The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Jesus who gives a fcuk what school someone went to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

HooohRaaah wrote: »
    Everyone knows Templeouge isn't a working class area.

How come we've yet to have an international or Leinster player from Tallaght, Clondalkin, Coolock, Rialto and the likes.

Because the clubs are only becoming established in the areas?

FYI there is an Irish international rugby player from Tallaght on the women's team ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭3DataModem

??? It's a massive suburb of Dublin. Right next to Tallaght. Most people who live there moved there in last 50 years, and had jobs and mortgages. I mean, do they have to be coal miners or coopers to be working class in your eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

How come we've yet to have an international or Leinster player from Tallaght, Clondalkin, Coolock, Rialto and the likes.

Maybe for years people in those areas were scared of the abuse they would get from small minded "real" Dubs if they chose to play rugby.
    Who knows, but as others have said there was always a club structure open to all and sundry and that more recently things are changing dramatically to be even more inclusive.

Anyway, I'm out of this circular argument for now.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don't see why it's such a big issue - some of the Ireland team went to fee paying schools. Who gives a fcuk? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭3DataModem

I'm also struggling to think of a single D4 school that plays rugby at any level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

3DataModem wrote: »
    I'm also struggling to think of a single D4 school that plays rugby at any level.

St. Michael's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭HooohRaaah

awec wrote: »
    I don't see why it's such a big issue - some of the Ireland team went to fee paying schools. Who gives a fcuk? :confused:

It's more than some mate.

English people call each other mate. West Brit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

if the schools in those places starting playing rugby then maybe we might

there are plenty of players from working class backgrounds in Munster...why?...cause some schools in those areas have established teams

Rugby is expanding its base in recent years and a lot more kids are playing it so eventually we will see players from all around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

This argument is a bit old.

A lot of rugby player have came from a wide variety of backgrounds. Quite a few players from rural backgrounds on the Munster and Ireland team.

Seeing as "class" is so important, Keith Earls was born, grew up and went to school in Moyross, Limerick. Moyross has improved quite a bit in recent years but did have (and still has to a lesser degree) problems with drugs and organised crime.

Every sports has fans that are the "stereotype". Saying that rugby fans are all "D4 heads" is like saying all GAA fans are boggers that have their tea and sandwiches out of the boot of a car before a match. And I say that are a Kerryman and a GAA supporter as well as a rugby supporter.

I think people in Dublin have severe chips on their shoulder with regards northside/southside, gaa/soccer/rugby and all that crap.

Come down to the southwest for the craic! :D

In closing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

it isn't really

this one guy has an issue with the kids who attend such schools and seems to be focussing on rugby as a medium for his dislike

tbh when I watch Ireland play rugby, I have feck all knowledge of the backgrounds for most of them or where they went to school...nor do I particularly care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

People who should have more important things to worry about would be my suggestion.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Rugby's popularity is based on a thin veneer. Below the Irish international team and the provinces, there is virtually no interest in it from the wider public.

The stats don't agree with you. Rugby is the third most popular sport in terms of participation (158,000) behind Soccer (340,000) and GAA (295,000).

In terms of spectators that it attracts, it's on a par with hurling.

iDave wrote: »
    English people call each other mate. West Brit!

Isn't AWEC from the UK? That's why i called him mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

At least some of ye are well balanced and have a chip on both shoulders.

The local rugby club here in Leitrim is in Carrick on Shannon. Mainly farmers and their sons playing. Most of the lads also play GAA. Not a great team but fitness sport and discipline are great things to learn.

But there again Leitrim and the D4 meedja walk hand in hand don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

OldRio wrote: »
    At least some of ye are well balanced and have a chip on both soldiers.

The local rugby club here in Leitrim is in Carrick on Shannon. Mainly farmers and their sons playing. Most of the lads also play GAA. Not a great team but fitness sport and discipline are great things to learn.

But there again Leitrim and the D4 meedja walk hand in hand don't they?

You're the scourge of the working class, you entitled landed gentry. You and your D4 mates.

Isn't AWEC from the UK? That's why i called him mate

Don't true Gaels consider Ulster to be Irish?

Does awec consider himself a true Gael?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

You're the scourge of the working class, you entitled landed gentry. You and your D4 mates.

Landed ?

Bogged would be a better description

Does awec consider himself a true Gael?

Do you?

Do you?

I'm a true gael. I don't know AWEC. If he's an Ulster rugby supporter then I'd imagine he's of the Unionist persuasion.

Like Tommy Bowe.

Sure if your a 'true gael' you wouldn't say hes from the UK if hes from Ulster

Anyway I'm from Meath frequent both the RDS and Pairc Tailteann as often as I can. I watch a combination of premiership, LOI and can be seen also in Lansdowne Road to cheer on Martin O'Neills boys. What am I? A posh D4 head working class barstolling bogger perhaps.

Like Tommy Bowe.

Anyway I'm from Meath frequent both the RDS and Pairc Tailteann as often as I can. I watch a combination of premiership, LOI and can be seen also in Lansdowne Road to cheer on Martin O'Neills boys. What am I? A posh D4 head working class bogger perhaps.

Tommy Bowe isn't from the 6 counties which provide most of the Ravenhill support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tommy Bowe isn't from the 6 counties which provide most of the Ravenhill support.

Now I believe we are getting to the crux of the issue.

Bring back rule 27!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Nope, sadly i feel these are a certain postera actual feelings on the issue..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Logie-1

I'm from Ulster, i'm an Ulster Rugby season ticket holder, i'm also a fully paid up member of the GAA and guess what? I am not of the "Unionist persuasion"

Listen folks, wind your necks in, its a sport and a damm good one at that, it is there to be enjoyed by all, if its not your cup of tea then why not put your time and effort into the sport that you do enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭blackwhite

It doesn't matter what county they're in. The Kearneys went to Clongowes which is about €10k+ a year. I doubt they're the normal "down the country" type

And the mask slips...........

Someone's family makes sacrifices to give them a better education and watch the prejudice start to flow from the begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

So HooohRaaah is a posh boy from South Dublin railing against other posh boys from South Dublin because they used to slag him for not playing the same sport as him?

This really is quite fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Riskymove wrote: »
    if the schools in those places starting playing rugby then maybe we might

there are plenty of players from working class backgrounds in Munster...why?...cause some schools in those areas have established teams

Rugby is expanding its base in recent years and a lot more kids are playing it so eventually we will see players from all around
    It wont be the schools iot will be the clubs in those area's that get players up playing at the top levels of the sport.
    There are plenty of players from the non traditional area's(not working class/upper class or any of that s***e) making it due to the work of the clubs and the development staff/volunteers in the clubs primarily not in schools.