Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

moy83 wrote: »
    She should get some award for that piece , she was the sexiest woman I've seen in a film in a long time

Seemingly she never told her parents that she did nude scenes in it and they went mad at the premiere. Wouldn't blame them if I had a daughter that good looking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Seemingly she never told her parents that she did nude scenes in it and they went mad at the premiere. Wouldn't blame them if I had a daughter that good looking :D

Tough watching for the father alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Jayus whatever you do don't wash a box of cigs in the washing machine, some mess fcuk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Suckler

People should be forced to undertake a basic IQ test before they put something up for sale on the like of Donedeal. Anything they describe as "like new" which is in fact painted rust should carry a fine of E100 for every false description. I expect them to be on boards later complaining about time wasters ringing them asking questions.

Anyone who can't spell the name of the machine they are trying to sell (even though its on the machine in big white letters) should also be charged extra for their ads. Jackasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Suckler wrote: »
    People should be forced to undertake a basic IQ test before they put something up for sale on the like of Donedeal. Anything they describe as "like new" which is in fact painted rust should carry a fine of E100 for every false description. I expect them to be on boards later complaining about time wasters ringing them asking questions.

Anyone who can't spell the name of the machine they are trying to sell (even though its on the machine in big white letters) should also be charged extra for their ads. Jackasses.
    dd should run a spell check on ads before they are put up, not everyone was at school for as long as you ya know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Suckler

biddy2013 wrote: »
    dd should run a spell check on ads before they are put up, not everyone was at school for as long as you ya know

Nothing to do with education, it's laziness. How long have people been in the business and spent years looking at the machines day in & day out and still can't get it right.

John Deere = Jon deree / John Deerey /John Dear
    Massey Ferguson = MASSIVE ferguson / Massi ferguson / Old grey ferdie was another variation.

Donedeal provide a platform at a cheap rate. They aren't there to educate the masses. I find the ads on agriaffairs much better, not sure if they can only select pre-filtered makes/models/specs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Spelling is a qualification you get in primary school...come on

rancher wrote: »
    Spelling is a qualification you get in primary school...come on
    maybe years ago but there are many young people now with dyslexia etc, some people are lucky and can spell some people dont have the mechanism in their brains to do it. ye must be the lucky ones. Spend alot of time with one of my kids doing spellings as he has a problem so i know what i am talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Nothing to do with education, it's laziness. How long have people been in the business and spent years looking at the machines day in & day out and still can't get it right.

Massey Ferguson = MASSIVE ferguson / Massi ferguson / Old grey ferdie was another variation.

Donedeal provide a platform at a cheap rate. They aren't there to educate the masses. I find the ads on agriaffairs much better, not sure if they can only select pre-filtered makes/models/specs etc.

Charlie or charley cattle either, have seen loads more just can't think if them right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

maybe years ago but there are many young people now with dyslexia etc, some people are lucky and can spell some people dont have the mechanism in their brains to do it. ye must be the lucky ones. Spend alot of time with one of my kids doing spellings as he has a problem so i know what i am talking about.
    Ya, I know someone like that. Clever guy, but you should see his writing and spelling.

theres a lad in my daughters class, he gets all his spellings right when his mam asks him, when he writes them down they are all wrong. Teacher just asks him orally now and he gets them right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

So do I, I was punished so often (and so hard) over spelling that I'm better than a spell checker now.......maybe it wasn't such a bad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

I'd agree with Suckler on this. It's lazy and shows a lack of attention to detail. These adds are often by professional traders and would put me off as I would wonder what other corners were cut.

I went to ag college with a lad who couldnt read or write. You could say on 1 side the system failed him that he go to18 years of age without being able to read/write. Ok years ago there was punishment if you didnt know/do your work. Now theres special needs assistants/ learning resource teachers so no child should slip through the loop. I often wonder how that lad got on after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

mayota wrote: »
    I'd agree with Suckler on this. It's lazy and shows a lack of attention to detail. These adds are often by professional traders and would put me off as I would wonder what other corners were cut.

