Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Refused a breath test.. himself and Shatter would get on well I'd say.

What does the age of the company have to do with anything? RITS is less than 2 years old.. does that make their report less credible?

You conveniently forgot to mention that Verrimus recently invested £500,000 in a new training facility.

http://www.thejournal.co.uk/business/business-news/verrimus-ltd-invest-new-north-4392995

Not a great attempt to discredit them at all really.

No, but it's all part of a pattern.

How interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Does it actually matter whether it turns out to have been bugged or not - surely if GSOC had suspicions then they had a right and an obligation to investigate. Even if nothing was found it does not take away from that right or obligation.

I would agree, and I understand that as a matter of routine such checks are carried out from time to time anyway. I would also say they have an obligation to investigate, as I think may be happening, who among their ranks is passing confidential, and even as in the case of the Verrimus report something marked Secret information to the press.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

I would agree, and I understand that as a matter of routine such checks are carried out from time to time anyway. I would also say they have an obligation to investigate, as I think may be happening, who among their ranks is passing confidential, and even as in the case of the Verrimus report something marked Secret information to the press.

You should start a thread outlining all of the Garda leaks to the press.

Starting with the daily leaking of details about crimes to the press.

Oh right, I always forget (wink, wink) that you only cars about one specific leak.

Hard to take you seriously. At all. Ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

I have been taking a look at Verrimus. People on AH are not usually that credulous about information from shadowy sources, especially as in this case it is filtered through the very murky lens of a News International publication.

Verrimus started up at the end of 2010, it has one director, net assets of £7,221 (in 2012) and less than 10 employees. Not details you might expect when you visit their impressive looking website but this could be normal in business.

Maybe it can call on ex GCHQ types for it's expertise but the only operative I can find is a former policeman. Former because he left the force in disgrace. He appears to have made rapid progress in Verrimus to the level of Team Leader and Qualified Instructor. Nice juicy story there for any of our media looking for another angle on the whole affair. I couldn't find any connection between them and Simon O'Brien. O'Brien should know a lot about bent coppers coming from the Met.

http://www.verrimus.com/

http://companycheck.co.uk/company/07469262/financial-accounts

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/local-news/chief-inspector-resigns-over-refusing-1370984

http://uk.linkedin.com/pub/paul-barrett/58/80b/431

i've been pondering on the possibilites surrounding the co-incidental facts that o brien is ex met and the photo posted somewhere in this thread during the week of the verriums 2 boys sent over to garda hq, they looke dlike ex-military/hired mercinaries covered in tats and looking like a pair of serious mo-fo's!

regarding all forms of corruption/spying/espionage these days one needs to keep an open mind and imagine all possibilities and a wise mind will know how far governments and the corrupt in general go to keep a tight reign on those in the system for political/financial gain and the upper hand at all times.

Obama came out the other day and said sure nobody ever said world leaders would be off the table when it comes to nsa spying and of course the effected countries and individuals (Germany and Merkel for example) are doing the same. it's systemic in global governence now a days and to think it's not happening here with all that's going on in the world today is just madness.

every communication in this country but private conversations with oneself, phone call, txt, email, fax, mouse movement, click online, like, share, typed but not completed browser searches, friends/network connections in full including the meta-data is lifted, stored and as much as is currently possible filtered for signifigance, used or made available to suit big brother and it's friends/partners/allies and we wonder was the garda ombusdamns office was bugged in this day and age :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

i've been pondering on the possibilites surrounding the co-incidental facts that o brien is ex met and the photo posted somewhere in this thread during the week of the verriums 2 boys sent over to garda hq, they looke dlike ex-military/hired mercinaries covered in tats and looking like a pair of serious mo-fo's!

EVERYBODY from Newcastle looks like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

This could eventually have repercussions for Enda too by the looks of things.

Shatters bullying days look to be over to me.
    On February 9, 2012, Connolly met Sergeant Maurice McCabe, the garda who has made a number of complaints about serious malpractice in the force. McCabe had lodged a complaint about Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan’s intention to promote a senior officer, whose handling of a number of criminal cases was unresolved. 

