Garda Age Card vs National ID

• 08-07-2007 01:49AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭

heh, just figured out (i think) that they are NOT the same thing... and I am in the process of working on getting a Working Holiday Visa for New Zealand. I need a second form of ID after my passport and it doesnt quite look like my age card will cut it...

anyone else have a similar thing? will my age card be ok? where do i actually get a national ID card?

(and how much is this working visa gonna cost... i need a credit card, but cant seem to find the price...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,904 ✭✭✭✭Victor

narco wrote:
    where do i actually get a national ID card?
    Ireland doesn't have one.

Do you have a student or work ID?

TBH, talk to the NZ embassey and ask them what hey accept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ah, well thats better anyway.. nah, used to be a student, left college, and my id got nicked with my wallet last october. yeah, guess ill have to ask the embassy. ugh. formality :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Sit a driver theory test (very easy) and get yourself a provisional driving license. You could probably do this in about a month. Use that as your 2nd ID ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I thought a garda ID WAS our National Age Card

Ask the embassy, cos I'd say its grand

the hell ye go through to get it alone should prove its authenticity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The Garda Age card is just a proof of age card as far as I know and not to be used as ID, don't think it is much use for travel abroad but not entirely sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 dogslife2014

Age Cards have in the past only been issued to young people for the purpose of verifying their age. However upon enquiries that I recently made: Age Cards are now being issued as a means of proving ones identity and are now available to people regardless of age. This information was given to me by a member of Garda Siochana only this week and I have now applied online for an Age Card (John, 46yo). I expect that this service will be revamps and that sometime in the near future there will be an announcement, I imagine the card will be rename and regarded as Ireland's National Identity Card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Age Cards have in the past only been issued to young people for the purpose of verifying their age. However upon enquiries that I recently made: Age Cards are now being issued as a means of proving ones identity and are now available to people regardless of age. This information was given to me by a member of Garda Siochana only this week and I have now applied online for an Age Card (John, 46yo). I expect that this service will be revamps and that sometime in the near future there will be an announcement, I imagine the card will be rename and regarded as Ireland's National Identity Card.

Hi there dogslife2014 & Welcome to boards.ie :)

I have closed this thread & I have to ask you not to resurrect auld threads (this one being from 2007) & especially to make a point with no linkie or substance, only hearsay. If you could send me on some proof of what you've said, then I'll move your post into a new thread for you no bother!

Thanks,
    kerry4sam