Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friend was mugged in Dublin City Centre

• 16-02-2014 1:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, ok so a girl I know was walking in broad day light down Dublin City Centre on Wednesday with her brand new phone and it got snatched out of her hand by some scumbag who then bolted! She's pretty shaken up understandably :( I'm just glad she herself is ok! I've been redwing other threads on this and it seems to be rampant and in Dublin in particular(although obviously a mugging can occur anywhere) she said Dublin is a big place and she took it for granted :/ I really think there needs to be a crackdown on this... These thiefs are obviously snatching these phones to sell them onto shops and make a bit of cash.., surely these shops should assess the phones more and do sonething about it - there must be a way of them knowing if a phone has been snatched? :/ the mugging I was told about made me realise that you really need to be streetwise and have you wits about you at all time! It's just a sad state of affairs when you can't walk down a street without being on your guard and being cautious of your phone and handbag. Like the amount of people I see walking along the street while talking into their phones.., it's just inviting some scumbag to steal it :/ what's everyone else's opinion on this? Do you think like me there should be way more done in order to cut down on these muggings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Cash for gold places should shut down aswell, it's too easy for these scummers. Sorry to hear happened to your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Saudi Arabian style deterrents.

Chop their hands off in public.

Make the other scumbags think again.

Vermin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

My friend was mugged and he was done for GBH :(

cant win.......

dreamers75 wrote: »

cant win.......

That's fcuked up, but doesn't surprise me for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

bit late know but dont these phones have a gps that can be traced or phone locked when stolen?
    it is sad but flashing an expensive phone anywhere is asking for trouble,it is the state of things with money been very tight or non existent for many.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

you can put an app that finds the phone,apple and others can lock the phone so it cant be used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭bedrock#1

Vermin.

so in theory, crime should be zero in saudi arabia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Sorry as i am for your friend, but it is a fact of life. Now days, you must be careful, be it Dublin, London; New York. The fact is people are not streetwise. I have been all over the world, travelled well. That said you never let your guard down. Maybe an expensive lesson. Watch your back no matter where, someone will always want what you have.

As Crimewatch would say, "Stay safe, don't have nightmares"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Bit of street smarts go a long way. You can't walk around any major city in the world waving a €600 phone around, Dublin is tame in comparison to most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Vermin.

And still there is crime in the kingdom. It dont work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

OP most Dubliners know you never use your phone on the street. Wait until your are on a bus or indoors.

The robberies in Dublin are not from scumbags. But heroin addicts who are just feeding their addiction. We have had Governments who have ignored the massive heroin problem in Dublin since the 1980s. There is hardly any detox beds in Dublin and most heroin users are in and out of prison. There is no opportunity for them to have a normal life. I havent heard any public official acknowledge any social issues found in Dublin, which you have to be seriously blind not to see

There is the different between someone is scumbag and someone who is so addicted to heroin. That they will do literally anything for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

I was mugged in broad daylight when I was 15. Some traveller stopped me in town and pretended to know me, saying "James, from Colaiste...?" then mumbled the second part of the school name - or else I just couldn't understand him because he was a pikey.

Anywho, he threatened to break my jaw if I didn't accompany him over to a shutter right beside that cigar shop at the end of the Grafton Street. He then proceeded to take my phone, a flip-up Sharp camera phone, which was my baby, and about €20 quid in cash.

Anyways, I'm 6'5 and about 19 stone these days so I don't get much hassle these days. I'm the one who should be out mugging people for a living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Keep phone in pocket.

hfallada wrote: »
    OP most Dubliners know you never use your phone on the street. Wait until your are on a bus or indoors.

