Do you think Dublin is a "boring" city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Why are you so angry, if Dublin is such a great place you should be happy, or maybe you are having second thoughts, now that you have read some of the posts on this thread.

Am I angry? Just defending Dublin - not my home town. You on the other hand seem to be just a bundle of joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

Another angry culchie. Anybody I've brought here loves the place - including Howth. Versailles is just a big house, bigger than most. We've got those.

Not that I would diss Paris. All European cities have their charms.

Howth is nice, but you're really clutching at straws. Dublin as a city still lacks variety and most people here for the weekend won't take a trip out there or the Wicklow Mountains or Newgrange.

And no house in Ireland compares to Versailles, place is more than massive and then the whole Queen's estate too. The contents are what's really interesting. I hated it though for the crowds.

And yes, I know Oxford and Cambridge are seperate cities, but they are still DAY TRIPS that people take from London - you were the one going on about day trips weren't you?

Howth is not what a visitor or even most locals would consider just a short journey away. It feels further away than it is, and it's all about perception when people are planning what to do. In fact only a handful of people I know have even walked around the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

Howth isn't a day trip, it's part of the city effectively. Oxford is not really London.

In fact oxford reminds me that cities don't have to be big to have long and interesting histories. It also helps to be walkable for most things. Dublin is. London isn't. Bath and oxford are. Paris is better than London. Bristol is great. Bruges... I could go on.

Since I bring people here once a year I could easily list a weeks trip. But work it out yourself.

You've edited our post so I'll quote again:

London has user-friendly transport so you can explore the large city easily. The only sections visitors see in Dublin are those within D1 and D2 in general and they will really only go from Henry Street to Grafton Street. They're not heading out to Blanchardstown on foot, or on the bus.

And if you say Oxford isn't London, why mention the Wicklow Mountains and Newgrange in Meath? One rule for Dublin and one rule for the rest?

I'm sure we all have people visit, btw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Just look at the great variety of vomit that you will find on the Dublin streets every Saturday morning. It's a testament to the great Dublin stomach and our wonderful food and drink providers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Where did you read that?? :D
    The Examiner link, boy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I know plenty of people who really love Dublin. They're almost all from dublin and rarely leave.

I think it's ok. Just ok.

But anybody seriously setting it against Paris, London, Barcelona, Berlin or any of 2 dozen other European cities, is raving.

It's a bit of a hovel. And very parochial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Em eh Boo Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Merkin wrote: »
    Dublin is a wonderfully vibrant little city with lots to see and do, I'd never call it boring.

I bet half the turnip eating culchies on here slagging it off are the very ones tripping over their wellies to make it up for a bit of Christmas shopping on the 8th December!

I've always said it, that Dublin is just a Culchie outpost on the western fringes of Europe. Even my relatives from the UK described Dublin as "rural" when they were over for a wedding a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Ok so the only reasons I have been in Dublin is going to the Airport or watching GAA/Rugby matches, so maybe Im not qualified to comment on Dublin but I shall none the less :pac:

The Liffey is a disgrace
    Serious lack off colour possibly the blandest city Ive been in
    There is a awful feeling off aggression I have never felt anywhere else a feeling off being unsafe

I cant actually think off a good thing yet to say about it, now Im going out in Dublin for a night out in a few weeks so hopefully I will have more off a input Good or Bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

astonaidan wrote: »
    Ok so the only reasons I have been in Dublin is going to the Airport or watching GAA/Rugby matches, so maybe Im not qualified to comment on Dublin but I shall none the less :pac:

The Liffey is a disgrace
    Serious lack off colour possibly the blandest city Ive been in
    There is a awful feeling off aggression I have never felt anywhere else a feeling off being unsafe

I cant actually think off a good thing yet to say about it, now Im going out in Dublin for a night out in a few weeks so hopefully I will have more off a input Good or Bad.

In fairness, you don't address the question asked: is it boring. Whether ot not it;s clearn/dirty or safe/dangerous is irrelevant given the opening post.

Too many people on this thread are having a dig at Dublin (or certain elements of Dublin) that have absolutely n say on whther it's an intresting place or not.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭jiminho

If you like to wine, dine and socialise: Dublin is great. Of course it won't compare to London, Paris etc. but Dublin has a lot of character for it's size. I'm a bit bias tho :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

To try and compare Dublin to Paris/London/Rome/NYC is really just idiotic in my opinion. It's like comparing Athlone to Dublin. There's no comparison. Of course when you point out everything Dublin has that Athlone doesn't Athlone is going to seem boring.

It's just thick to pick former empire capitals of the world's largest economies and compare them to medium-sized cities on small, sparsely inhabited islands out in the Atlantic Ocean.

If you want to make actual, useful comparisons then try cities of similar population. And when you do, you'll find Dublin's doing pretty well.

When I order EU cities by population the next one after Dublin is Bradford, England. Which I'm sure is an mind-blowing metropolis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I would recommend 3 Days to see dublin to any overseas visitors.The greatest positives imo are the free museums (Beatty being the gem),the nightlife is so-so and the architecture is probably on a par with helsinki (not good) but hey,it's a big fish in a small pond.

The ghost bus is the best haunted tour you will do in europe,from my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Aphex wrote: »
    Why is it a "kip"? There are far more places in the world that are worse off than Dublin. Count yourself lucky lad.

There are not. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Another angry culchie. Anybody I've brought here loves the place - including Howth. Versailles is just a big house, bigger than most. We've got those.

