Disgusting Housemates

• 08-02-2014 12:20AM

I've been living with a decent enough guy for the past few years, he keeps to himself, pays the bills on time and since he started working again is rarely around. It's pretty much as close to living alone as you can get, without actually living alone.

The guy is an alcaholic, the kind of guy who will head to the pub after work at 01:30 and order 6 Guinness and a few shots. While he's a nice drunk he does have his angry spells and this past week I've seen a whole new side to him. Woke up Tuesday morning and noticed a strange smell in the bathroom, I assumed that it was just in need of a clean so mopped the floor and cleaned all the surfaces and didn't think twice about it.

Yesterday when i woke up there was a smell of shit the second I opened my bedroom door. It was foul and oppressive and I assumed initially that the cat had done it's business in the hall. As I approached the bathroom the smell got stronger and thrown in the hall was a t-shirt, trousers, socks, underwear, long johns and runners all sopping wet. In the bathroom I was greeted to the sight of a toilet seat caked in human shit, a floor streaked with it and a towel belonging to me which was encrusted with it. It was the most foul and disgusting thing I ever saw. It looked like someone had set off a **** bomb in the room as it was everywhere. I then noticed that the wall leading to my housemates room was smeared in excrement. Knocking on his door I woke him up and demanded to know what the hell had happened. He seemed oblivious and closed his door, locking it.

Before I go on, a few weeks back he brought a friend of his back to our house who proceeded to piss himself in our sitting room and sleep in it. I was the one left to clean up as his friend left first thing in the morning with my housemate to go drinking and when I rang my housemate about the mess his answer was a simple "cover it with a blanket, I'm not cleaning it up". As such I was forced to clean the mess and there wasn't a hope I was doing anything like it again.

I told my housemate through the door that he was cleaning his mess up and went downstairs to feel ill for a bit. An hour or so later my housemate got up and came downstairs and poured a cup of coffee. He sat down and turned on the TV and seemed oblivious to the mess he had created. I went in to speak to him and he just kept repeating, "so what, i had an accident". I had to head to town for a bit so told him I expected it to be clean when I got back.

I headed back to the house a few hours later with a few friends who wanted to watch a film. When I got into the house I found my housemate sitting in the same chair and when I checked upstairs he hadn't cleaned up. Not wanting to embarrass him in front of my friends I asked him to come out so I could have a talk with him and for the first time noticed that he smelt of shit. It was vile and when I said it to him he got aggressive. I told him he has going to clean up after himself and that a shower was in order. I went to apologies to my friends and my housemate burst in after me to complain about how he was being treated. He kept repeating, "so what if I had an accident. It's not like it doesn't happen everyone". I assured him that in fact it doesn't happen everyone and that had he at least tried to clean up I'd be more forgiving. He looked at me and said, "I did clean up, I used that towel to wipe myself and my t-shirt to clean the floor". All his cleaning had accomplished was to smear it every where and make it ten times worse. I asked him to clean it up and told him I'd got bleach and stuff in town. He nodded his head and went to his room and didn't leave it till this morning when he had to go to work.

I ended up cleaning up after him and it was ****ing vile. Thankfully I had a bit of help from my friends and when it was clean I rang the letting agency to let them know that if they didn't do something I'd be moving out. The letting agency couldn't understand what my issue was and actually said "sure it's clean now so what's the harm". They seemed to think that one of their tenants ****ting himself and leaving a mess was acceptable.

My housemate sent me a text earlier today asking if I had seen the towel that was in the bathroom aswell as his clothes and shoes. I replied that the towel which belong to me was in the bin along with all his **** stained clothes. His reply was priceless, "would you get them out of the bin, a bit of hot water and they'll be fine". He didn't so much as apologise or say thanks for cleaning up his mess and I've got three texts that read "I had an accident, so what"

So any other boardsie suffer the plight of living with an absolute pig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

6 Guinness and a few shots.

He is only a lightweight, i have that for lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

This guy is in need of urgent, professional help.

Help him get it if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

smell of shit ... a t-shirt, trousers, socks, underwear, long johns and runners all sopping wet.... toilet seat caked in human shit, a floor streaked with it and a towel belonging to me which was encrusted with it.... set off a **** bomb in the room as it was everywhere.... smeared in excrement.

My housemate sometimes forgets to pick up the crumbs when he eats a biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

This is a sh*t thread!

wazky wrote: »
    My housemate sometimes forgets to pick up the crumbs when he eats a biscuit.
    Them hob nobs are a terror for crumbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Plot Twist.

OP Is a farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Er, I hope you took pictures, etc to document this and show it to the landlord? Seriously, what the hell!? :eek:

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Plot Twist.

OP Is a farmer.

And i bet you the cnut has a ticket for Garth Brooks, sitting no less, right in the middle of the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

A real mate wouldn't behave like that. Move out OP, no need to be cleaning up after some wretch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I don't believe a word of it!

You really trying to tell us you asked your friends to help you clean up your flatmates ****e off the walls and floors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Jesus. Just move out

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

You must have serious friends if they were willing to get their hands that dirty!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My housemate writes long essays that I can't be arsed reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

i dont know whether to laugh or cry.

edit
    sorry its laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Feck the letting agency, get on to the landlord directly. They're unlikely to be impressed with either your housemate's behaviour nor the letting agency for being so blasé about it.

I can't believe that you cleaned it up though. If it happens again don't clean it, even if it were the only bathroom in the house I'd join a gym and shower there. The more you clean up after him the more likely he is to get worse.

"I had an accident, so what?" So now you clean it up, you dirtbird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

WikiHow wrote: »
    He is only a lightweight, i have that for lunch.

You're a lightweight.
    I have that to cure me constipation.

(Also, I'm the OPs housemate.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

That's vile. Move out. **** that guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Are you actually ****ing crazy? What the **** made you clean it up, or leave the guy alone after he locked the door on you, or well anything else he did. He **** himself and you clean up after him. Have you read what you've written?

c'mon now people, sure it's not like it doesnt happen everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He sounds a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The older I get the more firmly I believe that the people that put up with this shit fully deserve it.

Your housemate treats you like his servant OP and you let him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I was going to mention my housemate that ate from the bins and off the floor but it seems I can't match the first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

Take a **** in his bed.

And FFS take your toothbrush out of the bathroom...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

"I had an accident"

Is he 5?

Vile creature, when you're moving out take a dump in his room and let him clean it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Not in a million years would I clean up another mans sh1te.
    He'll be asking you to wipe his hole next ffs.

My Jaze, whats the story with people kaking themselves lately, there was another thread here earlier about some guy in work who did the same

oh and Sir osis of Liver gets my vote for post of the day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Im hard pushed to clean up the dogs ****e, you absolutely don't need that op. Either make waves to get your housemate removed, or start looking for somewhere yourself. That's just.... christ. I don't think I've ever been so drunk I shat myself and rubbed it on the walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

A few years ago I lived with this young guy who was always very juvenile but in a good way. Anyway, it was Halloween and he had bought himself fireworks to play with his friends. So as the evening progressed he blew up cups, jars, bottle etc. They where having great fun when he decided to tape load of explosives together and chuck them in the downstairs toilet. Slamming the door they gleefully awaited the bang and cheered with delight, only to discover the toilet completely obliterated with water all over the floor. In fairness to him he bought a new jacks and had a friend install it. Another time the same guy nearly electrocuted me by stuffing live exposed wires into electrical sockets and another time I awoke to find smoke allover the house when he neglected to eat his dinner passed out drunk. Needless to say I feel safer living with other people these days and I hope he is ok.

Life is too short to spend time living in that situation. Get him out or move out! What age are you out of interest..?