Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Jesus christ did everyone piss into everyone's letter box. Or was it the one house.

And why blame all concert goers? Was it the girls who pissed through the letter box.

Did everyone have a cock in their letter boxes after every concert or match.

A one off pr!ck and blame everyone else.

Of course, its an excuse that will be used for years and for every gig.

Fcuk off to mass the lot of ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Or go back down and have your mullah concerts in the bog,?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

anncoates wrote: »

I dont care where Garth Brooks plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Jesus christ did everyone piss into everyone's letter box. Or was it the one house.

And why blame all concert goers? Was it the girls who pissed through the letter box.

I know for a fact it has happened to a good few people in the area . So it's happened on a good few occasions . I have also saw people's gardens filled with litter and vomit . Some people who have terraced houses have had this except having to clean vomit off their door step . Plus couple in the noise and the fact the concerts could push on until half 10 - 11 . Then you also have to listen to the noise of a stage being assembled and dis assembled . Then you have sound checks too so yea the people in the area do have legitimate complaints . I would also add in the fact they have made it 5 nights on the trot too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Fact of the matter is that he's playing 5, maybe 6 nights in Croker, and there's not a thing you can do or say to change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

You obviously don't have much of an idea of how the planning process works. Just because planning permission was granted does not mean that the residents objections were baseless. What twaddle.
    As I understand it, planning was given with the restriction of having a limited number of concerts per year, presumably because the planners knew that the residents had legitimate objections. Now it seems the promoters have decided to operate beyond their planning permission in staging further concerts. You must think that it's ok for businesses to ignore the conditions attached to their planning. A lot of people don't.

the stipulation is no more then 3 non-sporting events per year without having to look for an events licence, if they want to have more non-sporting events they can once they apply for a proper events licence, their was no agreement with the residents at all, it was stipulated by the planning authorities, if the licencing authorities decide the extra concerts won't go ahead then they won't be allowed to go ahead, if they decide they can go ahead then they will

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

the stipulation is no more then 3 non-sporting events per year without having to look for an events licence, they want to have more non-sporting events they have to apply for a proper events licence, their was no agreement with the residents at all, it was stipulated by the planning department, if the licencing authorities decide the extra concerts won't go ahead then they won't be allowed to go ahead, if they decide they can go ahead then they will

I've said this maybe 3 times already. The complainants don't want to listen to facts, only urban myths of people crapping on the streets and an end of days type scenario.

Mass is a thing culchies go to on Sunday morning ;-)

What agreement? Look a few posts up, it was part of the planning application regarding 3 concerts. It wasn't an agreement with residents, it was part of the planning application. No-one is stopping people living near the stadium, or asking them to move out. They can stay living there, but the concerts this summer and next summer, and the summer after that will go ahead if the promoters and the GAA want them to.

Flouting the terms of the planning application is actually worse.

One thing this has shown though is the defensive arrogance of the GAA and some of its supporters.

Some of you have as good as stated you think its a good thing a commercial organisation can flout planning and inconvenience an entire community and the only alternative to this is to basically get out of the area if you don't like it.

The arrogance is mind blowing and symptomatic of the gombeen culture of this country of which the GAA is a major part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

When it's all over, have a party for the residents. Some food and drink, bouncy castle for the kids and a decent donation to the community centre.
    i'm sorry but no, theirs going to be a load of money going into the local economy which is enough for them

Should be enough money accumulated to throw a big party then eh?

Fact of the matter is that he's playing 5, maybe 6 nights in Croker, and there's not a thing you can do or say to change that.

They have to get a licence first and I would imagine the residents of the area have a say in wether one is granted .
    So he could be playing 0 nights if the residents make a big enough stand . What's to stop them saying we want the same treatment as the people in the area around the aviva who only have to put up with three concerts a year .

Flouting the terms of the planning application is actually worse.

One thing this has shown though is the defensive arrogance of the GAA and some of its supporters.

Some of you have as good as stated you think its a good thing a commercial organisation can flout planning and inconvenience an entire community and the only alternative to this is to basically get out of the area if you don't like it.

The arrogance is mind blowing and symptomatic of the gombeen culture of this country of which the GAA is a major part.

