Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friend was mugged in Dublin City Centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Boombastic wrote: »
    I've had a knife held to my throat by a lovely lad on smack who was barely able to stand, let alone out run me

That's the difference you see.

A pizza thief would come equipped with a pizza cutter. Dangerous to a deep dish but not to his fellow man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

What do you mean by that?

You're just annoyed because the vast majority of posters disagree with your crazy liberal views. You've more sympathy for the junkies mugging people than the actual victims. It's societies fault of course.

I was actually just making a joke, which I thought was quite witty but only one person 'thanked' it so now I'm left wondering if it was less funny than I initially thought.

That's my only concern in this thread mate, whether or not my joke about a 'giant Mickey' is funny. If I cared about who agreed with me on my views about heroin addiction then I would ensure that I brought more people around to my way of thinking. I can do this because I write professionally, and persuading people into a new way of thinking is one of the goals of any feature article that I write.

In short, if I was passionate enough about this subject I'd spend the next two hours writing and researching it in a bid to make you see how wrong you are, but I don't care enough mate. All I care about is if my joke about Disneyland is funny or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

hfallada wrote: »
    OP most Dubliners know you never use your phone on the street. Wait until your are on a bus or indoors.

The robberies in Dublin are not from scumbags. But heroin addicts who are just feeding their addiction. We have had Governments who have ignored the massive heroin problem in Dublin since the 1980s. There is hardly any detox beds in Dublin and most heroin users are in and out of prison. There is no opportunity for them to have a normal life. I havent heard any public official acknowledge any social issues found in Dublin, which you have to be seriously blind not to see

There is the different between someone is scumbag and someone who is so addicted to heroin. That they will do literally anything for it

Nonsense. Junkies tend to make their income from shoplifting and burglary as many of them won't be physically able to snatch a phone and outrun anyone. The phone snatchers are a different breed. They snatch because it's easy to sell on a phone for quick cash. Also, many of the phones stolen in Dublin city centre eventually end up in Eastern Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Up your street IQ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Gyalist wrote: »
    Nonsense. Junkies tend to make their income from shoplifting and burglary as many of them won't be physically able to snatch a phone and outrun anyone. The phone snatchers are a different breed. They snatch because it's easy to sell on a phone for quick cash. Also, many of the phones stolen in Dublin city centre eventually end up in Eastern Europe.

When i was in Prague the first thing our Tour Guide told us was:

Don't go acting like a tourist.

Don't flaunt your phones, digital cameras, cash around the place.

That's decent logic in any city, even your home city.

Yes we'd all love to live in a world where you can leave your front door unlocked, windows open for air, where you can tap away on your swanky phone in public etc....but the smart thing to do is realise it's not that world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

You've hit the nail on the head there, I don't know how heroin addiction ended up in this thread. One lad attempted to boast how tough he was by stating he had a knife held to his neck by someone who couldn't stand up :confused:

There's a lot of very scary, poor, dangerous people around and a lot of idiotic, spoiled, innocent-headed people around. We should encourage people to keep their wits about them because petty crime will only grow. But it seems if you suggest otherwise, you're some kind of hippy flower-necklaced liberal.

I certainly wouldn't let my kids walk around Dublin/Cork/Belfast/Limerick city center while waving around an expensive phone. Maybe I'm a liberal, or maybe I'm just not a ****ing idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

You've hit the nail on the head there, I don't know how heroin addiction ended up in this thread. One lad attempted to boast how tough he was by stating he had a knife held to his neck by someone who couldn't stand up :confused:

There's a lot of very scary, poor, dangerous people around and a lot of idiotic, spoiled, innocent-headed people around. We should encourage people to keep their wits about them because petty crime will only grow. But it seems if you suggest otherwise, you're some kind of hippy flower-necklaced liberal.

I certainly wouldn't let my kids walk around Dublin/Cork/Belfast/Limerick city center whle waving around an expensive phone. Maybe I'm a liberal, or maybe I'm just not a ****ing idiot.

