Ever Slept Rough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Got separated from mates one time on a night out...
    Locked as you would be.
    Got back to mates gaff at about 4am where there was meant to be a house party.
    Banged on the window for half an hour till I got tired....couldn't get round the back so decided to curl up in the corner of the front garden and go to sleep...for woken by the rain at 7am...got up and walked an hour home on a pissy Sunday morning.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Slept on a chair in front of a cafe in Amsterdam with a mate after being at a techno music festival. It was cold.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Pingi wrote: »
    Airports definitely don't count, sleeping on the floor on a chair in an airport after camping at a festival is heaven.

Never slept rough but slept in a puddle inside my €15 Dunnes tent with my head on a soaked through rucksack. Oxegen 2006 NEVER FORGET....
    I've not slept at airports. Too many lights and cleaners keep you awake, so you get very little sleep.

Decent tents are waterproof, I've woken up to a tent like a water bed, after lashing rain overnight, the floor was moving.

Much rather tents than airports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Gatling wrote: »
    Spent 6 weeks sleeping rough in wales despite having a full time job ,
    Slept mostly on benches on the local sea front ,
    Have to say not my proudest moment in life,

How did that happen if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Yes I slept rough on the streets in New York City back in the late 90's. I spent my days, months trawling the streets for leftovers and avoiding the man who made money from me. Empty promises and shattered dreams replaced by tin cans on a street where nobody knew my name.

Joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Oz, 1999 went to Blue Mountains for a night and we booked into a hostel. I missed the curfew nd was locked out. So I spoke slept in the ditch across the road. Woken up the next morning by a passing fire truck.

On way back from Oz stayed in Hawaii for 3 nights, low on money so spent 2 nights oín the beach and 1 in the airport.

Oh, the happy year of travelling after college...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Two times I can remember, both in Rio.

First, slept on the couch of the lobby in my friend's apartment block in Rio.

He'd forgotten his keys so we spent ages knocking on the door of his gaff with no luck. Went back down to the lobby where there was a couch and kipped there. Woke up a few hours sitting side by side and with a pounding headache. Was really uncomfortable.

Another time, at the same guy's place, he'd gone home earlier and I'd stayed out but miles from where I lived so he said whenever I was done I could crash at his place. Got to his around six in the morning. Same deal, knocked for ages, no answer. This time I was far further gone that I just slept on the floor of the hallway. Was woken up by my friend's ma a bit later when she went to collect the paper which had been carefully placed beside my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Aye, fair bit. Worse when your really skint as well. Thank god for 39p sausage rolls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Slept under a car in Tralee after a night at the Rose of Tralee-not my brightest move, slept on Train tracks-definitely close to being one of my worst moves-woke up to cops chasing me-for my own safety. Slept In the Subway in New York numerous times. Slept on Park benches, slept in stairwells, slept in Atlantic City underneath an overturned boat. Slept on a strangers porch in Pennsylvania. Slept in many bus stations all over the East Coast of the USA and all over North and South of Ireland......
    Thanks be to God those days are long, long, behind me, now I currently have a choice of 3 properties to sleep in, all paid for since I gave up the wretched drink and drugs, Grateful to even have food in the fridge and bedclothes-not to mind clean bedclothes :)

I often think, you can't get to where I am from where I was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

I have never slept anywhere outside the chamber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Also slept on Copabacabana beach when very drunk. Woke up by some guy warning me of thieves. He then offered me a joint and we smoked 'til he started asking me for money. I ended up getting his address and promising to send it to him. Never did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

barely related but a few weeks ago i was so drunk after a night out i went to an internet cafe and the next thing i remember is being woken up by the guy working there at half five in the morning with my head on the keyboard... not going back there in a hurry anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Slept under a car in Tralee after a night at the Rose of Tralee-not my brightest move, slept on Train tracks-definitely close to being one of my worst moves-woke up to cops chasing me-for my own safety. Slept In the Subway in New York numerous times. Slept on Park benches, slept in stairwells, slept in Atlantic City underneath an overturned boat. Slept on a strangers porch in Pennsylvania. Slept in many bus stations all over the East Coast of the USA and all over North and South of Ireland......
    Thanks be to God those days are long, long, behind me, now I currently have a choice of 3 properties to sleep in, all paid for since I gave up the wretched drink and drugs, Grateful to even have food in the fridge and bedclothes-not to mind clean bedclothes :)

Wow. Crazy sthuff altogether, I feel so boring now.
    You really went from a stairwell to well off ?? Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Got ridiculously drunk in New York last summer, got separated from my mates and ended up wandering where the streets have no name...woke up on a bench beside Hudson river (I think) and was delighted that nobody had taken my wallet/phone only to discover my shoes had been stolen! I have never worn odd socks again since that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Photo-Sniper

I have never slept rough but it reminds me of a story from a fella I went to college with.

He was out all night in a club taking yokes, so much so that he completely veered off from his buddys with some girl.

One of his buddys gets up for Sunday mass the next day and texts him, concerned about where he is and where he went the night before. No text back.

The buddy is outside the church and low and behold, their he is cuddled up with some fat one inside in a skip. A skip like.

Could never get myself into that predicament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Wow. Crazy sthuff altogether, I feel so boring now.
    You really went from a stairwell to well off ?? Fair play.

Yep, hadn't a pot to P!ss in-literally....... people like me go through crap like that, so hopefully people like you will see us and won't have to go through that, lol.

