Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

If Mooney had not printed that story last week my life and I suppose yours would have been none the poorer. I want to see an oversight body for the Gardai which can operate in a confidential manner. It is quite apparent now that nobody need have gone to the trouble of setting up a spying operation on GSOC when you may as well have had a Sunday Times journalist sitting in on their every meeting.

Equally I do not want members of the Gardai passing confidential information to the Sunday Times. Or any newspaper, but especially the Sunday Times which has Rupert Murdoch in charge. The messengers in the UK are now being lined up to be shot for their nefarious deeds, so I wouldn't grieve very much if the same happened here. But nobody in the media seems interested in the elephant in the room.

oh right! now i get it! its them brits and that Murdoch lad who done it!
    clearly we need to reign in these institutions. The irish permanent gov. is infallible.
    Evidently your quiet and peaceful life has been usurped by that pesky Mooney.

Perhaps these events have hit a weak spot? Maybe the appalling vista of arms of the state spying on individuals is too much to entertain?
    So its easier to shoot the messenger, isnt it?

This isnt about an elephant and a room anymore.

This is about our actual democracy or as it turns out our perceived democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

When asked how he knew about the black ops, his reply was I know what I know.
    that is a matter of public record....Pat Rabbitte TD raised the issue in the dail. Unfortunate for you i know but that's how democracies work.

http://www.labour.ie/press/2009/03/05/rabbitte-raises-boylan-drug-trafficking-case-in-da/

Also Boylan was in court for drug trafficking and the case inexplicably withdrawn...

http://drugsinfonewslineireland.wordpress.com/2008/10/14/corruption-the-kieran-boylan-file/

people like you just make the rest of us desire the truth even more. I actually enjoy you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

aloyisious wrote: »
    Re "whistleblowers", unfortunately they have history in Irish folklore, previously being called informers. I'm NOT at all saying they have the same character at all, just that in Irish-idiom they are sometimes seen as one and the same. I also find it "funny-peculiar" that those reporting on the official legal wrongdoing of others are called "whistle-blowers" contemptuously, when they are merely doing what the public and state want's and expect's them to do, being paid Police Officers acting in the public interest by (metaphorically) pulling out their issue-whistles and calling a halt to unlawful/illegal activities.

I wouldn't agree that the term "whistleblower" is used contemptuously. It's surely just an accepted neutral term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

who_ru wrote: »
    that is a matter of public record....Pat Rabbitte TD raised the issue in the dail. Unfortunate for you i know but that's how democracies work.

http://www.labour.ie/press/2009/03/05/rabbitte-raises-boylan-drug-trafficking-case-in-da/

Also Boylan was in court for drug trafficking and the case inexplicably withdrawn...

http://drugsinfonewslineireland.wordpress.com/2008/10/14/corruption-the-kieran-boylan-file/

people like you just make the rest of us desire the truth even more. I actually enjoy you.

That's nice. But do you still think I'm delusional?

BTW I know a lot about the Boylan case. But only from Mooney in the Sunday Times who keeps repeating the same story ad nauseam, every year. He thinks it is some type of Watergate equivalent, the DPP saw nothing in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

flynnlives wrote: »
    he is a journalist! his sources and means of recieving information are protected by law.

You seem to confuse a politicians role, serving the public with that of a journalists.

Mooney is under no obilgation to explain his sources.

You're confusing Ireland with the USA. Journalists have no legal protection here in Ireland or in Britain.

Journalists have been held in contempt and gone to prison protecting their sources.

The only backup they have is the NUJ and their colleagues and human rights organisations standing by them!

Journalists in NI have even had footage seized which leaves news organisations in a position where terrorist groups could see them as a target!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

SpaceTime wrote: »
    You're confusing Ireland with the USA. Journalists have no legal protection here in Ireland or in Britain.

Journalists have been held in contempt and gone to prison protecting their sources.

The only backup they have is the NUJ and their colleagues and human rights organisations standing by them!

Very rarely for protecting their sources. But mainly in the most recent episodes for phone tapping. And paying money to police officers and other public officials to corruptly give information. And they are mostly from the same stable as Mooney, although I see that Piers Morgan is now having his collar felt.

Gemma Doherty journalist with the Indepandent sacked...

http://transparency.ie/news_events/firing-gemma-o%E2%80%99doherty-may-serve-silence-investigative-journalists-ireland

If John Mooney worked for the indo he'd be gone by now.

oh and yes you are delusional, more than likely a member of the force too, that values loyalty over the truth. The cover up is on (Boylan), but it's been blown open now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Are you accusing Mooney of phone tapping and giving corrupt payments?

Way to try and divert attention from the actual issue at hand - the bugging of GSOC, and serious allegations of Gardai being complicit in the trafficking of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Way to try and divert attention from the actually issue at hand - the bugging of GSOC, and allegations of Gardai being complicit in the trafficking of drugs.

I think its suggesting guilt by association
    eg like saying your local guard finds whistle blowers/people who report crimes/wrong doing disgusting as this is what the commissioner said it and their from the same stable

though the bolded bit closer to the truth IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You just can't help but to side with authority can you? Doesn't matter a damn what evidence exists to point to the contrary, you will always find a way to twist things in order to show your own authoritarian tendencies. It's bizarre

What are your thoughts on Callinan calling whistleblowers 'disgusting' btw? Do you think that was an appropriate thing to say given his position? And do you think he should remain in place after showing such a disregard for transparency and public interest?

Essential viewing for all those wishing to know more about Kieran Boylan drug trafficker, his relationship with the guards, the investigation by GSOC into his activities, and the ongoing cover up being staged by the govt, Guards, sections of the media to prevent the truth from emerging.

