Inefficiency. Does it drive you demented?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Give up the aul drink, OP. Better in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Id imagine the bar is way down the list at such venues, they are going to get the trade anyhow so don't really care about how slow or sh it the beer is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The Pixies?

Just when I thought I'd heard it all. . .

Eh? What is wrong with the Pixies?

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Id imagine the bar is way down the list at such venues, they are going to get the trade anyhow so don't really care about how slow or sh it the beer is.

Actually I was quite surprised to find two local beers when I finally got there...the ABV of the IPA made up for the wait *hic*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

My high-end home system cost less than $600 with two pro taps and lines, and I just built one for a friend that cost less than $250

You're not dispensing 3000 litres of beer per hour though. You need industrial refrigeration and dispense systems to do that!

The bottom fill cups are not really economically viable because you have to collect them to re use them. They work not with a magnet but with a small plastic nipple thing (just like you see on a shower gel bottle to stop it coming out until you squeeze it)

I can understand why the event company didn't want to go down the road of draft dispense.

No excuse for running the bottle bar like a complete shambles though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

It infuriates me at ANY bar when a bar person (usually some young wan or fella that have no interest in being there but want money) only take 1 or 2 orders at a time. What? Have ye goldfish memories or something? It's especially infuriating when it's only one person giving them say an 8 drink order and they come back two-a-timing asking them to repeat it.

2 Guinness, 3 Gin and Tonics, a Jack Daniels and Coke, 1 Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

2 Guinness and what else?

3 Gin and Tonics, a Jack Daniels and Coke, 1 Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

What's with the Jack Daniels?

A Coke

There's your Coke, is that it?

No, I still need a Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

Theres the Heineken and 7 up and your Guinness

I asked for 2 Guinness

Oh yeah....

Not one to blow my own horn (oh, if only) but I worked in bars for about 16 years. At the top of my game in a nightclub, I could take up to 15 drink orders and serve 3 to 4 people at a time. Train the brain FFS.

MadsL wrote: »
    So tonight I was at a gig with 2600 other people. The line for the bar was just ridiculous and I missed at least five songs by the band (Pixies) I came to hear. When I finally got to the bar, the bar staff were pouring bottled beer into plastic glasses. One beer, pour. One beer, pour. They must not like money or have heard of draft beer and the idea of one person pouring and the other grabbing money like they were printing it.

Does this level of idiotic inefficiency drive you mental or is it just me...?

You should have tipped them more :p

Don't miss a gig for beer next time so, put on a cd and drink at home...

Sky King wrote: »
    You're not dispensing 3000 litres of beer per hour though.

Neither were they :D
    You need industrial refrigeration and dispense systems to do that!

Or you could just have a refrigerated truck backed up to the venue. If you are dispensing that fast no need to chill the keg at the despense point, just serve it through a jockey box to chill 50ft of it as it serves.
    The bottom fill cups are not really economically viable because you have to collect them to re use them. They work not with a magnet but with a small plastic nipple thing (just like you see on a shower gel bottle to stop it coming out until you squeeze it)

That's what I thought the system was until I read online it uses magnets. Could just be disinformation, but I guess the patent is online.
    I can understand why the event company didn't want to go down the road of draft dispense.
    Hurt their profits though I reckon.
    No excuse for running the bottle bar like a complete shambles though.

None. Cut back to three/four beer choices and have a bar back pouring as one person collects the money. One server per station was nuts.

bluewolf wrote: »
    You should have tipped them more :p

Trust me, they got nothing. Felt bad, but you have to make the point.

Don't miss a gig for beer next time so, put on a cd and drink at home...

Bit stong, but there is currently no queue at my bar, so I'll have another thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Eh? What is wrong with the Pixies?

Nothing, just didn't think they'd be your cup of tea.

I'm eclectic me...tomorrow is a Galician bagpipe player. I shit you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭cometogether

Or just don't drink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

not but efficiency at the cost of everything else does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Well, I can see why they wouldn't want glass bottles at a gig. Would make sense to pour them before though, or at least two at a time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Plazaman wrote: »
    It infuriates me at ANY bar when a bar person (usually some young wan or fella that have no interest in being there but want money) only take 1 or 2 orders at a time. What? Have ye goldfish memories or something? It's especially infuriating when it's only one person giving them say an 8 drink order and they come back two-a-timing asking them to repeat it.

2 Guinness, 3 Gin and Tonics, a Jack Daniels and Coke, 1 Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

2 Guinness and what else?

3 Gin and Tonics, a Jack Daniels and Coke, 1 Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

What's with the Jack Daniels?

A Coke

There's your Coke, is that it?

No, I still need a Bottle of Heinken and a 7 up.

Theres the Heineken and 7 up and your Guinness

I asked for 2 Guinness

Oh yeah....

Not one to blow my own horn (oh, if only) but I worked in bars for about 16 years. At the top of my game in a nightclub, I could take up to 15 drink orders and serve 3 to 4 people at a time. Train the brain FFS.

Did you walk to work, in the snow, uphill, in your bare feet, carrying all them drink orders.

Arrrrgh. In my day I could serve the whole nightclub, collect their glasses and still find time to ride the finest mares in the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Demented? No. Mildly Exasperated? Hell, yes. I chalk a lot of it up to short-sightedness, people planning or looking ahead to see the expected consequences of their actions.

