Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

I don't. ;)

Well then you have nothing to worry about :)
    I hate that status thing too tbh. Nobody gives a schit! *clicks like so they will like me in real life* :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,117 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

RTE Radio (and others) turning abbreviations into words. Current one is of course the Garda Ombudsman ie G.S.O.C. this has become G-sock. Is it that hard to say G S O C

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Another thing that annoys me is Facebook, especially when people post status' about good things that happened to them (ie, fishing!). The way I go about it is tell people who I want to know, by text/call/whatever. When you actually think about it, who knows who can access information through your FB/friend of a friends FB. :eek:

God dammit, too early in the morning for this craic, read the above as fisting and thought "Shivers you filthy minx! :D", second reading I realised "Ohh shiii... fishing!"... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

macplato wrote: »
    People who litter on the DART. The other day I was sitting opposite a young female who took a candy out of her bag, unwrapped it, put the candy in her mouth and threw the wrapper on the floor. My blood boils! Another day, another woman pealed an orange and threw the peal under her seat :mad:

People who put their feet on seats, too. Ugggh!
    when I come to power, these people will be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Walking in town the other day, passing Easons and I see a girl standing up against the wall eating McDonalds out of a bag. She crumples the whole thing up and just f*cks it on the ground and starts walking away.

Queue me shouting after her, 'you dropped something' and glaring at her knowingly until she saunters back for it . My mam is gas'if you get us killed ill murder you' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭larko

The big fat eastern european guy who gets on my bus.... no matter where I sit he sits beside me cutting off circulation to one of my arms. Buts thats not the annoying bit.

I swear he puts a dry rub of tobacco all over himself in the morning before he sets off. Pure stink. From reading boards I thought our eastern neighbours were supposed to be hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

RTE Radio (and others) turning abbreviations into words. Current one is of course the Garda Ombudsman ie G.S.O.C. this has become G-sock. Is it that hard to say G S O C

Gee-sock. Sounds like an Irish contraceptive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Sc*mbags. They are so volatile and reactive sometimes. Nearly ploughed into two who were pushing a buggy at 90 mph last night, probably on their way to get a fix somewhere. Instead of saying "excuse me" or "sorry" or "excuse you" like normal, civilised people, they started hurling abuse at me. All sorts of obscenities. I'm looking at them thinking, God love you if this is the only way you can communictae. Yer one was hysterical, shrieking "thats a fuucking child in that buggy!!" and I'm thinking, yeah a child that will be brought up on benefits, sent out to play on the street while you drink and score, and in all likelihood would be better off removed from your care and given to people who actually want a child. B*stards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

macplato wrote: »
    People who litter on the DART. The other day I was sitting opposite a young female who took a candy out of her bag, unwrapped it, put the candy in her mouth and threw the wrapper on the floor. My blood boils! Another day, another woman pealed an orange and threw the peal under her seat :mad:

People who put their feet on seats, too. Ugggh!

The seat must have been ringing:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The fact that days 14-17 can't last the entire month :rolleyes: Absolutely love ovulation but alas it's effects are short lived :mad:

"Paco Rabanne got me through my first date"......................piss off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

People trying to cross the road,a few inches away from the lights.Walk up a few inches you would have been across already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    "Paco Rabanne got me through my first date"......................piss off!!

No? Surely it must have been your razor-sharp wit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

This always grates on me; people in their 20s calling their younger sibling (who's like 3 or less years apart) their little brother/sister. It's very cringy.
    It's something I stopped doing when I was 12. My brothers are similar in age to me, I couldn't imagine calling them my 'little brothers' though.:

That reminds me of a girl I used to work with who referred to herself as the 'baby' of the office because she was the youngest member of staff. She was in her bloody twenties, and it sounded ridiculous.

Wotsername wrote: »
    No? Surely it must have been your razor-sharp wit?

It was my stunning good looks, charm and empathy for other people............and Brut:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

It was my stunning good looks, charm and empathy for other people............and Brut:D

Bit of an oxymoron eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Thanks a mil.
    God I hate when people say that!

I know it's been done to death.....

I sometimes think mobile phones are the work of the devil and should be banned! I just had to listen to ten minutes of a child bawling it's head off, obviously in distress, while it's owner/minder had what seemed like a pointless, drawn out yak on the phone which went like "yeah,, yeah, mmmm, yeah, really, no, no, I dunno, maybe, shure yill have to ass her yerself, no, no, ok then, later"

But then I went in to a shop, guy in front has a few bit and pieces, and was perusing the "impulse buys" at the counter.

Guy: "how much are they?"
    Girl at tll: "Fifty cent each"
    Guy" Will you give me three for one euro?"

Girl: "No"

Pure magic, and made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Guy: "how much are they?"
    Girl at tll: "Fifty cent each"
    Guy" Will you give me three for one euro?"

Girl: "No"

I like this girl :pac:

You do something for someone as a courtesy one day, and the next day they simply expect you to do the same thing for them again.

Granted I could've said "no", but I'm not one to see anyone left in a tight spot either, and due to the fact she's about to drop another one any day now I said I might as well collect her child from school while I was collecting my own.

Not particularly happy about the last-minute "Just calling to remind you to collect <my child> from school"...

Wouldn't like to see the child left stranded at the school either... damn! :mad:

Give em an inch and they take a mile, my old man always says....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

WikiHow wrote: »
    The morning horn.

There's a thread for that.:pac:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88889482

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

The term "these days".

Music is crap these days.

Kids have no respect these days.

Things aren't made to last these days.

Blah blah blah

As if the good old days were some sort of utopia :rolleyes:

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    People recording everything on a night out. I'm almost afraid to log into facebook in case I see a photo of myself doing something stupid.

Theres a ****ing prick in work thats allways at this.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The term "these days".

Blah blah blah

If you told that to the kids nowadays, they would not believe you:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

urbanledge wrote: »

Nightclubs that hire a photographer to take pictures of everyone. There he or she is, walking around wearing a raincoat, yes indoors, and a look on their face that says, I'm going to blackmail you with these photos.

urbanledge wrote: »

Should use the same approach as one of my mates, quiet girl, you wouldn't expect it of her (which made it even funnier) when some guy came up to her in the club and was getting ready to take a picture when she burst out -

"GET THAT PHONE OUT OF MY FACE OR I'LL SHOVE IT UP YOUR HOLE!!"

Shocked expressions all round, I think she even shocked herself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Should use the same approach as one of my mates, quiet girl, you wouldn't expect it of her (which made it even funnier) when some guy came up to her in the club and was getting ready to take a picture when she burst out -

"GET THAT PHONE OUT OF MY FACE OR I'LL SHOVE IT UP YOUR HOLE!!"

Shocked expressions all round, I think she even shocked herself :D

Strong is she with the Force. :cool:

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The term "these days".

Blah blah blah

There's a coincidence! I was just reading this post while listening to this on my phone -

Great song :D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    There's a coincidence! I was just reading this post while listening to this on my phone -

Great song :D

*scratches Czarcasm's name from cool person list*

:p