The only thing more boring than Dublin is this inter-county "craic". I'm not angry about it, but its just a fact. Dublin a very poor relative to most European capitals

Good luck to you, but you are presenting small argument here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Dermighty wrote: »
    There are not. Fact.

Yes, there are, fact.

If you dont drink like the Irish do I would say the "craic" novelty wears off after a while. Having fun here is all about pubs/clubs getting sloshed. Ive heard many foreigners say they couldnt understand it and were mighty bored after a month.

It would be much better if the weather was better to do a lot more outdoors activities but again thats limited and we just get conditioned to hit the booze.

Not that im complaining, I hate being dragged all over the shop sightseeing:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

I like it. If someone finds it boring then that's ok, they are free to leave at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

first off I cannot believe that people are comparing Dublin To Paris and London

and saying Dublin is crap in Comparison Of course it is! you are comparing it to citys 10 times its size! at least Compare it to cities of equal size. Dublin does theater well it does pubs well and it has a couple of standout museums. Thats enough for a city of its size. I fondly remember the buzz around the city during the boom, great times!

If you are living there you need a car.

crockholm wrote: »
    I would recommend 3 Days to see dublin to any overseas visitors.The greatest positives imo are the free museums (Beatty being the gem),the nightlife is so-so and the architecture is probably on a par with helsinki (not good) but hey,it's a big fish in a small pond.

The ghost bus is the best haunted tour you will do in europe,from my experience.

It's funny that you should mention the museums and bus tours as TripAdvisor has some funny reviews about these too. :D

"Quite boring and basic"

"Glad we didn't pay"

"Slightly Underwhelming"

"A Bore"

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowUserReviews-g186605-d188497-r182141210-Dublin_Writers_Museum-Dublin_County_Dubli.html#REVIEWS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Dublin is only massive. We have the widest street in the world, the biggest park in the world with a wall around it and the biggest collection of tracksuits in Europe.Right here bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Don't understand the aggression against Dublin here.

The difference the past few years have made to the place is amazing, vibrant with so much more places to eat great quality cheap food and plenty of new craft beer bars opening and yes, less junkies - I haven't been shown a picture of holy Mary on a phone in years on my daily commute to Busáras. But I doubt the people here complaining about this have arsed themselves really making use of the city anyway.

Comparing it to the other European cities isn't that useful given it's only 1m people, but I certainly have never felt as threatened in Dublin walking around at night than I have in Lisbon/Paris/Barcelona and it is much cleaner and nicer to be in than Paris or Rome or don't charge into national museums like Amsterdam.

People here are ****in trying to be offended by the city's existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I've lived in Dublin my whole life so yeah I think it's boring. That said we brought one of the lads from college (Waterford native) to Dundrum for the first time there the other day and he was like Pippin seeing Minas Tirith for the first time! Haha he couldn't get over the size. He probably doesn't think the Big Smoke is boring

Joe prim wrote: »
    Dublin is only massive. We have the widest street in the world, the biggest park in the world with a wall around it and the biggest collection of tracksuits in Europe.Right here bud.

Jaysus thats new to me! Where did you hear that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

In fairness, you don't address the question asked: is it boring. Whether ot not it;s clearn/dirty or safe/dangerous is irrelevant given the opening post.

Too many people on this thread are having a dig at Dublin (or certain elements of Dublin) that have absolutely n say on whther it's an intresting place or not.
    Oh I cant really give a honest answer as well I was there for a sporting event, so can only comment on the feeling I had outside off the walk to said sporting event.
    I wasnt having a dig in anyway, Im hoping its a mad exciting spot :D
    I was just giving my immediate reaction to it, it is very grey and bland though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

If you're a misty-eyed American tourist and want to pay ridiculous amounts to drink Guinness and listen to (bad) trad music in Temple Bar, then Dublin probably seems fantastic.

There are plenty of things to do, as people have said, like museums, history, nightlife etc.

However, it really pales in comparison to European cities. Berlin for example, has a much better selection of museums, the nightlife is muuuuch more varied, the art scene is much more vibrant, the choice in food is better, and you're much less likely to bump into unsavoury characters while using the public transport.

It seems mostly to be thin-skinned dubs getting the hump at someone not loving their city as much as them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

zetalambda wrote: »
    It's funny that you should mention the museums and bus tours as TripAdvisor has some funny reviews about these too.

"Quite boring and basic"

"Glad we didn't pay"

"slightly underwhelming"

"A Bore"

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowUserReviews-g186605-d188497-r182141210-Dublin_Writers_Museum-Dublin_County_Dubli.html#REVIEWS

Anyone could just as easily pull any one of the positive reviews from that page, of which there are more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

Another point I'd make is that when you live in a city your whole life and you view of the world is through short holidays and television then your home is going to seem boring.

I used to hate Dublin, until I left for a while. Came back and realised that it's really a great city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

sully2010 wrote: »
    Jaysus thats new to me! Where did you hear that?

Safact bud, right?

Joe prim wrote: »

Don't forget Smithfield. The largest open air civic space in the world. Sure the MGM lion came from Dublin Zoo and flipper the dolphin was born in Dublin bay!
    IRcolm wrote: »
    Anyone could just as easily pull any one of the positive reviews from that page, of which there are more.

I know. It's actually a minority of reviews that are negative. I'm just having a bit of fun seeing all the Dubliners getting bent out of shape and offended! :D