Tallaght hospital - story in today's indo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

That's not true. There's family members of other patients coming and going all of the time.

It depends on the corridors. I've been in that A&E a few times(for extended periods) and anytime I've been there, families aren't coming and going all the time. It's mainly staff in the A&E corridors.

Not very advisable to have corridors in an A&E area blocked by members of the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

sullivlo wrote: »
    Happened me on a trolley in CUH before. I didn't go to the papers about it though! I was grateful to be seen promptly and diagnosed / treated!
    But did you have privacy? Would people passing by have been able to see you being examined?
    I don't think that the need to be examined promptly excludes the right for dignity while being treated.

Happened me on a trolley in CUH before. I didn't go to the papers about it though! I was grateful to be seen promptly and diagnosed / treated!

Nobody can see anything when it happens and the examination is a minute and a half.

It would be different if there was no dividers and she saw someone from the public looking at her, she wasn't even facing the right way to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Ush1 wrote: »
    It depends on the corridors. I've been in that A&E a few times(for extended periods) and anytime I've been there, families aren't coming and going all the time. It's mainly staff in the A&E corridors.

Not very advisable to have corridors in an A&E area blocked by members of the public.

I've been in there several times, as a family member. There were lots of other families around as well. People in A&E are often very seriously ill and they need people with them to ask questions, keep an eye on them, give relevant information to medical staff and support distressed husbands/wives of the ill person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

anncoates wrote: »
    Well done AH. Classy.

please elaborate?
    your actual opinion is lost on me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

So a health service in a so called developed country of 4. 5 million people where you get an internal examination in a corridor is grand because at least you're being seen. Jesus Fcuking wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Feck sake, some people posting here need hospital treatment themselves, for a sense of humour transplant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

More sensationalist crap.

How are "flimsy screens" any fifferent to flimsy curtains pulled around a bed in a ward, with equal numbers of people around?

If people are complaining about the HSE, surely this is more pertinent:
    Ciara (28) said that she waited for seven hours in the emergency ward before being fully examined by doctors.

These doctors and nurses were trying to do their best so she wasn't waiting even longer.

Valetta wrote: »
    More sensationalist crap.

How are "flimsy screens" any fifferent to flimsy curtains pulled around a bed in a ward, with equal numbers of people around?

I don't think they normally do internal examinations in a ward during visiting hours.

I think you'll find they do.

I have been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

PucaMama wrote: »
    Unbelievable how many people on here don't understand that a patient has a right to privacy no matter if they are private patients or not. I wonder if I was looking after your family members in hospital would it be OK to neglect their privacy because I was busy I don't think so.

To be fair I would imagine everybody agrees with you. I certainly fully agree every patient deserves privacy. But making a huge song and dance to the papers over this is not the way to go. The staff were careless in not clicking the screen together and left a small gap. Im not saying its right but these things can happen. Nurses and doctors are absolutely rushed off their feet in A &E so now we want to hang them for everything? The goal was to try and diagnose this woman and unfortunately in haste they omitted to click the screen. While it shouldn't have happened I dont see it as the absolute end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I've had a lot worse in tallaght hospital ,
    Some people!
    I've had a catheter inserted in a corridor no screens no blanket covering anything ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I'd say my cat pays more tax than her and her extended family. Looks like she got lost on the way to the Jeremy Kyle show.

She just looks normal to me?

I can't see any indication in the article to indicate she's unemployed or in receipt of a medical card? Do you think that everybody that presents to Tallaght hospital in an emergency doesn't have health insurance?

Valetta wrote: »
    I think you'll find they do.

I have been there.

Well that shouldn't have happened either. I doubt it's usual practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

A friend of mine was in Waterford Regional with a serious head injury. He was unconscious overnight, during this time he was lying in a hospital corridor and only moved for x-rays and scans, and eventually the next morning he started to come around. When he woke up he was dying for a wee. They wouldn't let him go for ages and eventually after waiting 4 hours from the time he woke up, we managed to get one of the nurses to agree to let him have a "bottle" to wee into (not sure what the medical term is for these but you know what I'm talking about and I don't mean a 7up bottle). He took the bottle off the nurse and we all moved away expecting the nurse to bring some screens over but no, she just walked off and left him to it. We ended up using our coats to shield him from view. On one side of us there was an older man with his kids and grandkids and across the way from us there was a man and woman with a young girl.

This kind of stuff happens everywhere and doesn't surprise me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

on a more positive note, we have some of the best equine hospitals in Europe.. you wouldn't find a horse on a trolley in a corridor in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

maggiepip wrote: »
    To be fair I would imagine everybody agrees with you. I certainly fully agree every patient deserves privacy. But making a huge song and dance to the papers over this is not the way to go. The staff were careless in not clicking the screen together and left a small gap. Im not saying its right but these things can happen. Nurses and doctors are absolutely rushed off their feet in A &E so now we want to hang them for everything? The goal was to try and diagnose this woman and unfortunately in haste they omitted to click the screen. While it shouldn't have happened I dont see it as the absolute end of the world.

I don't think it's a bad thing to highlight the strains and conditions nurses, doctors and patients are being subjected to in hospitals.

I do think she could have gone about in a better way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I go to hospital to get fixed, I'd be happy if they could do it at the front door so I could turn around and walk out again when they're done.

