Do you know anyone that still spends they’re living in the boom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Candie wrote: »
    Probably those copious child benefits, bountiful perks, and that lavish single parent allowance. :)

Makes my blood boil!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad:

No recession in those houses ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Which Boom?

A lot of people moved on to the next boom and have pretty good lives.

Follow the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Didn't have it to spend in the boom & don't have it now either so yeah spending the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Candie wrote: »
    Probably those copious child benefits, bountiful perks, and that lavish single parent allowance. :)

Dripping with money those people. I've never such elaborate wealth as a single mother on benefits. Three hundred euros a week Joe, sure the president of America doesn't make half that. .

And every single penny that doesn't go on new cars and foreign holidays goes on DRINK Joe! The childer are starving! Shoeless! Starkers!

Hussies!

There's unemployed people beside me who keep themselves in MINK COATS with nixers!

They spent that €100 communiformation grant on a brand new Audi and the most expensive sky telly package Joe.

We really need to hand over the department of finance to the mythical Irish single mother who can live the lifestyle of Paris Hilton on a fifty euro note. We'll be flying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Spending the same as I always have both of us in government jobs never seen the amazing times but then again never seen the bad
    Nothing changed for me except you now get a bit more bang for your buck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

They spent that €100 communiformation grant on a brand new Audi and the most expensive sky telly package Joe.

We really need to hand over the department of finance to the mythical Irish single mother who can live the lifestyle of Paris Hilton on a fifty euro note. We'll be flying it.
    Not all mothers on the welfare are bad, but some of them definitely are. My aunt had 5 kids, so she was likely getting a decent amount of money from the welfare. I'm telling you, this woman would spend the absolute least on her kids possible. She fed them dinner and breakfast, hungry outside of those times? Too bad. Want a second bowl of coco pops? Too bad. Their dinner multiple times a week was the absolute cheapest Tesco brand pizza that she could buy, usually served with the cheapest frozen chips she could buy. While some people could argue this is what they have to do to make ends meet, this definitely wasn't. She always had the best things, smoked 20 a day, everything on Sky except the sports, which she didn't want. When giant TVs became main stream, she bought herself a 50 inch TV. Remodels her home every year or so. And at the same time, to show how much money she has for herself. She has the most expensive bill phone plan, just so she could get a "free" smart phone. While I'm not saying every mother who's on the welfare is exploiting them, there are some like this sick woman that do.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Eamon Gilmore.

Not all mothers on the welfare are bad, but some of them definitely are. My aunt...

Not all members of your family are bad, but some of them definitely are. Your aunt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

There's no recession for me. I work from home, for an English website and I pay my taxes to the queen.

God save her.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I'm still spending as much as I did during the boom. Does that make me a bad person?

As long as you wring your hands and scream "won't somebody think of the children" as you drink your moet from your hookers Waterford crystal goblet, then you're fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

and I was online trying to get Garth Brooks tickets just for the craic, despite not liking Garth Brooks or country music. QUOTE]

Was it just for the craic of trying to get tickets online or for the craic of seeing a singer you don't like after paying a s***load of money?:confused:
    Personally I watch R Kelly's Trapped in the Closet videos on Youtube when I want a good laugh. Doesn't cost me a cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Which Boom?

A lot of people moved on to the next boom and have pretty good lives.

Follow the money.

Everyone is saying follow the money, but if I do follow the money, I bump into a securicor van or a bank. Then after I have followed the money to these places I am locked out, I can't get to the fecking money. So what is the point in following the money ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I paying more in tax and spending less due to being taxed more for a pension that I may well not live to claim as the working age will probably be 80 when it's time for me to retire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

and I was online trying to get Garth Brooks tickets just for the craic, despite not liking Garth Brooks or country music. QUOTE]

Was it just for the craic of trying to get tickets online or for the craic of seeing a singer you don't like after paying a s***load of money?:confused:
    Personally I watch R Kelly's Trapped in the Closet videos on Youtube when I want a good laugh. Doesn't cost me a cent.
    No one playing a concert during the summer interests me, but I wanted to go to one, so I figured I'd try see Garth Brooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

[QUOTE=thegreatgonzo;89029459
    Personally I watch R Kelly's Trapped in the Closet videos on Youtube when I want a good laugh. Doesn't cost me a cent.[/QUOTE]

So off topic, but that's one of the greatest pieces of art ever.

OT, I have relatives who I am sure are ****ting money. 2 years and 4 months after building their "dream" 7 bedroom house (6 kids) they moved to Oz cause uncles wage dropped €1000 per annum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

I laugh at poor people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,043 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

OP during the boom not everybody was going out blowing money every 5 minutes to keep up with the neighbours buying property like there was no tomorrow when the intelligent people could see a pin coming to burst the bubble. If people used there heads instead of the hands at the ATM half the people wouldn't be poor now. I guess money talks for most of the population over brains.

One thing I will agree with is that wedding was way ott and while I could do the same I wouldn't in a million years.

I'm probably speeding more now than ever as I can afford it now but as already said being taxed a lot more to.
    I laugh at poor people

Nobody likes an p****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I laugh at poor people

Why do you laugh at poor people ?. Have you seen a place outside of your own enclosed life ?. Your comment stinks of self-loathing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Anyway, what's it to you? Who cares how other people live.

Begrudgery much?

Yeah, people borrowing money they can't pay back, how could that possibly affect the rest of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I see we have an opening post, a reply and then a closed account from the original poster all in the space of 15 minutes.

Is it just me, or does anyone else get a bit suspicious when this happens?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I see we have an opening post, a reply and then a closed account from the original poster all in the space of 15 minutes.

It's just another ****ty meaningless thread on an internet forum. So no, not suspicious at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

zenno wrote: »
    Your comment stinks of self-loathing

More likely stinks of booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

TheShizz wrote: »
    There's no recession for me. I work from home, for an English website and I pay my taxes to the queen.

God save her.

Not so sure the Revenue Commisionars would take very kindly to you looking after Her Majesty before them.
    I'd be very wary of a future audit if I was you,they tend not to fup around the way other government departments do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Her name probably is Lily Mc and the couple she was bitching about figured out it was her :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Keeping up with the Jone's......that's all it is!!

Who is Jone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

scwazrh wrote: »
    What a load of shi*e!

So the developers are all tradesmen now?

The local "developers" were tradesmen aka as chancers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

We need a curtain twitcher forum for these threads.