I 100% agree, flouting the terms of a planning application is terrible. However if they get a license for these concerts, nothing will have been flouted. Theres nothing arrogant about legally going through the right procedures to put on a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭cson

The FACT of it is, as stated already on the thread, "It is a stipulation in the approval of planning permission for the stadium that no more than 3 NON SPORTING EVENTS can be held, without seeking proper event licences."

Therefore, if there are more that 3, they can go ahead with a proper event license. There is nothing to state that it is 3, and only 3.

Whatever.

5 nights in a row is taking the piss tbh.

It's the equivalent of having the entire population of Galway City land down on your doorstep for the guts of a week. It'll make a **** of your daily routine.

A couple of free tickets will assuage my inconvenience though :pac:

Can flog them and afford to **** off out of the way for a few days. Grand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

3 non sporting events they say. Perhaps its time to issue the residents of Dublin with some kind of non lethal shooting device and rebrand the concerts as a tryout for the Olympic shooting team. :P

They have to get a licence first and I would imagine the residents of the area have a say in wether one is granted .
    So he could be playing 0 nights if the residents make a big enough stand . What's to stop them saying we want the same treatment as the people in the area around the aviva who only have to put up with three concerts a year .

I will 100% guarantee that these concerts will go ahead. Its a multi-million venture, millions have been paid out already on promotion etc. I'm sure the feasibility has been scrutinised before it was announced. Aitken are a huge company, not 2 young lads putting together a student night.

As much as they want to think they are important, the residents are a minor inconvenience to this, and nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

No surprise that the posters on here telling the locals to suck it up and put up with the extra disruption are to be found posting all over the Gigs/event forum wetting themselves in anticipation of seeing Garth.

I will 100% guarantee that these concerts will go ahead. Its a multi-million venture, millions have been paid out already on promotion etc. I'm sure the feasibility has been scrutinised before it was announced. Aitken are a huge company, not 2 young lads putting together a student night.

As much as they want to think they are important, the residents are a minor inconvenience to this, and nothing more.

Then why do they have to seek an events license for it to go ahead then . A lot of factors will be scrutinized and if the residents don't back down they could win . Look at aviva 3 concerts a year and that's it . So what's to stop the people of the area wanting the same thing .

I 100% agree, flouting the terms of a planning application is terrible. However if they get a license for these concerts, nothing will have been flouted. Theres nothing arrogant about legally going through the right procedures to put on a concert.

Is announcing the extra dates before seeking the event license like building a house and then seeking planning.. :)

5 nights on the trot is a bit much for a densely populated inner city area.

I don't know how people elsewhere in Ireland feel about invasive long running events but I'd hazard a guess they rely on the income more than communities in Dublin.

I'd wonder too if the amount of local business generated on the nights is exaggerated too. A lot of money will be spent in the stadium but many people will drive up, attend and go home. A large amount won't spend money in town I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

the stipulation is no more then 3 non-sporting events per year without having to look for an events licence, if they want to have more non-sporting events they can once they apply for a proper events licence, their was no agreement with the residents at all, it was stipulated by the planning authorities, if the licencing authorities decide the extra concerts won't go ahead then they won't be allowed to go ahead, if they decide they can go ahead then they will

Where did I say it was an agreement with the residents, I clearly said it was a condition of planning.

The fact is they've no licenses at all for any of the concerts. It's a pretty underhand tactic selling out 5 (?6) nights knowing that the chances of the licenses being refused are slim to say the least. Imagine the uproar among hundreds of thousands of Garth Brooks fans and their friends in low places!

Then why do they have to seek an events license for it to go ahead then . A lot of factors will be scrutinized and if the residents don't back down they could win . Look at aviva 3 concerts a year and that's it . So what's to stop the people of the area wanting the same thing .

Because it was part of the planning permission.
    Is announcing the extra dates before seeking the event license like building a house and then seeking planning.. :)

5 nights on the trot is a bit much for a densely populated inner city area.

I don't know how people elsewhere in Ireland feel about invasive long running events but I'd hazard a guess they rely on the income more than communities in Dublin.

I'd wonder too if the amount of local business generated on the nights is exaggerated too. A lot of money will be spent in the stadium but many people will drive up, attend and go home. A large amount won't spend money in town I would say.