I don't see how that's any more embarrassing than having a gaggle of Junior doctors standing around in a group looking up your hole while the head doctor guy pays more attention to having a chat with one of the hot doctors than he does to the poor spa in the bed with is arse cocked in the air. Which is the inevitable next step if you're kept in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I'ma go with preferring medical professionals looking up my ass in private than... it being done in a public corridoor. Those who say that's no problem are lying or not the sharpest.
    An ass examination? Why should you be "grateful"? It's their job. It's not diva-ish to object to the conditions that lead to it being carried out in a corridoor rather than a private area.
    please elaborate?
    your actual opinion is lost on me...
    Shur you know full well what was meant.
    These doctors and nurses were trying to do their best so she wasn't waiting even longer.
    People aren't blaming the doctors and nurses (rightly).

ScumLord wrote: »
    I go to hospital to get fixed, I'd be happy if they could do it at the front door so I could turn around and walk out again when they're done.

I don't see how that's any more embarrassing than having a gaggle of Junior doctors standing around in a group looking up your hole while the head doctor guy pays more attention to having a chat with one of the hot doctors than he does to the poor spa in the bed with is arse cocked in the air. Which is the inevitable next step if you're kept in.

Succinctly put.

People aren't blaming the doctors and nurses (rightly).

Who are people blaming? As I've said, have you been to Tallaght A&E?

She didn't even know if the screen was blocking her or if it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Who are people blaming?
    Deep seated issues within the health service structure that has led to such overcrowding and other problems. No need to pretend people are blaming doctors and nurses when they're not.

I don't care about a screen. Things shouldn't reach a point where doctors and nurses have no option but to intimately examine someone in a public space.

Who are people blaming? As I've said, have you been to Tallaght A&E?

She didn't even know if the screen was blocking her or if it wasn't.

We're blaming the people who are responsible for our health system and whose decisions and priorities lead to wards being closed which lead to patients being left on trollies in overcrowded corridors in A&E instead of being examined in cubicles.

Deep seated issues within the health service structure that has led to such overcrowding and other problems. No need to pretend people are blaming doctors and nurses when they're not.

I don't care about a screen. Things shouldn't reach a point where doctors and nurses have no option but to intimately examine someone in a public space.

If you want to go on a rant about the HSE, rant about her waiting times as I've said. She could have probably been seen in a room if she waited another seven hours.

It's a cordoned off public space, they're not doing it in front of paying audience. "No need to pretend they are when they're not".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

story from todays's Indo

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/i-had-to-undergo-internal-exam-in-hospital-corridor-30006977.html

Personally if I had "severe abdominal pains" I'd be happy to be examined in the nip on O'Connell bridge if it sorted the issue and I was seen to by a professional .

Granted our hospitals are not 5 star hotels but I think we get for the most part better services than other countries.
    I'm not saying it wasn't uncomfortable but surely it wasn't newspaper worthy.

Do people expect too much and fail to recognise that everything in life isn't nice.
    Do you think she is complaining too much ?

I do.

I never been in a hospital abroad so I can't comment on how Ireland is compared too them

but in my opinion Irish hospitals suck
    its like they want you too die in the ER
    their either understaffed or not bothered

I had appendicitis an inflammed one at that
    went too my gp, she told me to go straight too the ER , I waited 14 hours in st james hospital too get my blood taken, then another 4 hours too be seen by an actual doctor
    he said I had an inflammed appendix which is very dangerous if it explodes it could kill you
    I was like grand when we getting it out
    he said have you eating in the past 24 hours
    I said I've been here the past 24 bloody hours
    took them 3 days too take out my appendix
    fair enough if their was people who were worse off then me, then by all means skip the queue if your dying
    but apparently having an inflammed appendix and been on the priority list too having surgery means waiting 72 hours

not only that, the chap beside me in the ward were I was staying had testicular cancer, he said hes been waiting 3 weeks too have it removed
    I mean seriously 3 weeks
    he told me he is scheduled to have it removed monday, monday comes, they said he can go home for the week and he be fitted into next week

its like they want patients too die so they don't have too work...

We're blaming the people who are responsible for our health system and whose decisions and priorities lead to wards being closed which lead to patients being left on trollies in overcrowded corridors in A&E instead of being examined in cubicles.

Fine, but to be honest I find no intrinsic issue with a 1 minute check being performed in a cordoned off area with screens. I couldn't care less where it was.

What I find tough is a seven hour wait time to get the examination.

If you want to go on a rant about the HSE, rant about her waiting times as I've said. She could have probably been seen in a room if she waited another seven hours.

It's a cordoned off public space, they're not doing it in front of paying audience. "No need to pretend they are when they're not".

The HSE are responsible for the difficult situations in which medical staff find themselves working. They probably had no option but to examine the patient where they did, but neither they nor the girl herself should have been put in that situation. If money was being used effectively there would have been enough wards open to move patients who were being admitted out of the cubicles and onto a ward, and to move new admissions into the vacant cubicles where they would have some privacy.

Fine, but to be honest I find no intrinsic issue with a 1 minute check being performed in a cordoned off area with screens. I couldn't care less where it was.

What I find tough is a seven hour wait time to get the examination.

But an awful lot of people do care. That's the point.

The HSE are responsible for the difficult situations in which medical staff find themselves working. They probably had no option but to examine the patient where they did, but neither they nor the girl herself should have been put in that situation. If money was being used effectively there would have been enough wards open to move patients who were being admitted out of the cubicles and to move new admissions into the cubicles where they would have some privacy.

I think you're still missing my point, moved to a cubicle and wait for seven hours?

As I've said, I don't think anything terrible happened here apart from how long she had to wait for a 1 minute exam.