If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fitzgibbon Cup 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Of the ball had to go and he was having superb man

Slap in to the stomach with the hurley.d

Cit won ,so cit v ucc
    Lit v wit

Lit are limited bv davy is superb coach lit played clarf way and had two man full forward line

I do a report later but he would be fav to outfox bonnar of wit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭shoddy14

Cit won ,so cit v ucc
    Lit v wit

Lit are limited bv davy is superb coach lit played clarf way and had two man full forward line

I do a report later but he would be fav to outfox bonnar of wit

Would you ever spell properly, or at least re read them before you post. Pissing me off trying to decript them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Presume he's on his phone and doing us all a favour with the updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Big shock there... on paper, UL really should have been winning that. Not that LIT don't have some very good players, they clearly do... but Collins, Walsh, Forde, 2 Ryans, Flanagan, Heffernan, Glynn, Morey.... some top players there.

How did Barry O'Connell, Dan Morrissey and Alan Dempsey get on?

If you backed LIT... some nice money to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,261 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

shoddy14 wrote: »
    Would you ever spell properly, or at least re read them before you post. Pissing me off trying to decript them!

Yeah he owes you that much after all you've done for him.

Lit v ul ptich 1 grass ptich in excellent condition despite all the heavy rain,shock of the round in the margin of victory as Lit won 2-16 to ul 1-13 truth be told ,lit work every point of there win ,as they a fine hurlers in key aeras,no where near ul strength of team or panel wise yet they won as they had Hugnger,raw f**cking hunger that does Davy well known cliche but cant be underestimated*fight like dogs and they had a direction and purope and abilty but Real intent all over the ptich.

Ul,eoin brislane is a fine coach,i think he is the main man and not lohan as again like two other ul games i saw  ,is the man up and down the sideline ,roaring instructinns.Lohan is the manager on paper,id love to be a fly on the wall ,know what hes role is .Either way ,the clare man and tipp man were outfoxed and outhought by Davy(a genuis ).

Davy of often gets unwarranted abuse thats .ges a dictator ,what a stupid myth,lads that say that wouldnt know a sliother from a tennis ball,if hit them in the nose,bounced back up and them hit them in the eyes again .

Hes the man commander but he surrounds hes teams with lietantants better than most managers at intercouy teams.
    He was in the middle of the ptich today,eyes glazed,across the ptich,fixated on hes team,every breath he took,hes mind constantly watching every play,like a computer running various programs at the same time.
    Two weeks ago even before lit were set to get to a q final davy was at ul ist group game v ucd,i posted here he was at it.He had belief ,lit would get that far,but knew ul were the main danger,he always sees the bigger picture and had hes homework well and truly done.Have no doubt he has hes homework done on wit ,and is planning how to beat them no.He wont wait.

Whats makes davy stand out unlike some spoofers he can read a game,adapt to its everchanging flow.

He had jimmy browne ,clare u21 teams ,minor etc,ard scoil fame(a man huge input in Ard scoil success and sure to be gaelic grounds saturday harty cup final)
    Was up on one side of the ptich roaring at forwards .

Cyril farell bottom left corner doing the same with foswards ,keeping shape,encouraging and give a bolloking when approriate.Cyril is a gentleman,loves cork hurling,on the field ruthless and shrewd.
    Saoirse buffin and fraggie murphy stood by davy ,ready to do what he said to do.What a management set up.Fraggie is the pretender,the raw recruit,learning from the masters,what a set up to in ,2 intercounty all ireland winning men and browne an astute man with bags of expierence.

This is great for fragggie and for Cork,as he will improve under davy ,and hopefully can addd to Cork with coaching sars or maybee an intercounty minor team etc,and hes tranisiton like paudi kissane should be monitored by the County board.

You see coaches can go to all the seminars ,get all degrees in sport science but not worth the paper its written on ,if they dont get real expierence of the best.It is only he who wears the shoe knows exactly how it fits.This expierence fraggie is getting,money couldnt buy.

Davy had lit ,playing the clare system,two man full forward line,half forwards,dropping back to midfied and the he half back line having a sweeper.Lohan as a clare many very naive never countered it ,hit long ball after ball down to lit ,who it was meat and drink to them.as ul had all the star players ,but couldnt do anything as they got no ball for any long periods with a huge wind 2ndt half .went in 10 to 6 down at half time ,and in the 1st half it was the same.

Ul had the all star players,lit had the all star management team.

