Price of drink in the pubs, no wonder we're drinking at home more.

I does make my blood boil when then come out with " Cheap alcohol is the problem" what cheap alcohol ? Were is this cheap alcohol their talking about if were the 2nd most expensive country to buy it in ... Then you have Consultants making stuff up jumping on bandwagons. Do these people do any research or just believe what the government/agenda report says ?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/consultant-blames-cheap-price-of-alcohol-for-neknomination-craze-29974910.html

Do people not realise that things like this neknomination happen regardless of pricing. Also, it makes more sense for it to happen when booze is expensive as people are trying to get hammered for as little as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I think the worst thing from a publicans view is that Irish society is now very much against them. You need only look at this thread to see the amount of people saying "**** the publicans, they are only out ot shaft us. " Even if they reduced the price of drink dramatically in the pubs now (which they won't ) there'd still be that feeling of resentment bubbling away. Plus pre drinking is heavily ingrained in Irish people now, particularly the younger cohort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think the worst thing from a publicans view is that Irish society is now very much against them. You need only look at this thread to see the amount of people saying "**** the publicans, they are only out ot shaft us. " Even if they reduced the price of drink dramatically in the pubs now (which they won't ) there'd still be that feeling of resentment bubbling away.

Why would there be, if they weren't (a) trying to rip people off, and more importantly (b) trying to force others to increase their prices so as they wouldn't have to deal with fair commercial competition?
    Plus pre drinking is heavily ingrained in Irish people now, particularly the younger cohort.

It's ingrained because buying drink in a pub is so feckin' expensive.

O I know I totally agree that drink is ridiculous in pubs. In my local (student town) the cost of a pint is 5.90. 5 ****ing 90? and its probably the worst pint I've ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm sure as well the Minimum price is to make the pub prices not seem that much more expensive so they can put the price up again. I have an idea just like any business if you cant afford to trade don't. Don't lobby the government saying we cant compete.

But that's the vinters favorite line. Whatever shall they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The Vinters are gobsh!tes for taking advantage of it, but at the end of the day it's the government who are supposed to have the balls to run the country for the people and not bow to vested interests, so as unfair as this might sound, if minimum pricing etc does come in, even if it was "pushed through" by the Vinters, it's the government I'll be holding responsible.

Never thought I'd live to see the day when the Irish people have to rely on the EU to stick up for them against their own government :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/minister-raises-the-spectre-of-drinks-sponsorship-ban-29990927.html

from above article
    Writing in today's Irish Independent, Junior Health Minister Alex White said the legislation will mean the end of "dirt-cheap spirits and beer being sold at pocket-money prices".

Were are these people getting these figures from ? And who's pocket money not mine for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

those countries are not in the EU

The other poster was harping on about Ireland being the second most expensive place in Europe, not the EU.

Don't get me wrong, the prices every time I come back home are ridiculous, however having spent 1 month in Finland and seeing comments from friends in Norway there are worse out there.

I do think the whole publicans association is far too deeply embedded in the pockets/minds of Irish political society, and eventually they are going to need to get a massive slap down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Minimum pricing is a ****ing joke, the price of drink in this country is already a complete rob, it won't change our drinking culture one bit guess what drink in most other countries is cheaper and they don't have the drinking problems we have, The government and the publicans are using it to push through their own interests. **** the pubs they rob you blind, was in a pub watching the Ireland vs Scotland game cheeky bastards tried to give me a Guinness in a plastic cup, and charge me €5 for it. Frankly the publicans didn't move with the times people have less money than a few years back yet still no change in price, no deals in the majority of pubs frankly it's no surprise people go to the offie instead, far cheaper and often more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Drinking at home is for dipsos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Drinking at home is for dipsos.

No. Drinking round the back of the public jacks with the 3litre bottle of white lightening cider you bought from a few unsuspecting folk who thought they were donating towards that bus" you need to catch, to get home to Waterford". And smoking rollies with tobacco from others discarded fag ends in the gutter is for dipsos Stojkovic.

A well earned six pack after a hard week at work with the remote to yourself, a big bag of crisps or a chipper/pizza isn't in the same bloody league.

Drinking on your own.
    How sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Drinking on your own.
    How sad.

Trolly troll is trolling!

:cool:

Drinking on your own.
    How sad.

You could be in a pub with over 50 other people but still be "drinking on your own" :confused:

Not if you go where everybody knows your name.

Bollocks.

I could go into my local any night of the week where everyone knows my name. That doesn't mean I couldn't choose to head into the snug, all by myself and drink my self into oblivion (on my own).

Must troll harder.

Just because someone disagrees with you it doesnt mean they're a troll.

