Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Interview went well. Call back this morning. I've a new JOB!

The lovely lady rang back later, "Oh, there is a 17.5% Shift allowance on top of basic pay forgot to say earlier, is that okay?" Yes. Yes, it is. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yes really, I don't know what the lead time will be but I'll be paying a deposit later today (the timezone difference means messaging is difficult)

Imagine the muddin' I could do in that yoke... 6x6!

Too much Top Gear, mate? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

I'm just wondering what mileage you'd need to be doing per week to need a diesel car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

job seeker wrote: »

I'm just wondering what mileage you'd need to be doing per week to need a diesel car?

About 300 man but it depends heavily on where you drive. If you do lots of city driving and stop start stuff it won't suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just realised I have the focus a year since last weekend :eek: I was driving home last Saturday and a familiar looking 04 grand vitara passed me my dad owned it 2005-2006. Sold it to a fairly local person they still have it. The jeep is really recognisable as it has side bars and he put a lovely bull bar and spots on it it really suited the particular jeep and infairness to the new owners it's still absolutely spotless looks about a year old not 10. But when I thought about it it's 8 years since we had that jeep :eek: and it really only seems like yesterday I remember collecting it with him and all. Time really seems to fly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Yes really, I don't know what the lead time will be but I'll be paying a deposit later today (the timezone difference means messaging is difficult)---

I hope you successful with purchase and that arrives here in Ireland for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Car in front going slow. I decide to overtake. They speed up :confused: I can't understand the mentality behind this tbh, it's quite silly on a single carriage road! Needless to say, I still got by, that stunt was never going to work ;)

Or nosey people, because I'm parked up taking a call. They had to turn back twice and shine lights at me.... Mind your own business!!!

dgt wrote: »
    Car in front going slow. I decide to overtake. They speed up :confused: I can't understand the mentality behind this tbh, it's quite silly on a single carriage road! Needless to say, I still got by, that stunt was never going to work ;)

Or nosey people, because I'm parked up taking a call. They had to turn back twice and shine lights at me.... Mind your own business!!!

Goes on the whole time around here the noseyness bit anyway, people stare at a strange car and send around them community alert texts. Relations of mine remarked it before when they were visiting :rolleyes:

YbFocus wrote: »
    Goes on the whole time around here the noseyness bit anyway, people stare at a strange car and send around them community alert texts. Relations of mine remarked it before when they were visiting :rolleyes:

I understand in de shticks, we're on constant guard as we're afraid of getting robbed etc. It's no way to live if I'm honest

In a well lit car park though is a different matter! I'll be the talk of the pub :rolleyes:

I really hate busybodies/nosey auld f*cks

I understand in de shticks, we're on constant guard as we're afraid of getting robbed etc. It's no way to live if I'm honest

In a well lit car park though is a different matter! I'll be the talk of the pub :rolleyes:

I really hate busybodies/nosey auld f*cks

You do however look like a dodgy fecker :D

Edit: In a dodgy fecker car :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    You do however look like a dodgy fecker :D

Edit: In a dodgy fecker car :)

I have noticed no one will say boo to me in the E39 :pac:

When I get out of the e60 sometimes I get looked at like I'm this guy

NWS_20130820_ANA_010_28645423_I1.JPG

It's mad, you probably get the same as me 2what does a lad your age need with a car like that?" "Wouldn't you be better off with a corolla" etc.. :rolleyes:

Often have people my age in the car, no one is going to go near a car full of yobs :pac:

That really showed the time an A3 bulled across the pedestrian ramp in Navan outside the shopping centre (ironically, identical situation to the map link here) when the lights were red in order to try cut me off from turning out of a junction. Then he proceeded to try overtake as I was halfway out of the junction?!!! So I stopped the car, wound down the window and stared him out of it (hood up). He became very, very windy and a forced watery smile appeared. I drove off nice and slow, he stopped there and let everyone else behind me out!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Can't find the car for sale thread, so i'll post here.
    I was browsing Done Deal, minding my own business, then bam, I seen this unsightly creature!

27037082.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vauxhall-vectra-2-2-direct-sri-automatic/6457815

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That was in Skangermobiles last week. Lovely looking.

Now that's a car you wanna see with a raging hangover :p

And thus the progression from 3 stars to 4 stars :)

10,000th post! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

*hi5*
    When do we get our 5th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

How many post do you need to get 5 stars?
    I crossed the 1,000 mark a few days ago, thought I was great, but 10,000 how did you manage that?

How many post do you need to get 5 stars?
    I crossed the 1,000 mark a few days ago, thought I was great, but 10,000 how did you manage that?

You have no life, that's the key!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

CianRyan wrote: »
    You have no life, that's the key!

I wonder who has the highest post count on boards? They could have been here since the beginning 1998. I know DAV's account was open in '98 but as far as I know he was one of the people to set up the site. Some people close their accounts, I know Kinect in console modding forum done that he was a mod.

I've seen over 100,000 from around the same time I joined, maybe a year or two earlier.
    That's just crazy!
    11,000!!!
    And with that, I sleep. Goodnight!

I wonder who has the highest post count on boards? They could have been here since the beginning 1998. I know DAV's account was open in '98 but as far as I know he was one of the people to set up the site. Some people close their accounts, I know Kinect in console modding forum done that he was a mod.

Look for Mike65. He started the PAPOYCH,PT(QAP,GATFHB!!!!) thread. He has 81k posts afaik! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

That Vectra is a beauty now if i had a spare 7000 i know what i'd spend it on :D

Look for Mike65. He started the PAPOYCH,PT(QAP,GATFHB!!!!) thread. He has 81k posts afaik! :eek::eek::eek:

I read that abreviation all on my own :D
    Congrats on 10,000, great day for the parish!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Autosport wrote: »
    That Vectra is a beauty now if i had a spare 7000 i know what i'd spend it on :D

Lasers?

Petrol and matches? :pac:

A pair of old tractors and ram said Vectra with them? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Petrol and matches? :pac:

Pushing it off the large ski jump at sochi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I'd pay to see that :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Bring it out into the Irish Sea and scuttle it, I reckon.

Jasus.