Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

:pac::pac:
    if what is being inferred/suggested by this journalist ''electronic anomalies'' is the least serious way of putting this

like saying if nuclear bomb attack on dublin that the iodine tablets will save you:rolleyes::rolleyes:!!!

The GSOC statement is mighty vague, but inferences and suggestions from a journalist is another league of vagueness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

They wouldn't have to go public. Just report it to the Mininster.

Anyway I have a theory. Some disaffected Garda/Gardai let out the whisper that GSOC was being bugged. GSOC spent €18,000 in bringing in consultants to indentify some "electronic anomolies", meaning there wasn't anything there. Disaffected Gardai contact the Sunday Times to give them the story. Cue embarrassment for the GSOC and the widespread impression being given that they do not trust the Gardai or the Government enough to report an apparent crime being committed on their premises.

€18,000 is a reasonable figure for a week-long counterintelligence operation carried about by a British firm during the cover of darkness. Lot of equipment involved in a TCSM operation (http://www.iiiweb.net/images/eqpbig/swp_big_2.jpg). Sunday Times says they've spent €50,000 on upgrading their cyber security and now have a "clean room" which can't be bugged. Reasonable figures to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭legrand

The Garda Commissionaire demands to know from GSOC why his force is suspected of involvement in the bugging.

Is this guy for real? His arrogance is just simply incredible.

Oh I know - it a GSOC plot where they planted the kit and its all a big setup to embarrass the Guards.

When is Shatter going to fire his ass? On a serious note - we deserve better than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

For the sake of all of our entertainment, I hope this gets juicier by the week.

If it awkwardly stutters to a halt I'm going to be very disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

EireGun wrote: »
    €18,000 is a reasonable figure for a week-long counterintelligence operation carried about by a British firm during the cover of darkness. Lot of equipment involved in a TCSM operation (http://www.iiiweb.net/images/eqpbig/swp_big_2.jpg). Sunday Times says they've spent €50,000 on upgrading their cyber security and now have a "clean room" which can't be bugged.

Should have got these boys to do Irish Water, cheap as chips.

19543261 wrote: »

No doubt it will if the Sunday Times reveals even more next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

legrand wrote: »
    The Garda Commissionaire demands to know from GSOC why his force is suspected of involvement in the bugging.

If you were suspected of committing a serious offence wouldn't you demand to know why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

The Garda Commissionaire .....When is Shatter going to fire his ass?

All the top echelons of AGS are political appointees. Their jobs are awarded directly by Government. Why would the govt sack their own people. If someone in AGS is involved in this why would you think it was Callinan. He personally has no involvement in any GSOC investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

This is will what will happen...expect it too be fumbled about using extreme vagueness ie electronic anamolies:rolleyes::rolleyes:...any normal country this would be a massive story...only hope is if said journalist don't back down/become subjected to a massive smear campaign
    ...at least he wont be sacked for asking questions of the gaurds:cool:
    The GSOC statement is mighty vague, but inferences and suggestions from a journalist is another league of vagueness.

Well it was always going to be damage limitation/extreme tightening of the lesh after the meeting with the government TBF

cant have them looking foolish...you need only see them not care about the bugging accusations and more about not being told!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

MadYaker wrote: »
    Read between the lines ffs. What they meant is that the Gardai weren't involved in any official capacity, but from the evidence available its pretty obvious that members of the Gardai acting in their own personal interests would be the main suspects in any investigation.

This has Threadstone written all over it. Don't know what those assholes in Langley are up to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

We took the difficult decision not to report this matter to other parties. We did not wish to point fingers unnecessarily and we did not believe that widespread reporting would be conducive to public confidence.

Public confidence in who.

GSOC shouldn't have a responsibility of evaluating the effects of releasing information to the public.

This is will what will happen...expect it too be fumbled about using extreme vagueness ie electronic anamolies:rolleyes::rolleyes:...any normal country this would be a massive story...only hope is if said journalist don't back down/become subjected to a massive smear campaign
    ...at least he wont be sacked for asking questions of the gaurds:cool:

Well it was always going to be damage limitation/extreme tightening of the lesh after the meeting with the government TBF

cant have them looking foolish...you need only see them not care about the bugging accusations and more about not being told!!

Is America a normal country? Over there this government level technology is in the hands of local police forces.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

How much a year are these bozos being paid? Either the place was bugged or it wasn't. **** or get off the pot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,648 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Don't know whether John Mooney had access to the report by Verrimus. But, yes he did state that the level of technology used would be beyond the reach of individuals, criminals or terrorists, and was indicative of a government agency. On radio, he suggested that we should look no further than our own state, and that the fact the IP address of one of the hacking devices was traced back to Britain could be used as a "diversion". He says GSM cell tower spoofing occurred, which is generally local physical equipment, and costs up to and over half a million euro..

where did i read a story that the gardai were doing this in limerick

Public confidence in who.