I'm a girl and tbh I couldn't given a flying fcuk if you believe me or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

An obese person has yet to rob me for a pizza
    Cheers that deserved more than a LOL.:D

Many's the word said in jest, but yeah most other addictions don't tend to lead regular people to aggravated robbery.

Hard drugs, heroin maybe in particular seems to rob people of moral (and any other) inhibitions and that then itself almost becomes the excuse in an ever descending circle. Hard for most to pity the person when the actions are often so disgusting and violent.
    I am speaking purely as someone looking in, so excuse me if I haven't a clue what I'm talking about, just as I see it.

I'm a girl and tbh I couldn't given a flying fcuk if you believe me or not

I believe you. It does happen, especially if you are a female on your own. A female employee of mine was once threatened with a syringe by a junkie who robbed the till. However, junkies tend to prefer easier targets. Most of the phone snatchers are not junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,658 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

My daughter had her bag stolen in Dublin last year.
    Quick thinking garda caught the culprit.

Court case recently was like groundhog day.
    "She's sorry,your honour,she had a tough childhood.She's got young children....she didn't mean to....she'd hate anyone to steal her bag.....she's on a methadone programme."
    Interestingly,she had previous convictions,this being her first for theft.

An hour listening to similar sob stories in the courtroom would do your head in.
    No sympathy from me for these criminals.
    And yes-they are scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I believe you. It does happen, especially if you are a female on your own. A female employee of mine was once threatened with a syringe by a junkie who robbed the till. However, junkies tend to prefer easier targets. Most of the phone snatchers are not junkies.
    but most of the phones are fairly easy targets, so there is a bit of crossover.
    I get what you are saying, so who do you think are the main culprits?

wil wrote: »
    but most of the phones are fairly easy targets, so there is a bit of crossover.
    I get what you are saying, so who do you think are the main culprits?

The ones around my way are mostly teenage boys who are no longer in the school system and seem to spend most of their days walking around the city centre stealing anything that they can - phones, bikes, breaking into cars, shoplifting, etc.

My daughter had her bag stolen in Dublin last year.
    Quick thinking garda caught the culprit.

Court case recently was like groundhog day.
    "She's sorry,your honour,she had a tough childhood.She's got young children....she didn't mean to....she'd hate anyone to steal her bag.....she's on a methadone programme."
    Interestingly,she had previous convictions,this being her first for theft.

An hour listening to similar sob stories in the courtroom would do your head in.
    No sympathy from me for these criminals.
    And yes-they are scumbags.

wait,....

you actually turned up in court for that? As in for this woman who robbed the bag? Even though you got the bag back?

Waste of time and energy, fair play to ya i suppose.

wait,....

you actually turned up in court for that? As in for this woman who robbed the bag? Even though you got the bag back?

I've tuned up at the District Court to give evidence for more times than I can remember. It's a frustrating but enlightening experience. There is an underclass in Dublin with zero respect for the law yet they know how to manipulate it to their advantage.

I've tuned up at the District Court to give evidence in for more times than I can remember. It's a frustrating but enlightening experience. There is an underclass in Dublin with zero respect for the law yet they know how to manipulate it to their advantage.

Ah i know it has to be done, but in practice (in this instance) i'd never let it get that far. Bag was returned, contents in tact and more to the point there's absolutely no hope whatsoever of a custodial sentence for that offence. So turning up to see someone get a ticking off is a bit of a waste of time in those circumstances. (even if it has to be done).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Procure what looks like flashy iPhone but is in reality just an empty case.

Adorn apparatus with colourful protective cover.

Stand around like a head-in-the-clouds bimbo with "phone" on full display.

Await for "phone" to be snatched and thief to abscond.

Reach into pocket for remote control activator and depress button.

Listen for loud bang and screams as perpetrator has several digits blown off from detonating "phone" that has heretofore been rigged with small explosive charge and remote trigger mechanism.