Lit from the 1st minute the ball was thrown in were intense hunted in a packs,like wolves,any ball they had was short crisp passing.

Jack sheehan had a good game,but in truth wasnt tested today as jamie shanahan who started instead of hickex droped to half forward.The odd time he stayed at 14.He picked up a lot of loose ball,had good cleasances ,but clare wanted him to do that.Half back line of flaherty,dempsey of limerick,and boyce ,clare hurled ball after ball.O connell played super at midfield,just beyond half back,with kelly dropping deep and picking of long range points ,at ease ,and walsh got two of kikenny ,but was allowed space  as he couldnt get through that half back line ,congested middle third.Again not afraid to hit hard,and had to be warned by the referee once,wasnt poor,everything he done he was composed and assured,id like to see more of him,but what i have seen so far i rate him better than ellis and white,playing out of poistion,he looks at home at this level.
    Was replaced but that was due to ,carmody pushing up and with the two ryans run at lit .gand trying to get ball beyond that half back fortress of lit ,when they needed to get ball in to forde and glynn who had more than the beating of lit unit

Podge collins knows now why clare win matches as today at 11 he was victim of that style,had no space or ball,as seanie o brien man of the match,in a sweeper bulger role,from half forward.ryan of limerck and ryan of clare were surerb bv again any ball down to heffaranen or glynn who had a crucial  miss at a time down by 5 one one win murphy the limerick keeper he kicked wide,twas easier put in it.Murphy was injured for 5 mintues in the challenge much to every fans relief he rose again and was fine.
    Seanda morey and carmody two intercounty lads came on ,but morey did make an improvement,in the congested middle third,but too little too late.carmody came on for sheeahan and pushed up further,too late again as lit had a lead that they could allow ul get points,just dont let them get goals and they swamped the full back line,no way through.

Forde got a super goal out by the right corner ,start second half ,a blistering bullet, then a super sideline ball to level i .ghad o gorman in in real trouble ,but didnt get enough ball,as o connell dropped deeped as a buffer and intercepted ball afer ball,if o brien hadnt done it before him ,and fed kelly who was like a sniper ready to kill ul of at any chance.He fed shanahan when the need arose and they fed ivors for a splendid pile driver to bury ul.

Kelly moments earlier ran in from deep took a pass by the sideline and lobbed a glorious deft lob,hasset hadnt a chance.Kelly had a poor game sunday,like all great players wont have two in a row .Awesome,a beautfiul ,such a sweet goal it was covered in poise and elgancey ,like Jiselle strutting herself on the stage ,every man in awe.Today it was kelly stage ,four wonderful poins and a wonderful goal from play and So Much More,every man,woman and child,that were blessed to be here  in the crowd of around 600 or so,had the grace to watch hurler of the year by 2,and all for just cost of 1 euro magnificent.Thank you lord for giving us hurlers of kelly artistry and sheer intelligence and skill.Amen.

O BRIENwas stupid,to slap the hurley in to the ul lad stomach ,as lit had the game well and truly won at that stage ,and now is out for a month for lit and limerick,and a huge huge blow to lit,if they play ucc in the final.Complete madness ,lit fans even said it.Theres controlled aggression ,and then theres that .Kirwan the Cork referee had no choice but to send him off.

Dan morrisey ul cb destroyed begley hes fellow county man,and ryan of clare was good,problem was that half back line stood still in that it never moved deep with their memd and lit played short tappy hurleyand played around them rather than through them,davy way in a nutshell.

Browne and flanagen played well but when lit played the short game ,and had overlaps it created two brillant goals by ivers and kelly.

Uls indivaulds didnt play as well as they could or simply allowed to play ,and had a lot of wides but lit with less talent won with a better system of play that suffocated the life out of ul ,and it was system shut down for them .

Lit should beat wit ,o brien a huge loss and ucc who i expect to beat cit would have more talent and a bench than lit but it will be won and lost on the sideline if they meet.Study old clare games as that exactly lit way to play.Unlike Clare they  dont have the players for a plan A and B.Today the sweeper system is there only system.

Lit i feel would have a system to beat wit.
    If they get to final,it will play right in to davy hands if its ucc,as noboddy gives them a hope.A ul member to day said they might as well hand ucc the cup,as they will walk it now and lit if they make it wont have a chance.Lit were 6 to 1 to win and a 9 poing handpicap.I thought ul would win but said it would be very close.

