Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

5 nights of country and western music with 5 nights of country and western fans pissing ****ting and fornicating outside your window is torture. The European Court of Human Rights is the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

You can spot the culchies in this thread a mile off.Don't care/understand that their beloved GAA and Aiken have broken planning laws by exceeding 3 concerts per year and don't give two sh!tes about the legitimate problems local residents experience as long as they get their day of fun up in the big schmoke.

Same crowd telling residents to ''just get on with it'' or slagging them off for looking for compensation would scream blue murder if the ESB wanted to put a pylon in the middle of one of their fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

cson wrote: »
    I've lived in the Croker residents 'zone' for 3 years at this stage; policy is you sign up to the residents list with Croke Park and you get entered into a draw for (presumably free but I'm not sure) tickets for the Concerts. You get entered into a draw to win the right to buy tickets for the All Ireland Finals. So **** all for free really. We haven't gotten anything in my time, nor have any of my friends who've lived in the area for the same period. So I'd imagine the 'draw' suits the powers that be on the vocal Residents Association or else you might get a few thrown your way if you make enough noise to quieten you.

To be honest; outside of the Semi Finals and the Final the GAA games are grand. The Dubs matches aren't great but then the Dubs are familiar with the City and get around without causing too much hassle.

The concerts are a ****ing nightmare plain and simple. Soundchecks in the morning; its difficult to get down Clonliffe Road with the crowds, the eager stewards will stop you if you don't have a ticket and generally it ****s up your day. You really have to plan around it which is annoying. Brooks being on during the week when some of us are going to be working will be ****e plain and simple. Forget about driving too for any of the concert days.

So while I don't necessarily agree with the injunction; I do think we deserve something for putting up with a combined week of Garth Brooks and One Direction.

I mean come on; how many of you will be forced to listen to One Direction sound checking outside your window? :eek:

So you would have noticed the 80,000 seater stadium beside you before you moved in??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Jeez the GAA during the property slump, should have bought out all the residents, levelled the houses and made a big car park.

No worries about noise, dirt, parking and so on.

They could have afforded it.

I hope you realise that I am taking the p!ss here. But think about it.....they would Br sitting n a goldmine for redevelopment now.

Eejits,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

They decided, instead, to develop a bigger stadium in what is now a much more inner city area with far more population density and knowing full well that attendees would drive and park in the area, but made no remediation for the parking issue. They did this against the residents' objections, but promised proper crowd control and event management and all sorts of things that they just do not come through on. They said they would limit the number of non-sporting events to 3 per year.
    a load of nonsense, they did not do anything against the residents objections, they looked for planning permission to redevelop their stadium which was granted, so obviously the residents objections were baseless.
    They've basically shat all over the people of the area
    no they didn't, they were granted planning permission to redevelop the stadium and grounds
    people on here think that the residents are just trying to make a quick buck and have no real complaint?
    i suspect many of them are out to make a quick buck, thats the type of country we live in
    The mind boggles. Ballybough and Drumcondra do not belong to the GAA. They can't just do as they please.
    their not doing as they please, theirs enough authorities there to stop them if the authorities feel theirs going to be a problem, if they allow the extra concerts to go ahead its because they feel their isn't an issue.
    sit down with the residents and work out a binding longer term plan.
    why should they sit down with the residents? they shouldn't, theirs licencing authorities there to decide whether these concerts go ahead or not, thats their job

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You can spot the culchies in this thread a mile off.Don't care/understand that their beloved GAA and Aiken have broken planning laws by exceeding 3 concerts per year and don't give two sh!tes about the legitimate problems local residents experience as long as they get their day of fun up in the big schmoke.

Same crowd telling residents to ''just get on with it'' or slagging them off for looking for compensation would scream blue murder if the ESB wanted to put a pylon in the middle of one of their fields.

True about the pylons. Double standards. Sure it's only a match/concert/ etc.

It's called having a bit of respect.

The concerts will bring lots of dosh and fun into the city. That is a good thing, but respect is something that needs a bit of work too. And the GAA and
    Aiken need to respect the residents big time too, along with the concert goers.

