Been to many weddings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Bajillions of them.

Never knew you played the organ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Pain in my arse with them at this stage. Probably been to 12 in the last two-and-a-half years and have four to go to this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I have been to about 5 weddings since I was 18 - that spans about 30 odd years. My generation (i.e. the people I hung around with) either didn't get married or had very small weddings. Only 2 of those were traditional Irish weddings with church and hotel and reception, white dresses, thrown bouquets etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I've been to about 5 or 6 as a child, afters mostly. Only 2 as an adult.

They have all been relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Last one I was at was back in '08, a close friend of mine from school days. Really didnt want to go, just cant stand weddings. Made a decision to avoid them like the plague unless it's for people who really matter to me in my life. Not just for relative's I see once in a blue moon etc etc. Kind of wish I was one of those people who liked them or just didnt mind enduring them, but they bring me out in a rash almost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

A big fat 0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Weddings are a pain in the bollix.

I've stopped making uo excuses and I just don't bother my hole any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Agricola wrote: »
    Last one I was at was back in '08, a close friend of mine from school days. Really didnt want to go, just cant stand weddings. Made a decision to avoid them like the plague unless it's for people who really matter to me in my life. Not just for relative's I see once in a blue moon etc etc. Kind of wish I was one of those people who liked them or just didnt mind enduring them, but they bring me out in a rash almost.

You might want to consider rephrasing that statement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Thought you'd be going on about banging the bridesmaids etc Wacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Get asked to quite a lot, rarely go. Hate weddings.

Does palm ever want to go with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

I had 4 in 12 days last year. In 3 countries aswell...mad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I'm 30 and I've only been to 2 proper weddings. A good friend is getting married in August so I'm off to that. It'll be the 1st wedding I've been to in 22 years. I have acted as a witness for 2 strangers in the past once as well but I'm not counting that. I worked at a beauty spot in Canada a few years ago where weddings were not uncommon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Specialun wrote: »
    Does palm ever want to go with you

I thought it was Bow-Wow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭roofer1988

so lads how do ye get out of goin to these weddings. never being to one but have 5 this year. want to go to 4 buy dont want to go to one. excuses are scarce as they know my every move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

3 this year but last time I was at one before this year was 2 years ago.

Been to about 20 odd overall I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Me bros wedding and 3 of me mates may they rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I think I've been to about 5, in my 39 years... was at one last year, but prior to that was about 7/8 years! Have been to four hen parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

been at 2 or 3 for each of the last 5 ish years....i'd say maybe 15-20 overall
    I thought myself and Ms Brinty were getting away with none this year then two couples we know got engaged over Christmas and weddings are going to be this year - Oct and Dec/Jan
    Funny thing is two of our friends have about 5/6 every year without fail..god help them when they get married, the wedings will be massive...or they'll elope ;)
    Wasn't at a wedding until I was 22 and I was best man at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

About 12 in 4 different countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Can't remember how many. Somewhere in the teens I guess.

I hate the flipping things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

roofer1988 wrote: »
    so lads how do ye get out of goin to these weddings. never being to one but have 5 this year. want to go to 4 buy dont want to go to one. excuses are scarce as they know my every move.

I find unavoidable project deadlines are a great excuse. 'Having' to work over a big go live is invaluable at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

3 in total ever, and another 2 I didn't go to. I love weddings, my friends just aren't the marrying kind ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I've only been to two but have turned down a couple in the last few months. They are shock expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

i have been to 5 and i am 27,

one was my own though, so i am not sure that counts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

TheShizz wrote: »
    They just tell you it's a on a Thursday so you don't attend, because I've never heard of someone actually having a wedding on a week day.

Lucky you. I once had back-to-back midweek weddings. Tuesday and Wednesday. Was Best Man at the the Wednesday one so couldn't quite abuse the free bar on the Tuesday as much as I'd like.

I'll be around the 20 mark. Maybe a little past it now. Got four in the diary for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I'm 27 and I've been to 12 weddings, all first cousins. None of my friends or siblings are married yet. All my aunts/uncles were married before I was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Been to two on average every year over the last five years. Mostly summer weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Deedeecupcake

I clocked up most of my weddings before I was 10! My parents married young (I was at that one too :p ) so I was dragged to lots of friends weddings as a child. Somewhere in the teens anyways, but only went to 2 after I was 10 I think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Have been dragged to a few weddings by GF over last year. All and all I would have to say they are the biggest load of old fashioned bull****. The after's are a good laugh after you've eaten the dinner and you can get pissed.

The ceremony itself is such a load of bollox. To me they are a boring chore. I only go if have been specifically asked or its a member of my family getting married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Fanny Brioscaí

I've been to 9 weddings so far and i can only remember one of been them a let down. I have another two weddings coming in the next 5 monthsl