The best compliment you ever received from a member of the opposite sex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I remember I was living quite close to Whelans in Dublin when I lived in Ireland for a while before moving here and was coming out of said pub and a fella outside told me I'd nice eyes as I was walking out to go home. I must've been fairly desperate/stocious that night but I brought him home with me. "You had me at 'nice'", I said to him.

Might be cheesy Davey but you just never know how desperate or baloobas the lovely lady is! :) Always worth a shot!

This reminds me of walking out of the bathrooms at a pub in town and a guy who was absolutely locked just stopped and stared at me and I just nodded and walked on and another guy who was walking past said "love did you see that, he literally fell in love with you right there" and I looked up at the guy and he said "and now I have too", unbelievably cheesy but it worked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I remember I was living quite close to Whelans in Dublin when I lived in Ireland for a while before moving here and was coming out of said pub and a fella outside told me I'd nice eyes as I was walking out to go home. I must've been fairly desperate/stocious that night but I brought him home with me. "You had me at 'nice'", I said to him.

Might be cheesy Davey but you just never know how desperate or baloobas the lovely lady is! :) Always worth a shot!

Nothing wrong with a bit of cheese every now and again. :) I reckon a lot of its to do with the way you say it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

"You have such a strangle-able neck"

Boys <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

"You don't look like a guy with a plate in your face"

Not sure what she expects people to look like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

uch wrote: »
    Take it out, you're hurting me

Fist???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

When I was about 17 I was told I looked like Caprice. At the time I was chuffed as she was very popular and at the height of her modelling career. Not so sure I'd feel the same way if someone said it to me now! :o

I think he meant a Ford Caprice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

I got 'you have a nice body' the other day

From an eastern european male - im am also male and straight

He followed that up, in his broken english, with ' do you go to the gym? you have nice broad shoulders'

Turns out he was trying to get shoulders like mine and wanted to know how i got them. I was born with them - the poor mother!

That said, i am in shape.....

Round is a shape

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Four days after giving birth, I was sitting in a little side-room in Holles St feeding my baby. We were going home that day, so I'd been kicked out of my bed. I was wearing jeans and a tshirt (after being in PJs for the last few days) and had put on a bit of make-up.

There was a father in the same room feeding his baby, and we were chatting away, small talk about the two babies, what's the baby's name, how old is he, etc. Then he asked, "Is he your first ... nephew, is it?"

I said, "No, he's my son!" and your man seemed honestly shocked that I'd just had a baby. Said that I looked absolutely great for someone who's just given birth.

That all sounds a bit sleazy. :o But it really wasn't! It's not like he was chatting me up or anything ... I got the impression his wife was having a tough time, so maybe he was surprised at how OK I was. And in fairness my belly did (for the most part) go away pretty quickly.

And I think that if there's ever a time in your life that you could do with bit of a confidence boost, it's after having a baby. So I seriously appreciated it!

Actually, on a related note.

About a week or two after giving birth, I was in my bedroom getting ready to head out somewhere, my boyfriend was in bed, and he looked at me and said in a really surprised tone, "You'd never think you'd ever been pregnant!"

He's really not one for false compliments, so this one seemed completely genuine, and really helped me feel I was getting back to normal again. :) I think he was just shocked to see me back to myself after having the big bump for so long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

My mom said I was cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Muise... wrote: »
    Sounds like he was way more into himself than you. I'd be very unhappy if the best thing a man could say about me was that I looked good on the end of his prick.

On the subject, I was once told that when a pretty girl is su..... doing that... the best thing to do is lay there and enjoy the view. So chances are that if he's looking at you he thinks you're purdy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

On the subject, I was once told that when a pretty girl is su..... doing that... the best thing to do is lay there and enjoy the view. So chances are that if he's looking at you he thinks you're purdy.

The thread is about the best compliment though. I think the girl who posted that should have higher standards for compliments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

The thread is about the best compliment though. I think the girl who posted that should have higher standards for compliments.