If not, resentment will boil up big time.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I lived beside croke park for years and while it was being redeveloped. At the time a large amount of money was put into the community and area with deals for compensation. locals were giving preference for work on big days etc. while I can empathise with them with the disruption, the boost for the country and economy on this one out weighs it. But we'd Garth play, Tina and others we just sucked it up stadium was there first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭cson

So you would have noticed the 80,000 seater stadium beside you before you moved in??

Yep, I did.

They weren't having 8 concerts a year back in 2011 though.

Bit of a straw man argument to be honest; fact of it is they agreed to 3 concerts a year and now they're doing 8 concerts. Its a disruption to anyone who lives there, whether they've been there 1 year or 100 years.

I won't be moving out because of it, but y'know people who live in the area have rights too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

How would you possibly notice that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭cson

pc7 wrote: »
    I lived beside croke park for years and while it was being redeveloped. At the time a large amount of money was put into the community and area with deals for compensation. locals were giving preference for work on big days etc. while I can empathise with them with the disruption, the boost for the country and economy on this one out weighs it. But we'd Garth play, Tina and others we just sucked it up stadium was there first.

See that's part of what's wrong with Ireland. The 'just suck it up' mentality. Bitch about it on a message board or talk to Joe but don't really do anything tangible about it. So in a way, while I don't fully agree with the residents association, fair play to them for making a stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

5 nights of country and western music with 5 nights of country and western fans pissing ****ting and fornicating outside your window is torture. The European Court of Human Rights is the way to go.

And 3 One Direction concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Sure it's no problem for them to fill up the city centre when they are protesting against something especially when it's related to their farms .
    When someone takes on the gaa they are up in arms saying it's fine people have no rights .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Yee haaaa You sure look purdy tonight Miss ellen.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

See that's part of what's wrong with Ireland. The 'just suck it up' mentality. Bitch about it on a message board or talk to Joe but don't really do anything tangible about it. So in a way, while I don't fully agree with the residents association, fair play to them for making a stand.
    But we felt the community got a lot back with the redevelopment so it was worth it. There was nothing in ballybough and as part of the agreement things improved so it was worth sucking up, along with the 'it was there first' attitude. Listen one match day I opened my door to a country family sitting on my doorstep having a picnic parked outside my house! I hated match days more than the concert days.

They also don't really give a damn about parking too . Sure it's no problem for them to fill up the city centre when they are protesting for all their rights as farmers too .

So if you dont bitch and moan about concerts your automatically a farmer??? Oh I love logic used in boards debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

In my eyes asking somebody to put up with living in an area that will be impacted by concert related security cordons for one day is fairly reasonable but asking them to do so for 5 days on the trot is something completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Elvis, Jesus and Muhammad could be topping the bill having group sex and I'd still be looking for a few quid and some tickets to scalp. Its called protecting your interests. If you don't, you'll have scumbags like Fianna Fail or Sinn Fein-IRA renting the room next week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Yep, I did.

Bit of a straw man argument to be honest; fact of it is they agreed to 3 concerts a year and now they're doing 8 concerts. Its a disruption to anyone who lives there, whether they've been there 1 year or 100 years.

I won't be moving out because of it, but y'know people who live in the area have rights too.

Take one for the team. I hear Enda will be going two nights. Yee ha. It's the only time he will leave Croker happy

And another thing while we are at it, during the redevelopment we'd pile driving for 10 hours a day now that was hard. Some houses got infested with voles as the nests were disturbed.

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    So if you dont bitch and moan about concerts your automatically a farmer??? Oh I love logic used in boards debates

No it doesn't at all but it's ok for some people to moan about x , y and z but people who live in an area can't moan because it's not a valid complaint in there eyes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Take one for the team. I hear Enda will be going two nights. Yee ha. It's the only time he will leave Croker happy

Only one night, the second ticket I sold him was a photocopy job.

Yep, I did.

The FACT of it is, as stated already on the thread, "It is a stipulation in the approval of planning permission for the stadium that no more than 3 NON SPORTING EVENTS can be held, without seeking proper event licences."