If you play 15 v 15 or all hurlers and lads that arent up or willing to fight or have intensity against lit youre in big big trouble.Also like Clare,and Donegal you cant let them start well,and chase a lead,as there system is set up to blitz you with the 1st 20 minutes ,then defend in numbers and counter at pace.If a team gets a lead,the whole dynamcis change ,as you can play there game,protect the lead,force them to come out and play an orthdox game they just dont have the forwards or players to play.
    Brian o reilly ,cork shanballymore is on the paneal and a fine club player but thats it.Hes on the lit panel,like others show they dont have a panel of real depth.

You must have a system as lit swarm like bees around honey the middle third,and Kelly is the main man to link that defence system in to attack as he has the skill ,intellgence to create,but the artillery to score.Lit are very like clare,easier to beat the right play,system as unlike Clare Lit just have kelly,they have very good players but none like collins,ryan,o donnell,galvin ,bulger,donellan etc and that
    .You must double mark Kelly.Put your best man marker on him but another lad in midfield and hes only role is if kelly breaks hes marker,you there to stop him.Yes you leave space for other lit lads but there not proflic scorers from distance kelly is.

Full back line of o gorman,minehan,nolan are exposable one on one.

I named the ucc team on the cork thread picked to beat ul should they win,i would stick with that team,but would start cormac murphy at 9,but get him to play a sweeper at half back ,and he has played there.

O shea needs to play deep just ahead of half back with harnedy and lehane rotating and going to midfield to get the ball and either run at the clare defence ,create the off load,or keep the full forward line of o donnell and cadogan as far up as they can be to the lit goal,and fast long deliveries as there is goals there ,but you can only get goals if you have possesion.
    O donneall ,davys most potent weapon could be hes biggest enemy.

To beat Lit ,you wont out hurl them ,ul tried that today ,you must breat down that system ,and it takes not tappy fast wrist hurlers,it takes resilent,strong,brave,and warriors that will win the hard ball .Ucc do that and they would win if ucc and wit  as they have forwards that can score and should be fresher in that they can play a lot of guys that should have enough to beat cit,but keep there big men fresh for the final.Lit dont have that luxury,as they dont have big panel ,and play at such an intensitys it is very hard to replicate that within a 24 hour turnaround.

I said today would be close ,thought ul would win,but the sideline froze.

Enright,cody,casey have to be sharper.Was gutted had to miss cit game,but wanted to check out the enemy in wait .glad i went here,as it was a great game.

Another College game tommorrow,ul v ucc qater final fresher A 1.30 ul north campus, it should be a classic and Ul be up to atone for today with the younger stars.If i make it up from cork may go.two corkmen with that ul team tommorrow as far as im aware.

I wasnt the only cork man that would have liked to be in cit game,i see john cronin of lisgold and cit,who played for cit today, father at ul game,putting up the scoreboard.Real hurling men.

Great day for hurling.Arent we blessed as people to have Hurling such a wonderful,truly wonderful game.
    i posted a picture of both panels in the fitzgibbon cup hread,with updates i posted throughout the game.

Sent sorry bt delay just back cork a bit

Others dont have a problem,dont read them then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Buyingcar2012

I find your match reports painful to read. It is not too difficult to write in proper English with proper punctuation. The comments are like a collection of one liners you would hear from an oul fella at a match.

You obviously passionate and knowledgable about hurling so it's a shame that readers have to plough through your posts.

Lad water of a ducks back,those comments personal ,are a reflection of you more than me.

If the geuine gaa fans dont have a problem, you may need to look up what that means,Geuine GAA fans, you think i lie awake worrying about people like you,i can see your not a gaa fan by your posts ,or non posts,pretty petty to pick on a poster ,when you cant add any of signifance to the gaa thread.Any time you want to talk gaa,work away ,but sure you would be exposed in that ,as if you did have gaa knowlege you would post it .
    Work with your insults ,do ,i will do my best to impress you with my posts.Your opinion means the world to me.God ill stop posting..You have spoken.

Today by the way was Hurling ,just in case you dont know.
    And im not old ,and you shouldnt presume to assume that when you don't know that,and your being rude to the "old folk"at gaa matches,there life and blood of the GAA ,people like you would do well to remember that.They forget more about gaa in a nights sleep ,than people like you would know in a lifetime.Anyway work away,i won't waste my time with you,i have only an interest in GAA,thats why i post here and soley in the Gaa forum.
    Thank you.

Lad water of a ducks back,those comments personal ,are a reflection of you more than me.

