Price of drink in the pubs, no wonder we're drinking at home more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

MonstaMash wrote: »
    You'd be surprised :pac::pac::pac:

I remember I was in a cubicle in a nightclub a few years ago when the wall from the adjoining cubicle collapsed on top of me. It was like cardboard; you could have talked it into coming down. Although the young couple who were riding up against it obviously didn't help matters. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

So, anyway I headed back to the bar 20 mins later again, this time for one vodka Soda and lime, €6.60 yer man asked for this time (same bartender), I was in the middle of paying him when I copped the price difference. How could I get two for less than a tenner but one for 6.60? He said something about the dispenser for the Soda water not working and charging me for the bottle of soda water.

That sounds like a mean stunt, why should the customer end up paying more because the dispenser for soda water isn't working? I wonder what else goes on, especially once customers have had a few drinks and are taking less notice of what they are being charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I remember I was in a cubicle in a nightclub a few years ago when the wall from the adjoining cubicle collapsed on top of me. It was like cardboard; you could have talked it into coming down . Although the young couple who were riding up against it obviously didn't help matters. :D

:pac::pac::D

That is gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

^ Shabby workmanship. Shabby, shabby, shabby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I see some people in the thread comparing prices between pubs and the supermarket.

Can ye not see that these are entirely different products?

Well, the drink itself might be the same, but you're paying for the pub, the seat, the large tv or whatever else

And of course it is supply and demand. If you don't like it, don't go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

I was in the Viscount pub in Whitehall in Dublin about two weeks ago. First time drinking in the place. It was a Tuesday night and there were about 5 people, presumably mostly locals, dotted around an otherwise empty and atmosphere-less lounge area.

I ordered a pint of Heineken and handed the bar man a fiver and said thanks. Next thing the barman tips me on the shoulder and says, 'Sorry, do you have another 30c'?

5.30! for a pint in a pub on the outskirts of the city. Absolute thieves! A grand pub otherwise but the price of the pint was ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I see some people in the thread comparing prices between pubs and the supermarket.

Well, the drink itself might be the same, but you're paying for the pub, the seat, the large tv or whatever else

The point of the thread is to debate/determine why more people are choosing to drink at home & not drink in pubs.

The difference between supermarket/off-licence/pub prices etc., is one of the multitude of reasons why some of us choose to no longer go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

At some of the rural hotspots:rolleyes: that I frequent they run decent promotions at the weekend, things like 3 single measure vodkas for a tenner, or 3 pints of Harp or Tuborg for ten. The tenner buys you three tokens which you can use for either, so you don't have to get 3 drinks at the same time. The offer only stands for a limited period in the night, a happy hour system but it does tend to get younger people in earlier in the evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Have you seen the price of tea bags and the prices the cafes are charging?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Boombastic wrote: »
    Have you seen the price of tea bags and the prices the cafes are charging?

When did cafe owners last complain about a decline of business to the Govt, due to people boiling their kettles, and Drinkin tay at home though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I think cafes will get busier when the water meters come in as consuming water for tay and hot whiskeys will get expensive in the home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Lets just ponder why the government wants minimum pricing on off-licence/supermarket alcohol.. I will let that just sink in guys. And yet again I will say Ireland is the 2nd most expensive for alcohol and 1st most expensive for cigarettes In Europe. But the government will tell you it's all this cheep drink that's bad for us.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'll make a deal with ya, I won't go there, if you can get the publicans to stop whinging about me (and others) not going there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

And have bar owners constantly moaning to the government and treating stay at home drinkingers like criminals? Asking for Offie prices to be raised?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Reason people drink at home

Go pub 8-10 pints, €36-45 Euro
    Stay In 8-10 Cans, €15 tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

My pub sells me a large litre bottle of tonic for 3.50 as oppose to 2.50 for a little 250 ml. The gin is 4.40 a shot. It's still not cheap but a happy compromise.

