Earrings on Men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

If you had your left ear pierced you were hard.

If you had your right ear pierced you were gay.

FACT. circa 1982.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I coach a kids football team, we get all the flashy youngfellas, mullets, pink football boots, earrings, you name it. Some of them even wear odd boots (different brand on either foot)

The other coach, and myself, decided that anyone with both ears pierced (there's 3) has to train harder to get in the team. They haven't figured out yet why they're the ones being singled out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

As long as its not a massive fake diamond that could sink a ship it's grand. Or hoops. Those things are just dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

FACT. circa 1982.

And if you had both you were hard for gays :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

And if you had both you were hard for gays :p

That thought process just wasn't around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Did you ever ask a wearer to take theirs off and give it a sniff? You'll never smell anything so bad in your life as that pong.

Oh Jesus. I'm already feeling sick today. I think this may push me over the edge :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

They're fine...

.....if you're dressing up as a pirate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dyeti

I have one earring on my left ear and one earring through my tunnel on the same ear.

Women with heaps of earrings on both ears are hot.

Did you ever ask a wearer to take theirs off and give it a sniff? You'll never smell anything so bad in your life as that pong.

You're supposed to clean them!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

You're supposed to clean them!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah, this fella obviously didn't. He took great pride in the smell.

Ah that's mank. I'm hyper sensitive to the cheese pong because I'm always paranoid mine smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Had my left one pierced with a small silver ring years ago. Have two piercings in my ear but the they aren't earrings!

I don't really like the look of having an earring in each though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ah that's mank. I'm hyper sensitive to the cheese pong because I'm always paranoid mine smell.

He used to take it off and stick it up near my nostrils as revenge when we were drunk. We were both smelly students back then though.

Genuine question: What happens if you regret stretching the hole in your earlobes? Like tattoos can be removed but what happens if you want to reverse the stretching?

He used to take it off and stick it up near my nostrils as revenge when we were drunk. We were both smelly students back then though.

FFS! Properly heaved there. I can't handle even the thoughts of that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Earrings are knackery on men IMHO, both ears pierced even knackerier. As for one ear pierced with a faux diamond from some cheap jewellery shop, that's off the knacker Richter scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I think at times, a single earring looks really nice. Not really my thing overall, but it suits some people.

He sounds like a gent! :pac: I'd actually loaf someone for that.
    Meangadh wrote: »
    Genuine question: What happens if you regret stretching the hole in your earlobes? Like tattoos can be removed but what happens if you want to reverse the stretching?

Up to a certain size they'll shrink back over time, over a certain size and it's most likely lobe reconstruction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Earrings on men like fine with a casual look but a well-dressed man say with a suit on and an earring just looks odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Had the lobe of my left ear peirced as a teenager around the age of 17/18. Only lasted about a month or two as never gave it a chance to heal due to taking it out for a couple of interviews.

Have thought and spoke about getting my helix periced for the last couple of years, although fear now I'm too old to be getting stuff periced, and how it would be viewed on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Virgin earlobes are so much better for nibbling. So I suppose one earring wouldn't be so bad, as long as it's offset with stubble and sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

FACT. circa 1982.

I thought both ears was gay? Or is that an urban myth?

I have lived my life so far assuming anybody with both ears pierced is gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Muise... wrote: »
    Virgin earlobes are so much better for nibbling. So I suppose one earring wouldn't be so bad, as long as it's offset with stubble and sweat.
    Phew, it's getting hot in here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Ah no, I don't like any sort of jewellery on men at all. The only thing that I think looks any way good on men, jewellery wise, is a nice watch.

I always get either a gypsy or culchie vibe off men with earrings :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

earring on a guy can look hot, if it suits him. I love a fella with gold/sliver hoop (small on 1 ear)...but a diamond or black stud...wouldnt look twice at him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I have both ears pierced a couple of times, one in my lip and on in my nose. Don't think I have the gay !! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Personally, I have both my ears pierced, with small black studs like you.
    I feel pierced ears do look very knackery when worn with a tracksuit, but look good when worn with jeans/chinos.

I don't think they look knackery, but it was the closest option to 'they always look really unattractive'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Personally, I have both my ears pierced, with small black studs like you.
    I feel pierced ears do look very knackery when worn with a tracksuit, but look good when worn with jeans/chinos.

ehh..you just look like a knacker in jeans/chinos

actually... chinos? Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Now class, let's look at some of the main inhabitants of Earth again..........
    Teacher, teacher, why do some of those earthlings drill holes in their heads and dangle bits of metal and rocks from them?
    Well, in their culture, they think it makes them more attractive to the other sex, thereby assisting procreation.
    Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Intelligent life on Earth, my a$$.
    Settle down class (snigger). Next year, when you're more mature, we'll look at other ridiculous and tacky things they do to attract attention, including injecting ink into their skin to make ugly patterns and their Mammy's name; artificial hair and paint on their eyelashes; all over orange spray on their skin; painting their fingernails; luminous dye in their hair;.....
    ....Oh teacher, come on. You cannot be serious?