Paid for your own stupidity..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

friend of mine impaled his leg on a fence, and started shouting he got stabbed because it was easier to explain lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Correct.
    The problem was a failure by the organizers to meet their legal duty of care.
    A mistake I doubt they will make again.

What a sign to tell the terminally stupid not to climb the great big 4 metre fence with spikes on top? What age was she.. 4?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

woodoo wrote: »
    What a sign to tell the terminally stupid not to climb the great big 4 metre fence with spikes on top? What age was she.. 4?

She won her case, she was in the right.
    Get over it.
    She was directed down an unlit path to locked gate.
    What age were the organizers (and the begrudgers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Correct.
    The problem was a failure by the organizers to meet their legal duty of care.
    A mistake I doubt they will make again.

Can I climb a security fence around a commercial/business/castle fall off or impale my self and sue as well then ? No. Would you people be defending some skanger who injured themselves breaking into somewhere ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Get over it.

Don't call me a begrudger just because I disagree with you. It's mentally lazy and maddening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

You shouldn't have to ask why it was a spiked gate if you read the story in the link.

The judge apportioned blame to Ms McCormack of 20pc for the accident after she climbed the four-metre high gate with spikes on top of it. The court heard the gate was originally designed to keep knights and soldiers out of the grounds during wartime.

So it was a security gate, designed to keep people in and out. It was thirteen feet high with spikes on top, yet she elected to climb it and got spiked. It sounds to me as if she was a prime candidate for the Darwin Awards! I increasingly wonder what it is that is needed to protect people from their own stupidity? Oh, of course. It is lawyers.

ART6 wrote: »
    So it was a security gate, designed to keep people in and out. It was thirteen feet high with spikes on top, yet she elected to climb it and got spiked. It sounds to me as if she was a prime candidate for the Darwin Awards! I increasingly wonder what it is that is needed to protect people from their own stupidity? Oh, of course. It is lawyers.

Sure you're only a begrudger on the girl's big pay day! ;-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Get over it.

She was not forced or advised to climb over the gate. Thats something she did entirely of her own choosing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Get over it.

Sir Humf is on the money though.

Whilst Her Majesty's Judges have a quite narrowly defined book of compensatory values applicable to physical injuries,our more socially aware Judiciary have a far less restrictive set of mores,and they readily avail of that freedom from restriction.

We have evolved into a Nation of Adults of infirm minds,sometimes spectacularly incapable of exercising any form of "Common" sense or "Reasonable Behaviour"....what makes us somewhat more different from the other European Peoples is the relative ease with which we can get a substantial payout....allied to the total erasure of the term "Mind Yourself now" from common usage .....:eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

coolbeans wrote: »
    Don't call me a begrudger just because I disagree with you. It's mentally lazy and maddening.

Was I address you?
    Huh?
    Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Get over it.

Not that I want to rehash the whole case again but I think you are making up the part about her being directed to the gate.

MCD contended she passed three main exits before going down the woodland track to the Dublin Road gate.

In her judgment, Ms Justice O'Hanlon said not putting up signs about the Dublin Road gate being closed was ill-conceived. There should have been a person at the entrance to the woodland path leading to the gate and at the gate to alert people, she said.

Not that I want to rehash the whole case again but I think you are making up the part about her being directed to the gate.

MCD contended she passed three main exits before going down the woodland track to the Dublin Road gate.

In her judgment, Ms Justice O'Hanlon said not putting up signs about the Dublin Road gate being closed was ill-conceived. There should have been a person at the entrance to the woodland path leading to the gate and at the gate to alert people, she said.

I can understand that in relation to say a massive hole in the ground. But by the logic there you should have signs and guards around trees saying don't climb up them. Some things don't need to be said/signed/guarded if she had climbed up say 13 feet of drain pipe and fell off would she have got compo...

Was I address you?
    Huh?
    Huh?

You were obviously addressing those who disagree with you.

Get over it.

I'm glad you are happy to pay higher insurance premiums to foot the bill for a broken system like we have here.

wonder how long till restaurants have to supply you with a armbands when eating soup for your own safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Was she?

Ms McCormack said when her group came out of the castle she asked a security guard how to get out and was told to go to the top of the field and turn right, which they did.
    She said she did not see exits and she went where she was told to go.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/concertgoer-sues-after-impaling-her-arm-on-gate-spike-at-slane-30048930.html

Ms McCormack said when her group came out of the castle she asked a security guard how to get out and was told to go to the top of the field and turn right, which they did.
    She said she did not see exits and she went where she was told to go.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/concertgoer-sues-after-impaling-her-arm-on-gate-spike-at-slane-30048930.html

She went Down a clearly unlit path with no signs saying exit unlike the one the guard was maybe talking about that would have been clearly lit and signed. Even if the story is accurate that fact of coming to a dead end with a massive security gate/fence would say you went the wrong way. It would not lead you to believe oh yeah this must be the way out over this 13 foot fence with spikes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Get over it.

The actions of these people was an effect on the quality of life the non-idiot decent percentage of the population. Not only with increased insurance and fees, but also the H&S red tape in place to protect said idiots makes life just a bit more annoying for the rest of us to go about our lives.

WikiHow wrote: »
    Was she?

That was the evidence given in court, and it was accepted by the court.

She went Down a clearly unlit path with no signs saying exit unlike the one the guard was maybe talking about that would have been clearly lit and signed. Even if the story is accurate that fact of coming to a dead end with a massive security gate/fence would say you went the wrong way. It would not lead you to believe oh yeah this must be the way out over this 13 foot fence with spikes.....

Happily the Court disagreed with you.

Yes we all know the judges here are clearly in touch with reality....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

jane82 wrote: »
    They should have been made safe so before it was deemed to charge 80 000 people for being there.

Your post comes across as being a complete spanner.

BANNED.

Mod.

Why would you be happy about this. Was she your daughter or something :D

Nah.
    Sad you need to get personal, very sad.
    I just believe in law and justice.

Your post comes across as being a complete spanner.
    Nah.
    I just believe in law and justice.

Yeah and people wonder why some people fall over so much sue council/Tesco whoever and are serial claimants. It all puts our prices up in the long run. We are fast becoming just like America in this way, Ambulance chasers for you lawyers. No one is turned down by solicitors/lawyers anymore as even if they don't win their claim for stupidity “they usually Win” they still get paid. And the rest of us foot the bill. I wonder what would happen if you tried this say in the Netherlands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Probably a solicitor!

Aren't you over reacting a little. :rolleyes:

No.

No.

You are defending ridiculous claims that cost us all in the long run. I don't really believe you are serious i think you may be trolling a little here.