I am comfortable now, don't have a high paying job, but made money my last few years in the States and was lucky with my decisions....so when I say I've been in some States-I mean it haha-
    Had a lot of fun along the way though......one story springs to mind-I got on a bus in Atlantic city with some girl, ended up going back to her town-reneckville somewhere-to this day still don't know the name of the town or State I was in, but after partying for a few days, went back to the bus station and she bought me a ticket back to New York, so never even found out (or cared) about where I was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

A few times. Sometimes deliberately. Used to sleep on the beach when working nights
    Fell asleep on a train once, missed my stop and woke up in Dublin with very little money. I got the bus to Bray with the intention of hitching the rest of the way home. Got a lift from there that brought me to the middle of nowhere.
    About midnight I broke into a roadworkers hut for some kip (lifted it up and crawled in). Inside I found a gas burner, rashers, bread and a full kettle, I made sure I got out of there at first light, didn't fancy meeting them workers next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

nbar12 wrote: »
    only to discover my shoes had been stolen! I have never worn odd socks again since that day!

Listed from my post in this thread Have you ever tried to stop a wedding...

Hitching through rural Germany we find a field to sleep in. Being a bit cold the only wood we can find is wooden barriers around an excavation hole about six feet deep - we bust those up and light a fire. We go to sleep only to be woken by four Germans who fall on top us and they are totally pissed and find us hysterically funny. One of them is carrying a pumpkin and keeps showing it to us. They eventually leave, and we try to sleep. We hear them shouting in the distance. We wake up in the morning and make our way back to the road, past the excavation trench. There is a pumpkin in the bottom of it.

Finally arriving in Amsterdam we hit a coffee shop and my mate falls backwards off a barstool and smack his head off the floor. He blacks out, the waitress tries to drag him out, he starts vomiting and nearly slides off the steps about 8 feet high.

I spend 30 mins trying to figure out if he is concussed or stoned, whilst I'm really stoned. I eventually find a police station and explain that my friend is probably concussed and where is the nearest hospital. The cop asks "where did the accident happen" I (stupidly) reply "In a coffee shop" - the cop pulls out a tourist map and writes a ring on the map and an address. Go here he says. We do. It's a hostel not a hospital. And closed.

We end up sleeping ouside the railway station. Probably 40-50 people here as the hostels are full. I thoughtfully take off my shoes inside my sleeping bag and fall asleep. I am awoken by my mate screaming Fuck! My shoes! Someone has stolen his (only) shoes, and we end up looking for a shoe shop at 6am....

I have so much sympathy for those that do this every day. My wife's boss actually spent 5 months sleeping in her car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I once fell asleep in the D.I.Y store, fell asleep in the sandpaper section was very rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Munster Hurling Final in Cork City 2011. Waterford just got hammered by 7 goals to Tipperary, and me and my friend got hammered on beer & vodka. Tried to get on the bus back to Waterford but didn't have enough money, went to the ATM, but then change of plan as we managed to get a lift off my friend's girlfriend living in Cork.

Just out of the city and she was looking for money, something like €50, I don't really remember much but I disagreed and asked to be brought back and dropped off at the Silver Springs Hotel (which would've worked out a lot dearer than the €50!) but reception took one look at us and I knew it was obvious we weren't getting a room. Walked for hours looking for a hostel until around 4am we eventually just slept on the ground in between two houses with rubbish bags for pillows. Don't think I even fell asleep, horrible experience at the time but just have to laugh looking back at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

A bank vestibule in a small town in southern Germany, we managed to lock ourselves out of our diggs. . .in January. . .it was snowing. . .luckily I had a long sleeve underarmour thingy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

theteal wrote: »
    A bank vestibule in a small town in southern Germany, we managed to lock ourselves out of our diggs. . .in January. . .it was snowing. . .luckily I had a long sleeve underarmour thingy on

Vestibule?Underarmour?
    Are you a medieval knight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Toronto airport 2005, connecting flight wasn't til the next morning and I couldn't have been arsed to pay for a hotel for 8 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Dude, write a book!
    I'd be willing to read that story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

dec 1999 - dortmund was absolutely freezing
    went to a nightclub pay at the door , drinks free all night thing (unlimited bar) two lads left earlier , me and the other fella stayed on.

woke up asleep against a shop door at 6.30am.
    no idea what happened.

in 1996 after leaving cert went to a party in kildare of people I vaguely know who were friends with a few mates.
    got in a drunken row and was asked to leave - slept in a ditch down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

During the boom a lot of people bought shoe boxes to sleep in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Spent nearly 3+ years after the army wandering around Europe on a motorcycle with no destination in mind, a 2 man tent, sleeping bag & a camping gas stove.

Picked up odd jobs in bars, restaurants, labouring etc. to fund my wanderings, the odd time being put up on/in the sofas/beds etc. of newly made aquaintances...happy care free days :D

My nan always said I must have Gypsy blood in me because I was always a wanderer :cool:

MonstaMash wrote: »
    Spent nearly 3+ years after the army wandering around Europe on a motorcycle with no destination in mind, a 2 man tent, sleeping bag & a camping gas stove.

Picked up odd jobs in bars, restaurants, labouring etc. to fund my wanderings, the odd time being put up on/in the sofas/beds etc. of newly made aquaintances...happy care free days :D

My nan always said I must have Gypsy blood in me because I was always a wanderer :cool:

Sounds brilliant. Would love to have done something like that when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Got lost in Manhattan drunk. ended up dozing off on a bench fr a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭travis1976

lukesmom wrote: »
    Yes I slept rough on the streets in New York City back in the late 90's. I spent my days, months trawling the streets for leftovers and avoiding the man who made money from me. Empty promises and shattered dreams replaced by tin cans on a street where nobody knew my name.

Joke

That's quite lyrical, a pleasure to read. Thanks Lukesmom