Grown Men who can't drive. Do you find them weird?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

It's totally weird. And to all those shouting about how they don't need to drive, that doesn't mean you can't learn to drive.

I mean you could say the same about swimming, when do you ever need to swim?

But it's a great life skill to have. And as well as being practical driving is just great fun. I also think everybody should know how the pilot a motorbike.

Thinking about the people I know who can't (not don't) drive, I'm afraid the majority are not exactly winning at life. Perhaps a coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Hitchens wrote: »
    ...and if you were in a hurry you could go by boat.............at the moment like :D

Siri suggested that I buy a canoe when I asked my iPhone what the weather's like in Cork tomorrow!!

Fupping sarcastic iPhones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

HooohRaaah wrote: »
    Personally I find it odd if a grown man can't drive. Would anybody else share that opinion? There just seems to something really strange if a man is over 24 years of age and can't drive.

Might have been asked before but is it ok if a woman can't drive or is it just men that are weird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

SpaceTime wrote: »
    It's a metaphor : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metaphor

Replace hill, with explore the entire West Coast of Scotland or browse France.
    And the point I was making is that there's more than one way of doing that, doing the same thing by bike is just as possible and a hell of a lot of fun in a completely different way to doing it by car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Effects wrote: »
    Might have been asked before but is it ok if a woman can't drive or is it just men that are weird?

Nope, there's full gender equality on the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Personally I find it odd if a grown man can't drive. Would anybody else share that opinion? There just seems to something really strange if a man is over 24 years of age and can't drive.

You mean to say that you found Bertie odd? As far as I know he had a chauffeur for over 20 years. All he drove was the country ............ over the cliff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

MadYaker wrote: »
    People who say you never have a need for a car. What if on a Friday evening you decide you want to go to Kerry or west Galway or some other place for the weekend. What if you want to go hiking or surfing or all the other awesome stuff that requires you to go off the beaten track?
    Already answered below
    It's very rare that a bus/train and taxi combo can't bring you to where you need to go.

which was answered with this.
    shs08 wrote: »
    And it'd cost a fortune in both time and money.
    Owning a car for a full year can cost a lot more. There was a girl in my work who only drove to work and had massive insurance costs, we worked it out and it would have been cheaper to get a taxi in each day. You have to take in all costs, petrol, servicing, depreciation etc.

I do not like the insurance & tax situation of owning a car, which is usually all annual payments, i.e. you still pay a full years insurance tax to drive 3 times in that year. So people find they have to get good value from this and might end up driving more than they really need to. So the car owner might be more likely to decide he wants to go to kerry or galway at the weekend. For guy without the car it simply would not cross his mind as a good or feasible idea, if it was a very attractive looking option then they might decide to get a car in the future. Nothing odd or weird about it really.

I know a guy who wanted to start cycling to work, but had a car and was turned off by the idea of it not being used, "going to waste". Someone earlier was asking why people take short trips in cars, this could be why.

When you're walking in the rain for your bus do you wish you had your own car?
    I don't. I cycle to work, I have the use of a car too a lot of the time, but I use it maybe once or twice a year. Cycling within dublin in most cases is faster than driving, and less stress. I had the use of the car for 2 weeks one time and the weather was brutal, I was still never tempted to drive to work, I know when its raining it will turn into a 60min drive rather than a 25min cycle. I can't stand sitting in cars waiting.

Also I am getting exercise in, which I would otherwise take out of my spare time. So by not driving I end up with far more spare time, on 2 counts, the journey is faster, and I get too tasks done, exercise and travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Many are also located in the outskirts of Dublin, Cork etc and are basically 100% inaccessible other than by car, unless you want to leave your house at about 4am and trudge down the side of a motorway.

Or if you're an enthusiastic cyclist a longish commute to the outer suburbs might be the only way to cram training miles into a busy schedule.
    Besides, if you end up in a situation where your commute or work demands that you can drive then it's pretty easy to learn (and if you have a 'professional' job the costs shouldn't be prohibitive) and buy a car. It doesn't make you weird for not having a car or a driving license before these demands exist.

When I tell people I don't drive I think a lot of people hear me as saying;
    'I don't drive and never ever will because it's smelly and drivers are stupid and I won't become one no matter how that choice inconveniences me,' when really I'm saying 'I don't drive because at the moment it doesn't make logistic or financial sense to do so.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I'm 25, in the process of getting lessons, no intention of getting a car straight away though.

The cost of running a car is just too much between insurance, tax, petrol, NCT etc..

The fact that I have to pay upwards of €1500 to insure some piece of shyte for a hypothetical situation. It's unfair that all young drivers are all tarred with the same brush and have to pay extortionate figures for their first couple of years on the road. If you're careless and bump into other drivers fair enough you deserve it. Think there should be a more reasonable price to insure a small car to give drivers the incentive to learn, gain that bit of confidence and independence. Most people won't go and learn because of the expense of owning a car so they think "Ah sure what's the point?" Other people are far too busy with work/college and can't find the time. I know 27-30 year olds that are only finding the time to get on the road now.