Sources close to McCabe said yesterday that he found Connolly to be “a gentleman, an honest man, 100%”. Notwithstanding that evaluation, McCabe taped his conversation with Connolly. By January 2012, McCabe had run into a series of brick walls in his attempts to highlight the malpractice. His experience led him to withdraw trust from the whole process, and he felt obliged to tape the conversation for his own protection. 

The transcript has emerged in recent months, and in the last two weeks, sections have been read into the record of the Dáil. The tenor of the sections is best summed up by a line delivered by Micheál Martin last week, alleged to have been spoken by Connolly. 

“I’ll tell you something, Maurice — and this is just personal advice to you — if Shatter thinks you’re screwing him, you’re finished.” It is the emergence of a transcript that has ultimately led to Shatter firing Connolly. 

However, a number of serious issues arise, all of which Shatter and Enda Kenny seem eager to bury. When the transcript was read into the Dáil last week, Kenny said he would launch an investigation. Yet Kenny had been well aware of the tenor of these comments for the last eight months. 

On May 27 last year, McCabe emailed the Taoiseach about the penalty points issue, and complained of how he was being portrayed by the justice minister. 

“Mr Shatter is in the public spotlight at the moment, and unlike him, I do not intend to play the man and not the ball,” McCabe wrote. 

“It is suffice to say that my figures are correct, my allegations are correct, and despite receiving information that Mr Shatter would ‘go after me’ if I brought the matter further, I am standing firm.” 

He received an anodyne response with no interest in the suggestions that Shatter would go after him. Like much else in this matter, the Taoiseach opted to turn a blind eye to anything that might lead towards further hassle. 

A reading of the full transcript of the conversation between McCabe and Connolly doesn’t reflect badly on Connolly. He was acting, as his office was designed, as a confidant of a whistleblower. He advised McCabe not to go to the media, to avoid scandal at all costs. Events of recent days in relation to handling of the GSOC bugging controversy suggest this was astute advice. The imperative in avoiding scandal has been a hallmark of all the recent controversies involving An Garda Síochána. 

In the conversation, Connolly was outlining to McCabe the political realities of the situation. Is it reasonable to assume that in appointing a supporter, this is precisely what Shatter would have wanted him to do? 

In any event, any suggestion that Shatter would go after McCabe proved to be prophetic. At every turn over the last 18 months, the justice minister acted to stymie the garda whistleblower. 

At first, Shatter rubbished allegations McCabe and his former colleague John Wilson made about malpractice in deleting penalty points. When the internal Garda report into the matter — now largely discredited — was published, Shatter called into question the bone fides of the whistleblowers. 

Last October, the minister told the Dáil that the whistleblowers “didn’t co-operate with the internal Garda inquiry”. This was completely erroneous. Neither man was even approached to be interviewed in the inquiry. 

When McCabe brought his complaints to the Public Accounts Committee, Shatter attempted to ensure he didn’t give evidence by very belatedly referring the whole affair to the Garda Ombudsman. Not once did he as much as lift a finger to protect the whistleblowers, preferring instead to back the Garda Commissioner at every turn. 

Last month, Commissioner Callinan said he found the whistleblowers’ complaints to be “disgusting”. 

Back in June 2011, on Connolly’s appointment, Shatter issued the following high-minded statement: “Any member or civilian employee of An Garda Síochána who wishes to report in confidence about corruption and malpractice can be assured that any such report will be taken seriously and extensive protections will be given to him or her.” 

How hollow those words ring now that we know what we know. 

The other thing that did it for Connolly is the shift in perception of the whistleblower, McCabe. As with other whistleblowers, he has been subjected to a whispering campaign designed to assassinate his character. (I, for one, have been privy to rumours that are little short of disgusting.) 