Therefore, if there are more that 3, they can go ahead with a proper event license. There is nothing to state that it is 3, and only 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

That would have been because a certain Bertie AYhern gave the Ga loadsa dosh one time,(3million I think grant WTF) and probably put Croker staying in his constituency as the price... Fecker he is, was.

Really, why don't the GAA and Aiken make some sort of gesture to the residents. Say, those who are members of a residents association, and are clearly impacted by this..and give them a few bob compo every time there is a concert.

Jeez ehen you think of the millions both the GA and the Aiken or whoever are making out of this, it would be great PR to do something.

But no....just give me the moola, and feck everyone else.

The GA and the promoters should close off all streets for parking (with the nod from the Gordie), they should monitor this in the interests of the residents, they should clean up before and after..

It's a two way street.

Seems to me that they could give a flying F?ck about anything or anyone except their profits.

And I dont blame the residents one bit.

Give the residents a piece of the action, patrol the place, sort out parking, keep drunken pissing in your garden types out and so on.

All people want is fair play I think. And who could blame them.
    money going into local businesses is compensation enough

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

So basically thousands of people shouldn't be allowed to live near your beloved stadium because the GAA couldn't be fcuked honouring the agreement they made with residents?

The FACT of it is, as stated already on the thread, "It is a stipulation in the approval of planning permission for the stadium that no more than 3 NON SPORTING EVENTS can be held, without seeking proper event licences."

Therefore, if there are more that 3, they can go ahead with a proper event license. There is nothing to state that it is 3, and only 3.

Dont ruin an argument with facts, then they can't keep moaning

money going into local businesses is compensation enough

Tell that to the people who have had carpets and the likes ruined by someone pissping in your letter box . If that happened me I would be sending a bill to Aiken or the gaa for a new carpet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Originally Posted by miss no stars
    They decided, instead, to develop a bigger stadium in what is now a much more inner city area with far more population density and knowing full well that attendees would drive and park in the area, but made no remediation for the parking issue. They did this against the residents' objections, but promised proper crowd control and event management and all sorts of things that they just do not come through on. They said they would limit the number of non-sporting events to 3 per year.
    a load of nonsense, they did not do anything against the residents objections, they looked for planning permission to redevelop their stadium which was granted, so obviously the residents objections were baseless.

Originally Posted by miss no stars
    They've basically shat all over the people of the area

no they didn't, they were granted planning permission to redevelop the stadium and grounds

You obviously don't have much of an idea of how the planning process works. Just because planning permission was granted does not mean that the residents objections were baseless. What twaddle.
    As I understand it, planning was given with the restriction of having a limited number of concerts per year, presumably because the planners knew that the residents had legitimate objections. Now it seems the promoters have decided to operate beyond their planning permission in staging further concerts. You must think that it's ok for businesses to ignore the conditions attached to their planning. A lot of people don't.

Imagine 8 concerts in one year!! The end of the world is coming.....

One if the greatest amenities in the country right on their door step and all they do is complain.

anncoates wrote: »
    So basically thousands of people shouldn't be allowed to live near your beloved stadium because the GAA couldn't be fcuked honouring the agreement they made with residents?

What agreement? Look a few posts up, it was part of the planning application regarding 3 concerts. It wasn't an agreement with residents, it was part of the planning application. No-one is stopping people living near the stadium, or asking them to move out. They can stay living there, but the concerts this summer and next summer, and the summer after that will go ahead if the promoters and the GAA want them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Mess? Imagine having to clean human **** off your doorstep and having someone piss through your letterbox. Imagine needing to go somewhere (that, oh the horror, might require you to drive) only to find you car has been blocked in by concert/match go-ers. Imagine seeing some idiot fall on your car and break the wing mirror clean off.

It's not just mess. It's downright anti-social.

Page 11
    Post Number 159

No-one is going to listen Miss, as usual its the reverse nibmy.
    Its not in my back yard, I don't have to deal with it, we have a RIGHT to have concerts yada yada.
    As most people have said there is no objection to the agreed 3 concerts but this is getting out of hand.
    I feel very sorry for the residents.