" Dubliners have more in common with the British than with fellow Irish "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

That article is hilarious, purely for the fact the moronic journalist has tried to pass it off as serious.

The ginger part is hilarious too, passing it off as anti-Irish. Everyone knows gingers are genetic freaks of nature, its nothing to do with being anti-Irish.

Gingers just get a bad rap because they sleep with their eyes open. Some find it unsettling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

You find British people to treat you with suspicion and not make you feel welcome?

What I always noted with amusement was the way one can be treated with hostility and suspicion in a foreign country when those around assume that you are British (because you speak English)...and then how nice they are when they realise that you are, in fact, Irish :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

You find British people to treat you with suspicion and not make you feel welcome?

Exactly! Got such a warm welcome in London the last time I was there (on my own incidentally). Everyone from the hostel I stayed in to the restaurant I ate to the people I was there to meet (interview). Even the girl behind the desk at the Tube when I bought my Oyster card was a delight.

Come back to Dublin to be assailed by junkies, now which country is more unfriendly?

I do agree with the garrison town thing to a certain extent. It's way more complex than the Indo article would suggest (hardly the first time I've used this sentence).

There ARE Dubs going to Garth Brooks, there are country people who live as if they are in Milton Keynes, there are British people who have moved all over Ireland or have come home as second generation. Some act as if they are still in Britain, some are more Irish than the Irish.

Also, if you look back at the history of Irish republicanism, you'll see that there were plenty of Dubliners and Anglo-Irish involved. Even Pearse's father was an English stonemason.

ivytwine wrote: »
    Exactly! Got such a warm welcome in London the last time I was there (on my own incidentally). Everyone from the hostel I stayed in to the restaurant I ate to the people I was there to meet (interview). Even the girl behind the desk at the Tube when I bought my Oyster card was a delight.

Come back to Dublin to be assailed by junkies, now which country is more unfriendly?

I do agree with the garrison town thing to a certain extent. It's way more complex than the Indo article would suggest (hardly the first time I've used this sentence).

There ARE Dubs going to Garth Brooks, there are country people who live as if they are in Milton Keynes, there are British people who have moved all over Ireland or have come home as second generation. Some act as if they are still in Britain, some are more Irish than the Irish.

Also, if you look back at the history of Irish republicanism, you'll see that there were plenty of Dubliners and Anglo-Irish involved. Even Pearse's father was an English stonemason.

Junkies aren't unfriendly though, they're just a drain on society and mildly irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

"Rural Irish are also more likely to be culturally and politically nationalist, and to still go to Mass"

He's obviously never been to West Belfast...
    "Large parts of our cities are virtually indistinguishable from Britain, unashamedly so"

This is what happens when you have colonialism (I suppose it's too much to overlook 800 years of it, that the UK is the largest trading partner of Ireland etc...).

The article, at best is lazy trolling and a fairly shite attempt at humour and at worst, sickening to hopeful journalists who would like to write about real issues but get pushed out by idiots like McManus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

There ARE Dubs going to Garth Brooks
    Second generation culchies maybe

Emme wrote: »
    The people in some rural towns have more in common with the British than the Irish. This applies to former garrison towns. Irish people are known for being friendly and welcoming but in former garrison towns newcomers are treated with suspicion and hostile indifference. Even after 20 years newcomers aren't made welcome. Perhaps these places have more in common with rural Britain than urban Ireland.

What I'm saying is that former garrison towns in rural Ireland have more in common with the British than the Irish because they're so unfriendly and unwelcoming. These towns don't even welcome new business.

Actually, I would say it's way harder to fit in a small Irish village than a town.

In the part of North Cork I come from (the town was founded as a bit of vanity project for the local landlord, making us very unusual) we would have a really long history of republicanism. Everyone's granddad was in the old IRA including my own. However, if you come from slightly lower down in Cork you are a blow-in- such as my best friend's mother. I had girls from a local village which is infamous for being clannish tell me after FOUR years of school they didn't know us well enough to practice their dance routine in front of the townies. Or my mother was told not to even bother applying for a job in the village as a village person would get it.

Irish villages would give Royston Vasey a run for their money.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Junkies aren't unfriendly though, they're just a drain on society and mildly irritating.