Yet, a series of public figures have lately come out to vouch for McCabe’s character. Leo Varadkar last year described him as “credible”; Micheál Michael, who met McCabe last week, described him as “credible” in the Dáil yesterday. Pat Rabbitte told RTÉ News at One yesterday that he knew McCabe, and spoke of his character in glowing terms. Former Garda Ombudsman Conor Brady did likewise last month. 

Members of the Public Account Committee also expressed themselves impressed with his evidence. 

McCabe can no longer be painted as a malcontent with an agenda designed to damage the gardaí. 

Who therefore is to blame for the manner in which he has been treated since he first came forward? Surely not the justice minister, that great protectorate of whistleblowers? Surely not the Garda Commissioner, charged with upholding the highest standards in the force? 

No, it’s all down to the confidential recipient, Connolly. A fall guy has emerged. All other parties will simply brush themselves down and move on. That, at least, must be their most fervent wish

http://www.irishexaminer.com/analysis/shatter-struggles-to-find-a-fall-guy-259318.html

Imagine losing your job for refusing to lie.

I think we'll be seeing a general election this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

mbur wrote: »
    Thanks for that clarification. So you are saying there was no suspect device in the office. Just a device with suspect software. The big question there is how did that software get there.

One of the threats identified by Verrimus was the presence of a fake UK wifi signal in GSOC's office. Paul Williams was attacking this assertion.

The issue of the hacked router (or whatever) in the boardroom would only be relevant to that arguement if it were possible to furthur hack said "device" to generate said UK signal. Either way Williams is wrong to contend an innocent explanation.
    Seriously this is a laptop or ipad that is picking up on the strong wifi from Insomnia in the same building. The UK phone signal is different but no GSOC staff have UK mobiles anyway..
    This is the GSOC statement on wifi, it's as clear as mud-but does say there was no way for the device to access to their systems anyway.
    The briefing note also stated that a Wi-Fi device, located in the Boardroom, was found to have connected to an external Wi-Fi network. Access to this Wi-Fi device was protected by a password; absent this password, the device should not have been able to connect to that external Wi-Fi network. Its connection to an external network was, therefore, a concern. This device, although Wi-Fi enabled, was unable to communicate with any of GSOC’s databases or electronic systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭strongback

Caledonia wrote: »
    Seriously this is a laptop or ipad that is picking up on the strong wifi from Insomnia in the same building. The UK phone signal is different but no GSOC staff have UK mobiles anyway..
    This is the GSOC statement on wifi, it's as clear as mud-but does say there was no way for the device to access to their systems anyway.
    The briefing note also stated that a Wi-Fi device, located in the Boardroom, was found to have connected to an external Wi-Fi network. Access to this Wi-Fi device was protected by a password; absent this password, the device should not have been able to connect to that external Wi-Fi network. Its connection to an external network was, therefore, a concern. This device, although Wi-Fi enabled, was unable to communicate with any of GSOC’s databases or electronic systems.

It's likely Simon O'Brien has a UK mobile.

strongback wrote: »
    It's likely Simon O'Brien has a UK mobile.

aaaaaaaaaaaaand the plot thickens!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

... the only operative I can find is a former policeman. Former because he left the force in disgrace. He appears to have made rapid progress in Verrimus to the level of Team Leader and Qualified Instructor. Nice juicy story there for any of our media looking for another angle on the whole affair. I couldn't find any connection between them and Simon O'Brien. O'Brien should know a lot about bent coppers coming from the Met.

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/local-news/chief-inspector-resigns-over-refusing-1370984
    Nice to see someone who actually realise the seriousness of failing to give a breath sample at a check point. there's a few in this country could take a leaf from his book...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The wifi device was explicitly designed not to connect to any network without being told to using password credentials, the fact that it connected to anything at all suggests that someone may have been trying to hack into it. A nearby coffee shop is in fact the best place from which to attempt this, as the only identifying information which would show up would be the identity of Insomnia's wireless network, as opposed to the IP or MAC address of the laptop / tablet used to try to hack it.