The robberies in Dublin are not from scumbags. But heroin addicts who are just feeding their addiction. We have had Governments who have ignored the massive heroin problem in Dublin since the 1980s. There is hardly any detox beds in Dublin and most heroin users are in and out of prison. There is no opportunity for them to have a normal life. I havent heard any public official acknowledge any social issues found in Dublin, which you have to be seriously blind not to see

There is the different between someone is scumbag and someone who is so addicted to heroin. That they will do literally anything for it
    Literally do anything except work for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Stop making excuses for them. Anyone who snatches a phone from someone's hand is a scumbag. The fact they're addicted to heroin makes no difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Yeah, I think it's fairly shocking, the lack of dealing with the situation properly. You're never going to get anywhere by shoving methadone, Garda cells overnight, etc. at people who are hooked. A few of them are past the point of saving but some are genuinely just hooked and don't have the support net to be able to push and get off stuff like that. Even today saw someone obviously wasted waddling up the street. It's not nice to see and you'd expect it would be a smart move to try to prevent and get rid of it given the bad image the city gets. Gets worse when you have the likes of Victory Outreach trying to cash in on vulnerable people.

This post might seem like it's just making excuses and there are some awful scumbags in the city, but I've definitely also seen the above and it's pretty tragic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

You wont stop the jackdaw from stealing shiny objects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Not sure I'd call this a mugging as your friend wasn't threatened with a weapon or attacked. More like opportunistic Petty Theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Rule No.1 always keep your phone in your pocket until in a safe place. Sorry to here about your friend though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Boombastic wrote: »
    Literally do anything except work for it :(

Well said i did see a two kids (12/13YO) smash a window on a very nice BMW, just down from Grand Canal. I was the opposite side so could do nothing, bar call the Guards. All i can think is idiots, have no idea what money is, nor how much work is required to make it. I guess there stupid parents said, "Sure its fine the insurance will pay" There is a word i would like to use, but all i shall say is it starts with C and ends with T's

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

dreamers75 wrote: »

cant win.......

Was this pre-1997 or in another country? Because GBH is not an offence in Ireland and hasn't been for some time. Plus, it is doubtful if he was defending himself he would be prosecuted.

So I call bull on your sensationalist comment.

Stop making excuses for them. Anyone who snatches a phone from someone's hand is a scumbag. The fact they're addicted to heroin makes no difference.

Jeremy Kyle over here.

You'd be the only heroin addict in the history of opioid dependence to retain your morals even when you're getting sick and ****ting your pants because you haven't used for over 12 hours.

TheShizz wrote: »
    Jeremy Kyle over here.

You'd be the only heroin addict in the history of opioid dependence to retain your morals even when you're getting sick and ****ting your pants because you haven't used for over 12 hours.

There are people who are functioning addicts, Who do their heroin and hold down a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭ozmo

Make sure you imei block it by reporting it stolen.
    Makes it more difficult to sell on if it not working - You can get the imei from the box it came in or from the pc it synced with.

California is this year pushing for new laws to force phone manufacturers to more permanently brick phones when stolen. They are resisting(it denies them a new sale i guess) We should do that in Europe also. If the phones are worthless when stolen it will cut down on theft of them.

“Roll it back”

Jeremy Kyle over here.

Boo -f#$king- who

And what about the people who worked hard to save up the money to buy the phone. But no, let's have sympathy for the junkies who are "forced" to mug people. Bleeding hearts like yourself are what is wrong with this country.
    Anyone who mugs someone for their phone is a scumbag. End of story. If they're addicted to heroin let them get treatment in a methadone clinic for that.Stop apologising for scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

OP most Dubliners know you never use your phone on the street.

Yeah, this isn't true at all.

ozmo wrote: »
    Make sure you imei block it by reporting it stolen.
    Makes it more difficult to sell on if it not working - You can get the imei from the box it came in or from the pc it synced with.

California is this year pushing for new laws to force phone manufacturers to more permanently brick phones when stolen. They are resisting(it denies them a new sale i guess) We should do that in Europe also. If the phones are worthless when stolen it will cut down on theft of them.
    Issue with that though is if it's found (and shops will checkmend a phone and report it if it is marked stolen which does reunite it with users sometimes) it can't be used.

bedrock#1 wrote: »
    so in theory, crime should be zero in saudi arabia?