No it is not. Not at all. It might be if he played the gigs and then asked for permission, it would be like that. And if most people drive up and go home, there'll be no-one pissing in letterboxes, so every cloud.

People around the country would only love to have some of the events held locally that people in Dublin can stroll down to week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

I lived right next to one of the entrances of Croke park for two year, and yes I was aware before moving in that matches and concerts would be an inconvenience but I don't think people realize exactly how much. Like how even with a residence pass the guards won't let you drive home because of crowds, or how your car will get clamped and towed if you leave it outside your own house when there's an event on, or how your bins won't be collected because all the roads are closed. Its annoying enough having that stuff happen once a week. But five days in a row? Anyone would be raging.

no its not, its just them looking to see what they can get out of this thats all.

so? its a large venue which should be used to its full potential

thats very little, to little, the venue should be used to its full potential as much as possible

i don't believe that.

5 is only 2 more then 3

the residents could also pay for this if their bothered enough

of course their would, where the possibility of compensation is involved people will make an issue over something

thats nonsense, peoples attitudes have nothing to do with this, only in your world.

no problem, an 80000 seeter stadium being used to its full potential is a good thing, it will bring much needed funds into the local economy which is a good thing

What's with all the hatred? Bitterness is an ugly thing. Relax, have a snickers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the residents have no say on whether a licence is granted, they are able to object, but the licencing authority is the one who has the say
    So he could be playing 0 nights if the residents make a big enough stand.

he could but it won't be down to the residents but the relevant licencing body, doesn't matter what stand the residents make, if the relevant licencing authority decides to grant the licence thats it
    What's to stop them saying we want the same treatment as the people in the area around the aviva who only have to put up with three concerts a year .

nothing, but their not entitled to be given what they want, the authorities may side with them, but they have no obligation to do so and rightly so

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

That's it. It's putting thousands of people under the one umbrella and pretty much labelling us as cúntish anti social scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭uisce33

Why aren't their any gigs/concerts played in the aviva or are there ?? You just never seem to hear of it ,I'm curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I'd LOVE to know where you're from that the women can do that? Classy :rolleyes:

I gave my account, 100% truthful of my time living there.
    It was the same for a lot of my neighbours who had yokels up to the big shmoke and thought it was "mighty craic altogether" to urinate into peoples homes, vomit all over my window and sill and other areas of the house, go to the toilet while leaning back against my hall door on my front step and leave their feaces there. I saw countless cars damaged and actually got into a verbal confrontation one time with two dunderheads who were standing on the bonnet of the man across the roads car after a gig. I told them to get off and was told to F*ck off! I put my coat on, closed my hall door and walked out and found a guard. Told him what had just happened and was told "What do you want me to do about it? They'll be long gone by now"

Its a sad state of affairs when people just think that anyone who relays what they have seen happen on the street where they live are all just "moaners".

I'll wager if any of the above were to happen to some of the posters on here, on one SINGLE occassion you could bet the farm on it the would be in AH like a shot raising all sorts of hell.

no, they need to stop whining

its enough tickets cost money to print and the GAA and others can't afford to lose money by giving away free tickets in this current climate

no their doesn't, you live in such an area noise happens, get on with it, infact maybe these people should have thought about whether bringing kids up in such an area was a good idea

no, and i hope its not, their doesn't need to be anything worked out to be beneficial in any way to the residents as they knew what they were getting themselves in to, the amount of people living there since before the 60s or even slightly after is probably in the minority now at this stage, i suspect most have moved in in the last 25 years at least

It's attitudes like yours that makes people (me included) hope that the residents win their case just to annoy people like you.

That's it. It's putting thousands of people under the one umbrella and pretty much labelling us as cúntish anti social scumbags.

No it's not doing that at all . There is bellends that go to everything and for some of the residents in the area it has caused them a lot of annoyance and disruption . It has also caused some of them to loose out on money replacing things that are broken or damaged to . So If you want to moan at anyone have a moan at the bellends who have caused the problems for the residents .
    They have now reached breaking point and are well within their rights to stand up and say we don't want this anymore .

uisce33 wrote: »
    Why aren't their any gigs/concerts played in the aviva or are there ?? You just never seem to hear of it ,I'm curious

The residents of D4 are probably a little harder to bully plus the GAA doesn't own Landsdowne Road