PS Whats a troll ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Couldnt stand the cheap skates that use to come into the busy pub where I worked, and moaned. Like moaning at a young bartender is going to do anything, complaining for the sake of it. Give him the aul "jaysus that much for a pint is it? ****in rip off, ****in robbery so it is, should be ashamed of yourself". "Sure I could pick up a bottle of tonic in the offo for a euro." As if the off-licsence and pub's prices are going to be the same. Go speak to a manager or not enter the pub at all, you know its going to be pricey no point in giving the bar tender abuse over 50cent for the sake of it because you're an 'aul fella' and you've 'years of drinkin' behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Couldnt stand the cheap skates that use to come into the busy pub where I worked, and moaned. Like moaning at a young bartender is going to do anything, complaining for the sake of it. Give him the aul "jaysus that much for a pint is it? ****in rip off, ****in robbery so it is, should be ashamed of yourself". "Sure I could pick up a bottle of tonic in the offo for a euro." As if the off-licsence and pub's prices are going to be the same. Go speak to a manager or not enter the pub at all, you know its going to be pricey no point in giving the bar tender abuse over 50cent for the sake of it because you're an 'aul fella' and you've 'years of drinkin' behind you.

The ironing is delicious..... :D

Supply and demand. Too many pubs competing for too little consumers (too little that are prepared to pay the prices being asked)

Very few publicans are adapting their business strategies to match the decline in people's disposable income.

Restaurants Offer various deals, 3 courses for €10, 4 for €12 etc.

Very few pubs I've been in have started to address the need to offer sweetners for example. How much does those little glass bottles of mineral cost? Why not offer them free with a spirit? Charging 3 and 4 euro for them isn't acceptable anymore.

Why not offer deals on pints? If a pint of paulaner (example) is five euro, why not offer 6 for twenty euro?

No, publicans think the good times are still here, with there €6 for large cokes, and 4 or 5 euro for a mixer.

Then whinge to the Govt when things aren't going their way.
    I've seen places doing buckets of bottles, 6 for 20 quid. Works out at €3.33 a bottle or about €1 per 100ml or €5.70 a pint. People still seem the go for it.

O'Reilly's next to Tara St. can sell pints for under €3.50 each, 10 minutes walk from places in Temple Bar where some places charge the same. Where I like a few pubs have started €3.50 pints of whatever they can get cheap and it's gotten me and my friends in their door while 2/3 years ago the same places were empty all week and had plenty of sitting space. Adapt and survive, it's pretty much that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Luap

Couching Dragon, hidden naggin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Drink at home till late then into the pub for a few so I don't end up spending a small fortune. Amost 5 euro for a pint of lager or 7/8 euro for vodka & mixer is just fcuking disgusting whatever way you cut it.

I don't give a toss about overheads, rent, staff wages. Not my problem. Recognize the times we're in & be reasonable with your prices or close because you still think its 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Pubs can complain all they want but the money isn't there for a lot of young lads to be able to afford to go out and put 50 euro behind the bar any given night.

Now for example, take students, a crowd either working part time or not at all and generally operating on a budget. You cant expect a lad surviving on 70 euro a week and getting him in the door of a pub if its going to cost him at least half of that on his night out?

Students/people in their early twenties aren't generally making a lot, be it due to college or generally working entry level jobs if at all. Yet they're one of the most likely groups to head out for obvious reasons, when you're young you tend to head out naturally. But they can't afford those prices when invariably living on a budget, it's not that they dont want to. Minimum pricing comes in and what you'll have is young people having no choice but to head out less and then the publicans will still complain that people aren't heading out while nightclubs/late bars lose out on admission as well! It clearly doesnt solve the problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

O'Reilly's at Tara St. do €3.60 pints and have been for a while. On the weekend they have 1 euro shots and 2 euro bottles of Kopparberg, can't beat it! Every single time I go there there's not a seat to be had, but you wait for one anyway because staying there means saving 3 quid on every drink you buy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

O'Reilly's at Tara St. do €3.60 pints and have been for a while. On the weekend they have 1 euro shots and 2 euro bottles of Kopparberg, can't beat it! Every single time I go there there's not a seat to be had, but you wait for one anyway because staying there means saving 3 quid on every drink you buy!

That's a bit more like it and it's clearly paying off for them, fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I paid nearly 15 feckin euro for a double Malibu last week.

Did you get the ride?

I was in a few weeks ago when I had time to kill of an afternoon and saw they had an after-party for a gig. €5 entry including a pint of Heineken I think it was. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

I was in a few weeks ago when I had time to kill of an afternoon and saw they had an after-party for a gig. €5 entry including a pint of Heineken I think it was. Ridiculous.

What's bad about that? :confused:

Nothing, it was a compliment compared to the other ****ers in Dublin.