Worst customer complaint ever you've ever heard

• 04-02-2014 10:14PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Was in a chipper earlier and they were laughing about a phone call they had received the night before from an extremely angry customer who was demanding a refund and screaming "FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!" at them because she ordered "Small Chips" and received a small bag of regular-sized chips. She was expecting a bag of small-sized chips in a regular bag and was livid, saying that if that's what they were going to serve the should have listed it as "Small bag of Chips". They were roaring laughing about it :D made me giggle, was trying to think back about stupid customer complaints I've heard over my years in retail but can't think of anything to match it quite yet :D can anyone top that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

That's nothing, I saw an add for "Cheap Hoes - direct to your home" - sent off my €19.99 and got a bloody rake dropped off by UPS. And they laughed at me when I rang up to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

I worked in a pharmacy years ago while in college. Customer brought blusher back for a refund because it 'blew off' her face in the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Urban legend (I think) but always make me laugh

In November 2000, Mr. Grazinski purchased a brand new 32 foot Winnebago motor home. On his first trip home, having joined the freeway, he set the cruise control at 70 mph and calmly left the drivers seat to go into the back and make himself a cup of coffee. Not surprisingly, the Winnie left the freeway, crashed and overturned. Mr. Grazinski sued Winnebago for not advising him in the handbook that he could not actually do this. He was awarded $1,750,000 plus a new Winnebago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭micosoft

Urban legend (I think) but always make me laugh

In November 2000, Mr. Grazinski purchased a brand new 32 foot Winnebago motor home. On his first trip home, having joined the freeway, he set the cruise control at 70 mph and calmly left the drivers seat to go into the back and make himself a cup of coffee. Not surprisingly, the Winnie left the freeway, crashed and overturned. Mr. Grazinski sued Winnebago for not advising him in the handbook that he could not actually do this. He was awarded $1,750,000 plus a new Winnebago

I think you might find this was a plot element in a very recent film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

A customer to a call centre had problem with online banking. She was inserting her bank card into the floppy disc drive....but nothing was happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

How about when a customer came back with a chicken that she had bought and cooked, ranting that it was deformed and that all of the chickens must be the same. "It has no breast and is all skin and bone".
    She was a bit embarrassed when I turned the chicken over and explained that she had cooked the chicken breast side down and was trying to carve the chickens back. I did replace the chicken for her though and I swear I did not laugh in her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

mags1962 wrote: »
    How about when a customer came back with a chicken that she had bought and cooked, ranting that it was deformed and that all of the chickens must be the same. "It has no breast and is all skin and bone".
    She was a bit embarrassed when I turned the chicken over and explained that she had cooked the chicken breast side down and was trying to carve the chickens back. I did replace the chicken for her though and I swear I did not laugh in her face.

How? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

It takes a special skill but I told everyone to relive the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Oh I worked for a company that provides the photography at graduation ceremonies and also sells frames. I remember hearing one of the new lads being yelled at by one of the parents cos she wanted a portrait frame not a landscape frame! Didn't seem to occur to her (or the new guy) that they can stand up either way :D A manager was called IIRC but didn't catch that part unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

mags1962 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Believe it or not the same thing happened me with a cooked chicken.
    The bag has a picture on the front. Usually they put the chicken in breast up i.e. Breast under the picture. I bought one brought it home and opened the bag picture side up..seen the most flat chested chicken I ever seen...was getting it bagged back up to go back to the shop when I called my hubby down. He turned the chicken right side up...and walked away shaking his head.... I swear I thought it was a duck they had given me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Asked to fit two extra sockets in a woman's house. She pointed out where she wanted them, and said "You can do that, no problem?"

"Yeah I can do that" I answered

"That's great. The last guy wanted to chase holes in my wall, or take up the floorboards"

"Uh, well I will have to do either one of those..."

"But I don't want that.."

I started to explain how electricity isn't like wireless broadband, that I couldn't just mount two sockets on a wall with no cables connected in, and she'd be able to plug in and use them, then I just though feck it, this job won't be worth the hassle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I worked in a hardware shop years ago and one day a fella came in and asked for "fork handles". I got him some and put up on the counter, he then went over to my boss to complain and called me a gib****e. He was looking for "four candles".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I worked in a hardware shop years ago and one day a fella came in and asked for "fork handles". I got him some and put up on the counter, he then went over to my boss to complain and called me a gib****e. He was looking for "four candles".

That you Ronnie? Love your older stuff. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Yeah that Was funny when the two Ronnie's done it in the 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Asked to fit two extra sockets in a woman's house. She pointed out where she wanted them, and said "You can do that, no problem?"

"Yeah I can do that" I answered

"That's great. The last guy wanted to chase holes in my wall, or take up the floorboards"

"Uh, well I will have to do either one of those..."

