Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Aaaaaand I'm back at the house.... That was quicker to get home with no clutch :confused:

And that's the end of that car. An epic daily driver it was and will fondly bring memories. I'll have to put a clutch in it, then selling time

Hats off diffmobile :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »
    Aaaaaand I'm back at the house.... That was quicker to get home with no clutch :confused:

And that's the end of that car. An epic daily driver it was and will fondly bring memories. I'll have to put a clutch in it, then selling time

Hats off diffmobile :cool:

Which one was it? :(

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Which one was it? :(

520i, the daily driver since November. Got absolute abuse at times and still never gave up, even after what happened earlier! :p

But with the mileage I put up in a week it was only a stopgap while the 406 got its engine built. Which I shill have to complete....

An eventful few months with that car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

520i, the daily driver since November. Got absolute abuse at times and still never gave up, even after what happened earlier! :p

But with the mileage I put up in a week it was only a stopgap while the 406 got its engine built. Which I shill have to complete....

An eventful few months with that car :D

Are you a mechanic? If not how do you know so much about cars?

I'm no mechanic, I just have an unusual hobby ;)

Well fair play to you. I can do simple things with cars like change brake discs and pads but would never be able to change timing belt or something like that.

Sure look through some of my posts in the today i did something to my car thread, that'll give you an idea :)

I grew up in a garage environment so I picked things up from an early age. I can't do as much these days with college and all that but come summertime I have a few projects that need finishing

Nothing really difficult with working on a car, just some are more awkward than others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

So, I've got a Ssangyong Rexton for a week.

I kind of like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    So, I've got a Ssangyong Rexton for a week.

I kind of like it.

He is a good man, but he has to be put down..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I knew the focus was letting in a small bit of water for the last few weeks as the carpet was wet but between being to busy and forgetting I only got around to it today. So ripped out the carpet and spare wheel only to find 2 inches of water in the spare wheel well. I'm getting fairly sick of it at this stage. So going out to rob the rest of the carpet and stuff out and find the source of the leak it's around the driver side rear corner it's coming in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Bpmull wrote: »
    I knew the focus was letting in a small bit of water for the last few weeks as the carpet was wet but between being to busy and forgetting I only got around to it today. So ripped out the carpet and spare wheel only to find 2 inches of water in the spare wheel well. I'm getting fairly sick of it at this stage. So going out to rob the rest of the carpet and stuff out and find the source of the leak it's around the driver side rear corner it's coming in anyway.
    Has the gasket on the rear light failed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

What a day!

Crash on the m7 this morning and i pulled a woman from an overturned car, it literally happened as i came around a bend, then carried on my way, then later on decided to slice my finger open, blood everywhere! Came home and got a letter off liberty saying i have 4 years driving experience and got an added discount on my policy :confused: Suppose I'll have to break the bad news to them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What a day!

Crash on the m7 this morning and i pulled a woman from an overturned car, it literally happened as i came around a bend, then carried on my way, then later on decided to slice my finger open, blood everywhere! Came home and got a letter off liberty saying i have 4 years driving experience and got an added discount on my policy :confused: Suppose I'll have to break the bad news to them :pac:

Saw the alerts this morning for the M6 and M7 and thought of yourself as you said travel on that oddly enough.

then later on decided to slice my finger open, blood everywhere!

That's two of us so. I sliced my finger open as well and also a deep cut on my knuckle of my thumb. I was replacing the screen on my mothers nexus 7 and the glass bit is glued on so took a while to break and peel it off.

Saw the alerts this morning for the M6 and M7 and thought of yourself as you said travel on that oddly enough.

Naw you're too good :)
    That's two of us so. I sliced my finger open as well and also a deep cut on my knuckle of my thumb. I was replacing the screen on my mothers nexus 7 and the glass bit is glued on so took a while to break and peel it off.

ouch :( Mine was with a surgical grade scalpel :o

Naw you're too good :)

ouch :( Mine was with a surgical grade scalpel :o

What were you doing with one of them?

Cutting pages, and some gombeen knocked me and my hand slipped

Not good.

Not good.

Nope, nearly ruined my drawings :(

Haha Japanese DGT spotted @ 20 mins :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Has the gasket on the rear light failed?

I differed it out. The wires connected to the lights go down through the corner of the floor to be grounded to the chassis. There is a rubber piece going around the wires and it stopped the water coming through the whole in the floor. There was a hole in that rubber piece. So the water was hitting the carpet soaking it and traveling down into the wheel well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Anybody ever watch this fellas youtube channel? Its become a bit of an addiction of mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

YbFocus wrote: »
    About 300 man but it depends heavily on where you drive. If you do lots of city driving and stop start stuff it won't suit.

Not much (if any) city driving at all. It would be up to college on a Monday and home on a Friday on regional roads. Not much (if any) driving been on the Tuesday, wednesday or thursday. But the mileage I'd be covering in the two days would be 295.773 miles. Then maybe about 50 miles over the weekend. So that makes, 345.773 miles.

So would it better to invest in a diesel instead of a petrol car? Also would it matter, about not driving the car on the Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday?

Thanks.

job seeker wrote: »
    Not much (if any) city driving at all. It would be up to college on a Monday and home on a Friday on regional roads. Not much (if any) driving been on the Tuesday, wednesday or thursday. But the mileage I'd be covering in the two days would be 295.773 miles. Then maybe about 50 miles over the weekend. So that makes, 345.773 miles.

So would it better to invest in a diesel instead of a petrol car? Also would it matter, about not driving the car on the Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday?

Thanks.

I'd invest in a petrol in that case, I'm the same as yourself, i drive from kildare to dublin to college, twice a day 5 days a week works up to about 335 miles, a full tank in a 2.3 car does me the week and then a few trips on the weekend, and that's not taking it casually along either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Is JimmyCrackCorn (if thats the proper name) a new mod in the upgrades section, or have I just not noticed him before?

First time ive seen him!

But then again tis the first time ive been there :pac:

JCC was/is a mod in the modifued cars subsection for as long as i can remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

I'd invest in a petrol in that case, I'm the same as yourself, i drive from kildare to dublin to college, twice a day 5 days a week works up to about 335 miles, a full tank in a 2.3 car does me the week and then a few trips on the weekend, and that's not taking it casually along either

Hmm I see, and would getting a diesel over a petrol have any advantage at all?

I want a diesel. :o

job seeker wrote: »
    Hmm I see, and would getting a diesel over a petrol have any advantage at all?

I want a diesel. :o

Can I ask why a diesel?

Because yer man down the pub/fella at work who knows it all/well informed neighbour/jesus drove a petrol etc etc