Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

No Pants wrote: »
    I didn't even know they provided this service.

It's been going for quite a number of years now. Great addition to the force.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garda_Air_Support_Unit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I didn't even know they provided this service.

Oh yes. It's an excellent service. They do windows as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

It's been going for quite a number of years now. Great addition to the force.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garda_Air_Support_Unit
    Article obviously needs updating, there's no mention of it.

I suppose if you got close enough to the rotors it would have the right effect :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

osarusan wrote: »
    It's not only this poster either.

Rubbish on the streets? Can't move your car? Noisy? Broken agreement? Not my problem, move if you don't like it.

Sickening stuff.

Yeah imagine those inconsiderate people asking for a bit of peace and quiet like EVERY citizen is entitled to, shame on them:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think it needs to be pointed out at this juncture that Garth Brooks is pure sheit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I haven't heard such tosh in a long time. Not able to get to Dublin by 3pm because there's no transport?? I'd say there's not many places on the island that this is a serious complaint. Of course you'll have to make it to your nearest town under your own power if you live out in the sticks, but that goes for what ever time you need to leave at. How do all the peops from Donegal manage to get down for the football, or the far reaches of Kerry for that matter. They get up early. They make arrangements. If they really need to they travel up the night before. You seem completely to ignore anybody elses wants but your own. A reasonable suggestion was made for a compromise, that in my mind, is still very hard on the residents, but no, you might be inconvenienced by getting out of the scratcher for the early bus.

Why on earth would Mayo people need to get to Galway first, unless they got lost along the way. They have busses and trains in Mayo, hell, they even have an airport.

Get up off your arse and grow a pair for god sake.

A reasonable suggestion and I think it's a brillant idea has been provided here as in moving the concerts times to an earlier slot.

And you still aren't happy with that with 'still hard on the residents'.

It must have been a huge shock to you to wake up one morning and suddenly find an 82,000 seater stadium next door to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

bumper234 wrote: »
    Yeah imagine those inconsiderate people asking for a bit of peace and quiet like EVERY citizen is entitled to, shame on them:rolleyes:

Or the cheek of us expecting an ambulance or fire brigade to be able to access our street.

roadsmart wrote: »
    Or the cheek of us expecting an ambulance or fire brigade to be able to access our street.

Ambulances and fire bridages will not be blocked. Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,114 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

you would be the best serviced street in dublin that week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭ronjo

A reasonable suggestion and I think it's a brillant idea has been provided here as in moving the concerts times to an earlier slot.

It must have been a huge shock to you to wake up one morning and suddenly find an 82,000 seater stadium next door to you.

did you notice your fellow Garth fan on the thread wouldnt accept this reasonable and brilliant idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Concert goers has no control over public transport.

Im just sayin that it will be difficult to be in Dublin for 3 or 4 pm for alot of people.

What do you want them to do? But then its clear you couldn't care less what they do. They paid for a ticket, not you.

This is a remarkable post. Money talks! if Irish rail need to put on trains earlier, they put on trains earlier, happen for every big match in croker. Alot of local bus companies will be cleaning up for this, do you think if they have to leave a couple of hours earlier, it will make any difference?

Hotel check in times? Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭Macy0161

This is a remarkable post. Money talks! if Irish rail need to put on trains earlier, they put on trains earlier, happen for every big match in croker. Alot of local bus companies will be cleaning up for this, do you think if they have to leave a couple of hours earlier, it will make any difference?
    An earlier start time would make it easier to get home after the performance by public transport too.

Eh, hello? I was answering HLW and acknowledged that it was a reasonable suggestion, while also recognising that there would still be major inconvenience to the residents ("A reasonable suggestion was made for a compromise, that in my mind, is still very hard on the residents")

It was HLW who deemed this 'compromise' to be unreasonable, so go take a pot shot at her.

FYI, I don't live beside Croke Park or any other stadium. But I can recognise the difficulties and empathise with those that do. Unlike some others on this thread who seem completely narcissistic and self centred.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They have been in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,114 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I think the gigs should go ahead as it would be beneficial for the economy. I also think the garth brooks fans should shut the F** up and get up of their arses and expect to get to gig early...

This is not a normal gig where fans know what to do and where to go....

you would be the best serviced street in dublin that week

I've already stated this earlier in the thread, but neither of you have bothered to read or heed it, so here goes again.
    I live just outside the cordon, and every time there is a major event in croke park the street I live on is hampered by bad parking, resulting in a situation where any large emergency vehicle would be unable to gain access to the road. I do not care whether some idiot on an Internet forum accepts it or not, it is a fact acknowledged by DCC, Croke Park and the Gardai. Several attempts have been made to address the problem by DCC, and the Gardai are sympathetic when called, but they cannot be there all the time, and as soon as one vehicle is towed another takes its place. Croke Park and DCC could solve the problem for the entire area by planning park and ride facilities, but in the short term this situation puts people and property at risk.
    And before anyone starts again, I am NOT looking for any form of compensation whatsoever, I just want the safety of my family and neighbours taken into consideration when planning these events.

spurious wrote: »
    They have been in the past.