Go for pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

One day, some genius is gona invent a taser app that shocks the life out of theifs when the rob a phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Other factors in our environment contribute to the rates of cancer. I know people who have never smoked and got cancer.

Binge drinkers and obese people, yes the are stupid people making stupid choices and have reduced sympathy from me unless they have a medical reason or are after having a baby or something and are eating and exercising properly- and don't give me that crap that the problems are glandular

An obese person has yet to rob me for a pizza

It happens (sort of)! I once ordered a pizza and garlic pizza bread. Delivery driver was a tubby overweight guy. Handed me just the pizza. I asked him where the garlic pizza bread was and he just shrugged his shoulders with a big guilty look on his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Says I To Bridey

ozmo wrote: »
    Make sure you imei block it by reporting it stolen.
    Makes it more difficult to sell on if it not working - You can get the imei from the box it came in or from the pc it synced with.

California is this year pushing for new laws to force phone manufacturers to more permanently brick phones when stolen. They are resisting(it denies them a new sale i guess) We should do that in Europe also. If the phones are worthless when stolen it will cut down on theft of them.

That doesn't make sense. Surely it gives them an opportunity to sell more phones if stolen ones can't be sold second hand?

What is this absolute nonsense about not using your phone in the street?

Not even close to the truth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I know a bit about addictions as I was an alcoholic.

Society, culture, puberty all steered my young self to have my first beer. But heroin? Never. I had and still have at least one brain cell and some morals and standards.

Coming from an addict that is an absolutely disgusting attitude to have.

"Oh I'm better than them because I only got addicted to alcohol, where as they got addicted to heroin! hahaha, the silly fools!"

Unbelievable that an addict can be so closed minded about addiction really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Coming from an addict that is an absolutely disgusting attitude to have.

"Oh I'm better than them because I only got addicted to alcohol, where as they got addicted to heroin! hahaha, the silly fools!"

Unbelievable that an addict can be so closed minded about addiction really.

Just because a person understands addiction doesn't mean they have to sympathise with every addict and their actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Moomat wrote: »
    Just because a person understands addiction doesn't mean they have to sympathise with every addict and their actions.
    My point was stefan idiot jones clearly doesn't understand addiction.

I agree, there are plenty of pot holes in life that we may fall down or trip over. Drinking, eating, smoking etc.

But to dive head first from a high board into heroin. Fcuk 'em.

Again, fcuk 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

My point was stefan idiot jones clearly doesn't understand addiction.

He probably does as he admitted he was addicted to alcohol. There is nobody who starts using herion in Ireland since the 80's that doesn't realise the addictive effects. Maybe they chose to think that the odd smoke won't lead to banging up and being addicted but in reality they know.
    I understand how people can be addicted to huge number of vices or substances but I have absolutely no sympathy for them unless they are making serious efforts to beat the addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Wilfork

When people say nobody forced them, I think what they mean is that nobody forced them the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,658 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

wait,....

Why was it a waste of time and energy?
    I was curious as to what would happen.I wanted to see what this thing who traumatised my child looked like.
    We didn't have to go-the Garda said it was optional.
    Ah i know it has to be done, but in practice (in this instance) i'd never let it get that far. Bag was returned, contents in tact and more to the point there's absolutely no hope whatsoever of a custodial sentence for that offence. So turning up to see someone get a ticking off is a bit of a waste of time in those circumstances. (even if it has to be done).

The court procedure was an eye opener for my daughter.
    As for the scumbag thief?
    What goes around comes around -eventually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Bit of street smarts go a long way. You can't walk around any major city in the world waving a €600 phone around, Dublin is tame in comparison to most places.

Is it really that bad in Dublin City Centre? Sydney and Melbourne you see people with their smart phones all the time on the streets talking/tapping away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Hey guys, ok so a girl I know was walking in broad day light down Dublin City Centre on Wednesday with her brand new phone and it got snatched out of her hand by some scumbag who then bolted! She's pretty shaken up understandably :( I'm just glad she herself is ok!

She could have been badly assaulted or worse. She got off lightly and it's only a phone.