Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    Fan belt loose, lost drive on the alternator and power steering pump.
    When you shut the car off it could start from 0rpm again and not slip?

Just an idea as my passat used to do it and it's the only problem that could affect the two of the together.

I have no idea, it was the strangest experience, it was grand after :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Belt could have got a splash of water etc, check its tension with the old 90° trick. If you can twist it 90° its ok, anymore and it's too loose.

It really is the only thing I can think of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Was "Mr Turbo Issue" in the car at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

I can alfa now! :pac:

Ugggh i need to go to bed, going home last night along the M3 and before the toll the car just lost all power, steering stopped working and ended up in the gravel off the hard shoulder, checked everything and no idea what it could've been, started the car again and it took off as if nothing ever happened :confused::confused:

Any ideas?

Engine was still running?
    Not seem like belt issue, I would not drive car on road until problem found and fixed, if you ended in gravel, off road this very dangerous potential.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Belt could have got a splash of water etc, check its tension with the old 90° trick. If you can twist it 90° its ok, anymore and it's too loose.

It really is the only thing I can think of!

I'm gona bring it to my mechanic today and see :)

I dont think he was! literally was going along at 120 kph coming up to the toll went to slow down, foot still on the gas and the car just started slowing down, very gradual at that, steering seized up and i hit the gas more, nothing, so i just rolled into the gravel with my foot on the brakes turned the car off, done a few checks, got back in and it started fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

coolisin wrote: »
    Oh right first car changes things IMO.

I'd go with something small, micra/corsa/fiesta, sized car to get experience and insurance no claims up with them sorted, then move towards your more desired car/engine.

Wouldn't be worried about the petrol diesel debate just yet!!

I used to do similar mileage to you when I bought my first car and I went with a corolla 1.4 petrol. Was cheap but bland motoring.

well, I'm 21, just under 4 years named driving experience and I have a full license for a year. But I'm not sure if any of this would really bring down the price of car insurance on my own name?

What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

He was in the car for the first time just an hour before.....!!!!

Striking again :pac:

dgt wrote: »

:eek: My god! The legends are true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I must say Fitzpatricks Opel garage in Naas is one of the nicest I've ever been in. A friend is also picking up a new car here today and the staff seem excellent.

And that got you some free mats:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's not only turbos he kills.
    Never take him on a drive around the Dublin mountains, many cars have suffered one way or another. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Anybody knows Irish (or UK) retailer having KOYO oil seals?

Found 3 retailers in Ireland, but sadly they only have koyo bearings. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Marcusm wrote: »
    And that got you some free mats:D

Nah I got free coffee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Going back to driving an octavia from tomorrow. It's the 05 one which I haven't ever driven. But my parents are doing up a house so the focus spent the last 2 days towing a trailer and will probably spend the next two weeks doing the same. Where the house is we can't just hire a skip unfortunately. Most of the loads are fairly light 1/2 a ton or so but one load was 1.2 ton of rubble and I was surprised how able it was to tow the weight. You'd know you were towing it but it wasn't struggling in anyway felt like it was well able for more. Diesels have there uses :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Torque about showing off !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Would you not get a few skips in the back of the Octavia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would you not get a few skips in the back of the Octavia?

Haven't heard that type of joke here in an age.......I was so thankful :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Torque about showing off !

Ah know I was just surprised for a 1.6 it's not too bad. I know it's not that much weight but for a car it's a bit. For the likes of a van or jeep its nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I've finally got a little bit of the interwebs...
    In Poland until Tuesday - driving a rental Corolla Verso 2.2 D4D. Piece of crap lads... Except for practicality, I can't see why would anyone buy these - they're slow off the line, drink diesel like a bitch and the parking sensors go off randomly or don't work at all...

Sobanek wrote: »
    I've finally got a little bit of the interwebs...
    In Poland until Tuesday - driving a rental Corolla Verso 2.2 D4D. Piece of crap lads... Except for practicality, I can't see why would anyone buy these - they're slow off the line, drink diesel like a bitch and the parking sensors go off randomly or don't work at all...

What year?

What year?

I sold one new in 08 and found it a grand yoke, massive shove in mid range, maybe its lost its performance over the years.

It's got decent poke midrange, but it's really slow off the line. Big turbo lag in my opinion.
    Still, 165 quid for 7 days isn't bad.

I'm not letting him near my new datsun anyway...

Say! Did you get a new datsun?? :pac:

Aye that I did.
    If I get the insurance sorted (classic insurance - add it to my existing fleet) I'll bring her to the meet

Aye that I did.
    If I get the insurance sorted (classic insurance - add it to my existing fleet) I'll bring her to the meet

Sooooo this leads to my next question, where is all this room coming from?

Parent's house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Aye that I did.

You should really go all out and get a garage policy and plate. ;)

Parent's house!

Well now i know where to go to borrow some stuff! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Saw this and thought someone was taking the piss on my yoke :pac:

In other news, I found out the diffmobile has a DMF. Bollox :mad: