Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

EireGun wrote: »
    Their wifi security was undoubtedly comprised, however the minister claims they didn't use the wifi that was hacked (it was in a conference room), because no one knew the password (typical civil service wastage). Who knows whether or not the wifi was ever actually used by those in the GSOC office. I expect to learn more tomorrow at the Oireachtas hearing and more published this weekend in the Sunday Times.

Don't expect very much from the committee tomorrow. It will be the GSOC speaking in puzzles like "electronic anomolies" and the members grandstanding and making speeches about extraneous issues like penalty points.

And if Mooney's effort next Sunday is anything like last Sunday it will be another masterpiece in non information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

knird evol wrote: »
    I think the phrase originates from the journalist who came out with the story. I was listening to him on the rte radio news when asked what exactly it meant. He paused and seemed a bit miffed by the question then said 'Let's just say I'm satisfied that it is..." To be fair he added that he had a lot of experience in the field and had I think had written a book. But nevertheless the "satisfaction" of a journalist aside I have to wonder is there any software or hardware or knowledge in this day and age that is exclusive to governments?

However if the technology and application is expensive then it does narrow the field. I would say to an individual or group within the Gardai, a criminal group or a staged attack by GSOC. With the first being by far the most likely.
    Phoebas wrote: »
    Do the podcasts have Mooney explicitly saying that he had sight of the security report?

Because if he is saying that he did and is basing his story on actual sight of the report then that would be a game changer.
    But I haven't seen or heard anywhere him saying that he saw the report.

not as such.:mad:..see above ^^^
    he must have seen it...he is hardly going to scrafise his reputation on the word of someone else!!

gsoc surly have the report - release it...this is only way to end it....someone better up can analise it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

How long was the network up and running before it was 'detected'? 'Exact same time' is disingenuous if it was online for 3 months before hand.

How long was the wifi compromised for before being discovered?

In reality a series of potentially long running events overlapped. They did not 'happen' at exactly the sane time.

The exact times weren't released, but the UK security company came in for 1 week and discovered all these occurrences at the same time. Apart from the wifi, it's highly unlikely to say definitely how long their conference phone was being possibly monitored, as there wouldn't be any evidence left. With the wifi, the data was immediately deleted off it once whoever carried this out was discovered, as well as the GSM cell tower being shut down. That sounds like a coordinated attempt to spy on GSOC to me.

I wouldn't totally rule anything else out, but seeing as the GSM cell tower was shut down immediately when the UK security company ruffled the wifi and phone, points towards it also being controlled by those who carried out this spying op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

he must have seen it...he is hardly going to scrafise his reputation on the word of someone else!!

Here again we have assumption that he saw the report. Nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

gsoc surly have the report - release it...this is only way to end it....someone better up can analise it:D

There is no question of him sacrificing his reputation. If the whole story was a set up and he was fed a lie from some parties with grudges he can just say he published it in good faith. The Sunday papers are full of such stuff which nobody remembers a month later.

Here again we have assumption that he saw the report. Nothing more.

would you assume he throw away his reputation on bad/made up information:confused:
    espially when he is up against the gaurds (as if it was bugged as alleged no one else would have reason to do it)

there is something serious amiss with whats reported and whats being put out...just hope it wont take 30years to come out
    it would be great to hear the truth on what exactly was discovered

There is no question of him sacrificing his reputation. If the whole story was a set up and he was fed a lie from some parties with grudges he can just say he published it in good faith. The Sunday papers are full of such stuff which nobody remembers a month later.

yes..i would hope for his sake its the truth...
    he would seem to believe he is on solid ground with such a dangerous accusation...because if its true it should lead to resignations at the minimum

I wouldn't totally rule anything else out, but seeing as the GSM cell tower was shut down immediately when the UK security company ruffled the wifi and phone, points towards it also being controlled by those who carried out this spying op.

A WiFi device being used to hack an organisation that doesn't have a WiFi network. A single instance of a telephone ringing after a test being done on it and a 3g network somewhere in the city that no GSOC personnel were equipped to connect to.

These 'government level' attackers would be better off putting an empty glass up to the window.

A WiFi device being used to hack an organisation that doesn't have a WiFi network. A single instance of a telephone ringing after a test being done on it and a 3g network somewhere in the city that no GSOC personnel were equipped to connect to.