The fact that the network this device was connecting to was a Bitbuzz network does not in any way make it all ok. It shouldn't have been connecting to anything and as several statements from GSOC and Verrimus have stated, they couldn't explain why it was doing so without being told to manually. If it was something as simple as automatically connecting to any public wifi network without being asked, I'm pretty sure security experts would have been able to tell the difference and wouldn't have regarded it as suspicious enough to warrant a mention in their threat analysis.

Let me put it another way: My laptop is set up never to connect to any wireless network without me explicitly telling it to. If I was in a position in which I might be a target of interest to hackers, and my laptop suddenly began connecting to a wireless network I had never used without being told to do so, I'd be pretty freaked out by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

The thing is Verrimus were told that the office had been bugged before they did their sweep.
    Harrickpatrick you are one person, what kind of ability did GSOCs IT guy have? I honestly wouldn't be surprised if GSOC seniors had brought that laptop into Insomnia themselves and connected to bitbuzz. They said they had been using Capel St coffee houses to avoid being tapped..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Hootanany wrote: »
    Where's he gone?

He stood in front of a Tank during a protest over on "Arcade and Retro". Sadly the driver failed to stop. :( Life has never been the same, but jasus, he had smelly feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I have to say my respect for The Irish Examiner has gone way up.
    They're the only mainstream media outlet taking this very seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I honestly wouldn't be surprised if GSOC seniors had brought that laptop into Insomnia themselves and connected to bitbuzz. They said they had been using Capel St coffee houses to avoid being tapped..

What laptop?

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I have to say my respect for The Irish Examiner has gone way up.
    They're the only mainstream media outlet taking this very seriously.

they'd all be taking it seriously only for the majority of irish don't appear one bit bothered about what's oging on!!

the fact we're not demonstrating people power on the streets enables so many dangerous levels of corruption that just get worse the longer we do nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Pat Rabbitte gets in on the act and does what he does best ...... ventriloquism. Speaking out of both sides of his mouth simultaneously he says, "It would appear that the Justice Minister may have been mistaken when he said Maurice McCabe did not co-operate with the penalty points enquiry".

Mr Rabbitte said he has confidence in the Fine Gael TD.

"Quiet clearly, if he said that in the Dail, he was under that impression. This is not a minister who would mislead the Dail."

Could this be the same Pat Rabbitte who a few days ago said on RTE Radio's News at One today that he supported Garda whistleblower Sergeant Maurice McCabe.

"I happen to know Maurice McCabe for some considerable time, and he is an honest, upstanding and very diligent member of the force.

I would vouch for Mr McCabe's character
    ."

Now Pat .......... WTF are you saying? You can't have both people telling opposite stories and both telling the truth.
    Cynics might put it down to mischief making. Or even worse - a rush to glory.

http://www.herald.ie/news/pressure-grows-on-shatter-over-grave-garda-dossier-30030262.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Pat Rabbitte gets in on the act and does what he does best ...... ventriloquism. Speaking out of both sides of his mouth simultaneously he says, "It would appear that the Justice Minister may have been mistaken when he said Maurice McCabe did not co-operate with the penalty points enquiry".

"Quiet clearly, if he said that in the Dail, he was under that impression. This is not a minister who would mislead the Dail."

Could this be the same Pat Rabbitte who a few days ago said on RTE Radio's News at One today that he supported Garda whistleblower Sergeant Maurice McCabe.

"I happen to know Maurice McCabe for some considerable time, and he is an honest, upstanding and very diligent member of the force.

I would vouch for Mr McCabe's character."

Now Pat .......... WTF are you saying? You can't have both people telling opposite stories and both telling the truth.

http://www.herald.ie/news/pressure-grows-on-shatter-over-grave-garda-dossier-30030262.html

Would you expect anything else from Pat "sure isn't that the type of thing you say at elections" Rabbitte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Something on Broadsheet.ie about a letter sent to Enda Leo some years ago think they are fxxxxxxxd now. Sorry can't link it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Something on Broadsheet.ie about a letter sent to Enda Leo some years ago think they are fxxxxxxxd now. Sorry can't link it.