Can you please provide proof that emergency services has been blocked to residents surrounding croke park? Was it reported in the news?

I find it very hard to believe that emergency services are blocked.

My villages once a year gets shut down due to a triathlon. The main road is closed and the bus service doesn't run during the times. Both sides of the road are taken up with people parking (even though it's not allowed) but never has an emergency vehicle been blocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

yes they should

I've already stated this earlier in the thread, but neither of you have bothered to read or heed it, so here goes again.
    I live just outside the cordon, and every time there is a major event in croke park the street I live on is hampered by bad parking, resulting in a situation where any large emergency vehicle would be unable to gain access to the road. I do not care whether some idiot on an Internet forum accepts it or not, it is a fact acknowledged by DCC, Croke Park and the Gardai. Several attempts have been made to address the problem by DCC, and the Gardai are sympathetic when called, but they cannot be there all the time, and as soon as one vehicle is towed another takes its place. Croke Park and DCC could solve the problem for the entire area by planning park and ride facilities, but in the short term this situation puts people and property at risk.
    And before anyone starts again, I am NOT looking for any form of compensation whatsoever, I just want the safety of my family and neighbours taken into consideration when planning these events.

As a resident inside the Cordon, we're laboured with the noise I suppose. Look I knew the deal when I bought there, so its something that never bothers me. I totally understand your situation outside the cordon, that people just don't care where they park. I'm not sure there is a solution, other than to extend the cordon (which could be very troublesome) or do what they did for the ryder cup and events like that, and allow nobody near the place.

I think if people are told not to drive to the event - there is no parking etc. etc. in D3 or anywhere near, they might heed it. But then again, some people just dont care. And again, some places make alot of money out of parking (clonliffe college charge €10 a car!).

The parking outside of the cordon is an ongoing issue and I hope they find some solution for you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Can you please provide proof that emergency services has been blocked to residents surrounding croke park? Was it reported in the news?

I find it very hard to believe that emergency services are blocked.

My villages once a year gets shut down due to a triathlon. The main road is closed and the bus service doesn't run during the times. Both sides of the road are taken up with people parking (even though it's not allowed) but never has an emergency vehicle been blocked.

The cars in question were towed before it became an event that would have been reported in the media. Another poster has described what happens when the guards are called. I don't know why you persist in not believing people posting their experiences of it. It's as if you have some vested interest in saying there is no issue. Again, we are outside the cordon, where the problems have been pushed. I have no interest in free tickets for matches or anything, not that we have ever been offered any, but I do want to know that an ambulance or fire brigade can get to us or our neighbours if needed and I make no apology for contacting the guards every time to remove cars blocking the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

You should have mentioned your unrelated anecdotal evidence earlier. It would have ended the debate and saved people a lot of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

5 nights in a row is a bit much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭ronjo

Eh, hello? I was answering HLW and acknowledged that it was a reasonable suggestion, while also recognising that there would still be major inconvenience to the residents ("A reasonable suggestion was made for a compromise, that in my mind, is still very hard on the residents")

It was HLW who deemed this 'compromise' to be unreasonable, so go take a pot shot at her.

FYI, I don't live beside Croke Park or any other stadium. But I can recognise the difficulties and empathise with those that do. Unlike some others on this thread who seem completely narcissistic and self centred.

No pot shots going that way as you suggested........ well theres a surprise !

As a resident inside the Cordon, we're laboured with the noise I suppose. Look I knew the deal when I bought there, so its something that never bothers me. I totally understand your situation outside the cordon, that people just don't care where they park. I'm not sure there is a solution, other than to extend the cordon (which could be very troublesome) or do what they did for the ryder cup and events like that, and allow nobody near the place.

I think if people are told not to drive to the event - there is no parking etc. etc. in D3 or anywhere near, they might heed it. But then again, some people just dont care. And again, some places make alot of money out of parking (clonliffe college charge €10 a car!).

The parking outside of the cordon is an ongoing issue and I hope they find some solution for you.

This is another brillant idea to combat any parking issues. To ban it entirely around croke park for events. I'm sure there would be plenty of places outside of the city for parking, and then one can make their way into and out from the city using public transport.

I suggested that pages ago. What do you think park and ride means?

I should be chairperson of the residents committee, i come up with all the good ideas :D

between the earlier gigs and banning parking....who know where this can go.

The residents committee from what I have seen (coming to my door) are some grizzly folk, not sure how they are going to react to a smooth talking 30 something wearing a suit offering suggestions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

I suggested that pages ago. What do you think park and ride means?

Dogging?

mathie wrote: »
    Dogging?

It might to her, but not to me in this discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I am NOT looking for any form of compensation whatsoever, I just want the safety of my family and neighbours taken into consideration when planning these events.

Ah come on now we all know you are just playing hard ball so you get compo because your an ambulance chaser . Will be the response you receive now .
    That shouldn't even have to be taken into consideration at all . Everyone deserve to feel safe in their own home .