Two wrongs don't make a right, but they make you feel a whole lot better.

If it makes one vermin stop and think otherwise then it justifies it.

The death penalty that was reintroduced in some US states hasn't cut violent crime, but at least those who are in death row then the injection cannot re offend like so many of this pond life excuse for humans.

If they want heroin, give them as much as they want, and more. Give them a wheelbarrow full of it everyday.

It'll stop this sort of crime.

The repercussions? Don't care.

Life choices.

Boo -f#$king- who

And what about the people who worked hard to save up the money to buy the phone. But no, let's have sympathy for the junkies who are "forced" to mug people. Bleeding hearts like yourself are what is wrong with this country.
    Anyone who mugs someone for their phone is a scumbag. End of story. If they're addicted to heroin let them get treatment in a methadone clinic for that.Stop apologising for scumbags.

Personally I'd rather be a "bleeding heart" than an ignorant arsehole who doesn't understand addiction nor the effect it has on people, but that's just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Boo -f#$king- who

Assuming they work, of course. Maybe they are on benefits. But that's a whole other issue that'll descend into similar chaos and age-old arguments.

I think the word "scumbag" has lost all meaning from when i was a teenager (1990s). Back then i used to associate that word with proper headers who'd cut you open for looking at them the wrong way.

Nowadays seemingly anybody who commits any crime whatsoever is a "scumbag". I don't really agree with that. I've seen a respectable looking woman rob a pack of Duracell AA's in a pound shop i worked in many moons ago. She's not a scumbag in my eyes. Thief, yes, scumbag, no.

As for heroin addicts, when/if heaven forbid you are hooked on heroin , come back and preach that line about "nobody forcing them". I only personally have ever known 1 guy who got messed up with heroin and he'd have robbed his granny of her last penny and trust me in his head it wasn't a choice.

The death penalty that was reintroduced in some US states hasn't cut violent crime, but at least those who are in death row then the injection cannot re offend like so many of this pond life excuse for humans.
    Fortunately you will never be in such a position to decide these things! Although I heard the Order of Chivalry are recruiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Those people on death row would be serving full life sentences if there was no death penalty, so they couldn't re-offend regardless. It's not a very good argument for the death penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭ozmo

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Issue with that though is if it's found (and shops will checkmend a phone and report it if it is marked stolen which does reunite it with users sometimes) it can't be used.

Yeah-There would need be a password or something to unbrick it-
    The new iphone 5's have improved it a bit- if you have set up findmyi on it - you cannot remove the password even by completly reseting and reformatting it- you need your itunes password to make it go away.

“Roll it back”

Personally I'd rather be a "bleeding heart" than an ignorant arsehole who doesn't understand addiction nor the effect it has on people, but that's just me.

So you're saying that somebody who is addicted to heroin has no choice in the matter, that they are compelled to violently mug people of their hard earned phones? Have you heard of methadone clinics? Of course they have a choice. I hope you're never the victim of a mugging by a poor innocent heroin addict who has been "let down by society". You might change your tune then. Anyone who violently deprives somebody of their personal property = scum. And you can make all the excuses you like for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Vermin.
    Don't be dotin, They'd only love to lose a hand. Disability benefits for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Thought this was an old thread so yes it's pretty common, know a few people it's happened to.

Problem is so many people openly show off their expensive phone with eyes glued to it while they walk so they are easy targets.

Think of it as cash and see if you'd do the same with €400 held in front of your nose while walking around city centre. That's pretty much how the mucs see it.

