Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

tritium wrote: »
    Rte reporting that Shatter wants to meet the gsoc- wants to know why he and the Gardai weren't informed,,whybyhey checked for bugs......classic case of looking to blame the victim

The man is a dense arrogant fool. Its pretty obvious that trust between him and the gsoc is gone. By his actions he's shown he has little interest on accountability within the guards. We need a new minister, and I say that as someone who broadly supports this government

I'd love to be a fly on the wall for that conversation.

Shatter: Why the hell didn't you inform me of this security breach?!?!

Ombudsman: Eh.... Because you're a suspect.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

conorhal wrote: »
    I'd love to be a fly on the wall for that conversation.

Shatter: Why the hell didn't you inform me of this security breach?!?!

Ombudsman: Eh.... Because you're a suspect.....

The way it's looking I would say there are a few flys there already....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sometimes Ireland makes a country like Iran look like Disney world.

Just like the current banking investigation, This'll go nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Rte reporting that Shatter wants to meet the gsoc- wants to know why he and the Gardai weren't informed, why they checked for bugs......classic case of looking to blame the victim

The man is a dense arrogant fool. Its pretty obvious that trust between him and the gsoc is gone. By his actions he's shown he has little interest on accountability within the guards. We need a new minister, and I say that as someone who broadly supports this government

Agree with the first part of your point.

But Shatter is far from a fool. I would imagine he is one of the most dangerous enemies you could have in this country right now.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

EireGun wrote: »
    Who could it be? Means. Motive. Opportunity.

The Gardai? Means: Yes. Motive: Hell Yeah. Opportunity: Possibly
    Crime & Security Branch or Special Detective Unit would have to be involved. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_Detective_Unit)

The Defence Forces? Means: Certainly. Motive: Not Really. Opportunity: Possibly.
    The only reason I mention the DF is because they happen to be home to Ireland's intelligence agency, the "Defence Forces Directorate of Intelligence" or "G2" as it used to be well-known as. They have the tech. and are involved in electronic surveillance according to this and newspapers... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Directorate_of_Intelligence_(Ireland)

Nobody else in Ireland with those capabilities.

http://cdn1.independent.ie/irish-news/article29994519.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/NWS_2014-02-10_NEW_002_30609700_I1.JPG

Might I suggest one final possibility?

The IPs used in the bugging are linked to the UK. Many things about this case tie to the UK.

Surely there's a reason for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    the fact that RTE are not reporting this is a feckin disgrace !!!

i just fired this off to the news room - looking forward to their response.

Dear Sir/Madam

It appears that you have failed to include this news (http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1373695.ece?CMP=OTH-gnws-standard-2014_02_08 ) from the 6 one news and your website,
    It must just be an over site i am sure , as to purposely not include this on your news would come across as RTE once again coming across as puppets of the state , and not real journalists but lackeys , and im sure that is not the case.

Looking forward to seeing , hearing and reading all about this on your , sorry MY news service very soon.

A person that pays your wages

If you actually did send that, then I am seriously embarrassed for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Might I suggest one final possibility?

The IPs used in the bugging are linked to the UK. Many things about this case tie to the UK.

Surely there's a reason for that.

Good point. I was thinking about this today, and I wondered whether UK Government security services might have reasons to take an interest in GSOC investigations. The UK intelligence agencies would have very high level surveillance capabilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭richiek83

they already have that ,as well as the power to search lockers and stations and gardas houses etc what they lack is compidence

They do indeed and it's under Section 98 of the Garda Síochána Act 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Those who have been following things will know that there is an obvious suspect, the Garda!

Which one?!?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Good point. I was thinking about this today, and I wondered whether UK Government security services might have reasons to take an interest in GSOC investigations. The UK intelligence agencies would have very high level surveillance capabilities.

I would also suggest that GCHQ has snooped in the past:

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/1999/jul/18/ireland

That's just one example, but that's all the way back in 1999... not sure why in the age of the NSA/Snowden mess we'd think GCHQ isn't interested any more...

Just a thought..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 DistanceVector

Uriel. wrote: »
    If you actually did send that, then I am seriously embarrassed for you.

Why? he/she is acting as a concerned citizen. You are the one that should be embarrassed with a post like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

IT wrote:
    It was also revealed that a second wi-fi system had been used to similarly access material sent and stored electronically by Gsoc staff. That wi-fi led investigators to an internet protocol (IP) address in the UK.
    IT wrote:
    The decision to bring in experts from the UK to check its systems was made when Gsoc consulted with its equivalent organisation in the UK, the British Independent Police Commission.

The Guards bugging the ombudsman doesn't ring true to me. Too much risk for too little return.

The bit above suggests a possible press angle to me. Otherwise G2 or British intelligence (who are no doubt wired into everything of any significance here) and more likely the latter.

Rte reporting that Shatter wants to meet the gsoc- wants to know why he and the Gardai weren't informed, why they checked for bugs......classic case of looking to blame the victim

There is a significant difference between what a minister says and what a minister thinks. It is a pretty obvious question to ask too. It appears as though a serious crime has been committed, so the natural course is to inform the guards. My reading of it is that he is raging to be only hearing about this now and in this way, because it suggests very publicly that there is a breakdown between the GS and the ombudsman.