If the geuine gaa fans dont have a problem, you may need to look up what that means,Geuine GAA fans, you think i lie awake worrying about people like you,i can see your not a gaa fan by your posts ,or non posts,pretty petty to pick on a poster ,when you cant add any of signifance to the gaa thread.Any time you want to talk gaa,work away ,but sure you would be exposed in that ,as if you did have gaa knowlege you would post it .
    Work with your insults ,do ,i will do my best to impress you with my posts.Your opinion means the world to me.God ill stop posting..You have spoken.

Today by the way was Hurling ,just in case you dont know.
    And im not old ,and you shouldnt presume to assume that when you don't know that,and your being rude to the "old folk"at gaa matches,there life and blood of the GAA ,people like you would do well to remember that.They forget more about gaa in a nights sleep ,than people like you would know in a lifetime.Anyway work away,i won't waste my time with you,i have only an interest in GAA,thats why i post here and soley in the Gaa forum.
    Thank you.

Can you comprehend what I said at all? Did anybody ask you to stop posting? No. Did anyone complain about the content of your posts? No. Did anybody complain about the legibility of you posts? Yes, and more than one

Shoddy i wasnt talking to you ,and have no interest in it,wouldnt even give you that respect,with your conmment re a poster ,re me,and god your the same fella that said waterford would benefit from being relegated .Thats tells me all i need.Two comments,one from you and one from a non gaa poster,hardly the people have spoken.I aint going to deface the thread by engaging with you.Have the last word by all i means.

I have gaa to concern me .

Shoddy i wasnt talking to you ,and have no interest in it,wouldnt even give you that respect,with your conmment re a poster ,re me,and god your the same fella that said waterford would benefit from being relegated .Thats tells me all i need.Two comments,one from you and one from a non gaa poster,hardly the people have spoken.I aint going to deface the thread by engaging with you.Have the last word by all i means.

I have gaa to concern me .

Again read what I said. I didnt say they would benefit, I said it would do no harm in the grand scheme of things. Clare and Dublin have spent time down there and they went on to win silverware. And fyi I was at the game today too UL v LIT. Tony Kelly lucky he wasnt sent off for striking offence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I find your match reports painful to read. It is not too difficult to write in proper English with proper punctuation. The comments are like a collection of one liners you would hear from an oul fella at a match.

You obviously passionate and knowledgable about hurling so it's a shame that readers have to plough through your posts.

The man takes the time to go to a match and write up a report and people like yourselves just complain that it's too hard to read!I find Thinkstoomuch's posts to be a pleasure and no trouble to read.Have ye not got the time or the decency to just read his posts instead of trying to rush through them?If ye have a problem then don't read them and don't be trying to put him off posting with this carry on.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Im sure you were at the match,great updates.You have been exposed by what you said,it would do them no harm to be down there.

Derek mcgrath didnt share your views in hes interview or real waterford fans.

Tony kelly did no such thing.

Clear as day you attacked me rather than my post earlier as you couldnt compete with my kowlege of gaa and when i expose you you backtrack.

You said it would do them no harm in div 2.same thing.Anyway i made my point,no interest wasting time.
    Thank you.

The man takes the time to go to a match and write up a report and people like yourselves just complain that it's too hard to read!I find Thinkstoomuch's posts to be a pleasure and no trouble to read.Have ye not got the time or the decency to just read his posts instead of trying to rush through them?If ye have a problem then don't read them and don't be trying to put him off posting with this carry on.

Thank you ,its a pleasure to give information to geuine gaa men .

Im sure you were at the match,great updates.You have been exposed by what you said,it would do them no harm to be down there.

Derek mcgrath didnt share your views in hes interview or real waterford fans.

Tony kelly did no such thing.

Clear as day you attacked me rather than my post earlier as you couldnt compete with my kowlege of gaa and when i expose you you backtrack.

You said it would do them no harm in div 2.same thing.Anyway i made my point,no interest wasting time.
    Thank you.

We all dont have to give updates. There are people out there who are paid to do it, theyre called journalists. What about the strike he gave to podge collins? Only got a yellow. The other midfielder was dismissed in 2nd half for a similar incident

Yes but people like to get them in the real time.Im you were at the match,you cant even name the guy than got sent of.

Seaine'brien no 8 patrickswell limerick.Can you read that.He did no such thing.Collins was fine.

You ignored the point about waterford .
    A lad that bluffs alwas get found out.
    Dont waste my time when you dont know what youre talking bout with respect my good man.

