Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can the book be beaten ...long term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭del roy

BQQ wrote: »
    Actually, most of the people on this thread seem to be saying fair play to him.
    They must all be foreign :rolleyes:

Shan valley 3pts win 5/1
    Midnight charmer 2pts win 5/2
    Riddleofthesands 4/1 2pts win unpl
    Vovalein 4pts win 7/2
    Sceilig 4pts win
    Irish thistle 5pts win 1st very very lucky winner

Must really fancy this today 5pts win dodgy connections an all that.

Shan valley 3pts win 5/1 2nd
    Midnight charmer 2pts win 5/2 1st
    Vovalein 4pts win 7/2 2nd
    Sceilig 4pts win 2nd

must really fancy this today

sorry lads made a balls of last post

3.00 Profile Star 5 pts win 5/1

8/1 now dead as a doe/doe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Pinesky

del roy wrote: »

3.00 Profile Star 5 pts win 5/1

Nil desperandum
    has the form in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

FWIW Hugh Taylor Atr has marked one up in the same race - that may explain its price.

5pt win today?

""I fear all I have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve." :)

a very decent 2nd but that don't pay the bills :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Returned 20/1?!

Yes no/no

sick as a pig with the price and not collecting a penny from the bet,
    thats punting,

I would say the kid is sick as well.

Shan valley 3pts win 5/1 2nd
    Midnight charmer 2pts win 5/2 1st
    Vovalein 4pts win 7/2 2nd
    Sceilig 4pts win 2nd
    Profile star 5pts win 2nd 20/1

Anyone see anything that makes these stand out as win bets ?

Near miss.

And I stand corrected. There is more than luck playing a hand in your mates selections. I put my hands up. I was wrong. If he won that at 20/1 it would have been the funniest thing ever. I was hoping he would win - would have added 105points to the Bank and put him miles in the clear.

yeah bumper I'm sick I lost money on that bet f$$king 20/1

what a plonker as del would say. :rolleyes:

oh yeah well the silly thing is I had 200 win on the same docket so I only would have got the first ton at 20s

but I would have been more than happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

so close there, great run
    unusual to see one from that yard drift so much and
    be out to win

first one ive backed but did it ew but
    wouldnt have touched it had i seen double figures
    gonna follow his big bets

mailburner, hope your not a postman, with that name. :D

yes a huge drift on that one today

mailburner, hope your not a postman, with that name. :D

yes a huge drift on that one today
    Had a nice ew @ 8/1
    Delighted with the SP

Pinesky wrote: »
    Had a nice ew @ 8/1
    Delighted with the SP

if only we knew it was gonna drift, pinesky :mad:

looked at the video . I think he may have been ridden to blow up a furlong out .
    Jockey surprised he lasted so long.

5.10 true to form. 2pts e/w 12/1
    5.15 mikemccaan 3pts win. 3/1

5.10 true to form. 2pts e/w 12/1 1st 28pts
    5.15 mikemccaan 3pts win. 3/1 last

Took the 5pts lost on profile star from the bank

Bank +179.6pts
    Starting bank 100pts
    Profit +79.6pts

Sunday leopardstown 4.20 pass the hat 14/1 ladcrooks

He will not be betting over the next four days, next bet if betting Friday 7th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Sunday leopardstown 4.20 pass the hat 14/1 ladcrooks

He will not be betting over the next four days, next bet if betting Friday 7th

Del,he is doing well. Some discussion on whether info or good homework. When I was a bit younger I picked my own selections based on my own analysis with some very good profit return. I always went of my own judgement and never looked at a price.Hence I often ended up with a 33/1 winner in my bets. Regular bet was 3 selctions of doubles and a treble.

But as I got older, I became more cagey and more drawn to favs (or put off by a big price) from which it is more difficult to beat the book.

Out of curiosity, does he only back the ones he puts up here or is he a daily punter?

Hi joe
    No he insists he only backs the selections he gives me to put up here.
    I think he is enjoying the challenge, can I also say I have met two people he works with daily and they say they too reckon he is telling it as it is regarding the last three years as they were on many big price winners from him in that time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Hi joe
    No he insists he only backs the selections he gives me to put up here.
    I think he is enjoying the challenge, can I also say I have met two people he works with daily and they say they too reckon he is telling it as it is regarding the last three years as they were on many big price winners from him in that time

i don't doubt it. lack of discipline is the downfall of many a shrewd judge. If he is resisting the urge to back race for race and only places the ones you posts he is giving himself a half decent chance.

And joe's first question, info or homework?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Looks very much like homework. Case in point the 5/1 big bet that finished 20/1 second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

this guy could be the new ralphie! great results. hope it continues.

BumperD wrote: »
    And joe's first question, info or homework?

Bumper my guess is some of it must be info
    Ref Mr Marker...previous two runs pulled up..pulled up
    He sticks it up here the night before at 14s.....winner. Info surely.

Looks very much like homework. Case in point the 5/1 big bet that finished 20/1 second.

Nono, spoke to his mate about the bet and as far as he can recall that bet had something to do with profile stars runs at ling field (two runs 1st and 2nd)
    and the course record at the track

I will look at it today.

Oh btw the guy in his job stopped at 59pts said enough is enough he was only being greedy at this stage and he will follow him again next year.

kupus wrote: »
    this guy could be the new ralphie! great results. hope it continues.

Lupus, early days yet,
    Lets see how he plays Cheltenham, I am interested to see what his bets will be like,
    Strange no ante post bets yet considering he likes to beat the price and nearly all bookmakers are now non runner no bet.