Blowing the Whistle on a drink driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

They must be bugging them no end.

FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

FYP.

I didn't authorise that. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Shur you could ask that about any person who posts anything. Not sure why you're randomly zoning in on this and deciding stuff you've little to no reason for deciding. With an internet post there's nothing wrong with taking things at face value.
    You might be right, but you've no real reason for such suspicion.

Some people do drink and drive, but getting pissed and driving is another matter.

I'm not getting into a Bunfight about this.

However, I haven't 'decided' anything, I'm speculating, there's a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

read the news lately? cops cannot get you off anymore... ombudsman is down on them like a ton of bricks these days

well she hasn't been stopped lately, probably because the local gardaí know who she is too! :mad:

hoodwinked wrote: »
    well she hasn't been stopped lately, probably because the local gardaí know who she is too! :mad:

Maybe she's secretly a massive heroin dealer and the whole "granny" thing is just her cover? Next time she's heading out, run out from behind some bushes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

raise it with your local politician then... if what you say is true then they will be hit

mail a copy of all correspondence with that politician to the garda ombudsman to cover your ass and prevent the politician for covering it up

inform that politician that a copy has been sent to the garda ombudsman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Appleguy wrote: »
    Right i work in a pub. I've worked in pubs for a long time. I understand discretion. I understand and have in the past turned the blind eye to whatever. We all know people sometimes behave out of character when they have a few drinks on board. Maybe there's something on their mind and they're having a particularly bad day. Most people are alright.

In saying this, i cant stand drink driving. And working in pubs you always know the few who would chance their arm. And the other few who have a skinful and think nothing of driving home.

I've never reported anybody, in a working capacity for drink driving.

However, every day this same oul codger comes in has 3 or 4 pints of Guinness and a few Jamesons with water. Gets in his car and drives about 4km home.
    He can barely see even sober so i personally don't think he should be driving at all, let alone with drink on board.

Some Facts:
    • He has been arrested before for drink driving but was not charged due to a technicality.
    • He drives past a school on the way home and usually around lunch hour when the kids are coming out.
    • He's the most obnoxious ****er you'll ever meet.

So what do ya do?

Do i turn a blind eye, even though its going on every day?
    Do i report him even though its not my responsibility.

What would you do?

Its s bit of a moral dilemma for you and I feel for you really I do.its a difficult one..your job is to sell this man mind altering drugs and then he goes out and takes charge of a couple of ton of potential lethal machinery..bad combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Report him.

If he hits a few kids one day how are you going to feel.

Maybe she's secretly a massive heroin dealer and the whole "granny" thing is just her cover? Next time she's heading out, run out from behind some bushes...

well she's not a granny to be fair! :D

we are prematurely aging her now....
    raise it with your local politician then... if what you say is true then they will be hit

mail a copy of all correspondence with that politician to the garda ombudsman to cover your ass and prevent the politician for covering it up

but that raises the op's dilemma, do *i* report her? they'll probably know it was me as i seem to be the only one who thinks this kind of dangerous driving is wrong!

but my point is its not that easy for the op, likewise he'll probably figure out it was the op and even if he reports it what are the chances anything will be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭bbbaldy

I think you have got to report him. Guards will probably do sweet F/A but if someone gets hurt or killed you will be very sorry you did not try to do something.
    I believe this man has the right to drink himself to an early grave if he wants but when he endangers others and you know this to be happening I feel you have a responsibility to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

could you not just start wearing the face off him in an effort to distract him from driving home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Appleguy

He never felt the need to report anybody before.

He obviously does not like this particular customer.

Maybe the OP has an axe to grind with this bloke for a different reason.

I've read all the posts and thought I'd clear one or two things up.

Firstly in relation to the above post.

I never felt the need to report anybody before because nobody else does what this moran does especially during the day. And a lot of the time if somebody is drink driving the barman wouldn't really know unless they're blatantly throwing their keys on the counter and picking them up leaving. And even then how can you be sure they even have the car with them? Follow them out to the car to make sure they don't get into it. Don't be ridiculous. A barman can't be responsible for someone else actions.

I have no axe to grind with him. I don't like him because he's putting people in danger with his behaviour. But it doesn't help that he's an arsehole. A lot of the time they go hand in hand.

The manager in this particular case is happy enough to ignore the situation as he would find himself down €100-€200 a week should this customer not return. Which is a certainty if his driving privileges were taken away.