They're a bit too friendly!

drumswan wrote: »
    Second generation culchies maybe

Kinda disproves the article though? I mean a lot of Dubliners have culchie roots... It's almost like we're the same people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Actually, I would say it's way harder to fit in a small Irish village than a town.

There is an element of truth in that. Im Scottish and have lived here for three years. Year one I was in Malahide and people never treated me any differently, maybe even they were a bit more friendly because they liked my accent. Moved to Louth and Ive been out at a couple of pubs, small ones. Three out of the 4 times Ive been out in those small pubs I have been asked "So what are you, Celtic or Rangers?" and I just groaned and walked away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

100% agree, I'd have more in common with people from England than Cork or some other place down the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

There is an element of truth in that. Im Scottish and have lived here for three years. Year one I was in Malahide and people never treated me any differently, maybe even they were a bit more friendly because they liked my accent. Moved to Louth and Ive been out at a couple of pubs, small ones. Three out of the 4 times Ive been out in those small pubs I have been asked "So what are you, Celtic or Rangers?" and I just groaned and walked away.

Well....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

You could say the same about Corkonians and Belfastians, it is just because the irish image abroad has always been of the countryside. Im a proud culchie myself though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Most People from the west and south have known this for years, dublin culture is very similar to U.K culture.

orangesoda wrote: »
    You could say the same about Corkonians and Belfastians, it is just because the irish image abroad has always been of the countryside. Im a proud culchie myself though

Thats fair enough, but I dont get why we get to be proud because of where we are from - it's not like we had anything to do with it! Be proud because of something you've achieved, not a circumstance. There's nobody better or worse than anyone else just because of where they are from. We're so small, we should stick together. The whole Dublin v The Rest of Ireland mentality saddens me tbh. I was at a work meeting one day and got chatting to someone about a match and she said she was happy X county had won. "Oh", I said, "Are you from there?" and she looked at me like I had two heads and said, "No, but you know...anyone but Dublin to win" - she practically sneered. What's that about? :confused: By all means support your own county but she was practically malicious :(

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Thats fair enough, but I dont get why we get to be proud because of where we are from - it's not like we had anything to do with it! Be proud because of something you've achieved, not a circumstance. There's nobody better or worse than anyone else just because of where they are from. We're so small, we should stick together. The whole Dublin v The Rest of Ireland mentality saddens me tbh. I was at a work meeting one day and got chatting to someone about a match and she said she was happy X county had won. "Oh", I said, "Are you from there?" and she looked at me like I had two heads and said, "No, but you know...anyone but Dublin to win" - she practically sneered. What's that about? :confused: By all means support your own county but she was practically malicious :(

I hate the anyone but the Dubs mentality, especially from people who last went to Dublin when it was Nelson's Column. I go for the Dubs (if they're not playing Cork of course) purely because the other 31 counties aren't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Most People from the west and south have known this for years, dublin culture is very similar to U.K culture.

Not all off the Uk has the same culture, england has several cultures, wales have their own, scottish and then there is the obvious n.ireland cultures

orangesoda wrote: »
    Not all off the Uk has the same culture, england has several cultures, wales have their own, scottish and then there is the obvious n.ireland cultures

Agreed. A west of England farmer would have more in common with a farmer from Cork than he ever would with a Londoner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

There's a grain of truth in the thread title, especially as Dubliner's live in an 'English city' and are the only real urbanised people in the 26 counties. I've always considered Dublin junkie / skanger / criminal types more as ''West Brits'' than in it's usual pejorative context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

I'd rather be associated with England than anywhere outside Dublin or Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Can we not just forget all the geographical crap and get along..
    That goes for all countries.

The world would be a much better place if more people did so.

We are all the same deep down, no matter what way you look at it.

Hippy rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

What a disappointing article. The topic actually has potential to be very interesting, instead it's just lazy generalizations. I'd be inclined to say that Dublin people have about as little in common with English people as they have with country people.

First off, it's the only city of city size in Ireland. Other cities are glorified towns and far more parochial in nature. I'm not saying that that's anything against other "cities" in Ireland, I really like Cork and Galway, but they're just not true cities - they're towns by size and by nature. Cork borderline, I'd say. Yet by English benchmarks, Dublin is tiny and very low density.

