John Gilligan Shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭altairscreed

Mine are with the families whose sons and daughters he destroyed with drugs.

In all fairness it was them who destroyed there own lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

steveone wrote: »
    Sorry about the doubles I've an.Experia and since the update was installed it's gone down the toilet they're not showing up as double posts

Ahh you're grand, was only pulling your chain! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

'I've been shot 9 times my nigga that's why I walk funny
    Hit in the jaw once, why I talk funny'

Curtis '50 Cent' Gilligan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 322 ✭✭jpb14

urabell wrote: »
    'I've been shot 9 times my nigga that's why I walk funny
    Hit in the jaw once, why I talk funny'

Curtis '50 Cent' Gilligan
    He certainly milks it for "mo money"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭steveone

Ahh you're grand, was only pulling your chain! :p

Flaming nuisance this phone, It's happening a lot lately-no point getting someone to shoot the phone round here lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Strange how two people managed to miss his head :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭steveone

Are you seriously complainin' that our scumbags aren't good enough with guns?!

Yes- it's embarrassing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

Aidric wrote: »
    No doubt he will be on Marian Finucane in the morning with the inside scoop. Odious individual.
    I'm not mad about Marian meself but that's going a bit far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Why would people want him dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭iamyourending

I think the majority of the nation, including myself, see it as a type of karma? He's far from being an innocent man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Typical Irish begrudgery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

snubbleste wrote: »
    How did this story get released so quickly? It happened at 1900 according to he Indo and this thread started at 1935...did the Garda contact the media or something?
    Jayzuz WWII wll be next!!

I think the majority of the nation, including myself, see it as a type of karma?

I'm not talking about random internet people, I'm on about people who'd actually really want to kill him. What's in it for them?
    He's far from being an innocent man.

Nobody has tried to claim he's innocent.

I'm not talking about random internet people, I'm on about people who'd actually really want to kill him. What's in it for them?

Nobody has tried to claim he's innocent.

Oh sorry, I thought when you said 'people' that you meant everyone who was openly glad about him almost getting killed.

I can't answer that really, but I'd assume it's some type of revenge for all his gangland crimes along with his alleged association with Veronica Guerin's murder.

I thought when you said 'people' that you meant everyone who was openly glad about him almost getting killed.

I think people who openly wish his extra-judicial execution are rather daft in that they seek to hold Gilligan to the same standards he held others - they're essentially lowering themselves to gangland 'standards'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Relax lads it was only a Halloween prank

I think people who openly wish his extra-judicial execution are rather daft in that they're wishing to hold Gilligan to the same standards he held others - so they're essentially lowering themselves to gangland 'standards'.

Yeah I see your point, but I think it's definitely debatable depending on whether or not you've been affected by his actions in the past.

I personally feel it was always going to happen. While I don't by any means condone violence, particularly with a gun, I still can't feel any sympathy for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

I think people who openly wish his extra-judicial execution are rather daft in that they seek to hold Gilligan to the same standards he held others - they're essentially lowering themselves to gangland 'standards'.

You live by the sword you die by the sword, no sympathy here, scum deserve the what they get!

Yeah I see your point, but I think it's definitely debatable depending on whether or not you've been affected by his actions in the past.

I personally feel it was always going to happen. While I don't by any means condone violence, particularly with a gun, I still can't feel any sympathy for him.

I'd rather be shot with a gun than beaten to death :p

Everyone to their own, I guess :rolleyes:

Ya simply hate to see the rolleyes being thrown around so casually :D

Sorry, didn't realise there was a restriction on smilies.

But as I said though, any type of violence is bad but seems as the man was at a christening where children were present, it must have been scary for them. But again, no sympathy for him.

Sorry, didn't realise there was a restriction on smilies.

But as I said though, any type of violence is bad but seems as the man was at a christening where children were present, it must have been scary for them. But again, no sympathy for him.

No argument from me there. I suppose they would have known what he was like before he was convicted and so it wouldn't have come as a shock. Very hard to say what the story was but even from his own point of view, it was careless to be around close family when he was in danger.

I read online some people saying that maybe he didn't actually believe his life was in danger but that's obviously not true if he went to the bother of wearing a bullet-proof vest.

Wouldn't be a fan of him either way but vigilante justice always seems popular in Ireland!

Shady Tady wrote: »
    You live by the sword you die by the sword, no sympathy here, scum deserve the what they get!

I don't feel sympathy for him either. I just think wishing his extra-judicial execution makes those who wish it more like him.
    I think it's definitely debatable depending on whether or not you've been affected by his actions in the past

That's exactly why we don't leave justice to individuals. I'd imagine if I'd lost a loved one to murder I'd want the murderer to be burned at the stake, trial or not.

No argument from me there. I suppose they would have known what he was like before he was convicted and so it wouldn't have come as a shock. Very hard to say what the story was but even from his own point of view, it was careless to be around close family when he was in danger.

I read online some people saying that maybe he didn't actually believe his life was in danger but that's obviously not true if he went to the bother of wearing a bullet-proof vest.

Wouldn't be a fan of him either way but vigilante justice always seems popular in Ireland!

Yeah, I know what you mean - really, if he was concerned for his life then he'd probably have gone into hiding or something, instead of going to events like that - family or not.

The whole vigilante justice is an interesting one in comparison to the actual justice system, where a man gets released 17 years into a 28 year sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

The belt of a shovel is what he needs.

Yeah, I know what you mean - really, if he was concerned for his life then he'd probably have gone into hiding or something, instead of going to events like that - family or not.

The whole vigilante justice is an interesting one in comparison to the actual justice system, where a man gets released 17 years into a 28 year sentence.

Was it not reduced to 20 years upon appeal?

I think it's more to do with the fact that he clearly got away with several other crimes. If someone was convicted for all of the crimes they committed and served the time (assuming the sentence wasn't a joke sentence), I don't think anybody should be calling for retribution etc.

With Gilligan however, many believe that he is guilty of murder etc. and has not faced punishment for those other crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Jezzabelle

Only a matter of time before the little runt was back in the headlines. Shame the little scum is not 6 feet under. Vile individual not an ounce of sympathy for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Would you be able to go to his wake or would they be checking you at the door I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Jezzabelle wrote: »
    Only a matter of time before the little runt was back in the headlines. Shame the little scum is not 6 feet under. Vile individual not an ounce of sympathy for him.

Jail has probably saved his life so far, welcome to the real world john where you can be the victim of scumbag low life!