Oh and I didn't just grow a conscience about this over night. I've thought about it on a number of occasions. At times If it was quiet I've often stood outside the door on the off chance the Gards might pass and I could have a word informing them he's due to leave within 20 minutes and what he's up to. However they have never passed. Your going down a different road going to stations reporting someone or going out of your way to do it on the phone. And I'm not a grass although the poll above is unanimous that he should be reported.

One final point regarding this particular case is that when he was arrested for drink driving before. From what I've heard. He was essentially let off. Even though his breathalyser sample was positive at the roadside rumour has it he was allowed a number of hours before he was retested on the official machine which put him under the limit which doesn't give me much faith that it would be any different on the second occasion.

Should I really stick my neck out to see the same thing happen again? A slap on the wrist when the guards see him as being too old to be convicted which is what happened before. Also suppose my boss found out it was me who reported him and he's down in his takings. He's not going to be happy with me over that and my job could be in jeopardy.

There's a lot to it if your in the situation rather than just commenting on it on After hours!

Firstly in relation to the above post.

I never felt the need to report anybody before because nobody else does what this moran does especially during the day. And a lot of the time if somebody is drink driving the barman wouldn't really know unless they're blatantly throwing their keys on the counter and picking them up leaving. And even then how can you be sure they even have the car with them? Follow them out to the car to make sure they don't get into it. Don't be ridiculous. A barman can't be responsible for someone else actions.

I have no axe to grind with him. I don't like him because he's putting people in danger with his behaviour. But it doesn't help that he's an arsehole. A lot of the time they go hand in hand.

The manager in this particular case is happy enough to ignore the situation as he would find himself down €100-€200 a week should this customer not return. Which is a certainty if his driving privileges were taken away.

Oh and I didn't just grow a conscience about this over night. I've thought about it on a number of occasions. At times If it was quiet I've often stood outside the door on the off chance the Gards might pass and I could have a word informing them he's due to leave within 20 minutes and what he's up to. However they have never passed. Your going down a different road going to stations reporting someone or going out of your way to do it on the phone. And I'm not a grass although the poll above is unanimous that he should be reported.

One final point regarding this particular case is that when he was arrested for drink driving before. From what I've heard. He was essentially let off. Even though his breathalyser sample was positive at the roadside rumour has it he was allowed a number of hours before he was retested on the official machine which put him under the limit which doesn't give me much faith that it would be any different on the second occasion.

Should I really stick my neck out to see the same thing happen again? A slap on the wrist when the guards see him as being too old to be convicted which is what happened before. Also suppose my boss found out it was me who reported him and he's down in his takings. He's not going to be happy with me over that and my job could be in jeopardy.

There's a lot to it if your in the situation rather than just commenting on it on After hours!

report him OP. you may just end up saving a life... feel good about it too. you will take one irresponsible twat off the road making it a bit safer for everyone else... to quote the nerd trek "the needs of the many outweight the needs of the one"

Blah blah.

So you're ruling out the one good idea I've had all day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Only in AH and Ireland would a bar man be to blame for someone being an alcoholic drink driver. Cop on people whatever happened to personal responsibility, yeh let's blame everyone else cos the bums not to blame eh.

To the OP I don't know what I would do either in your predicament. Just do what you think is the right thing and stand by your decision. Maybe look into what you should do in the eyes law and stay just the right side of it.

Only in Ireland? In the US bar-men have been sued by relatives of drunk drivers who killed people.

So you're ruling out the one good idea I've had all day?

No I can see what the general consensus is just haven't decided completely yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No I can see what the general consensus is just haven't decided completely yet.

Take a hit from the Jetta, win-win!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭anamara86

Right i work in a pub. I've worked in pubs for a long time. I understand discretion. I understand and have in the past turned the blind eye to whatever. We all know people sometimes behave out of character when they have a few drinks on board. Maybe there's something on their mind and they're having a particularly bad day. Most people are alright.

In saying this, i cant stand drink driving. And working in pubs you always know the few who would chance their arm. And the other few who have a skinful and think nothing of driving home.

I've never reported anybody, in a working capacity for drink driving.

However, every day this same oul codger comes in has 3 or 4 pints of Guinness and a few Jamesons with water. Gets in his car and drives about 4km home.
    He can barely see even sober so i personally don't think he should be driving at all, let alone with drink on board.