And anyone who thinks that Shatter would be happy with the idea of the guards going around bugging the ombudsman is very naive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

skywalker wrote: »
    Agree with the first part of your point.

But Shatter is far from a fool. I would imagine he is one of the most dangerous enemies you could have in this country right now.

+ 1...a man who controls the gaurds more or less...need only look at how he used inside information against that tool Wallace from wexford...

he will have no hassle finding out who is up against him and if they are whiter than white

Gambas wrote: »
    The Guards bugging the ombudsman doesn't ring true to me. Too much risk for too little return.

The bit above suggests a possible press angle to me. Otherwise G2 or British intelligence (who are no doubt wired into everything of any significance here) and more likely the latter.

only risky if they suspect they will be caught....I think their after being out-smarted by the ombudsman...only thing to see who will take the blame for this...if no one they it is a disgrace...it would be nothing short of saying the buggers/whoever they are;) are above the law (AFAIK you need court approval to bug,and if they haven't this someone is going to be in serious bother..they shouldn't be able to get away with it:mad::mad:)

in all fairness why would british intelligence be listening in to meetings in relation to complaints against the gaurds:rolleyes::rolleyes:

only risky if they suspect they will be caught....I think their after being out-smarted by the ombudsman...only thing to see who will take the blame for this...if no one they it is a disgrace...it would be nothing short of saying the buggers/whoever they are;) are above the law (AFAIK you need court approval to bug,and if they haven't this someone is going to be in serious bother..they shouldn't be able to get away with it:mad::mad:)

in all fairness why would british intelligence be listening in to meetings in relation to complaints against the gaurds:rolleyes::rolleyes:

The guards are in the unique position of being the first names on everyone's lips, so not alone would they need to not be caught, they, unlike anyone else also need to pin it on someone else, which is the really tricky bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Hopefully shatter now goes the way of Sean Doherty

never trust a man who looks like he dyes his eyebrows

The guards are in the unique position of being the first names on everyone's lips, so not alone would they need to not be caught, they, unlike anyone else also need to pin it on someone else, which is the really tricky bit.

only issue there is no one outside of a select few in the media (who imo wouldn't risk it....as they are too close to the gaurds. & would have come out long before now)
    are the only ones who have any reason to bug the ombudsman office to hear complaints against the garda...who do they need to pin it on-when no one else have a dog in the race so to speak...they have for far too long being respected and accepted at face value-and above reproach...then turns out the only office that investigates them is bugged and you wonder why they are suspects;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

only issue there is no one outside of a select few in the media (who imo wouldn't risk it....as they are too close to the gaurds. & would have come out long before now)
    are the only ones who have any reason to bug the ombudsman office to hear complaints against the garda...who do they need to pin it on-when no one else have a dog in the race so to speak...they have for far too long being respected and accepted at face value-and above reproach...then turns out the only office that investigates them is bugged and you wonder why they are suspects;)

Maybe its the crims who bugged it, although it seems like a lot of effort for them.

because criminals like to listen into complaints against the gaurds/accusations of corruption/confidential whistleblower information:pac::pac::pac:

I reckon it was bosco myself:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

They'd need to pin it on someone else because there are enough people like you that want to have the guards blamed that it becomes a game of guilty until proven innocent. All other parties just need to not get caught red handed and the guards take the blame. It certainly isn't cut and dried.

its far from cut and dry...but surly you can see why the gaurds would get the blame when there is no other obvious suspect:confused:

like I hope its not them...but there would only be 1 thing worse than if its them:them being left away scott free and it being brushed under the carpet....you need only look at how long rte tried to get away with covering it to suspect its far from an innocent mistake

its far from cut and dry...but surly you can see why the gaurds would get the blame when there is no other obvious suspect:confused:

That's my point. But blame never equals guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0210/503344-garda-ombudsman/
    Minister for Communications Pat Rabbitte has described as "sinister" claims that the offices of GSOC were bugged.

So he's describing the claims themselves as sinister.. not the fact that the premises was bugged?
    Speaking in Dublin this morning, Minister Rabbitte said it was "highly unusual" that GSOC did not inform the minister about its concerns.

Removing any doubt that he's an utter dope with the above statement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

So he's describing the claims themselves as sinister.. not the fact that the premises was bugged?

Was there a doubt anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The gaurds are like an old boys club at this stage. Totally self serving and a law onto themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

EyeSight wrote: »
    nobody suspects the press? after the UK phone hacking i wouldn't be surprised

and after Manning and Snowden i wouldn't be surprised if this was something offered by the GCHQ or NSA to allow the top brass spy on the peoples complaints so they can keep ahead of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Note the media is trying to make the story that the GSOC didnt report it to Shatter... why would they tell one of the leading suspects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Driminagh

This all appears to me to be set up by the GSOC to get maximum publicity. Why would a reporter be the first person to known about such a serious breach of security in such an important and sensitive organisation. Who payed for this British company to carry out this security sweep. I would have thought that GSOC would have to get permission from the Department of Justice to spend funds of this nature. I can understand why GSOC would not contact the Gardai but to keep it from the Minister for Justice is very strange. There is more going on here than meets the eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

Note the media is trying to make the story that the GSOC didnt report it to Shatter... why would they tell one of the leading suspects?

It's disturbing how the media are kow towing to the minister here trying to portray the ombudsman as the problem.