Should you be allowed to bring your own food to a film?

• 16-02-2014 08:44PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

I went the movies today. There is a sign saying 'please don't bring outside food and drinks in' but its rarely enforced. Anyway, we were all sitting there waiting for the film to start, lights weren't properly off, and one of the cinema attendants comes in, and starts walking up and down the aisle. He goes to these teenage girls who've got their own food with them, and asks them to hand it over. They say no. He asks again. They say no. So this time he tells them to leave the cinema. They're a bit pissed off by this, so he gets another attendant in to argue with them till they leave.

Seems a bit unfair to me no? Hardly a reason to chuck them out. What do you guys think? I mean even with the warning, its still unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

That's crazy! :eek:

I bring mine in my handbag :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

I have never bought food at the cinema.Why the fuk would you?!!Rip off prices.

Have never been pulled up on it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Sounds like the attendant on a bit of a power trip.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

their establishment, their rules.

food accounts for alot of their profit

either be sly about it, or accept it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭My Makeup Perspective

I actually emailed several cinema chains to ask them their rules, policies, and legal rights in relation to this and received some interesting replies!

Vue in Liffey Valley said that anyone can bring in any food from "the outside world", no problem. Which I thought was pretty cool.

UCI replied saying that outside food is not permitted however they would never ever search anyone, because they have no legal basis to.

No other cinemas replied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Bring the portable and vidjoe player to a nice restaurant, problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I wouldn't be happy with someone bringing in chips, burgers etc and sitting beside me but normal sweets and drinks are grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

With the price of admission to the cinema these days it would take more than two attendants to drag me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Onlt ever get food in the cinema when i have enough points on the loyalty card for it to be free :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I usually think there is a middle ground to be found, for example I would usually bring a bottle of water and a bit of chocolate in with me myself, but I would buy popcorn off them when purchasing the ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I used to chew fanny on the back row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Corvo wrote: »
    With the price of admission to the cinema these days it would take more than two attendants to drag me out.

Do you even lift brah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I used to chew fanny on the back row

Who was Fanny?, your cousin?

I actually emailed several cinema chains to ask them their rules, policies, and legal rights in relation to this and received some interesting replies!

Vue in Liffey Valley said that anyone can bring in any food from "the outside world", no problem. Which I thought was pretty cool.

UCI replied saying that outside food is not permitted however they would never ever search anyone, because they have no legal basis to.

No other cinemas replied.

IMC have signs up saying only food bought there can be consumed there and no shopping bags or backpacks allowed into the screens!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

wazky wrote: »
    Who was Fanny?, your cousin?

Sounds like someone needs to eat you on the back row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭cml387

jebus, you go to a cinema to see a film, not stuff your face.

Eat ony if it is a)completly odourless and b) completely silent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭My Makeup Perspective

IMC have signs up saying only food bought there can be consumed there and no shopping bags or backpacks allowed into the screens!!

I would simply LOVE to be challenged going in! They have no right whatsoever to stop you carrying bags in, nor to search you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Nowt wrong with a bag of sweets to nibble on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

cloud493 wrote: »
    I went the movies today. There is a sign saying 'please don't bring outside food and drinks in' but its rarely enforced. Anyway, we were all sitting there waiting for the film to start, lights weren't properly off, and one of the cinema attendants comes in, and starts walking up and down the aisle. He goes to these teenage girls who've got their own food with them, and asks them to hand it over. They say no. He asks again. They say no. So this time he tells them to leave the cinema. They're a bit pissed off by this, so he gets another attendant in to argue with them till they leave.

Seems a bit unfair to me no? Hardly a reason to chuck them out. What do you guys think? I mean even with the warning, its still unfair.

People bring their own food because of the rip off prices cinemas charge for food, so I don't care if people bring their own food.

And before anybody starts and says "would you bring your own drink to a pub", that is completely different. You go to the cinema to watch a film - not to eat food - so you pay for the ticket to watch the film, the food is an after thought in general, in that it is not the main reason you go to the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

A security guard in a cinema asked me to empty my pockets before thinking i was sneaking things into the cinema , Do they think they're Guards or something,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

As far as I know, cinemas make nearly all their profit from food, in fact, I've heard for some movies they even show them at a loss, as they'll make the money back on food/drinks. So for that fact, I personally wouldn't sneak food into a cinema, bar maybe some chocolate or something if I'm already buying popcorn/nachos in the cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭mosstin

cml387 wrote: »
    jebus, you go to a cinema to see a film, not stuff your face.

Eat ony if it is a)completly odourless and b) completely silent.

****, I've been doing it wrong all these years. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

If I were King there would be no food allowed in any cinema, noisy fecking munchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

Surely the cinemas could charge less for food and still make a profit. There's no need for such rip-off prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

MadsL wrote: »
    If I were King there would be no food allowed in any cinema, noisy fecking munchers.

how low is the volume in cinemas you go to? I can never hear people munching :confused:

I disagree with smelly foods being eaten but anything else is fair game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

As far as I know, cinemas make nearly all their profit from food, in fact, I've heard for some movies they even show them at a loss, as they'll make the money back on food/drinks. So for that fact, I personally wouldn't sneak food into a cinema, bar maybe some chocolate or something if I'm already buying popcorn/nachos in the cinema.

this is true , my ex used to manager one of the big cinema's in dublin and she was saying that without the food the cinema's would fold.

they don't make much money on the films alone given the cost they must buy them at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

marozz wrote: »
    Surely the cinemas could charge less for food and still make a profit. There's no need for such rip-off prices.
    They could probably charge less and still make a profit, but it might not be very profitable. A cinema only keeps little, if any of the money from showing a movie. Then you need to take into account the cost of the electricity to run the cinema, then the cost of hiring staff, rent, new equipment, taxes. And even then, you need to take into account the people who are never gonna buy food out of the cinema unless they can compete with the shops around it, which would be impossible to do and still remain profitable. A business as large as a cinema needs to make a huge profit, there's no point in a cinema staying open if they're only making a small profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Food or sweets?
    Sounds like they brought dinner in with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

A packet of sweets from what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18