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2012/1213/3452537-questions-over-garda-relationships-with-informants/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Essential viewing for all those wishing to know more about Kieran Boylan drug trafficker, his relationship with the guards, the investigation by GSOC into his activities, and the ongoing cover up being staged by the govt, Guards, sections of the media to prevent the truth from emerging.

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2012/1213/3452537-questions-over-garda-relationships-with-informants/

Yep, that gives a good background to the Kieran Boylan case. Relevant segment starts at the 9.30 mark.

Way to try and divert attention from the actual issue at hand - the bugging of GSOC, and serious allegations of Gardai being complicit in the trafficking of drugs.

I think the diversionary tactics are on the other side.

ST infiltrates GSOC and gets streams of information, without having to use any electronics. GSOC says we must be under surveillance so let's bring in GCHQ. ST then infiltrates GCHQ team and get their confidential report marked "Secret". A report which shows nothing concrete in the way of proof of surveillance.

ST publishes details of GCHQ report dressing it up as some type of Watergate scenario. This brings hordes of other journalists speculating wildly about everyone from the Minister down, about who knew what when.

Successful diversion by ST from the fact that the leaks were being engineered by themselves all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I want out of this country. Too many idiots at the reigns and too many of the uneducated following them.

I think the diversionary tactics are on the other side.

ST infiltrates GSOC and gets streams of information, without having to use any electronics. GSOC says we must be under surveillance so let's bring in GCHQ. ST then infiltrates GCHQ team and get their confidential report marked "Secret". A report which shows nothing concrete in the way of proof of surveillance.

ST publishes details of GCHQ report dressing it up as some type of Watergate scenario. This brings hordes of other journalists speculating wildly about everyone from the Minister down, about who knew what when.

Successful diversion by ST from the fact that the leaks were being engineered by themselves all along.

You are still missing the point: Who bugged GSOC, and why?

I think it is definitely in the public interest that this occurrence was released into the public domain, and fair play to the Sunday Times for running with it. I take it you would have preferred if we never knew GSOC had been under surveillance? That is the sort of attitude that prevents whistle-blowers from coming forward, you are an enabler of corruption and illegality.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I want out of this country. Too many idiots at the reigns and too many of the uneducated following them.
    that's what they want steddyeddy. we won't give up.

he is, has been and will continue to deliberately miss the point. his purpose here is to derail, deflect and avoid the risk to our civil liberties. FG member maybe?

I think it is definitely in the public interest that this occurrence was released into the public domain, and fair play to the Sunday Times for running with it. I take it you would have preferred if we never knew GSOC had been under surveillance? That is the sort of attitude that prevents whistle-blowers from coming forward, you are an enabler of corruption and illegality.

Who bugged GSOC, and why? Maybe nobody. If John Mooney is the ace journalist that he seems to think he is maybe he can tell us.

Othewise all a newspaper will have to do from now on is run a story that XYZ may have been bugged but we can't prove it because the technology is too complicated.

that's what they want steddyeddy. we won't give up.

We wont Who but most in this country have so much self hatred they think all they deserve is corruption, lies and self serving political junkies.

Who bugged GSOC, and why? Maybe nobody. If John Mooney is the ace journalist that he seems to think he is maybe he can tell us.

Othewise all a newspaper will have to do from now on is run a story that XYZ may have been bugged but we can't prove it because the technology is too complicated.

You genuinely don't want to know who bugged the office. You cant argue with self loathing attitudes.

We wont Who but most in this country have so much self hatred they think all they deserve is corruption, lies and self serving political junkies.
    We shall overcome.

You seem to be stuck in a time-warp. Things have moved on significantly since last Sunday. Even government TD's are now acknowledging that surveillance of GSOC took place.

Some quotes from today's Sunday Times:
    I believe the garda ombudsman was placed under surveillance. I have no doubt that it was because of the tentacles of the Boylan case and the failure of the gardai to co-operate with GSOC in their attempts to gather information on what happened.

"I have no doubt that this is what is at the heart of this. Everything I know would lead me to believe this.

"Considering that the action taken by GSOC took place in proximity to the time when the Boylan report was being finalised, then I would have grave concerns."
    "I fully accept that GSOC have formed a firm view that unknown parties attempted to breach their security.

"Having listened to the evidence of Simon O'Brien, I believe the suspicions were well grounded."

But yeah, you can continue to try and spin the line that surveillance did not occur if you want. Spinning that line will be a lonely place to be this time next week I would imagine.

I was nearly going to leave this thread because of all the personal abuse I am getting. Imagine being accused of being a Guard. But I might just drop in now and again to see if anyone has found the buggers.

I wouldn't accuse people of being a member of that organisation in this day and age.

Mods - i'm not sure if i'm allowed to request this but i'm going to anyway.

Please can everyone interested in the truth here, interested in civil liberties and accountability please place the following posters on their ignore list as their purpose here is entirely negative and to frustrate the discussion.

dxhound2005

Shady tady

i do this reluctantly but their contributions are farcical, and in my view ulterior.

who_ru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You seem to be stuck in a time-warp. Things have moved on significantly since last Sunday. Even government TD's are now acknowledging that surveillance of GSOC took.

Not according to RTE our fearless state broadcaster.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0216/504672-garda-ombudsman/

Nothing to see, move along now

Wake up people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

knowledge is power and where these's a will to spy but it's not legal or wise to do so you can outsorce it to someone else

here's the latest example of the spying going on globally today!!

www.nytimes.com/2014/02/16/us/eavesdropping-ensnared-american-law-firm.html?hp&_r=2&referrer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

please read the following articles from yesterdays Examiner written by the brilliant Mick Clifford.......then post your thoughts.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/michael-clifford/strange-tale-of-shatter-and-whistleblower-258830.html

Mick Clifford, say no more!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Off you go. No one is stopping you. "reigns"!