GSOC shouldn't have a responsibility of evaluating the effects of releasing information to the public.

I presume he meant public confidence in GSOC.
    Who'd go to them with a serious complaint against AGS if they thought 3rd parties were listening in.

Is America a normal country? Over there this government level technology is in the hands of local police forces.

god no...that's an extreme of weirdness and an overly policed country of all the things in the world I don't want Ireland to end up like that
    1% of population in jail a criminal justice system based on baseball:rolleyes:

and the technology being inferred here is not widely available over there I think....ability to listen to ALL calls in a certain building/area not an individual phone

where did i read a story that the gardai were doing this in limerick

Limerick Leader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Oh I know - it a GSOC plot where they planted the kit and its all a big setup to embarrass the Guards.

When is Shatter going to fire his ass? On a serious note - we deserve better than this.

First thing that came into my head as well. Its not as if GSOC can prove who bugged them, and the Garda Commissioner knows this too well. Coming after his comments about the whistleblowers this clown should be sacked.

Somehow I trust this journalist above the gaurds and government...and what I expect to be a severly tightened leshed GSOC...it should make interesting reading,if this report is ever released....this is surly too big to be swept under carpet

AFAIK The English equililent of GSOC

England & Wales Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Driminagh

This is all rubbish, the GSOC spent 18000 euro and found nothing. Listen to the language used by the GSOC, unexplained anomalies. It is all double speak. They are now trying to justify their actions after making fools of them selves.

Driminagh wrote: »
    This is all rubbish, the GSOC spent 18000 euro and found nothing. Listen to the language used by the GSOC, unexplained anomalies. It is all double speak. They are now trying to justify their actions after making fools of them selves.

Yeah, I know what you mean. I went to the doctor recently for a check up and he told me I was as fit as a trout. I felt like a big eejit. :confused:

Driminagh wrote: »

I'd be far more concerned if they didn't spend the €18,000 to carry out security and counterintelligence sweeps, even if it turned up nothing. 98% of Irish business have experienced a breach of data security according to a security audit report I heard recently. People and businesses in this country are not taking IT security seriously enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,648 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

so the alternate theory is that one of their number was the leak, that they thought was electronic does their statment suggest that

I'd be far more concerned if they didn't spend the €18,000 to carry out security and counterintelligence sweeps, even if it turned up nothing. 98% of Irish business have experienced a breach of data security according to a security audit report I heard recently.

That's the second time, I think, that you have used the word counterintelligence. Are you sure it's appropriate to this discussion?

coun·ter·in·tel·li·gence (koun′tər-ĭn-tĕl′ə-jəns)
    n.
    The branch of an intelligence service charged with keeping sensitive information from an enemy, deceiving that enemy, preventing subversion and sabotage, and collecting political and military information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

rabwaygal wrote: »
    Maybe the security consultancy made it up!!! Would mean extra work/money for them.

Its like when you bring your car to a mechanic. They dont say "All is great, now dont come back for six months"

Commissioner?

That's the second time, I think, that you have used the word counterintelligence. Are you sure it's appropriate to this discussion?

coun·ter·in·tel·li·gence (koun′tər-ĭn-tĕl′ə-jəns)
    n.
    The branch of an intelligence service charged with keeping sensitive information from an enemy, deceiving that enemy, preventing subversion and sabotage, and collecting political and military information.

This is the firm that carried out the sweep: http://www.verrimus-tscm.com/

In their opening statement, they say they carry out "counter espionage" services, which is the same as "counter-intelligence". So, yes, it's entirely appropriate. I'm involved in this industry to a certain extent, so I know what I'm talking about mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

this on Prime time now, RTE1

This is the firm that carried out the sweep: http://www.verrimus-tscm.com/

In their opening statement, they say they carry out "counter espionage" services, which is the same as "counter-intelligence". So, yes, it's entirely appropriate. I'm involved in this industry to a certain extent, so I know what I'm talking about mate.

Do you know what the GSOC are talking about when they mention technical and electronic anomolies?

If I had to guess it's in the thread title/track down podcast of journalist involved...at a guess it's political speak for electronic bugging/tapping

It's all here: http://cdn1.independent.ie/irish-news/article29994519.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/NWS_2014-02-10_NEW_002_30609700_I1.JPG