Secondly, Dublin is, always has been and probably always will be far more diverse than the rest of the country. And that goes waaaaaaaaaaaaay back. That level of difference in diversity means that Dublin attitudes will ALWAYS be different to attitudes elsewhere.

Then you have to look at the history of Dublin - it reads very differently to the history of the rest of the country. My bf mentioned that an area near me sounds very English, doesn't sound Irish at all. I just thought it sounds very Dublin. Don't forget, Irish has pretty much never been the spoken language of Dublin. It's a viking and norman city and the placenames are as likely to reflect that as to reflect it being in the country of Ireland. There are plenty of people in Dublin who can easily trace roots back to England. I can and I don't even have to go that far back.

Another thing that will make Dublin people less like the rest of the country is that habits are more urban even when you go back several generations. "Where would you go for a cup of sugar if you ran out?" eh... To the shop. That kind of letting yourself in the backdoor of the neighbour's house doesn't exist here. It'd be downright odd and rude for the neighbour to call around to the backdoor and the to ask for something they could as easily get in the shop that's only a couple of minutes away!

But Dublin people are as Irish as anyone from anywhere else in Ireland, it's just a different type of Irishness. Look at many of the playwrights, if you want an example. Dubliners through and through. Held up as fine examples of Irishness. But certainly not like people from the countryside.

Anyway, it's a pity about the article. So much scope for a really interesting cultural and historical comparison, but falls flat on its face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

What is a 'true Dub' though? I'm from Dublin, and so is my dad, whose parents were from Kerry and Kilkenny. My Mother is from Kilkenny, with parents from Wexford and Kilkenny. Of my friends, I'd say the split is about 60/40, the former being those whose families are Dubs going back generations, the latter being those with a close relation (parents or grandparents) from other parts of the country.

On and on it continues. Only one of my siblings married a Dub, myself and the others married 'country' people. My argument being that a large part of the Dublin population were borne of parents from other counties, and a large part of the population were themselves born in other counties.

I personally detest the Dublin vs The Rest mentality, but I haven't encountered that often in real life.

I am however, extremely confused at the frenzy surrounding the Garth Brooks concerts, but I don't think that's because I'm from Dublin. I love lots of country music (Lyle Lovett, Emmylou Harris, even our own Ray Lynam) but Garth, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I'm one of the last true sons of Róisín. A proud Celt who ignores the nefarious influence of Sassanach culture. My days are spent playing hurling against the side of a mountain, fishing from the crystal clear lakes of our land, and teaching my sons Ceithearnach, Muirghius and Tomaltach about the evils of Perfidious Albion.

Jackeen and country gobdaw are both entranced with WASP culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I'm one of the last true sons of Róisín. A proud Celt who ignores the nefarious influence of Sassanach culture. My days are spent playing hurling against the side of a mountain, fishing from the crystal clear lakes of our land, and teaching my sons Ceithearnach, Muirghius and Tomaltach about the evils of Perfidious Albion.

Jackeen and country gobdaw are both entranced with WASP culture.

Why isn't your post written As Gaelige then? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sadie06 wrote: »
    What is a 'true Dub' though? I'm from Dublin, and so is my dad, whose parents were from Kerry and Kilkenny. My Mother is from Kilkenny, with parents from Wexford and Kilkenny. .

too much country blood in that mix to be a true blue Dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

dd972 wrote: »
    Why isn't your post written As Gaelige then? :p

Because the modern day latchico who identifies himself as Irish usually doesn't even have a rudimentary grounding in the native tongue. Knows more about Stephen Gerard's distribution rate than he does about the culture of the land he was born in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

too much country blood in that mix to be a true blue Dub

Yup. Both parents should be from Dublin and at least 3 out of 4 grandparents from Dublin. Otherwise you're second generation country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

years ago, myself and a friend shared student accommodation with a lad from Dalkey in a regional town in the NW. After the first week we all decided to hand in our notice and look for somewhere else to live, which didn't go down very well with the landlord, who proceeded to give my friend and the guy from Dalkey a right bolloking.

I remember the guy from Dalkey saying how angered he was at the fact that a 'man from the country' had the nerve to speak to him like that.

This was a first time I ever experienced this attitude... this guy actually saw himself as being above people from rural Ireland.