Also more schools should incorporate driving lessons into the curriculum, like in transition year. Best time to do it, they are doing next to feck all anyway, may as well be doing something practical, they'll be grateful for it and save them the complaints about public transport schedules when/if they make it to 3rd level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Not owning a car. No I don't think it's weird.

Not having a license. Yes I do think that is weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Not owning a car. No I don't think it's weird.

Not having a license. Yes I do think that is weird.

So can I borrow your car and will you pay for me to be a named driver and will you pay for lessons so I can get a license that I might never use just so I'm not a weirdo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

So can I borrow your car and will you pay for me to be a named driver and will you pay for lessons so I can get a license that I might never use just so I'm not a weirdo?

No. Pay for it yourself. Not only do you not have a license and can't drive, you cyberbeg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

i find it strange that anyone over 25 doesnt drive, but i'm a culchie, ye dont drive ye dont go anywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You fly and hire a car!

Or, get on a ferry and do a mad Euro-Road Trip.

I've ended up on holidays in places that turned out to be very dull in reality when I got there and when you have access to a car at least you can explore really interesting places.

Like for example, I was in SE Spain recently and I saw absolutely stunning places that were way off the beaten track and that I'd never have seen by public transport or if I'd just stayed in some dull resort on the coast.

Likewise, I drove the old routes of the Roman roads in Tuscany and saw absolutely cool places, that I would definitely never have had the ability to explore without a car.

But you have to fly there first. That's the point. You didn't learn to fly, but still managed to get there. As you say, driving opened up a hell of a lot of options when you got there, but you still could have gotten about without driving.

Driving is beneficial, but not necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Depends what they're driving I suppose. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I can drive and have my provisional licence but dont really have time to prepare for the test. Im in college nearly 4 hours away from home so would need lessons and those cost about 40-50 each. Living in civilization and not ballybog means there is more than a bus every 2 hours to go where I want. Tax, insurance, petrol and parking arent worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Don't see it as a necessity. I have a licence but don't own a car. If you live in a city with an excellent public transport network there is no real pressing need to have a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

29, female, have a provisional but haven't started taking lessons. Couldn't afford it for a long time, and never absolutely needed it as I was living in Dublin city centre before I moved to London. A travel card and a bike will do you fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭happyviolet

Some grown men might not have the money for buying a car, insurance or petrol, some might find it hard to remember every single road rule in the theory and driving test, and then some men just are not that bothered to learn how to drive, especially if they live in a town where they are ok with using public transport.

I know men in their 30s, 40s, and 50s who don't drive and they are far from weird, they have good social lifes and life-long partners.
    Not all men have the money and patience to keep a car.

Also why are you singling out grown men? There are plenty of grown women who don't drive either, men can't always be the knight in shining armour when it comes to cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I'm 28, can't drive, never learned how to although i used to be able to drive a tractor when younger. It never causes an issue for me. I can get around to all the places i need via bicycle or public transport or taxi. I have multiple friends who cannot drive and are in their late twenties. I don't find myself or my friends weird.......well, maybe a little..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

Bambi wrote: »
    the fact that you consider driving cars as "modern" says far more than anything I can post

head = up your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Hopefully you will stay in Dublin, they're welcome to you.

Once you lot stay out of Dublin I'll stay out of the bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I know the original question is people who cant drive but I have a full licence and choose not to drive. Much prefer cycling or walking. Can well afford to run a car but would rather get public transport if travelling long distances. I suppose not having children helps with not needing a car:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭sureitsgrand

It essentially comes down to the person's lifestyle, income and location.

Being 28, low-waged and having no great desire to decide on a whim to go surfing/hiking/dogging I can make do quite easy without it. As my lifestyle and solvency changes that may change and I'm grand with that.

(Also people talk about missing out not being able to drive....In the cumulative time I've spent in buses/trains I've read hundreds of books, magazines, newspapers and in recent years watched shows/films. It can be very relaxing not having to stress about traffic, directions parking etc. and just take it easy!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Another bit of hassle that people over 25 get over not being on the road, is that relatives or people they meet in passing aged lets just say in their mid 40s.

They always feel the need to give anyone under 30 s**t over not driving.

I believe this is a fact, most drivers that are now over 40 (at least in my part of the country) didn't have the massive expense of tax, insurance, NCT, general maintenance costs because they never bothered getting tax or insurance and they could get away with driving a car that wasn't road worthy.