Meh, I'd take it as a jokey compliment, something to be taken with a pinch of salt, but each to their own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    A few compliments to "himself" over the years but I think the best was:

"Im walking funny since last night and Ive fallen over once already"

I'm sure he's much better now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Arrah, Christy Brown says that to all the girls. :D
    Hahah Sadly Im just a very pretty guy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭unaoz

Guy I was seeing told me he was saving his last condom for me for when I came back from my holidays...think that was his idea of a compliment.

I was told I put everyone in the room in a good mood, and that I explain things very well. This was from someone I really admire, in a room full of people I had to address. Gave me a big confidence boost.

I've been told a number of times that I look like a young Audrey Hepburn - I love that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Candie wrote: »
    I was told I put everyone in the room in a good mood, and that I explain things very well. This was from someone I really admire, in a room full of people I had to address. Gave me a big confidence boost.

I've been told a number of times that I look like a young Audrey Hepburn - I love that one!

asl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Had a taxi driver drop me home once....turned out we knew each other....was sposed to meet him but didnt! Introduced him to hubby blah blah......
    Getting out of cab he says "Fcuk ur the one that got away!" :)........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Years ago I was in the Hillgrove in .dingle and a guy made a beeline for me across the dance floor to tell me I have lovely straight teeth (or "ya have a quare set of strait taith on ya").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭kingshankly

A good few years ago on my stag do down the country it's late were in the hotel and there's a bunch of girls trying to get us back to the room where the rest of their hen party was
    So I was persuaded (didn't take long)to go up and meet the hen
    So in I walked and the hen gets up and in her best dublin accent says "Jesus he's bleeding massive"
    Now I wasn't fat and wasn't skinny either so I was ****ing disgusted so anyway I
    Returned the abuse "you'd wanna luck in the mirror you ugly Cnut thank god I'm not marrying you" and left the room
    It was the next day I found out what massive meant and breakfast when the bride to be ****ed a class of orange juice over me and called me "a thick culchie ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

Just goes to show how subjective these things are. If I saw "Orange Glow" beside my name I'd think I needed to change my makeup.

Bitter Lemon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

" if you catch you at the right angle, you're ok looking"
    " errr cheers"
    " welcome "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Girl told me once that if I got my teeth sorted out I could be OK looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

That's cool. I was told I looked Bob Geldof once. But I've also been told I look like Snow White so its balances out.

I got a compliment once from a guy which was something about me being like a really good book, with something new and interesting on each page. The following week he told me he didn't want to see me anymore so he obviously found a page he didn't like so much:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Jesus you must be gorgeous. How YOU doin?

Compliments are the business.

I've been getting quite a few recently about my accent actually, which has been quite watered down from all the travelling and is pretty soft, clear and slightly lilting (thank you mammy for 10 odd years of elocution lessons)

Most people at work think I'm a reporter because of it (work in a newsroom) and a phone contact called me "disarming" the other day.

I like that one. "Disarming". I think I'm probably more of a brat who happens to have a sweet disposition though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

"You give the best blowjobs I've ever had! Seriously! You should give lessons!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭JJayoo

"You give the best blowjobs I've ever had! Seriously! You should give lessons!"

That's pretty much what every guy says to everyone they get a blow job off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Wotsername wrote: »
    Bitter Lemon?

Oh dear,I've offended a fake tan fan.:)

Compliments ARE subjective,the magic happens in the mind of the recipient sometimes. We'd all be a lot better off if we presumed the best of everything said to us regardless of how the other person meant it though. There's no greater compliment than to note someone's capacity for positivity and thinking the best.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

i've been told by a few lads that i'm the funniest girl they know, that one makes me happy :)

recently started going out with a lad and apparently he's had a little crush on me since we first met briefly two years ago, that feels pretty deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

JJayoo wrote: »
    That's pretty much what every guy says to everyone they get a blow job off.

*crushed* :(

:P