And a poster said he had no bother with my post.Hope you read that.
    You forget the' by the way in theyre you are such a perfectionst in literacy skills.

I never claimed to be one.Dont preach what you cant practice

Yes but people like to get them in the real time.Im you were at the match,you cant even name the guy than got sent of.

Seaine'brien no 8 patrickswell limerick.Can you read that.He did no such thing.Collins was fine.

You ignored the point about waterford .
    A lad that bluffs alwas get found out.

How many free dinners and pints were they giving for the loudest supporters so? I was at the match, your not a dictator on this form, everyone is entitled to their opinion.
    How did i ignore it, did you see my reply? As I said Dublin and Clare have went onto win silverware after being down there. And shur Limerick are munster champions, in division 2 still, doing them no harm.

Im no such thing.You tried to dicate to me earlier.

Dont preach what you dont practice.I think i have made my point.

Im no such thing.You tried to dicate to me earlier.

Dont preach what you dont practice.I think i have made my point.

Called your bluff there lad as youd say yourself :)

Ul v lit

I just dealt you the ace of spades ,and we know who the joker.I know the answer ,no intention telling you as that could be got by word of mouth by going to scholars pavillion stables etc.

I just plucked the photos out of mid air:|so time to moove on and talk gaa ,and not get in to a sideshow.

I just dealt you the ace of spades ,and we know who the joker.I know the answer ,no intention telling you as that could be got by word of mouth by going to scholars pavillion stables etc.

I just plucked the photos out of mid air:|so time to moove on and talk gaa ,and not get in to a sideshow.

You were at the game obviously. No one said you wernt. I said I called your bluff on you saying I wasnt at the game. Ask me anything about the game and Ill answer you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

You are berating a man who attended a match and wrote up a report for people that weren't there.You berate him for providing updates for the benefit of people who were not at the match.The poster that you are abusing takes the time to do all this and all you say is this is too hard for me to read, i can't be bothered to read this.Thinkstoomuch talk's GAA and doesn't partake in personal abuse while all you have to bring the table is complaints about posts being too long and silly one liners with stupid smiley faces.Your embarrassing yourself.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

You are berating a man who attended a match and wrote up a report for people that weren't there.You berate him for providing updates for the benefit of people who were not at the match.The poster that you are abusing takes the time to do all this and all you say is this is too hard for me to read, i can't be bothered to read this.Thinkstoomuch talk's GAA and doesn't partake in personal abuse while all you have to bring the table is complaints about posts being too long and silly one liners with stupid smiley faces.Your embarrassing yourself.

I was at the game for crying out loud. I didnt berate him for writing the report. I didnt berate him for providing updates. I didnt personally abuse him. I only raised an issue with his communication. It would only improve his posts in my opinion, which are generally good if you take the time to go through them

That one wasnt clear when i posted it earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

TTM1, thanks for your efforts in posting updates/reports on games. You are clearly a genuine GAA man and only a fool would even question that.

To put what Shoddy is saying in a bit more diplomatic a tone though, I do agree that your posts can be a bit hard to read and unnecessarily long. I've mentioned it before I think, but I only do so as I think you are one of the best GAA posters on the forum and if you maybe re-read or edited the posts a tad, they would be top class, that's all.

Anyway, as you may have heard CIT steamrolled NUIG today and John Cronin who you mentioned already was excellent with 4 pts from play. The battle of the Cork colleges in Belfast could be a cracker. Pity it won't be televised.

TTM1, thanks for your efforts in posting updates/reports on games. You are clearly a genuine GAA man and only a fool would even question that.

To put what Shoddy is saying in a bit more diplomatic a tone though, I do agree that your posts can be a bit hard to read and unnecessarily long. I've mentioned it before I think, but I only do so as I think you are one of the best GAA posters on the for
    um and if you maybe re-read or edited the posts a tad, they would be top class, that's all.

Anyway, as you may have heard CIT steamrolled NUIG today and John Cronin who you mentioned already was excellent with 4 pts from play. The battle of the Cork colleges in Belfast could be a cracker. Pity it won't be televised.

I will try with the spelling lad,i geuinely do try ,dont want to go int to why its hard ,thats my own buisness.

Fair enough lad i take your point.Yeah cronin is a top hurler and was a good u21 and will be intermediate this year.Speaking of intermediate,eammon brosnan meelin done he's cruciate.
    Thank you for the kind words. Length may be poblem with posts,but i will do my best to edit :|