Wasn't as many guards on the road, more back roads you could take to avoid them if they were on the road, so they were able to get their driving experience fairly cheaply without any hassle, unlike young people now who would get crucified if caught in a car that wasn't road worthy or had no documents on the windshield. I know my own Dad and a few of my uncles didn't have insurance or tax on their cars when they were younger,my Dad was flying around in a Fiat 128 and not hassled whatsoever! Then he has the neck to pick at me "Why aren't you on the road yet??" F**k off Dad!

Older folks had it way easier when it comes to getting on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

It essentially comes down to the person's lifestyle, income and location.

Being 28, low-waged and having no great desire to decide on a whim to go surfing/hiking/dogging I can make do quite easy without it. As my lifestyle and solvency changes that may change and I'm grand with that.

(Also people talk about missing out not being able to drive....In the cumulative time I've spent in buses/trains I've read hundreds of books, magazines, newspapers and in recent years watched shows/films. It can be very relaxing not having to stress about traffic, directions parking etc. and just take it easy!)

This is another reason why I quite often enjoy public transport, as I get to listen to music and read. When I'm back in Ireland I'd travel between Galway and Dublin, and the bus services are about 2 hours 45 minutes for 20euro return. Even when the bus is packed, I don't mind it.

My travel horror stories have never made me regret not having a car. Where I currently live, I'm a 30 minute walk from the centre and often get caught in the rain.. I don't think "oh god, I wish I had a car right now". Instead I just lament the fact I didn't leave half an hour earlier when it wasn't raining.

If by some chance (very unlikely) I end up living in the countryside or outside a town/city in many years to come, then I will have to buy a car. At the moment I don't feel I'm missing out on this great convenience as other posters have called it. I walked to my city centre a few hours ago to Sainsburys and back, great exercise. My friend drives around the corner to the nearest supermarket.. it would be quicker doing the 4-5 minute walk sometimes with the traffic, but she's pure lazy.

I think that once you own a car it's hard to go back to the before times, and you can't possibly imagine that many people do perfectly fine without it. It's like people who own dishwashers can't imagine going back to washing delph.. in water.. with their hands. Give me a break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I'm 26 (three weeks off 27), I know how to drive, but never bothered doing the test as I had neither the desire or need to drive. I love to walk (back in college I cycled, but nowadays I just enjoy the walk) because I can listen to music, mull things over in my head (which is great, since I'm a writer) and pretty much just zone out and go on auto pilot. If it's a particularly shítty day, I'll hop on a bus/luas/dart or whatever, but I rarely need to - a bit of rain never did me any harm. When I am on a bus or a train, I can read or write, or just observe the other passengers (sometimes people watching is the most entertaining thing you can do).

I have never relied on anyone for a lift (if someone offers me a lift somewhere and they're headed that direction anyway, I might take them up on the offer, but even then, sometimes I just prefer to walk).

Not driving doesn't hinder me from seeing the world - I've travelled around the US and been to several European Cities on my own and not once did I think any of those trips would be more enjoyable if I had a car. I saw everything I wanted to see and stumbled upon things that would've been overlooked if I had been driving.

Walking everywhere keeps me fit and healthy, and I can stop in and have a few pints whenever I damn well please. I pity the people who can't enjoy spur of the moment drinks because they have to drive.

I save a shedload of money not paying for a) the car, but also b) the petrol, insurance, tax, repairs and all the other bollox.

I understand that down the Country or whatever you pretty much need your car to get around, but I don't live there so I don't need to drive.

And for bonus points, it really really really annoys my Dad that I don't drive and since he's an awful arsehole that gives me even greater satisfaction.

Is it weird that people don't know how to drive? Of course it fookin isn't, people got on grand before cars came around, and they'll get on grand again once the fad has passed.

Am I weird? Yes, but it has feck all to do with my driving (or in this case non-driving) habits, it's because I just enjoy being weird, on account of being weird, it means I'm not boring.

I say embrace the weirdness - if a couple of tosspots think you're weird for whatever reason (although the driving thing is a stupid reason by any standards) why should you care, they're tosspots...

It's not unusual these days for young adults to not bother with driving, after all it's now more and more expensive to start driving for one and the need is less than it used to be because of the widespread accessibility of social media.

It is also a trend that is occurring in many western countries where fewer people are taking up driving at all.
    http://news.nationalgeographic.co.uk/news/energy/2013/12/131217-four-theories-why-teens-drive-less-today/

Of course this depends on where you live and work, out here in the sticks no car means no job...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Am in my early 30s of your human years, I only started driving about 3 years ago, could probably do without it but like it. I never thought I would though, put it off for many, many years. Lucky I started though, the missus had an accident the week or so after I got my license. and I hate relying on others to help out so I was able to do the chauffeuring for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

Ah this is all to do with perception of how a certain demograph should function is society. Silly. Like the 'get on the property ladder' (eh, no thanks) rubbish.

Different story if they really want to drive but are too lazy or too crap to pass the test.

I couldn't do without my car though. Love driving.

Also, road trip holidays are great! :)