People who have bought electric cars say that it's forced them to become better at planning the details of a trip. They can't just get in the car and drive, knowing that they'll be able to fill up at any convenient petrol station. The result is more efficient use of a limited resource. If / when quick charging stations become more common, we can expect the overall efficiency to drop a bit, since it'll be safer to be a bit more careless.

So I think it works both ways: you can be inefficient if you have plenty of <resource> to play with, but if you have a limited supply of <resource>, you have to be more efficient with. <resource> can be something physical, like fuel, or intangible, like time.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

inefficient posting without using multiquote drives me demented!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

**** me, MadsL curses a lot and doesn't a warning. :pac:

EDIT, ah who put ****'s there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

I entered the thread with the intention of answering with 'No as I'm not German', however when I saw that your scenario involved being served at a bar that changed everything !

You're right that is mental but still wouldn't drive me mental unless it was my business and I was losing out over it !

My pet hate is bad Bar Persons, the ones who can't keep in their head the order in which they're serving along the bar, who's been queuing longer, picks attractive members of the opposite sex out and serves them ahead of you on purpose etc. which is why I stick to certain places for my drinking pleasure as I know the barstaff are excellent and why I'm not so into Nightclubs these days ! Just thought I'd share that :D

No, but dimwittedness does. I am interacting with a particularly dimwitted person this week. To top if all off she is also very enthusiastic. Possibly the worst combination.

Oh God. Is it like having a labrador puppy follow you around, without the cute?

I used to have a work colleague who would spend hours putting colour coded post-its on her scripts. It was like watching a senior infants activity.

Oh God. Is it like having a labrador puppy follow you around, without the cute?

I used to have a work colleague who would spend hours putting colour coded post-its on her scripts. It was like watching a senior infants activity.

Not far off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Inefficiency. Does it drive you demented?

Yes, it does.

Next question. . . . ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

They must not like money or have heard of draft beer and the idea of one person pouring and the other grabbing money like they were printing it.
    At slane one year this was happening, I think there was only 3 draft beers available, teams of people just continually pouring pints and others taking the money. Also it was €5 each and I think there might even have been a minimum of 2 drinks, or a special line with a 2 drink minimum. So people were forking over money at a ridiculous pace, none of this €5.05 a pint you still get in some venues.

In kilmaihnam gigs they had wine in soft pouches, like capri suns with nozzles. I was thinking they should have beer in softer plastic cans or just in plastic bottles. They give out plastic coke bottles at gigs and usually take the cap off you so you cannot throw it and have it hit people with more force. They would probably not want real cans as they could form a weapon -though I think that is stupid since if I ever wanted to get a knife into any venue I know I could, just reminds me of the stupid security measures on airplanes done just for show. There is a danger of people falling on torn cans though.

They could also give you 2L bottles and a plastic cup. In the O2 they have mcdonalds style caps for the cups so they are not spilling everywhere, and cardboard holders to stick 4 cups of so into. I have seen rows of lads all with 4 packs stuck under their seat.

They could have vending machines in venues too, in most you need to be 18 to get in so there should be no issue with serving age. You could have staff to check that totally pissed people do not get more. Just similar to how self service checkouts have staff monitoring customers.

In O donoghues pub in dublin city centre on busy days I have seen barmen just continually pouring out guinness and letting it settle, so you get it really quick. Dunno why all busy pubs don't do this more. Its like the barman is going "jesus, another oddball ordering guinness, who'd have thunk it, been happening all night and all of them have to wait 2-3mins".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

So tonight I was at a gig with 2600 other people. The line for the bar was just ridiculous and I missed at least five songs by the band (Pixies) I came to hear. When I finally got to the bar, the bar staff were pouring bottled beer into plastic glasses. One beer, pour. One beer, pour. They must not like money or have heard of draft beer and the idea of one person pouring and the other grabbing money like they were printing it.

Does this level of idiotic inefficiency drive you mental or is it just me...?

You could have told the same story and asked the same question with 15% less words. Horrible inefficient posting MadsL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I admire the inefficiency of county council workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jamezy

Yes it drives me bloody mental. At least a good part of my job is about creating the most efficient work flow so its definitely cathartic for my obsessive compulsiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

rubadub wrote: »
    In O donoghues pub in dublin city centre on busy days I have seen barmen just continually pouring out guinness and letting it settle, so you get it really quick. Dunno why all busy pubs don't do this more. Its like the barman is going "jesus, another oddball ordering guinness, who'd have thunk it, been happening all night and all of them have to wait 2-3mins".

Not all of us do it because not all pubs sell a lot of stout.... and even the ones that do, the customers would be fickle about it being too quick so it's not fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Yeah, get with the rant. That's the point of rants. If only we had a forum..hey wait a minute....

yeah, we do: R&R, not AH
    you can rant all you want there whereas here you'll get challenged about why you didn't just go have a nice night in the pub with a person actually bringing the beer to you while not having to listen to overly loud **** music.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Fecked2bits

I ****ing hate bus Eireann.

Buses are always always late.

Timetables are retarded.

There is only one direct bus from Kilkenny to Cork. The others have two stops on them, and according to the website, there is one particular route you can take which is 13 hours long. That's on their website.

Lots of other problems, too many to list.

They need a good german v2 rocket up the hole.