Have to agree. It puts me off big time when I see it aswell. Can sort of understand an individual but when it's a trade add its looks very unprofessional There a lad selling a " Sheep rays" on dd. must be to protect them from the sun.

sea12 wrote: »
    Have to agree. It puts me off big time when I see it aswell. Can sort of understand an individual but when it's a trade add its looks very unprofessional There a lad selling a " Sheep rays" on dd. must be to protect them from the sun.
    predictative text on the phone also has alot to answer for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

I went to ag college with a lad who couldnt read or write. You could say on 1 side the system failed him that he go to18 years of age without being able to read/write. Ok years ago there was punishment if you didnt know/do your work. Now theres special needs assistants/ learning resource teachers so no child should slip through the loop. I often wonder how that lad got on after.

I have worked for some very good farmers/business people over the years and when it would come to getting paid i would have to write the cheque myself.

Had a clever lad on a cscs course with me and when it came to the theory part he couldnt do it.

most of the exams in ag college where multiple choice so he had a 1 in 4 chance of getting the questions right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Now that's a load paying for itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Look fair play to mods for giving up their own time but sometimes I feel there is an over eagerness to jump in and delete something or try and make everything neat and inoffensive. Some of the threads just need to be let off the hook a bit more. Just my opinion

Fair point Van,

We don't go around policiing the whole place. We react to reported posts. When a post or a thread gets a couple of reports, then its a sign that it needs to be dealt with. If we delete stuff, people give out, if we doon't delete stuff, people give out. If it goes further and there is a case of bullying, illegal activity, defamation etc and we are found to have done nothing, then we are accountable. So basically, we have to examine everything that is reported and then make a decision on what to do with it. Some threads get out of control. There's often a troll, and it's like throwing fish food into a fish farm - everyone has a bite at the food! We could spend hours deleting everyone's silly posts or sometimes the easiest option is to just take the whoole thread down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Anyone here about the 2 lads dying after doing the neknomination. Took the game too far. Only supposed to be beer and they necking spirits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Anyone here about the 2 lads dying after doing the neknomination. Took the game too far. Only supposed to be beer and they necking spirits

Aye, one had a stroke from downing vodka and the other fella drown I think. Some people don't know when to stop i'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Damo810 wrote: »
    Aye, one had a stroke from downing vodka and the other fella drown I think. Some people don't know when to stop i'm afraid.
    May the rest in peace. God bless their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Grand day here today, got loads of them little jobs tidied up around the yard and even got my little shed finished up while the wind was quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

iv watched a few videos by lads i know and only 1/2 of the glass is drink ! the rest is aload of s1ht found in the kitchen. Anything from gone off baking powder fairy liquid, red sauce cooking oil etc etc. Im surprised more people havnt got sick or died from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

rushvalley wrote: »
    iv watched a few videos by lads i know and only 1/2 of the glass is drink ! the rest is aload of s1ht found in the kitchen. Anything from gone off baking powder fairy liquid, red sauce cooking oil etc etc. Im surprised more people havnt got sick or died from it

Yer fella from the Jalex herd Fb page summed it up pretty well.

"If there is on thing i have learnt from all these necnominations it is that NO ONE , absolutely No ONE in this country can pour a drink.
    Side note, we are a pile of easy lead ejjits, young and old."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »

I thought it was some class of an anti fox deterrent.

I can see it from both sides, won't go into the whys, but a little more attention to detail, maybe get someone to proof read it, wouldn't go astray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

As biddy says I think predictive text on mobiles has a lot to answer for. I regularly have to edit posts here after the phone changed my words around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Know the lad from Carlow god help his family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

hugo29 wrote: »
    Jayus whatever you do don't wash a box of cigs in the washing machine, some mess fcuk it

What was she thinking?