"But I don't want that.."

I started to explain how electricity isn't like wireless broadband, that I couldn't just mount two sockets on a wall with no cables connected in, and she'd be able to plug in and use them, then I just though feck it, this job won't be worth the hassle!!

Oh yeah, I loved those types. "You can install all this for me" Oh of course. "You can do that today?" Yeah well it will take several hours "Oh but I can't wait around" It takes time to do "WELL YOU JUST FCUKING SAID YOU CAN DO IT WHERE IS YOUR MANAGER"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Not sure if serious or referencing famous sketch... Just in case: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cz2-ukrd2VQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

A woman who thought it was ridiculous we wouldnt give her a brand new PSP after her kid dropped his down the stairs and broke it, she arrived in with in a million pieces in the box and just said she wanted a replacement, I was like yeah they're 200 quid or whoever much it was "oh would you not oblige me with a new one?" ehhhh...no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I had a lunatic roaring down the phone at me recently about an imminent gas explosion outside his house and using every expletive he could think of. The sad thing is I don't work for a gas company and he hung up before I could respond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Glass Key

I like the (urban legend?) story of the little old lady that complained that as the end biscuits in most of the packs of biscuits she bought were broken the manufacturers should leave them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I bought paint back once, it was so slow to dry and boring to watch. I told him it was like watching paint dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Oh yeah, a guy who rang to ask to speak to the CEO about our hold music, he didn't actually didnt have a complaint other than this and I'm pretty sure he wasn't even a customer, some people are just weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I work in a call centre, so could probably write a book of retarded complaints I've dealt with. This one I posted i ranting and raving a few months ago stands out in my mind though:
    Aparently my company is getting sued for €165,000, or so an irate customer informed me today. The reason? €165,000 is the amount this lady has just spent on purchasing a house in the absolute ars'ehole of West Cork, and I had the delightful task of telling her that my company cannot provide broadband service to her due to the rural location. I had to google the place, cos I'd never heard of it and it's 4miles from the nearest village (pop. 200), halfway up the side of a mountain. Apparently she will 'lose her job' because she needs high speed broadband to work from home.

Would'nt you think, when she was spending such a large sum of money, that she would have checked availability before signing any contracts to purchase the house if broadband availability was so important? Anyway, apparantly we are impeding her 'civil liberties according to EU law by not supplying her with service' (her words). She'll no doubt be adding an extra 20 grand onto the €165,000 cost of the house she is sueing us for, for traumatic emotional distress or some sh1t..... Fcuk the fcuk off!! Good luck with that one in a courtroom.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I sometimes feel that working in IT I am a member of Hitler Youth

When things go right....theres no thanks....when things go wrong you better well get it fixed ye useless **** :pac:

So many incidents I don't know where to start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

A guy rang my boss to complain that I had just hung up on him, boss comes over and said did you just hang up on one of the customers? I said I did and I said I told him I was going to if he didn't stop swearing at me and he swore again so I hung up.

The boss goes back to yer man and said if you swear at any of my staff again you can take your business elsewhere and said I will transfer you back and if you don't apologise to him for swearing I give him permission to hang up on you again. I loved working for him.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

krudler wrote: »
    Oh yeah, a guy who rang to ask to speak to the CEO about our hold music, he didn't actually didnt have a complaint other than this and I'm pretty sure he wasn't even a customer, some people are just weird.

We had a call logged on our service desk one day giving out about Enya been the on hold music in one of the UK offices.

The way it was logged ye swear the person was doing us a favour letting us know

Yea cheers buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Sometimes people troll the Consumer Issues forum with ridiculous and hilarious complaints (e.g. a guy who wanted a refund from a DVD rental because he reckoned the film he rented was crap :D) but honestly... they're not that far off the mark. :eek:
    Some of the stupidity out there is breath-taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

I used to work in the Council offices of a large city. I had a customer spend 20 minutes on the phone telling me she is banning the St Patricks Day Parade in the City as the young wans are wandering around wearing nothing and she is doing them a favour saving them from pneumonia on a holy day.

Had a number of complaints during Summer 2013 of no water in the fountains in the City... despite widespread coverage that there was water conservation in place due to the hot weather and arid conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

One that springs to mind is someone who got their delivery earlier than the estimated timeframe and called to complain.

There's genuine problems and then there is what is called being a cúnt, this was delivered quicker than expected which I would consider a positive. But sure that's just me and what would I know about the mind of a crazy person.

I'd probably have 100's of these but I can't remember and can't be arsed trying to remember either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

major bill wrote: »
    We had a call logged on our service desk one day giving out about Enya been the on hold music in one of the UK offices.

The way it was logged ye swear the person was doing us a favour letting us know

Yea cheers buddy
    Did you get a subsequent visit from IRMO and a bill for unpaid royalties?;)