Refreshing to see there is still some innocence left in this excuse for a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Here's BBC's take on things.

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-26279237

Few interesting points on Verrimus. I particularly like this one.
    It would be curious for an established specialist company based outside Ireland to go out on a limb and claim that a surveillance operation existed, where in fact it did not.

This story needs to be repeatedly kindled and stoked on the net and social media. There's nothing our sham of a Govt would love more than it swept under the big rug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

That's for sure. They are obviously hoping the media lose interest. They are eagerly awaiting the next scandal.

Can someone link the Broadsheet link please on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

."

In order for pat Rabbitte to be believed he is requiring the public to believe that Alan shatter routinely reads into the Dail record information/statements that he does not check in advance, or have his officials check. Do you believe that? I know I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

."

Running with the hare and hunting with the hound.
    But sure "that's what you tend to do at election time".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Can someone link the Broadsheet link please on my phone.

I presume this one? It's all jpgs so no cut and paste sorry.

Hang on... here is the first page attached

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Here's BBC's take on things.

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-26279237

Few interesting points on Verrimus. I particularly like this one.

It would be curious for an established specialist company based outside Ireland to go out on a limb and claim that a surveillance operation existed, where in fact it did not.

This story needs to be repeatedly kindled and stoked on the net and social media. There's nothing our sham of a Govt would love more than it swept under the big rug.

What appeared either side of that quote is also interesting. If somewhat longwinded.

Such technical companies survive or founder by reputation; they do not advertise their services in mail-shots. It would be curious for an established specialist company based outside Ireland to go out on a limb and claim that a surveillance operation existed, where in fact it did not.

It would have been clear to Verrimus that any discovery of spying would cause a political furore, and that its credibility would be challenged. To get it wrong would be commercially crippling.

Furthermore, it does not appear that Verrimus has made any suggestion with regard to who might have been behind such surveillance, or indeed whether GSOC was the actual target.

The media has, understandably, assumed that most people will think that some element within the Irish police force is the obvious candidate. The Gardai is, after all, the organisation the ombudsman exists to scrutinise.

So the BBC is saying that Verrimus do not know who carried out the surveillance or who was the target. The target may have been something other than GSOC. Is that fair to say from what I have bolded?

Why do we have to have such convoluted language in the media? That sentence should read "Verrimus do not know who carried out the surveillance or who the target was"

The next paragraph should read. "Most people think the surveillance was carried out by the Gardai", not that Media has understanably assumed nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

What appeared either side of that quote is also interesting. If somewhat longwinded.

Such technical companies survive or founder by reputation; they do not advertise their services in mail-shots. It would be curious for an established specialist company based outside Ireland to go out on a limb and claim that a surveillance operation existed, where in fact it did not.

It would have been clear to Verrimus that any discovery of spying would cause a political furore, and that its credibility would be challenged. To get it wrong would be commercially crippling.

Furthermore, it does not appear that Verrimus has made any suggestion with regard to who might have been behind such surveillance, or indeed whether GSOC was the actual target.

The media has, understandably, assumed that most people will think that some element within the Irish police force is the obvious candidate. The Gardai is, after all, the organisation the ombudsman exists to scrutinise.

So the BBC is saying that Verrimus do not know who carried out the surveillance or who was the target. The target may have been something other than GSOC. Is that fair to say from what I have bolded?

Why do we have to have such convoluted language in the media? That sentence should read "Verrimus do not know who carried out the surveillance or who the target was"

The next paragraph should read. "Most people think the surveillance was carried out by the Gardai", not that Media has understanably assumed nonsense.

yes its fair to say that from the report but AFAIK the telephone being alleged bugged was in GSOC office :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

So, tomwaterford, is your theory that GSOC were bugging the Insomnia cafe and forgot to tell Verrimus ?