How did your other half propose to you? (Or you propose to your other half?)

• 14-02-2014 03:38PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

Seeing as it's Valentine's day I thought it would be nice to hear a few romantic stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Gongoozler wrote: »
    No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

She found the ring I was going to give to my other girlfriend.
    Kinda had to propose then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

9 years and I'm still waiting for him to pop the question. Guessing I'm not marriage material. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

No proposal from either one of us. We've been together 6 years, talked about getting married and just decided it was the right time to get engaged. We went shopping together and bought a ring for me and a watch for himself, then went to a very fancy restaurant and got very pissed on champagne.

As in it wouldn't be nice to hear romantic stories.

Joke lol etc.

9 years and I'm still waiting for him to pop the question. Guessing I'm not marriage material. :pac:

And you couldn't ask him because...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Because she's not marriage material. Read the jaysus post would ya :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Her father proposed really I suppose.

He found the pregnancy test, met me on the front step of the house with a shotgun and told me he had a shovel out the back and f*ck all people would miss me.

He was right too.

He did have a shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

I stuck a diamond ring up my hole and asked her to check my prostate. It ended up on her index finger but the message was clear: be my wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

I suppose I'm just traditional in that a man should ask a lady. I know plenty of women propose to men but it just wouldn't be for me.

So I'll just continue to wait..........

TheShizz wrote: »
    I stuck a diamond ring up my hole and asked her to check my prostate. It ended up on her index finger but the message was clear: be my wife.

Shouldn't you be at double maths or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

We seen a story recently where a mother died while giving birth and the father wasn't able to take the baby home that survived in a straight forward process cause they weren't married. Checked our state laws and it was the same set up. So we just said we'd get married before we have kids in a few years. Guess that's kind of our proposal. There'll be no rings or big wedding. Just get It done down in city hall followed by a vacation. Fúck romance and spending shít loads for someone else to talk about what a nice day and dinner they had.

Wow I'm filling up at all these beautiful stories. Who said romance was dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Twas very romantic...wine was consumed.

"We should, you know."
    "Should what?"
    "Get married"
    "Is this a proposal??"
    "eh, yeah. Why not!"
    "Grand so."

I checked again in the morning after the hangovers had been treated. Got the affirmative.
    Aaanddd that was me engaged.
    :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

On our 2nd date we went to Johnny Foxes and I loved the view.

In December we went up there again, and he stopped to tie his lace. I always give out that he doesn't double knot them, so turned around to start nagging him.

There he was on one knee with the box open. I walked away crying!! :o

Then we went inside for a candlelit meal and a trad musician. And Craig Doyle was at the table beside us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Hiked to the top of Croagh Patrick with himself, and my family. Very nearly didn't make it to the top, but he encouraged me to persevere. After I got my breath back, he dropped to one knee. Boy got it right, he had a claddagh ring and with my family around, it couldn't of been more perfect!

Although our engagement photo has me with hair all over the place and a bright red face. May need to restage that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭TheShizz

Shouldn't you be at double maths or something?

I should be, but I'm a bit of a rebel see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

My Gaffer just told me to be at the registry office on said date for 3pm, I had to ask why !

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

"Well since ya caught me now you may as well help me choose the right one..."

I thought she'd caught me looking at engagement rings on-line but she'd actually been oblivious to the contents of the laptop screen I was epicly failing so to hide from her!

I'm such an old romantic... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Decided to make my engagement special and booked a nice hotel in Rome, near the Colosseum.
    Went by car.
    The car's turbo blew as soon as we crossed the border into Italy, it was a sunday afternoon.
    Ended up in a ****e hotel and she saw how upset I was about the whole thing.
    Took the box out of my jacket pocked and proposed there and then :)
    Nearly 1 year married now

bear1 wrote: »
    Decided to make my engagement special and booked a nice hotel in Rome, near the Colosseum.
    Went by car.
    The car's turbo blew as soon as we crossed the border into Italy, it was a sunday afternoon.
    Ended up in a ****e hotel and she saw how upset I was about the whole thing.
    Took the box out of my jacket pocked and proposed there and then :)
    Nearly 1 year married now

Actually, I think that sounds more romantic than a planned proposal in a nice hotel.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Thats what she said, I just had the whole imagine in my head of a night time stroll to the monument.
    Certainly a unique story though.... cost me a feckin fortune too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

i got a message in a card on christmas morning with my present and looked up with her all smiley at me.
    I should have said no. I knew I should have said no.
    But I was weak and i didn't.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The single earner tax rate was disadvantageous to both of us so I left a ring out for her with some printouts outlining the various benefits of harmonizing our tax arrangements to a single natural unit.

anncoates wrote: »
    The single earner tax rate was disadvantageous to both of us so I left a ring out for her with some printouts outlining the various benefits of harmonizing our tax arrangements to a single natural unit.

Stop. I'm welling up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Well, we were out for a meal one late February, and he asked me if this was a year to be worried about.
    I hadn't a clue what he was on about, and he then told me about the whole 29th of Feb tradition, which I had never heard off before. He said not to worry, if he hadn't proposed by the next 29th of Feb I should dump him anyway cause he was an idiot.

29th of Feb rolled around, and when I got home from work I told him while cooking dinner that I wasn't going to dump him, so he'd have to marry me now.

He said "Ah well, sure, why not?" and that was that.