You cant beat pints in a pub though, having tins at home is not the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Pwindedd wrote: »
    My pub sells me a large litre bottle of tonic for 3.50 as oppose to 2.50 for a little 250 ml. The gin is 4.40 a shot. It's still not cheap but a happy compromise.

there 2 for €2 in my local centra at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

Lets just ponder why the government wants minimum pricing on off-licence/supermarket alcohol.. I will let that just sink in guys. And yet again I will say Ireland is the 2nd most expensive for alcohol and 1st most expensive for cigarettes In Europe. But the government will tell you it's all this cheep drink that's bad for us.....

It was around €6.70 in Finland last month for a 1/2 litre of beer in more than one pub. Between €7 and €9 for a 1/2 litre of beer in Paris in December, unless you went to the hotel bar where it was €14 per 1/2 litre. It is apparently more expensive in Norway than Finland for beer, not to mention prices in Sweden, so perhaps you should go check your facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I don't mind paying the fiver for the spirit, but having to buy an individual mini mixer is taking the piss. Can't they just take it out of a two litre bottle of coke or whatever?
    WikiHow wrote: »
    I think cafes will get busier when the water meters come in as consuming water for tay and hot whiskeys will get expensive in the home.

You must drink an awful lot of tea and whiskey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Phoebas wrote: »
    You must drink an awful lot of tea and whiskey.

This is Ireland. Shur we're mad for the auld tay.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    This is Ireland. Shur we're mad for the auld tay.

We are the third biggest drinker of tea, i goes through a 200 box of tea bags a week.

Mr.S wrote: »
    I never got this argument, yes its obviously cheaper to buy your warm cans in a supermarket, shop etc and drink them at home.

The same way its cheaper to cook your own meal at home vs going to a restaurant :confused:

If your going to a pub or bar you're getting service (usually ;)) and a much better atmosphere!

Drinking at home is fun with a few mates yeah, but its much nicer to go out for a few drinks!

That said, the price in some places is a joke. Thankfully in Dublin quite a few places are still decent and you can get a pint for 3ish euro and pitchers for a 10er which doesn't break the bank!

As long as the pint is under a 5er i'm happy tbh.

You could just buy the cold ones in the fridges :rolleyes:

Most shops don't keep the multipacks of 4+ in fridges. Plus you have to carry them home ;)

You're being a bit pedantic here. I could just as well argue that sometimes in a bar they give you glasses straight out of the dishwasher with are incredibly warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I never got this argument, yes its obviously cheaper to buy your warm cans in a supermarket, shop etc and drink them at home.

The same way its cheaper to cook your own meal at home vs going to a restaurant :confused:

If your going to a pub or bar you're getting service (usually ;)) and a much better atmosphere!

Drinking at home is fun with a few mates yeah, but its much nicer to go out for a few drinks!

Eh, I can't agree. That argument doesn't work unless you brew your own beer, really.
    The only service you're getting is having a drink handed to you. Sure pints are nice and all but it's not that big of a difference to drinking from a can or bottle.

Plus like someone else said, just put them in the fridge to keep them cold. Unless you drink very fast, by the time you drink two cans, you could have another two cans in the fridge getting cold.

The atmosphere isn't that great. A good pub is rare at times. And I'd only say the atmosphere is good during something like a match. And the issue with that is that it's packed and you won't be getting served too fast.

Most shops don't keep the multipacks of 4+ in fridges. Plus you have to carry them home ;)

What shops do you buy drink in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Just spotted this thread as I was getting ready to nip to Tesco before they close so I can sink a few drinkies before going out to a gig. SAVE SAVE SAVE!

My point was pointing out that obviously buying drink in shops is going to be cheaper, its hardly an argument!

(also why would you accept warm glasses)

why would they give one? I don't but as pubs/clubs are usually understaffed on nights it's not worth the large wait to ask for another glass and the inevitable attitude

My point was pointing out that obviously buying drink in shops is going to be cheaper, its hardly an argument!

The Thread is called. "Price of drink in the pubs, no wonder we're drinking at home more"

How is drink being cheaper in shops not an argument to the thread :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

But you comparing it to the eating out/cooking for yourself argument is wrong.
    Unless you actually intend to brew your own beer then you cannot compare the service argument.