't kill Guerin until a court says he did. It's not difficult.

Never thought I'd say this of any human being ever, but I genuinely hope he dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

SamAK wrote: »
    Jaysus looks like we're all suddenly experts in hitmen, assassinations and firearms now.

Also - innocent until proven guilty, as far as my understanding goes. Which means he didn't kill Guerin until a court says he did. It's not difficult.

You didn't post that until a court says you did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

This is surely a joke. Just because a court was not able to legally prove that he did it, does not mean he actually did not do it. You get that, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Oh sorry, I thought when you said 'people' that you meant everyone who was openly glad about him almost getting killed.

I can't answer that really, but I'd assume it's some type of revenge for all his gangland crimes along with his alleged association with Veronica Guerin's murder.

I would have thought it was more a case of Gillian trying to resurrect his criminal empire and trying to muscle in on other crime gangs territory which they naturally will try and put a stop to. What ever the reason I have no sympathy for the man and if he should die as a result if his injuries then so be it. No one will be too upset and the world will be a better place in some small way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

This is surely a joke. Just because a court was not able to legally prove that he did it, does not mean he actually did not do it. You get that, don't you?

First time i've heard of 'guilty until proven innocent'! If you haven't yet noticed, every single news article ever written about John Gilligan never explicitly states that he was responsible for the murder of Veronica. They use words such as 'believed' and 'allegedly'. Otherwise they may be liable for defamation.
    Filibuster wrote: »
    You didn't post that until a court says you did

I did post it, because it's there....on your screen....in front of your eyes!

I wasn't expecting moronic responses to my comment...but then I remembered it's in After Hours. I'm sure there's plenty of threads in the legal forums about it if anyone feels like returning to reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

First time i've heard of 'guilty until proven innocent'! If you haven't yet noticed, every single news article ever written about John Gilligan never explicitly states that he was responsible for the murder of Veronica. They use words such as 'believed' and 'allegedly'. Otherwise they may be liable for defamation.

I did post it, because it's there....on your screen....in front of your eyes!

I wasn't expecting moronic responses to my comment...but then I remembered it's in After Hours. I'm sure there's plenty of threads in the legal forums about it if anyone feels like returning to reality.

But you do understand that criminals can be found not guilty in court on some occasions? Suppose you gotta weigh up the evidence in each case, not trying to strike up a vigilante mob but come on he's as innocent as I am elvis.