So you're saying that somebody who is addicted to heroin has no choice in the matter, that they are compelled to violently mug people of their hard earned phones? Have you heard of methadone clinics? Of course they have a choice. I hope you're never the victim of a mugging by a poor innocent heroin addict who has been "let down by society". You might change your tune then. Anyone who violently deprives somebody of their personal property = scum. And you can make all the excuses you like for them.
    You haven't a clue about addictions. I would suggest you not yap on about something you really don't understand fully. That's in a nice way, I don't want you to embarrass yourself.

Shoot yourself up with some heroin and then stop taking it, sure it's dead easy to come off it, everyone should be trying it right?

Those people on death row would be serving full life sentences if there was no death penalty, so they couldn't re-offend regardless. It's not a very good argument for the death penalty.

Couldn't care less for any junkies.

It's called Life Choices.

I'm forty two, and even in the seventies and eighties we all knew that heroin was a big no no.

Nothing has changed. We still know that heroin is the road to disaster, there us no funny stories, no opening of the conscious mind, no enlightenment that some other drugs 'advertise'.

Only stupid bastards use heroin.

No good will come of it, ever. So I have zero sympathy for anyone involved in that muck.

It's a choice to take heroin like it's a choice to watch the tele or read a book.

Stupid people make stupid choices.

Shut up mate your 18th-century attitude to modern-day issues are a little boring.

User banned.

Mod.

You haven't a clue about addictions. I would suggest you not yap on about something you really don't understand fully. That's in a nice way, I don't want you to embarrass yourself.

Shoot yourself up with some heroin and then stop taking it, sure it's dead easy to come off it, everyone should be trying it right?

I know a bit about addictions as I was an alcoholic.

Society, culture, puberty all steered my young self to have my first beer. But heroin? Never. I had and still have at least one brain cell and some morals and standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Was this pre-1997 or in another country? Because GBH is not an offence in Ireland and hasn't been for some time. Plus, it is doubtful if he was defending himself he would be prosecuted.

So I call bull on your sensationalist comment.

This is one of my pet hates and im guilty of doing it myself....

But you know what he meant!! Most people don't go reading up on the Irish Statute books to get their terminology correct!

People still refer to "slander" when it's defamation. GBH when it's assault etc.

If you know what a person means, that's all there is to it. Nobody cares if the terminology is correct.

I know a bit about addictions as I was an alcoholic.

Society, culture, puberty all steered my young self to have my first beer
    . But heroin? Never. I had and still have at least one brain cell and some morals and standards.
    And now you know what drives other people towards heroin, or any other substance that leads to addiction.

Threads on ah? :pac:

Leads to addiction? That's what I don't get.

I was addicted to something, I didn't 'climb the ladder' to the next addiction.

You sure don't understand addiction.

They 'chose' to take heroin.

Leads to addiction? That's what I don't get.

I was addicted to something, I didn't 'climb the ladder' to the next addiction.

You sure don't understand addiction.

They 'chose' to take heroin.

The poor little scummers probably had a bad childhood. People who take heroin, although stupid are not necessarily scumbags, but people who rob others are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Sadly, stealing mobile phones is a quick way for a scumbag to make money.

Was with my girlfriend when she got her mobile phone unlocked a few months ago in one of the Chinese phone shops on Moore street. In comes this scumbag (looking at him you know what he was let alone talking) saying he bought this iphone from his friend and it was user-locked or some crap. Never owned an iphone personally so perhaps someone on here reading knows what. But que Chinese chap behind the counter simply say "nope, cannot help you" ... Good on him. It was clearly a stolen phone.

But lets be honest. While this Store owner was alright. I reckon the scumbag didnt have to go far in order to get it unlocked knowing the amount of phone shops on Moore Street.

One word. Methadone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Alcohol tends to be a bit safer than heroin. Many people can start drinking like any other person and gets worse. Heroin tends to be a bad decision from the start.

If someone decides to mug others to fund their addiction I find it difficult to feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

I'm pretty sure the last time I was in the Pale a large proportion of the people on the street had a mobile glued to their ear - same as any other town in Ireland. Don't know if they were the more expensive models though.