Some Facts:
    • He has been arrested before for drink driving but was not charged due to a technicality.
    • He drives past a school on the way home and usually around lunch hour when the kids are coming out.
    • He's the most obnoxious ****er you'll ever meet.

So what do ya do?

Do i turn a blind eye, even though its going on every day?
    Do i report him even though its not my responsibility.

What would you do?

I know a guy who does the exact same thing - you wouldn't happen to be in the Kildare area at all? Btw, if it is the same person, I've called the guards on him too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Death is something we all have to face. A sudden death is traumatic for everyone. A sudden death caused by a gob****e who did not know when enough is enough is a totally different matter.

well she's not a granny to be fair! :D

we are prematurely aging her now....

but that raises the op's dilemma, do *i* report her? they'll probably know it was me as i seem to be the only one who thinks this kind of dangerous driving is wrong!

but my point is its not that easy for the op, likewise he'll probably figure out it was the op and even if he reports it what are the chances anything will be done?

1 800 666 111 <--- garda confidential line

no details of you will be required. be a man & save lives from irresponsible drunk drivers

a taxi costs a hell of a lot less than a life

anamara86 wrote: »
    I know a guy who does the exact same thing - you wouldn't happen to be in the Kildare area at all? Btw, if it is the same person, I've called the guards on him too!

and can i ask what happened him or do you know?

no details of you will be required. be a man & save lives from irresponsible drunk drivers

a taxi costs a hell of a lot less than a life

i don't mind if the gardaí know its me reporting it, but if my family find out (and they'd know it was me) my whole family would murder me! they tend to turn a blind eye to these things....and hate those who don't.

like the op said, what if his boss finds out he is the one who lost them their best customer? in most of these cases, you get all the ****e for doing the right thing while the one breaking the law gets away scot free...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭anamara86

and can i ask what happened him or do you know?

Nothing came of it, guards said they have to catch them in the act. Gave them his reg plate & address. I despise drink drivers with an absolute passion.

I strongly feel the "Bouncing off the bonnet" scenario is being unfairly ignored here. It is, in fairness, almost the perfect solution. OP, if you won't do it yourself, at least stop being selfish and pm his reg and the pubs address. I have some padded underwear and am willing to travel. I sense a career opportunity here. I can be like a version of batman, only with crutches, and a new-found history of claims. "Doing good, one claim at a time". The scourge of drunk drivers everywhere. Might start getting "explainey" after the first couple though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

jane82 wrote: »
    So your killing this hopeless alcoholic with the drink your serving him and all your wprried about is secretly reporting him for drink driving. I take it when he is walking to the pub you will happily keep helping him drink his life away and telling him its terrible they took his licence and taking his money.

Id be starting a thread saying how do I help a hopeless blind alco.
    its the guy job to serve him if that idiot wants to drink let him hopeless alcholic my arse if he didt want to drink he stop ,better to kill the alcholic than an innocent bystander report him or if you cant because of your job tell someone else to do it ,this person is breaking the law by drink driving he deserves to be put in jail make our roads safer if idiots didt drink and drive

let me reiterate

no details of you will be required. nor will anyone know it was you that reported it hence the name confidential line. stop making excuses & be a man & save lives from irresponsible drunk drivers

it could be your family member he kills.

I strongly feel the "Bouncing off the bonnet" scenario is being unfairly ignored here. It is, in fairness, almost the perfect solution. OP, if you won't do it yourself, at least stop being selfish and pm his reg and the pubs address. I have some padded underwear and am willing to travel. I sense a career opportunity here. I can be like a version of batman, only with crutches, and a new-found history of claims. "Doing good, one claim at a time". The scourge of drunk drivers everywhere. Might start getting "explainey" after the first couple though..

He'd have driven over ya before he'd see ya and he'd probably just drive off home regardless then. Fair enough you might have solved my problem but your no good to us dead Stavros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I'm just gonna go ahead and call bull**** on the whole thing

And why does the question about reporting habitual drunk drivers even need to be asked?

The question is drink driver not drunk driver.

If someone was habitually driving "drunk" then yes i'd report.

If someone was habitually driving with 1 pint "drink driving" then no i wouldn't.

Do you go from dead sober to wasted? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

get someone to let down his tyres whenever he is in the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

biko wrote: »

biko nah mate lets party like we are drunk drivers