Have you ever spoken to a Fianna Fail supporter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

And that's the problem.. not that you're voting FF, but that your electing a national politician based on how well he looks after YOU, when you should be looking to local councillors (of which there are plenty!) for that.

No wonder the national political arena is such a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    And that's the problem.. not that you're voting FF, but that your electing a national politician based on how well he looks after YOU, when you should be looking to local councillors (of which there are plenty!) for that.

All politics in Ireland is local though! We have about the same population as Birmingham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I got married into a family of FG supporters and I regret it :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

The poster you quoted gave a perfectly legitimate reason for his vote,Yet you dare question him and then blame him in part for this countries political mess... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lol at the FG supporters giving out about FF supporters.

#same****differentday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I tend not to associate with moronic idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Please say you're on a wind up.

That's what councillors are for, people like you shouldn't be allowed to vote.

The amount of ****e posted in this thread...Study some history. It's like a revolving door to some people, think that's going to help?

I have no party affiliation btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Well do you think ''The rest of them'' are any better? :D

Yes, based on all the available evidence. The government of 2011-present is, unfortunately, the best since 1997. Not a high bar to set, but there you go.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

All politics in Ireland is local though! We have about the same population as Birmingham.

Ireland's population is almost double that of Birmingham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ireland's population is almost double that of Birmingham.

I think he meant greater Birmingham, West Midlands ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

coolbeans wrote: »
    Agreed that our political class is of a very poor standard by western comparison but they are rightly held up as a bogeyman as they have .governed the country with some interruption since the beginning. They set the very low standard, particularly in the seventies and the eighties, that the others had to follow if they were not to see themselves obliterated by FF. That's why I have no time for them. Your 'they're all the same ' argument is pretty lazy and clichéd imo.

Agreed. That one is getting fairly old at this point.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

galwayrush wrote: »
    I think he meant greater Birmingham, West Midlands ..

Ireland's population is still about a million more than "Greater Birmingham" that would include Nuneaton, Wolverhamton and Coventry. Total comes to about 3.6 million, Ireland's is about 4.6m.

Just annoys me a bit when people pluck these falsified statistics out of thin air to add some weight to their point. The poster didn't even need to do it here, I agree with his general point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

jetsonx wrote: »
    Have you ever spoken to a Fianna Fail supporter?

Yes, numerous :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Ever, OP?

Silly question, given that they were in power for more than a decade before the current government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Every vocal fianna fail supporter I've met has a been a fine example of all thats wrong with this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

My granny worships Dev and won't hear a word spoken against him, centre of the most repetitive argument ever between her and my dad for last 20+ years.

A friend of mine used to canvas for Micháel Martin and tried to recruit me. A friend of my dad was a committee man and tried recruit him.

They're not as quiet about it as you'd expect once they get to know you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Two of my college lecturers are very happy to admit that they are life long FF voters.

One of them is even a life long member!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

I am a FF supporter and proud of it

And I cant wait till they are back in power with SF as junior coalition partner

pajor wrote: »
    Two of my college lecturers are very happy to admit that they are life long FF voters.

One of them is even a life long member!

You make its sound like its some sort of sordid cult they're in!

FF are historically the largest party on this island!

Historically the most corrupt party

Historically the party who traded our sovereignty for their pals financial survival

In a simpler era fianna failers would have found themselves tarred and feathered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

The poster you quoted gave a perfectly legitimate reason for his vote,Yet you dare question him and then blame him in part for this countries political mess...

Kaiser2000 has a valid point though. People vote for a TD based on what he or she does in the local area, i.e. getting a pothole filled in, the amount of funerals a TD has gone to, pushing people up a waiting list etc. These shouldn't be the things a TD should be concerning himself or herself with. What the hell are councillors doing if a TD is doing the work.

This is without even addressing the farcical situation of having three, four, and five seat constituencies. Fred Swanson mentions voting for the local FF TD. What about the other two, three, or four TD's in that constituency? What are they doing besides competing with each other to see who can fill the most potholes and go to the most funerals.

Bambi wrote: »
    Historically the most corrupt party

Historically the party who traded our sovereignty for their pals financial survival

In a simpler era fianna failers would have found themselves tarred and feathered

Ehhh people voted for them...they chose the policies of tax cuts and property subsidies.

Easy to just scape-goat the party. The whole society is to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

I know a guy a work who loves Fianna Fail and isnt afraid too say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

You make its sound like its some sort of sordid cult they're in!

FF are historically the largest party on this island!

I didn't say I wasn't. :P

Ehhh people voted for them...they chose the policies of tax cuts and property subsidies.

Easy to just scape-goat the party. The whole society is to blame.

I didnt see where youse f**ks put "bankrupt the country" in your manifesto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Bambi wrote: »
    I didnt see where youse f**ks put "bankrupt the country" in your manifesto

I'm sure you were calling out for tax increases and welfare cuts in the early 2000s :rolleyes:

FF gave the people what they wanted. The system is what's broken. The politicians have to do what they have to do to keep their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Plenty of people were big fans of them but are all revisionist about it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

bob50 wrote: »
    I am a FF supporter and proud of it

And I cant wait till they are back in power with SF as junior coalition partner

Yeah that's how the cycle works anyway.

FF run the country to the ground and leave someone else to clean up their mess.

Once the electorate forgets come back again in a few years and go about doing the same thing again.

Toxic party!