These 'government level' attackers would be better off putting an empty glass up to the window.

complete shut-down of all 3 at the same time would suggest something is amiss???
    surly they would have done a signal test...(may need someone better up on this than me:()

yes..i would hope for his sake its the truth...
    he would seem to believe he is on solid ground with such a dangerous accusation...because if its true it should lead to resignations at the minimum

So the best the GSOC can come up with is:

“electronic anomalies” which could not be “conclusively explained”.

And that the Gardai did nothing wrong. The Gardai themselves from the Commissioner down say they did nothing wrong. And the Minister for Justice says there is no evidence of bugging.

So who will you believe, all of those parties or a journalist? OK I know I shouldn't ask a question like that on AH.

would you assume he throw away his reputation on bad/made up information:confused:

'cos newspapers would never go to print with a juicy story without being 100% certain on their 'facts'? That would be unthinkable, wouldn't it?

And that the Gardai did nothing wrong. The Gardai themselves from the Commissioner down say they did nothing wrong. And the Minister for Justice says there is no evidence of bugging.

So who will you believe, all of those parties or a journalist? OK I know I shouldn't ask a question like that on AH.

journalist TBH
    not a minister which came out a didn't know the law in relation to gsoc
    or gaurds who are attempting to get to get an independent body to resign
    and you need on only look at carry on of commissioner at the PAC to see what most people think of him!!!

or else the international company which came in at nighttime to investigate this
    only answer is release the report...they all stand to gain from it coming out surly???

'cos newspapers would never go to print with a juicy story without being 100% certain on their 'facts'? That would be unthinkable, wouldn't it?

AFAIK I was always led to believe sunday times was a paper on good record??

its not the sunday world your on about...

I share your disappointment.

its not the sunday world your on about...

Last Sunday they published a correction apologising for printing that Marco Pierre White had made headlines for drugs, which they now accept is completely false. They are like any other paper when it comes to political stories "sources said" and so on. I remember their story from 2012 which said that homeowners would be charged €300 for water meters, again false.

Maybe you are too young to remember the Hitler Diaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Paul Williams kicking himself he didn't get the scoop from his 'sources'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The guards and their commissioner are not the standard to which we set honesty.

steddyeddy wrote: »

We? Are you a journalist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

steddyeddy wrote: »

I would have to agree with you steddyeddy. I am having serious trouble these days trusting any full-time member of An Garda Síochána with a pencil, never mind anything of moral importance when backs against the wall.

Have another read of this
    ... the Garda remained a force where “loyalty is prized over honesty”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I am having serious trouble these days trusting any full-time member of An Garda Síochána with a pencil, never mind anything of moral importance when backs against the wall.
    Why do you distrust any guard at all just because they're a guard?

Completely ludicrous to view them all as being corrupt/potentially corrupt.

Verrimus (UK security firm) says the likelihood of what they found at GSOC HQ being innocent was "close to zero", according to GSOC Commissioner Kieran Fitzgerald...

http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article30001145.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/Three+Anomalies+IPAD.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Kind of easy to single out the suspects. Who would gain the most by listening in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

association of garda sergeants and inspectors calling for resignations at GSOC.

The cheek of those bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

who_ru wrote: »
    association of garda sergeants and inspectors calling for resignations at GSOC.

The cheek of those bastards.

GSOC? Aye.

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Kind of easy to single out the suspects. Who would gain the most by listening in?

Honest answer? GSOC, as they have used it to discredit the GS.

Verrimus (UK security firm) says the likelihood of what they found at GSOC HQ being innocent was "close to zero", according to GSOC Commissioner Kieran Fitzgerald...

http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article30001145.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/Three+Anomalies+IPAD.png

Let's not take his word on what the report allegedly says. He's certainly a slippery one, based on his performance on Prime Time last night.

Their wifi security was undoubtedly comprised, however the minister claims they didn't use the wifi that was hacked (it was in a conference room), because no one knew the password (typical civil service wastage). Who knows whether or not the wifi was ever actually used by those in the GSOC office. I expect to learn more tomorrow at the Oireachtas hearing and more published this weekend in the Sunday Times.

Huh? GSOC don't even have a WiFi network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

No I'm a scientist so I tend to look for evidence based conclusions. I don't find many that disagree with my conclusion about massive dishonesty in the guards as an organisation. I certainely don't see them as being a barometer of honesty as an orginisation.